DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response to the Office Non-Final Action filed on 6/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 4, 10-15, and 21; and cancelled claim 16.
Applicant added claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-15, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (US 2024/0420959) (hereafter Xie), in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0313181) (hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a method for isolating a metal gate, the method comprising:
forming a gate line 136 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0059) over an isolation region 104 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0050) having a top surface (top surface of 104 in Fig. 4); and
patterning a mask 138 (Fig. 7, paragraph 0081) over the gate line 136 (Fig. 7), wherein an opening 161 (Fig. 7, paragraph 0081) in the mask 138 (Fig. 7) is located over a region (see a region of 136 is removed in Fig. 8) of the gate line 136 (Fig. 8) to be removed.
Xie does not disclose performing an etching process through the opening to form a trench extending through the gate line and into the isolation region; and
forming an isolation feature in the trench, wherein the isolation feature includes an air gap, and wherein at least a portion of the air gap is located at a depth below the top surface.
Chen discloses performing an etching process (see Fig. 26A and paragraph 0049) through the opening to form a trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) extending through the gate line 60 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0044) and into the isolation region 22 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0009); and
forming an isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench, wherein the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) includes an air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057), and wherein at least a portion of the air gap 84 (Fig. 27A) is located at a depth below the top surface (top surface of 22 in Fig. 27A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include performing an etching process through the opening to form a trench extending through the gate line and into the isolation region; and forming an isolation feature in the trench, wherein the isolation feature includes an air gap, and wherein at least a portion of the air gap is located at a depth below the top surface, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 2, Xie further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the gate line 136 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0059, wherein “sacrificial gate 136”) is a dummy gate line, and wherein the method further comprises: after forming the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) in the trench 173 (Fig. 10), removing (see Fig. 11 and paragraph 0113) the dummy gate line 136 (Fig. 10) to form a gate cavity; and forming a metal gate structure 194 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0117) in the gate cavity and adjacent to the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Xie further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the gate line is a metal gate line 194 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0119), and wherein the method further comprises: forming a dummy gate line 136 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0059) over the isolation region 104 (Fig. 4); forming an interlayer dielectric 152 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0119) adjacent to the dummy gate line 136 (Fig. 4); and removing (see Fig. 11, paragraph 0114) the dummy gate line 136 (Fig. 4) to form a gate cavity; wherein forming the gate line 194 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0113) over the isolation region 104 (Fig. 4) comprises forming the metal gate line 194 (Fig. 11) in the gate cavity.
Regarding claim 7, Xie further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: forming the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) in the trench comprises depositing a single layer 180 (Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0021, wherein “dielectric material”) of isolation material.
Regarding claim 9, Xie further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein forming the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 10) in the trench 173 (Fig. 10) comprises performing a deposition process to deposit isolation material 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) in the trench, and wherein the method further comprises controlling the etching process 170 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0088) and the deposition process (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0105) to form a selected air gap 181 (Fig. 10) at a desired depth within the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10, Xie discloses a method comprising:
designing a layout of an integrated circuit 100 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0050) including a device 100 (Fig. 11) comprising a first gate structure 194.sub.1 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0120) and a second gate structure 194.sub.2 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0120) separated by an isolation feature 180 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0120);
determining a desired device performance condition (see paragraph 0120, wherein “Reduction of such parasitic capacitance(s) may improve performance of the semiconductor IC device 100 and may allow for further semiconductor IC device scaling.”) and/or a desired process yield condition;
performing an integrated circuit fabrication process comprising:
forming a gate line 136 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0059) over a semiconductor substrate 102 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0058);
performing an etching process 170 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0098) to remove a portion of the gate line 136 (Fig. 8) and form a trench 173 (Fig. 8); and
depositing isolation material 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) to form an isolation feature (180 and 181 in Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) in the trench 173 (Fig. 10).
Xie does not disclose selecting a depth for a bottleneck within a trench to be formed in a gate line, wherein the selected depth is determined based on the desired device performance condition and/or the desired process yield condition;
form a trench having a bottleneck at the selected depth; and
the isolation material pinches off at the bottleneck to enclose an air gap below the bottleneck within the isolation feature.
Chen discloses selecting a depth for a bottleneck 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) within a trench 74 (Fig. 26A) to be formed in a gate line 56 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051), wherein the selected depth (depth of 74 in Fig. 26A) is determined based on the desired device performance condition and/or the desired process yield condition;
form a trench 74 (Fig. 26A) having a bottleneck at the selected depth; and
the isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) pinches off at the bottleneck to enclose an air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) below the bottleneck within the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include selecting a depth for a bottleneck within a trench to be formed in a gate line, wherein the selected depth is determined based on the desired device performance condition and/or the desired process yield condition; form a trench having a bottleneck at the selected depth; and the isolation material pinches off at the bottleneck to enclose an air gap below the bottleneck within the isolation feature, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 11, Xie further discloses the method of claim 10, wherein depositing isolation material 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0106) in the trench 173 (Fig. 10) comprises depositing a single layer 180 (Fig. 10; and see paragraph 0021, wherein “dielectric material”) of isolation material.
Regarding claim 12, Xie in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 10, however Xie does not disclose the isolation feature has a spear-shape; and
depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a small air gap.
Chen discloses the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) has a spear-shape (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0052, wherein “the sidewalls of the trench 74 may be slanted”); and
depositing isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) to form the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) with a small air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include the isolation feature has a spear-shape; and depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a small air gap, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 13, Xie in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 10, however Xie does not disclose the isolation feature has a carrot-shape; and
depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a full air gap.
Chen discloses the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) has a carrot-shape (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0051, wherein “an upper trapezoidal portion formed over the bulb-shaped depression”); and
depositing isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) to form the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) with a full air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include the isolation feature has a carrot-shape; and depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a full air gap, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 14, Xie in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 10, however Xie does not disclose forming a gate cap over the gate line before performing the etching process, wherein performing the etching process comprises etching through the gate cap and through the gate line to form the trench.
Chen discloses forming a gate cap 62 (Fig. 20, paragraph 0044) over the gate line 56 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0049) before performing (see Fig. 26A) the etching process, wherein performing (see Fig. 26A) the etching process comprises etching through the gate cap 62 (Fig. 26A) and through the gate line 56 (Fig. 26A) to form the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include forming a gate cap over the gate line before performing the etching process, wherein performing the etching process comprises etching through the gate cap and through the gate line to form the trench, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 15, Xie in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 10, however Xie does not disclose depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises depositing multiple layers of isolation material or materials to form a multi-layer isolation feature.
Chen discloses depositing isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) to form the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises depositing multiple layers (see paragraph 0057, wherein “The filling material may include silicon nitride, silicon oxide, silicon carbide, silicon oxynitride, silicon oxy-carbide, and the like”) of isolation material or materials to form a multi-layer isolation feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include depositing isolation material to form the isolation feature in the trench comprises depositing multiple layers of isolation material or materials to form a multi-layer isolation feature, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 21, Xie discloses a method of fabricating a gate-all-around semiconductor device, the method comprising:
forming a multi-layer structure (106 and 108 in Fig. 2, paragraph 0052) over a semiconductor substrate 102 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0058), the multi-layer structure (106 and 108 in Fig. 2) comprising alternating first semiconductor layers 106 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0052) and second semiconductor layers 108 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0052);
forming a fin structure 121 (Fig. 2, paragraph 0056) in the multi-layer structure (106 and 108 in Fig. 4);
forming a dummy gate electrode 136 (Fig. 4, paragraph 0059) over the fin structure 121 (Fig. 2);
removing (see Fig. 11 and paragraph 0114) the dummy gate electrode 136 (Fig. 10) and the first semiconductor layers 106 (Fig. 10) to form vertically-spaced nanostructures 108 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0115, wherein “semiconductor nanolayers 108”) from the second semiconductor layers 108 (Fig. 10); and
forming a metal gate line 194 (Fig. 11, paragraph 0117) surrounding the vertically-spaced nanostructures 108 (Fig. 11).
Xie does not disclose patterning a mask over the metal gate line, wherein an opening in the mask is located over a region of the metal gate line;
etching through the opening to form a trench through the metal gate line, wherein the trench extends to a maximum depth, wherein the trench has a maximum lateral width at a first depth less than the maximum depth, and wherein the trench has a second lateral width less than the maximum lateral width at a second depth less than the first depth; and
depositing an isolation material in the trench to form an isolation feature separating a first metal gate structure from a second metal gate structure.
Chen discloses patterning (see Fig. 25A and paragraph 0048) a mask 66 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0048) over the metal gate line 56 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0041), wherein an opening 70 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0045) in the mask 66 (Fig. 25A) is located over a region of the metal gate line 56 (Fig. 25A);
etching through the opening 70 (Fig. 25A) to form a trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) through the metal gate line 56 (Fig. 25A), wherein the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) extends to a maximum depth, wherein the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) has a maximum lateral width (W1 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) at a first depth less than the maximum depth, and wherein the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) has a second lateral width (W2 in Fig. 26A, paragraph 0051) less than the maximum lateral width (W1 in Fig. 26A) at a second depth less than the first depth; and
depositing an isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) to form an isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) separating a first metal gate structure (portion of 56 on the left hand side of 82 in Fig. 27A) from a second metal gate structure (portion of 56 on the right hand side of 82 in Fig. 27A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include patterning a mask over the metal gate line, wherein an opening in the mask is located over a region of the metal gate line; etching through the opening to form a trench through the metal gate line, wherein the trench extends to a maximum depth, wherein the trench has a maximum lateral width at a first depth less than the maximum depth, and wherein the trench has a second lateral width less than the maximum lateral width at a second depth less than the first depth; and depositing an isolation material in the trench to form an isolation feature separating a first metal gate structure from a second metal gate structure, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 22, Xie further discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the trench extends into a shallow trench isolation region 104 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0050) underlying the metal gate line 136 (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 23, Xie in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 21, however Xie does not disclose forming a gate cap over the metal gate line before patterning the mask, wherein etching through the opening comprises etching through the gate cap and through the metal gate line.
Chen discloses forming a gate cap 62 (Fig. 20, paragraph 0044) over the metal gate line 56 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0049) before patterning (see Fig. 25A) the mask 66 (Fig. 25A, paragraph 0047), wherein etching through the opening comprises etching through the gate cap 62 (Fig. 26A) and through the metal gate line 56 (Fig. 26A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include forming a gate cap over the metal gate line before patterning the mask, wherein etching through the opening comprises etching through the gate cap and through the metal gate line, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 24, Xie further discloses the method of claim 21, wherein depositing the isolation material 180 (Fig. 10) in the trench 173 (Fig. 10) comprises conformally (see “CVD” in paragraph 0111) depositing the isolation material 180 (Fig. 10) to enclose an air gap 181 (Fig. 10) within the isolation feature 180 (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 25, Xie further discloses the method of claim 21, wherein depositing the isolation material 180 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0105) in the trench 174 (Fig. 9) comprises depositing the isolation material 180 (Fig. 10) to enclose an air gap 181 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0105) within the isolation feature (180 and 181 in Fig. 10), wherein at least a portion of the air gap 181 (Fig. 10) is located at a depth below a lowermost one of the vertically-spaced nanostructures 108 (Fig. 10, paragraph 0115).
Xie does not disclose conformally depositing the isolation material to enclose an air gap within the isolation feature.
Chen discloses conformally depositing (see paragraph 0057, wherein “ALD, PECVD, CVD, spin-on coating, or the like”) the isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) to enclose an air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) within the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xie to include conformally depositing the isolation material to enclose an air gap within the isolation feature, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2019/0067277) (hereafter Tsai), in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0313181) (hereafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai discloses a method for isolating a metal gate, the method comprising:
forming a gate line 110 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0012) over an isolation region 106 (Fig. 8, paragraph 0016) having a top surface (top surface of 106 in Fig. 8);
patterning a mask 170 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0035) over the gate line 110 (Fig. 9), wherein an opening 113 (Fig. 9, paragraph 0035) in the mask 170 (Fig. 9) is located over a region of the gate line 110 (Fig. 10) to be removed.
Tsai does not disclose performing an etching process through the opening to form a trench extending through the gate line and into the isolation region; and
forming an isolation feature in the trench, wherein the isolation feature includes an air gap, and wherein at least a portion of the air gap is located at a depth below the top surface.
Chen discloses performing an etching process (see Fig. 26A and paragraph 0049) through the opening to form a trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) extending through the gate line 56 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0044) and into the isolation region 22 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0009); and
forming an isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench, wherein the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) includes an air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057), and wherein at least a portion of the air gap 84 (Fig. 27A) is located at a depth below the top surface (top surface of 22 in Fig. 27A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsai to include performing an etching process through the opening to form a trench extending through the gate line and into the isolation region; and forming an isolation feature in the trench, wherein the isolation feature includes an air gap, and wherein at least a portion of the air gap is located at a depth below the top surface, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 4, Tsai in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, however Tsai does not disclose forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises conformally depositing isolation material in the trench such that the isolation material merges at a selected height within the trench to enclose the air gap.
Chen discloses forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0057) comprises conformally depositing (see paragraph 0057, wherein “ALD, PECVD, CVD, spin-on coating, or the like”) isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench such that the isolation material 82 (Fig. 27A) merges at a selected height within the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) to enclose the air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsai to include forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises conformally depositing isolation material in the trench such that the isolation material merges at a selected height within the trench to enclose the air gap, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 5, Tsai in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, however Tsai does not disclose performing the etching process through the opening to form the trench comprises forming a spear-shaped trench; and
forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a small air gap.
Chen discloses performing the etching process (see Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) through the opening to form the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises forming a spear-shaped trench (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0052, wherein “the sidewalls of the trench 74 may be slanted”); and
forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) comprises forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) with a small air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsai to include performing the etching process through the opening to form the trench comprises forming a spear-shaped trench; and forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a small air gap, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 6, Tsai in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, however Tsai does not disclose performing the etching process through the opening to form the trench comprises forming a carrot-shaped trench; and
forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a full air gap.
Chen discloses performing the etching process (see Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) through the opening to form the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises forming a carrot-shaped trench (see Fig. 10 and paragraph 0051, wherein “an upper trapezoidal portion formed over the bulb-shaped depression”); and
forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A) comprises forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A) with a full air gap 84 (Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsai to include performing the etching process through the opening to form the trench comprises forming a carrot-shaped trench; and forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises forming the isolation feature with a full air gap, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Regarding claim 8, Tsai in view of Chen discloses the method of claim 1, however Tsai does not disclose forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises depositing multiple layer of isolation material to form a multi-layer isolation feature.
Chen discloses forming the isolation feature (82 and 84 in Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) in the trench 74 (Fig. 26A, paragraph 0049) comprises depositing multiple layer (see paragraph 0057, wherein “The filling material may include silicon nitride, silicon oxide, silicon carbide, silicon oxynitride, silicon oxy-carbide, and the like”) of isolation material to form a multi-layer isolation feature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Tsai to include forming the isolation feature in the trench comprises depositing multiple layer of isolation material to form a multi-layer isolation feature, as taught by Chen, since the air gap 84 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) reduces current leakage from one part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut to the other part of the gate electrode 56 (Chen, Fig. 27A, paragraph 0057) which is now cut, especially as the width between the cut gates decreases with technology iterations.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 21-25 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813