DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the insulating layer" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. NOTE: In line 2, the Applicant claims “an insulator layer” instead of an insulating layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 9,1 0, 13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu (US 2010/0187694).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a semiconductor structure in figs. 1-8 comprising a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate (refer to 112 as labeled in fig. 7 and par. 15), comprising:
a silicon-on-insulator substrate (refer to SOI 112), which comprises a silicon layer (refer to silicon layer of SOI 112) and an insulator layer (refer to a buried insulator layer of SOI 112) stacked from bottom to top (see par. 15 and fig. 7);
a phosphosilicate glass (PGS) (refer to 116; see par. 19) located on the insulating layer (refer to the buried insulator layer of SOI 112); and
a fluorosilicate glass (FSG) (refer to 130; see par. 29) located on the phosphosilicate glass (116).
Regarding claim 2, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Yu teaches a thickness of the phosphosilicate glass (116) is smaller than a thickness of the fluorosilicate glass (130) (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Yu teaches a transistor (113; see par. 17) located under the silicon layer (refer to the silicon layer of SOI 112) (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Yu teaches a method for forming a semiconductor structure including a silicon-on-insulator (SOI) substrate in figs. 1-8, comprising:
providing a silicon-on-insulator substrate (refer to SOI 112 as labeled in fig. 7 and par. 15), wherein the silicon-on-insulator substrate (refer to 112) comprises a silicon layer (refer to a silicon layer of 112) and an insulating layer (refer to a buried insulator of SOI 112) stacked from bottom to top (see fig. 7);
forming a phosphosilicate glass (PGS) (refer to 116; see par. 19) on the insulating layer (refer to the buried layer of SOI 112); and
forming a fluorosilicate glass (FSG) (refer 130; see par. 29) on the phosphosilicate glass (refer to 116).
Regarding claim 10, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Yu teaches a thickness of the phosphosilicate glass (116) is smaller than a thickness of the fluorosilicate glass (130) (see fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Yu teaches a transistor (113; see par. 17) located under the silicon layer (refer to the silicon layer of SOI 112) (see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 17, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Yu teaches after the fluorosilicate glass is formed, the method further comprises performing a planarization step to the fluorosilicate glass (see fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2010/0187694) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20180130886).
Regarding claim 6, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above.
Yu does not explicitly show the transistor comprises a source region and a drain region located in the silicon layer, and a gate located under the silicon layer.
Fig. 1 of Kim teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the transistor (30) comprises a source region (20) and a drain region (20) located in the silicon layer, and a gate (30) located under the silicon layer (refer to rear view by looking from SOI 11 to layer 72).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the transistor comprises a source region and a drain region located in the silicon layer, and a gate located under the silicon layer as shown in fig. 1 of Kim in the teaching of Yu because it is commonly known in the art that a source, a drain terminals and gate terminal of a MOSFET are crucial for its operation.
Regarding claim 7, Yu and Kim teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, fig. 8 of Yu teaches a dielectric layer (114) located under the silicon layer (refer to the silicon layer of SOI substrate 112).
Regarding claim 8, Yu and Kim teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, fig. 8 of Yu teaches a plurality of contact structures (118) located in the dielectric layer (116) and electrically connecting the source region and the drain region (refer to source/drain of gate 113).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US 2010/0187694) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kim (US 20180130886).
Regarding claim 14, Yu teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above.
Yu does not explicitly show the transistor comprises a source region and a drain region located in the silicon layer, and a gate located under the silicon layer.
Fig. 1 of Kim teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the transistor (30) comprises a source region (20) and a drain region (20) located in the silicon layer, and a gate (30) located under the silicon layer (refer to rear view by looking from SOI 11 to layer 72).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the transistor comprises a source region and a drain region located in the silicon layer, and a gate located under the silicon layer as shown in fig. 1 of Kim in the teaching of Yu because it is commonly known in the art that a source, a drain terminals and gate terminal of a MOSFET are crucial for its operation.
Regarding claim 15, Yu and Kim teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, fig. 8 of Yu teaches a dielectric layer (114) located under the silicon layer (refer to the silicon layer of SOI substrate 112).
Regarding claim 16, Yu and Kim teach all the limitations of the claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, fig. 8 of Yu teaches a plurality of contact structures (118) located in the dielectric layer (116) and electrically connecting the source region and the drain region (refer to source/drain of gate 113).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation recites “wherein the insulating layer comprises a silicon oxide layer and a silicon oxynitride layer stacked from bottom to top.” Claim 4 includes all the limitations of claim 3.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation recites “wherein the insulating layer comprises a silicon oxide layer and a silicon oxynitride layer stacked from bottom to top.” Claim 12 includes all the limitations of claim 11.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation recites “wherein during the planarization step, a plurality of ions are diffused into the fluorosilicate glass from a polishing solution in the planarization step and blocked by the phosphosilicate glass.” Claim 19 includes all the limitations of claim 18.
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818