DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 4/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Henley et al. (US 6153524).
Regarding claim 1, Henley discloses a semiconductor wafer processing system for processing a set of semiconductor wafers (Abstract, figs. 1-3 and Col. 2), the system comprising:
a bond treat station including an oven (26, figs. 1-3 and Cols. 4-5);
a cleave station including a cleave assembly for cleaving the wafer (22, figs. 1-3 and Cols. 4-5);
a transfer robot (20, fig. 1 and Col. 4); and
a controller for controlling the transfer robot (Col. 5),
wherein the controller is programmed to:
control the transfer robot to retrieve a first wafer of the set of semiconductor wafers from
the bond treat station (Cols. 5-7); and
control the transfer robot to deliver the first wafer to the cleave station for processing by
the cleave assembly (Cols. 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, Henley further discloses a machine frame, wherein the
bond treat station, the cleave station, and the transfer robot are each at least partially positioned within the machine frame (figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Henley further discloses a load port (28, figs. 1-3 and Col. 4), wherein the first wafer is a bonded pair wafer, and wherein the controller is
further programmed to:
control the cleave assembly to cleave the first wafer to separate a handle wafer of the bonded pair from a donor wafer (Cols. 5-7); and
control the transfer robot to deliver the handle wafer to a wafer pod at the load port (Cols. 5-7).
Regarding claim 10, Henley further discloses wherein the cleave assembly includes a mechanical cleave tool (Col. 15).
Regarding claim 12, Henley further discloses wherein the controller is programmed to:
control the transfer robot to deliver each wafer
from the set of wafers to the cleave station; and
control the cleave assembly to cleave each wafer
of the set of wafers within a predefined maximum dwell
time (Cols. 5-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henley et al. (US 6153524).
Regarding claim 13, Henley discloses the semiconductor wafer processing system of claim 12, as mentioned above. Henley does not explicitly disclose wherein the predefined maximum dwell time is less than four hours. However, such dwell time is within the parameters of established semiconductor manufacturing and would therefore be deemed obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the semiconductor wafer processing system of claim 1, wherein the bond treat station further includes a queueing robot for holding a first cassette, wherein the transfer robot retrieves the first wafer from the first cassette at the bond treat station.
Claims 4-8 depend on claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of record disclosing the semiconductor wafer processing system of claim 1 in combination with the limitations of claim 11, wherein the controller is further programmed to control a queueing robot to load the wafer cassette into the oven at the bond treat station, wherein the controller controls the transfer robot to retrieve the first wafer from the bond treat station after the first wafer is processed in the oven.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication 20040107014 discloses a relevant apparatus for processing wafers.
/DOUGLAS M MENZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 5/30/26