DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atsumi (US 2010/0221089) in view of Shufflebotham (WO 97/23899).
Regarding claim 1, Atsumi teaches a substrate attaching/detaching robot, comprising:
a substrate holding member (5) configured to hold a substrate; a robot arm (3) configured to move the substrate holding member (5, fig. 2a-2c);
and at least three line-shaped members (4a, 4b, 4c, fig. 8) connecting the substrate holding member (5) and an end of the robot arm (3),
Atsumi does not teach wherein the three line-shaped members are made of a shape-memory alloy.
Shufflebotham is directed to processing substrates loaded with a robot. It teaches lift pins comprising line-shaped members made of a shape-memory alloy because it would allow a bent lift pin to be recovered to a memorized shape using heat without removal and replacement. This would decrease maintenance cost and increased system up time (pg. 2). Therefore Shufflebotham teaches shape memory components are operable and useful in the vacuum arts for wafer handling. The Examine notes that Atsumi’s line shaped members are the same shape as Shufflebotham lift pins and each are used to support a substrate wafer. The Examiner finds that modifying the material of Atsumi with the shape memory material of Shufflebotham would have been obvious because shape memory materials are well known and operable to support a substrate wafer for wafer handling. Therefore modification of the line shaped members of Atsumi with the shape member alloy of Shufflebotham would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Lastly selection of materials has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the three line shaped members of Atsumi by providing the three line-shaped members are made of a shape-memory alloy, as taught by Shufflebotham, because it would allow the shape of the member to be recovered using heat energy increasing machine uptime and reducing maintenance costs (pg.2 of Shufflebotham) and would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Atsumi does not explicitly teach and a temperature of the substrate holding member (5) during attaching or detaching of the substrate onto or from a substrate holder (5) configured to hold the substrate in a detachably attachable manner is in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy. However, this recitation is an intended use of the apparatus because maintaining the substrate holding member at a temperature indicates how the apparatus should be used. Even if it isn’t considered intended use this recited function is well known in the art.
Shufflebotham teaches maintaining the environment of its shape memory lift pins at a temperature in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape memory alloy (pg. 7, ln. 10). Therefore the function of providing “ a temperature of the substrate holding member (5) during attaching or detaching of the substrate onto or from a substrate holder (5) configured to hold the substrate in a detachably attachable manner is in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy” is well known in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the temperature of the substrate holding member (5) during attaching or detaching of the substrate onto or from a substrate holder configured to hold the substrate in a detachably attachable manner of Shufflebotham by providing the temperature is in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy, as taught by Shufflebotham, because it would allow the shape of the member to be recovered using heat energy increasing machine uptime and reducing maintenance costs (pg.2 of Shufflebotham) and would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Atsumi does not teach the shape-memory alloy is a NiTi-based alloy, and the range of the shape recovery temperature is from 20°C through 80°C.
Shufflebotham teaches the shape-memory alloy is a NiTi-based alloy, and the range of the shape recovery temperature is from 20°C through 80°C (pg. 6, lin. 25-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the shape recovery alloy of Atsumi by providing the shape-memory alloy is a NiTi-based alloy, and the range of the shape recovery temperature is from 20°C through 80°C, as taught by Shufflebotham, because it would allow for room temperature shape recovery of the material (pg. 2, ln. 25-pg. 3, ln. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Atsumi teaches a substrate attaching/detaching method, comprising:
connecting, as preparation, a substrate holding member (5) configured to hold a substrate (1) and an end of a robot arm (3) configured to move the substrate holding member (5, fig. 2a-2c), using at least three line-shaped members (4a-4c);
inserting the substrate holding member (5) into an opening in the substrate to make the substrate holdable by the substrate holding member (Fig. 2a);
and attaching or detaching the substrate onto or from a substrate holder configured to hold the substrate in a detachably attachable manner (Fig. 2a-2c, pg. 2).
Atsumi does not teach the line shaped member are made of a shape-memory alloy, nor does it teach setting, as preparation, a temperature of the substrate holding member during attaching or detaching of the substrate in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy.
Shufflebotham teaches lift pins, line shaped members, made of shape memory alloy (pg. 5-6). It also teaches operating the members in an environment in which the lift pins are normally in the austenitic condition (pg. 7, ln. 10; pg. 5, ln. 15-pg. 6, ln. 10) which reads on “is in the range of a shape recovery temperature of shape memory alloy”. Therefore it teaches “setting, as preparation, a temperature of the substrate holding member during attaching or detaching of the substrate in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy”.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the line shaped member of Atsumi by providing the line shaped members are made of a shape-memory alloy, as taught by Shufflebotham, because it would allow the shape of the member to be recovered using heat energy increasing machine uptime and reducing maintenance costs (pg.2 of Shufflebotham) and would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the temperature of the substrate holder of Atsumi by setting, as preparation, a temperature of the substrate holding member during attaching or detaching of the substrate in a range of a shape recovery temperature of the shape-memory alloy, as taught by Shufflebotham, because it would allow the shape of the member to be recovered using heat energy increasing machine uptime and reducing maintenance costs (pg.2 of Shufflebotham) and would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Atsumi teaches a film formation apparatus, comprising:
a chamber (201, Fig. 10) in which a film formation process is performed on a substrate (1);
a carrier (2) on which a substrate holder (2a) is situated, the substrate holder (2a) being configured to hold the substrate (1) in a detachably attachable manner (Fig. 2a-2c, 10);
a conveying mechanism configured to convey the carrier (Fig. 10, pg. 6);
and the substrate attaching/detaching robot of claim 1 (the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein), the substrate attaching/detaching robot (3) being configured to attach or detach the substrate (1) onto or from the substrate holder (2, fig. 2a-2c).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 2000-0050290 to Kwon published August 2000, see accompanying translation.
JOHN J. BRAYTON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/JOHN J BRAYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794