DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The amendment filed on April 09th, 2026 has been acknowledged. By this amendment, claims 1 and 10 have been amended. Accordingly, claims 1-17 are pending in the present application in which claims 1 and 10 are in independent form. Applicant’s amendment to the title has been accepted.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0246756) in view of Shi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0357886).
In re claim 1, Singh discloses a radio-frequency (RF) device, comprising: a gate structure 611A extending along a first direction on a substrate 41 (see paragraphs [0034], [0036] and figs. 13-14); a source/drain region (52/53) adjacent to two sides of the gate structure 611A (see paragraphs [0017], [0034] and figs. 13-14); a shallow trench isolation (STI) 66 around the source/drain region (52/53) (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 13-14); and a shielding structure extending from the gate structure 611A and overlapping an edge of the STI 66, wherein a width of the shielding structure is equal to a horizontal portion of the gate structure (see paragraph [0036] and marked-up version of fig. 14 below).
Singh is silent to wherein a width of the shielding structure is less than a width of the source/drain region.
However, Shi discloses in a same field of endeavor, a radio-frequency (RF) device, including, inter-alia, a gate structure 124 extending along a first direction on a substrate; a source/drain region (120,122) adjacent to two sides of the gate structure 124; and a shielding structure extending from the gate structure 124, wherein a width of the shielding structure is less than a width of the source/drain region (120,122) (see paragraph [0080] and fig. 11, note that a width of the shielding structure that is extending from the gate structure 124 is narrower than a width of the source/drain region (120,122)).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Shi into the radio-frequency (RF) device of Singh in order to enable wherein a width of the shielding structure is less than a width of the source/drain region in Singh to be formed in order to obtain transistors having reduced parasitic and enhanced performance (see Abstract of Shi). Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein the gate structure 611A comprises a T-shape (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 14 of Singh, note that, the gate structure 611A excluding the shielding structure is a T-shape).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein the T-shape comprises: a vertical portion extending along the first direction; and a horizontal portion extending along a second direction (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 14 of Singh).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein the RF device further comprising a body region 54 adjacent to the horizontal portion (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 14 of Singh).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein the body region 54 and the source/drain region (52/53) comprise different conductive type (see paragraph [0034] and fig. 14 of Singh, note that, the source/drain region (52/53) is a first type conductivity whereas the body region 54 is of a second type conductivity).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 3 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein the shielding structure is extending along the second direction (see paragraph [0034] and fig. 14 of Singh).
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 3 above, Singh in combination with Shi discloses wherein a width of the shielding structure is equal to a width of the horizontal portion (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 14 of Singh).
In re claims 8 and 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Singh is silent to wherein a width of the shielding structure is less than a width of the horizontal portion and wherein the shielding structure comprises a funnel shape.
However, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art base on the technique of Singh to be motivated to optimize the width of the shielding structure to be less than the width of the horizontal portion and to optimize the shape of the shielding structure to be a funnel shape since it is respectfully submitted that, the configuration regarding about the shape of the shielding structure was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). Additionally, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955), Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), and MPEP 2144.04.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-17 are allowed over prior art of record.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
It is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the independent claim 10 as a whole taken alone or in combination, in particular, the closest prior art of record to Singh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2022/0246756) discloses a radio-frequency (RF) device, including, inter-alia, a gate structure 611A extending along a first direction on a substrate 41 (see paragraphs [0034], [0036] and figs. 13-14); a source/drain region (52/53) adjacent to two sides of the gate structure 611A (see paragraphs [0034], [0036] and figs. 13-14); and a shallow trench isolation (STI) 66 around the source/drain region (52/53) (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 13-14) and Shi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0357886) discloses a radio-frequency (RF) device including, inter-alia, a gate electrode 124 extending along a first direction on a substrate and a doped region 111b extending across the gate structure and overlapping an edge of the STI 114 (see paragraphs [0073], [0075], [0080] and fig. 22).
However, Singh and Shi, as a whole taken alone or in combination does not discloses “a doped region extending across the gate structure and overlapping an edge of the STI and the source/drain region”, as recited in independent claim 10.
Claims 11-17 also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claim.
Response to Applicant’s Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892