DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on November 09th, 2023 has been acknowledged and has been entered. Claims 1-60, 64, 66, 68, 71, 72, 74, 75, 77-80, 82, 86-88, 93, 96, 98, 101, 102, 105, 107-110, 112, and 116-118 have been canceled. Accordingly, claims 61-63, 65, 67, 69, 70, 73, 76, 81, 83-85, 89-92, 94, 95, 97, 99, 100, 103, 104, 106, 111, and 113-115 are pending in the present application in which claims 61 and 90 are in independent form.
Remarks
Examiner has contacted Mr. John S. Hilten, Attorney for the Applicants, on April 22nd, 2026 and confirmed that it is claims 61-63, 65, 67, 69, 70, 73, 76, 81, 83-85, 89-92, 94, 95, 97, 99, 100, 103, 104, 106, 111, and 113-115 presented in the preliminary amendment filed on November 09th, 2023 are under examination and not claims 1-118 presented in March 11th, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/09/2023, 11/21/2023, 05/21/2024, 01/23/2025, 06/09/2025, 08/14/2025, and 04/06/2026 have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 67, 69, 94, 97, and 99 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 67, line 2, “at least on channel” should be --at least one channel--.
In claim 69, line 2, “at least on channel” should be –at least one channel--.
In claim 94, lines 2-3, “die attach material” should be --the die attach material--.
In claim 97, line 2, “at least on channel” should be –at least one channel--.
In claim 99, line 2, “at least on channel” should be –at least one channel--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 61-63, 67, 73, 76, 81, 83-85, 89, 90-92, 94, 95, 97, 99, 100, 103, 104, 106, 111, and 113-115 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-34 of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,177. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim of the instant application are encompassed by the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,177, see comparison table below.
Claims of instant application
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,424,177
61. A semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die that comprises at least one secondary device area; a support; and a die attach material comprising at least one channel, at least a portion of the at least one channel positioned between the at least one secondary device area of the semiconductor die and the support to allow gases generated during attachment of the semiconductor die to the support to be released from the die attach material.
1. A package, comprising, a semiconductor die comprising at least one active area and at least one secondary device area; a support configured to support the semiconductor die; a die attach material; the semiconductor die being mounted on the support using the die attach material; and the die attach material including at least one channel, wherein the at least one channel is configured to allow gases generated during curing of the die attach material to be released from the die attach material; and wherein the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from the at least one active area.
2. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one channel is arranged under the at least one secondary device area.
62. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor).
12. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
63. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit).
10. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the package comprises at least one of the following: a power amplifier package, a microwave power package, a microwave power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power transistor package, a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) package, and a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier transistor package; and the semiconductor die comprises a monolithic integrated circuit.
67. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the at least on channel comprises at least two channels that intersect.
5. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one channel dissects the die attach material; and a first implementation of the at least one channel intersects with a second implementation of the at least one channel.
73. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die; and the semiconductor die comprises an integrated circuit.
1. A package, comprising, a semiconductor die comprising at least one active area and at least one secondary device area; a support configured to support the semiconductor die; a die attach material; the semiconductor die being mounted on the support using the die attach material; and the die attach material including at least one channel, wherein the at least one channel is configured to allow gases generated during curing of the die attach material to be released from the die attach material; and wherein the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from the at least one active area.
76. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a continuous shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof.
4. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof.
81. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel.
8. The package according to claim 1 wherein the die attach material is configured to be applied utilizing one of the following: screen-printing processes, preform processes, needle dispensing processes, and inkjet dispensing processes.
83. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that comprises at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located.
11. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one active area includes at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located.
84. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
12. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
85. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBG) semiconductor.
13. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the one or more semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBC) semiconductor.
89. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 further comprising an over-mold configuration that at least surrounds the semiconductor die, wherein the die attach material comprises at least a portion of at least one channel positioned between the over-mold configuration and the support.
17. The package according to claim 1 further comprising an over-mold configuration that at least surrounds the semiconductor die.
90. A semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die; a support; and a die attach material comprising at least one channel; and an over-mold configuration that at least surrounds the semiconductor die and the over-mold configuration is attached at least in part to the die attach material.
1. A package, comprising, a semiconductor die comprising at least one active area and at least one secondary device area; a support configured to support the semiconductor die; a die attach material; the semiconductor die being mounted on the support using the die attach material; and the die attach material including at least one channel, wherein the at least one channel is configured to allow gases generated during curing of the die attach material to be released from the die attach material; and wherein the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from the at least one active area.
17. The package according to claim 1 further comprising an over-mold configuration that at least surrounds the semiconductor die.
91. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor).
12. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
92. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit).
10. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the package comprises at least one of the following: a power amplifier package, a microwave power package, a microwave power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power transistor package, a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) package, and a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier transistor package; and the semiconductor die comprises a monolithic integrated circuit.
94. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 further comprising at least one secondary device area on the support and wherein die attach material comprises at least a portion of the at least one channel positioned between the at least one secondary device area and the support.
1. A package, comprising, a semiconductor die comprising at least one active area and at least one secondary device area; a support configured to support the semiconductor die; a die attach material; the semiconductor die being mounted on the support using the die attach material; and the die attach material including at least one channel, wherein the at least one channel is configured to allow gases generated during curing of the die attach material to be released from the die attach material; and wherein the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from the at least one active area.
2. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one channel is arranged under the at least one secondary device area.
95. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 further comprising a protective material on the support and wherein the die attach material comprises at least a portion of at least one channel positioned between the protective material and the support.
17. The package according to claim 1 further comprising an over-mold configuration that at least surrounds the semiconductor die. Note that part of the over-mold that contacting the die attach material can act as the protective material.
97. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the at least on channel comprises at least two channels that intersect.
5. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one channel dissects the die attach material; and a first implementation of the at least one channel intersects with a second implementation of the at least one channel.
99. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the at least on channel forms a mesh.
5. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one channel dissects the die attach material; and a first implementation of the at least one channel intersects with a second implementation of the at least one channel.
100. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material.
16. The package according to claim 1 wherein the die attach material includes one or more metal materials and one or more non-metal materials.
103. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die; and the semiconductor die comprises an integrated circuit.
10. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the package comprises at least one of the following: a power amplifier package, a microwave power package, a microwave power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power transistor package, a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) package, and a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier transistor package; and the semiconductor die comprises a monolithic integrated circuit.
104. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the at least one channel is arranged under at least one secondary device area; and the semiconductor die comprises a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC).
10. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the package comprises at least one of the following: a power amplifier package, a microwave power package, a microwave power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier package, a Radio Frequency (RF) power transistor package, a monolithic microwave integrated circuit (MMIC) package, and a Radio Frequency (RF) power amplifier transistor package; and the semiconductor die comprises a monolithic integrated circuit.
106. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a continuous shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof.
4. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof.
111. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel.
9. The package according to claim 1 wherein the die attach material is applied utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel.
113. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that comprises at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located.
11. The package according to claim 1 wherein the at least one active area includes at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located.
114. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the semiconductor die comprises at least one secondary device area that comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
12. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
115. The semiconductor device according to claim 90 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBG) semiconductor.
13. The package according to claim 1 wherein: the at least one active area is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the one or more semiconductor devices include at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBC) semiconductor.
Claims 61-63, 65, 67, 69, 70, 73, 76, 81 and 83-85 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,830,810. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim of the instant application are encompassed by the claimed invention of U.S. Patent No. 11,830,810, see comparison table below.
Claims of instant application
Claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,830,810
61. A semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die that comprises at least one secondary device area; a support; and a die attach material comprising at least one channel, at least a portion of the at least one channel positioned between the at least one secondary device area of the semiconductor die and the support to allow gases generated during attachment of the semiconductor die to the support to be released from the die attach material.
1. A semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die; a support; and a die attach material configured to attach a lower surface of the semiconductor die to an upper surface of the support, wherein the die attach material is structured and arranged on the support to comprise at least one channel, wherein the semiconductor die is arranged on at least a portion of the at least one channel arranged on the support, wherein the at least one channel is configured to allow gases generated during curing of the die attach material during attachment of the semiconductor die to the support to be released from the die attach material, and wherein the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die.
3. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 further comprising at least one secondary device area on the support and wherein: the die attach material comprises at least a portion of the at least one channel positioned between the at least one secondary device area and the support; and the die attach material being arranged on the support such that the at least one channel is defined by one or more side edges of the die attach material, the lower surface of the semiconductor die and the upper surface of the support.
62. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor).
11. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the semiconductor die comprises at least one secondary device area that comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
63. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit).
13. The process of implementing a semiconductor device according to claim 12 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit); and the forming the die attach material comprises forming a plurality of portions of the die attach material arranged on the support and the plurality of portions comprising the at least one channel therebetween.
65. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 further comprising a protective material on the support and wherein the die attach material comprises at least a portion of at least one channel positioned between the protective material and the support.
4. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 further comprising a protective material on the support and wherein the die attach material comprises at least a portion of at least one channel positioned between the protective material and the support.
67. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the at least on channel comprises at least two channels that intersect.
12 wherein: the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel comprises multiple channels within the die attach material.
17. The process of implementing a semiconductor device according to claim 12 wherein: the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel forms a mesh within the die attach material.
69. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the at least on channel forms a mesh.
12 wherein: the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel forms a mesh within the die attach material.
70. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material.
12 wherein: the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material.
73. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die; and the semiconductor die comprises an integrated circuit.
1. A semiconductor device, comprising: …wherein the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die.
2. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the semiconductor die is a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit); and the die attach material being arranged on the support to comprise a plurality of portions of the die attach material arranged between the semiconductor die and the support and the plurality of portions comprising the at least one channel therebetween.
76. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a continuous shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof.
9. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein the die attach material is configured such that the at least one channel comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape within the die attach material, a polygonal shape within the die attach material, a circular shape within the die attach material, a freeform shape within the die attach material, a continuous shape within the die attach material, a discontinuous shape within the die attach material, and combinations thereof.
81. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel.
10. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the die attach material is configured utilizing one of the following: die attach material screen-printing processes, die attach material preform processes, die attach material needle dispensing processes, and inkjet die attach material dispensing processes; and the die attach material comprises a plurality of portions of the die attach material arranged between the support.
83. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that comprises at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located.
1. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the semiconductor die comprises at least one secondary device area that comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
84. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
1. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the semiconductor die comprises at least one secondary device area that comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
85. The semiconductor device according to claim 61 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBG) semiconductor.
1. The semiconductor device according to claim 1 wherein: the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the semiconductor die comprises at least one secondary device area that comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 61, 65, 67, 69, 73, 76, 83, 85, 89, 90, 94, 95, 97, 99, 103, 106, 113, and 115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0366383).
In re claim 61, Yokoyama discloses a semiconductor device 101, comprising: a semiconductor die 3 that comprises at least one secondary device area (perimeter area of the semiconductor die 3) (see paragraph [0032] and fig. 1); a support 7 (see paragraph [0035] and fig. 1); and a die attach material 11 comprising at least one channel 15 (dividing lines 15), at least a portion of the at least one channel 15 positioned between the at least one secondary device area of the semiconductor die 3 and the support 7 to allow gases generated during attachment of the semiconductor die 3 to the support 7 to be released from the die attach material 11 (see paragraphs [0039], [0060] and figs. 1-2 and 7, note that, Yokoyama discloses by utilizing the dividing lines 15 which constitute as the at least one channel as a bypass passage for the bonder evaporated by heating, the gas resulting from evaporation of the binder can be suppresses from remaining in joining material 11 which constitutes as the die attach material, thus the at least one channel 15 allow gases generated during the attachment of the semiconductor die to the support to be release from the die attach material 11).
In re claim 65, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprising a protective material 5 on the support 7 and wherein the die attach material 11 comprises at least a portion of at least one channel 15 positioned between the protective material 5 and the support 7 (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 1).
In re claim 67, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least on channel 15 comprises at least two channels that intersect (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 69, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least on channel 15 forms a mesh (see paragraph [0038] and fig. 2).
In re claim 73, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least one channel 15 is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die 3; and the semiconductor die 3 comprises an integrated circuit (an IGBT) (see paragraph [0034], note that, the at least one channel 15 is located at perimeter area of the semiconductor die and laterally offset from the central active area of the semiconductor die).
In re claim 76, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least one channel 15 comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a continuous shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 83, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor die 3 comprises at least one active area that comprises at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors (an IGBT) are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 85, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor die 3 comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBG) semiconductor (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 1-2, note that, the semiconductor device is an IGBT).
In re claim 89, as applied to claim 61 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprising an over-mold configuration 21 that at least surrounds the semiconductor die 3, wherein the die attach material 11 comprises at least a portion of at least one channel 15 positioned between the over-mold configuration 21 and the support 7 (see paragraph [0073] and fig. 7).
In re claim 90, Yokoyama discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor die 3 (see paragraph [0032] and figs. 1-2); a support 7 (see paragraph [0035] and figs. 1-2); and a die attach material 11 comprising at least one channel 15 (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2); and an over-mold configuration 21 that at least surrounds the semiconductor die 3 and the over-mold configuration 21 is attached at least in part to the die attach material 11 (see paragraph [0073] and fig. 7).
In re claim 94, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprising at least one secondary device area (perimeter area of the semiconductor die 3) on the support 7 and wherein die attach material 11 comprises at least a portion of the at least one channel 15 positioned between the at least one secondary device area and the support 7 (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 95, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor device further comprising a protective material 5 on the support 7 and wherein the die attach material 11 comprises at least a portion of at least one channel 15 positioned between the protective material 5 and the support 7 (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 1).
In re claim 97, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least on channel 15 comprises at least two channels that intersect (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 2).
In re claim 99, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least on channel 15 forms a mesh (see paragraph [0036] and fig. 2).
In re claim 103, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least one channel 15 is located vertically below and laterally offset from an active area of the semiconductor die 3; and the semiconductor die 3 comprises an integrated circuit (an IGBT) (see paragraph [0034], note that, the at least one channel 15 is located at perimeter area of the semiconductor die and laterally offset from the central active area of the semiconductor die).
In re claim 106, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least one channel 15 comprises at least one of the following: a rectangular shape, a polygonal shape, a circular shape, a freeform shape, a continuous shape, a discontinuous shape, and combinations thereof (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 113, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor die 3 comprises at least one active area that comprises at least one of the following: an area that one or more transistors (an IGBT) are located, an area that one or more transistor amplifiers are located, an area that one or more transformers are located, an area that one or more voltage regulators are located, an area that one or more devices that generate heat are located, an area that one or more devices that benefit from lower temperature operation are located, and an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 1-2).
In re claim 115, as applied to claim 90 above, Yokoyama discloses wherein the semiconductor die 3 comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more semiconductor devices are located; and the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a wide band-gap semiconductor device, an ultra-wideband device, a GaN based device, a GaN-on-SiC device, a GaN-on-Si device, a Metal Semiconductor Field-Effect Transistor (MESFET), a Metal Oxide Field Effect Transistor (MOSFET), a Junction Field Effect Transistor (JFET), a Bipolar Junction Transistor (BJT), laterally-diffused metal-oxide semiconductor (LDMOS), an Insulated Gate Bipolar Transistor (IGBT), a high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT), and a Wide Band Gap (WBG) semiconductor (see paragraph [0034] and figs. 1-2, note that the semiconductor die 3 is an IGBT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 62, 63, 84, 91, 92, 104, 114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0366383) in view of Schmukler (U.S. Pub. 2017/0033749).
In re claims 62, 63, 91, 92, 104, as applied to claims 61 and 90 above, respectively, Yokoyama discloses wherein the at least one channel 15 is arranged under at least one secondary device area (see paragraph [0038] and figs. 1-2) but is silent to wherein the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor) and wherein the semiconductor die is/comprises a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit).
However, Schmukler discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, wherein the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor) (see paragraph [0043]) and wherein the semiconductor die is/comprises a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit) (see paragraph [0058]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Schmukler into the semiconductor die of Yokoyama in order to enable wherein the semiconductor die is a Group III nitride based HEMT (high-electron-mobility transistor) and wherein the semiconductor die is/comprises a Group III-nitride based MMIC (monolithic microwave integrated circuit) in Yokoyama to be formed for the purpose of using a device for high power, large currents, that can support high voltages and/or operate at high frequencies for radio frequency/microwave applications (see paragraphs [0002], [0003] of Schmukler).
In re claims 84 and 114, as applied to claims 61 and 90, respectively, Yokoyama is silent to wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks.
However, Schmukler discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT) (see paragraphs [0035], [0043], [0046] and fig. 14); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits 100, matching circuits, input matching circuits 310, output matching circuits 1330, intermediate matching circuits 320, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks (see paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Schmukler into the semiconductor die of Yokoyama in order to enable wherein the semiconductor die comprises at least one active area that is an area that one or more Radio Frequency (RF) semiconductor devices are located; the semiconductor die comprises at least one of the following: a GaN based Field-Effect Transistor (FET) and a GaN based high-electron-mobility transistor (HEMT); and the at least one secondary device area comprises portions of one or more of the following: impedance matching circuits, matching circuits, input matching circuits, output matching circuits, intermediate matching circuits, harmonic terminations, harmonic termination circuits, and matching networks in Yokoyama to be formed for the purpose of using a device for high power, large currents, that can support high voltages and/or operate at high frequencies for radio frequency/microwave applications (see paragraphs [0002], [0003] of Schmukler).
Claim(s) 70 and 100 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0366383) in view of Kobayashi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0041974).
In re claims 70 and 100, as applied to claims 61 and 90 above, respectively, Yokoyama discloses wherein the die attach material 11 comprises silver nanoparticles (see paragraph [0047]) but is silent to wherein the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material.
However, Kobayashi discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor device including, inter-alia, wherein the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material so that it is possible to obtain a bonding memory to bond components of a semiconductor device that is capable of relieving stress on the semiconductor device and also has electrical conductivity (see paragraph [0087]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Kobayashi into the semiconductor die of Yokoyama in order to enable wherein the die attach material comprises metal particles in an organic material in Yokoyama to be formed for the purpose of using a die attach material to bond components of a semiconductor device that is capable of relieving stress on the semiconductor device and also has electrical conductivity (see paragraph [0087] of Kobayashi).
Claim(s) 81 and 111 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama et al. (U.S. Pub. 2018/0366383) in view of Hussain et al. (U.S. Pub. 2019/0259685).
In re claims 81 and 111, as applied to claims 61 and 90 above, Yokoyama is silent to wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel.
However, Hussain discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel (see paragraph [0019]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Hussain into the semiconductor die of Yokoyama in order to enable wherein the die attach material is configured utilizing screen-printing processes with a stencil having openings consistent with formations of the die attach material and the stencil having portions not allowing application of the die attach material consistent with locations of the at least one channel in Yokoyama to be formed in order to better control the placement of the liquid material (see paragraph [0019] of Hussain).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Strutz et al. (U.S. Pub. 2017/0256515) discloses a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, a semiconductor die 210 (see paragraph [0017] and fig. 3) that comprises at least one secondary device area; a support 202 (see paragraph [0017] and fig. 3); and a die attach material 208 comprising void 254 (see paragraph [0019] and fig. 3).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892