Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-13, 17, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (hereinafter Park, US 2021/0004124).
In regards to independent claim 1, Park teaches a display device comprising:
a display layer (OLED) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas (EML), and a plurality of sensing areas (151) (Park, Fig. 19); and
a sensor layer on the display layer (100) (Park, Fig. 19), and comprising:
a first sensing electrode (140) comprising (Park, Fig. 12):
a plurality of sensing patterns (141, 143 151 etc) (Park, Fig. 12); and
a connection pattern connected to the plurality of sensing patterns (145, 153, 133, 908, 909) (Park, Fig. 15) ; and
a second sensing electrode (151) (Park, Fig. 12),
wherein each of the plurality of sensing patterns comprises:
a first-first line extending in a first direction (145 the line extending diagonally downward from right to left) (Park, Fig. 15); and
a second-first line extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (the line next to 145 extending diagonally downward from left to right) (Park, Fig. 15), and
wherein at least one of the connection pattern or the second sensing electrode comprises a cross line extending in a direction different from the first and second directions (133 or 908, 909 extending up and down) (Park, Fig. 15).
In regards to dependent claim 2, Park teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light emitting areas and each of the plurality of sensing areas have a quadrangular shape defined by corresponding first sides extending in the first direction, and corresponding second sides extending in the second direction (141 and 151 are squares) (Park, Fig. 12).
In regards to dependent claim 10, Park teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the connection pattern comprises a first connection line extending in the first direction, and a second connection line extending in the second direction (Park, Fig. 15),
wherein the second sensing electrode comprises a first-second line extending in the first direction, and a second-second line extending in the second direction (Park, Fig. 15 , Connection lines surrounding electrode on both diagonals),
wherein the connection pattern is located at a layer different from that of the second sensing electrode and the plurality of sensing patterns (Park, Fig. 16, 153, 143, 151),
wherein the connection pattern overlaps with the second sensing electrode in a plan view (Park, Fig. 16, 153, 143, 151), and
wherein the connection pattern and the second sensing electrode are insulated from each other (Park, Fig. 16, 153, 143, 151, IL).
In regards to dependent claim 11, Park teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the connection pattern further comprises a first cross line electrically connected to the first connection line and the second connection line, and extending in a first cross direction different from the first and second directions, and wherein the first cross line overlaps with the second sensing electrode in a plan view (Park, Fig. 10, 133).
In regards to dependent claim 12, Park teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the second sensing electrode does not overlap with the first connection line and the second connection line in a plan view, and wherein the second sensing electrode has an opening corresponding to the first connection line and the second connection line (Park, Fig. 16, 153, 121).
In regards to dependent claim 13, Park teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the second sensing electrode further comprises a second cross line electrically connected to the first-second line and the second-second line, and extending in a second cross direction crossing the first cross direction, and wherein the first cross line overlaps with the second cross line in a plan view (Park, Fig. 15, 909).
In regards to independent claim 17, Park teaches a display device comprising:
a display layer (OLED) comprising a plurality of light emitting areas (PXA), and a plurality of sensing areas (151) (Park, Fig. 19); and
a sensor layer (110) on the display layer (OLED) (Park, Fig. 19), and comprising:
a first sensing electrode (120) (Park, Fig. 11) comprising:
a plurality of sensing patterns (140, 150) (Park, Fig. 11); and
a connection pattern connected to the plurality of sensing patterns (145, 133, 909, etc) (Park, Fig. 11); and
a second sensing electrode (150) (Park, Fig. 11),
wherein a first portion of the connection pattern (153) and a second portion of the second sensing electrode (151) are located between a light emitting area (PXA) from among the light emitting areas and a sensing area from among the sensing areas adjacent to the light emitting area (121) in a first direction (Park, Fig. 11, Fig. 18 and 19),
wherein each of the first portion (153) and the second portion (151) extends in a second direction (Diagonal downward from left to right) crossing the first direction (Diagonally downward from right to left), and
wherein the first portion (153) and the second portion (151) are spaced from each other in a plan view (Park, Fig. 16).
In regards to dependent claim 18, Park teaches a display device comprising wherein the connection pattern further comprises a first cross line extending from the first portion In a first cross direction crossing the first and second directions, and wherein the first cross line overlaps with the second sensing electrode in a plan view (Park, 908, Fig. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-9, 14-16, 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Park in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee, US 2023/0315224).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
In regards to dependent claim 3, Park teaches the display device of claim 1,
Park fails to explicitly teach
wherein the plurality of light emitting areas comprises:
a plurality of first light emitting areas;
a plurality of second light emitting areas; and
a plurality of third light emitting areas,
wherein the plurality of first light emitting areas and the plurality of third light emitting areas are alternately and repeatedly located one by one along the first direction,
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas are consecutively located along the first direction,
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas comprise a first-second light emitting area, a second-second light emitting area, and a third-second light emitting area, which are consecutively and repeatedly located along the first direction,
wherein a first sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area, and
wherein a second sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located in an area spaced from the second-second light emitting area, with the third-second light emitting area interposed therebetween.
Lee teaches:
wherein the plurality of light emitting areas comprises:
a plurality of first light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA2);
a plurality of second light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3); and
a plurality of third light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EM4),
wherein the plurality of first light emitting areas and the plurality of third light emitting areas are alternately and repeatedly located one by one along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA2 and EMA 4 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas are consecutively located along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas comprise a first-second light emitting area, a second-second light emitting area, and a third-second light emitting area, which are consecutively and repeatedly located along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein a first sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area (Lee, Fig. 6, top RA), and
wherein a second sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located in an area spaced from the second-second light emitting area, with the third-second light emitting area interposed therebetween (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , bottom RA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 4, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 3,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the first sensing area and the second sensing area are closest to each other from among the plurality of sensing areas. Lee teaches wherein the first sensing area and the second sensing area are closest to each other from among the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 6 RA are closest neighbors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 5, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 3,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein a first distance between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area is equal to or greater than a second distance between the second-second light emitting area and the third-second light emitting area. Lee teaches wherein a first distance between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area is equal to or greater than a second distance between the second-second light emitting area and the third-second light emitting area (Lee, Fig. 6, they are equidistant). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 6, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 3,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein a first portion of the connection pattern and a second portion of the second sensing electrode are located between the first sensing area and the first-second light emitting area,
wherein a third portion of the connection pattern and a fourth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between the second-second light emitting area and the third-second light emitting area,
and wherein a first distance between the first portion and the second portion is different from a second distance between the third portion and the fourth portion in a plan view.
Lee teaches wherein a first portion of the connection pattern and a second portion of the second sensing electrode are located between the first sensing area and the first-second light emitting area (Lee, Fig. 6, Connection lines 410-440 surround pixels and sensing area),
wherein a third portion of the connection pattern and a fourth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between the second-second light emitting area and the third-second light emitting area (Lee, Fig. 6, Connection lines 410-440 surround pixels and sensing area),
and wherein a first distance between the first portion and the second portion is different from a second distance between the third portion and the fourth portion in a plan view (Lee Fig. 6, Space between RA and Em1 is different from space between RA and EM3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 7, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 6,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein a fifth portion of the connection pattern and a sixth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between one first light emitting area from among the plurality of first light emitting areas and one third light emitting area from among the plurality of third light emitting areas, and
wherein a third distance between the fifth portion and the sixth portion is different from at least one of the first distance or the second distance in a plan view.
Lee teaches wherein a fifth portion of the connection pattern and a sixth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between one first light emitting area from among the plurality of first light emitting areas and one third light emitting area from among the plurality of third light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, Connection lines 410-440 surround pixels and sensing area), and
wherein a third distance between the fifth portion and the sixth portion is different from at least one of the first distance or the second distance in a plan view (Lee Fig. 6, Space between RA and Em1 is different from space between RA and EM4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 8, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 3,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the display layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas;
a first functional layer on the plurality of first electrodes, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas;
a plurality of light emitting layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas, respectively;
a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of sensing areas, respectively;
a second functional layer on the plurality of light emitting layers and the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas; and
a second electrode on the second functional layer.
Lee teaches wherein the display layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 G1 G2);
a first functional layer on the plurality of first electrodes, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8, A1, A2);
a plurality of light emitting layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 8 175), respectively;
a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 185), respectively;
a second functional layer on the plurality of light emitting layers and the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers (Lee, Fig. 8 TSL), and
commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 RA EMA); and
a second electrode on the second functional layer (Lee, Fig. 8 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 9, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 3,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the display layer further comprises an auxiliary layer commonly located between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the first-second light emitting area, between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the second-second light emitting area, and between the first functional layer and the photoelectric conversion layer of the first sensing area.
Lee teaches wherein the display layer further comprises an auxiliary layer commonly located between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the first-second light emitting area, between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the second-second light emitting area, and between the first functional layer and the photoelectric conversion layer of the first sensing area (Lee, Fig. 8 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 14, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 13,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein an angle between the first cross line and the second cross line is greater than or equal to about 45 degrees, and smaller than or equal to about 135 degrees.
Lee teaches wherein an angle between the first cross line and the second cross line is greater than or equal to about 45 degrees, and smaller than or equal to about 135 degrees (Lee, Fig. 13, 90degress). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 15, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 13,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first cross line or the second cross line comprises:
an overlap portion located at a portion where the first cross line overlaps with and crosses the second cross line; and
a connection portion adjacent to the overlap portion, and
wherein the overlap portion has a width different from a width of the connection portion.
Lee teaches wherein at least one of the first cross line or the second cross line comprises:
an overlap portion located at a portion where the first cross line overlaps with and crosses the second cross line; and a connection portion adjacent to the overlap portion, and wherein the overlap portion has a width different from a width of the connection portion (Lee, Fig. 13, 453, 454).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 16, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 13,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first cross line or the second cross line has a width different from a width of the first connection line. Lee teaches wherein at least one of the first cross line or the second cross line has a width different from a width of the first connection line (Lee, Fig. 15, 455). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 19, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 18,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the second sensing electrode further comprises a second cross line extending from the second portion in a second cross direction crossing the first cross direction, and wherein the first cross line overlaps with the second cross line in a plan view. Lee teaches wherein the second sensing electrode further comprises a second cross line extending from the second portion in a second cross direction crossing the first cross direction, and wherein the first cross line overlaps with the second cross line in a plan view (Lee, Fig. 13, 453, 454). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 20, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 19,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein an angle between the first cross line and the second cross line is greater than or equal to about 45 degrees, and smaller than or equal to about 135 degrees.
Lee teaches wherein an angle between the first cross line and the second cross line is greater than or equal to about 45 degrees, and smaller than or equal to about 135 degrees (Lee, Fig. 13, 90degress). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 21, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 17,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein a third portion of the connection pattern and a fourth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between two light emitting areas that are adjacent to each other in the first direction from among the plurality of light emitting areas, and
wherein a first distance in the first direction between the first portion and the second portion is different from a second distance between the third portion and the fourth portion. Lee teaches wherein a third portion of the connection pattern and a fourth portion of the second sensing electrode are located between two light emitting areas that are adjacent to each other in the first direction from among the plurality of light emitting areas, and wherein a first distance in the first direction between the first portion and the second portion is different from a second distance between the third portion and the fourth portion (Lee Fig. 6, Space between RA and Em1 is different from space between RA and EM4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 22, Park teaches the display device of claim 17,
Park fails to explicitly teach
wherein the plurality of light emitting areas comprises:
a plurality of first light emitting areas;
a plurality of second light emitting areas; and
a plurality of third light emitting areas,
wherein the plurality of first light emitting areas and the plurality of third light emitting areas are alternately and repeatedly located one by one along the first direction,
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas are consecutively located along the first direction,
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas comprise a first-second light emitting area, a second-second light emitting area, and a third-second light emitting area consecutively and repeatedly located along the first direction,
wherein a first sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area, and
wherein a second sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located in an area spaced from the second-second light emitting area with the third-second light emitting area interposed therebetween.
Lee teaches:
wherein the plurality of light emitting areas comprises:
a plurality of first light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA2);
a plurality of second light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3); and
a plurality of third light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 6, EM4),
wherein the plurality of first light emitting areas and the plurality of third light emitting areas are alternately and repeatedly located one by one along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA2 and EMA 4 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas are consecutively located along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein the plurality of second light emitting areas comprise a first-second light emitting area, a second-second light emitting area, and a third-second light emitting area, which are consecutively and repeatedly located along the first direction (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , RA, RMA3 repeat in DR2 direction),
wherein a first sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located between the first-second light emitting area and the second-second light emitting area (Lee, Fig. 6, top RA), and
wherein a second sensing area from among the plurality of sensing areas is located in an area spaced from the second-second light emitting area, with the third-second light emitting area interposed therebetween (Lee, Fig. 6, EMA1 , bottom RA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 23, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 17,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the display layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas;
a first functional layer on the plurality of first electrodes, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas;
a plurality of light emitting layers on the first functional layer, and respectively corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas;
a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers on the first functional layer, and respectively corresponding to the plurality of sensing areas;
a second functional layer on the plurality of light emitting layers and the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas; and
a second electrode on the second functional layer.
Lee teaches wherein the display layer comprises:
a plurality of first electrodes corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 G1 G2);
a first functional layer on the plurality of first electrodes, and commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8, A1, A2);
a plurality of light emitting layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas (Lee, Fig. 8 175), respectively;
a plurality of photoelectric conversion layers on the first functional layer, and corresponding to the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 185), respectively;
a second functional layer on the plurality of light emitting layers and the plurality of photoelectric conversion layers (Lee, Fig. 8 TSL), and
commonly corresponding to the plurality of light emitting areas and the plurality of sensing areas (Lee, Fig. 8 RA EMA); and
a second electrode on the second functional layer (Lee, Fig. 8 220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
In regards to dependent claim 24, Park in view of Lee teaches the display device of claim 23,
Park fails to explicitly teach wherein the display layer further comprises an auxiliary layer commonly located between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the first-second light emitting area, between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the second-second light emitting area, and between the first functional layer and the photoelectric conversion layer of the first sensing area.
Lee teaches wherein the display layer further comprises an auxiliary layer commonly located between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the first-second light emitting area, between the first functional layer and the light emitting layer of the second-second light emitting area, and between the first functional layer and the photoelectric conversion layer of the first sensing area (Lee, Fig. 8 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Park and Lee before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the display device taught by Park to include the pixel area and sensor area array of Lee in order to obtain a display device where the pixels and sensor areas are organized in an array. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it reduces the interference from the sensor areas on the light emitted from the pixels.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM C TRAPANESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812