DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the air gap” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will trat “the air gap” as —an air gap--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 10, 11, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alasimio et al. (US 2016/0241749 A1) in view of Hsien (US 2019/0172861 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Alasimio (Fig. 4) discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a frame (218); a semiconductor die (212) coupled to the lead frame (218);
an optically transparent lid (208) spaced apart from the semiconductor die (108) by a gap;
a package (225 228) surrounding the semiconductor die (108), the package configured to support a perimeter of the optically transparent lid (108), coupled thereto by a sealant (226); and
a perimeter frame (203) disposed on top of at least a portion of the perimeter of the optically transparent lid (208) such that the optically transparent lid (208) is fixedly coupled between the perimeter frame (203) and the package (225, 226, 228).
Alasimio does not explicitly disclose that the frame is a lead frame.
Hsieh (Fig. 1) discloses that frame is lead frame (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh such that frame is lead frame in order to support and serve as a substrate for semiconductor die [0037]
Regarding Claim 2, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor die includes an optical sensor. (“image sensor 212”)
Regarding Claim 5, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the perimeter frame (203) is coupled to a sidewall of the package (228, 225) by the sealant. (encapsulant 226).
Regarding Claim 7, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the perimeter frame (203) and the optically transparent lid (208) are disposed within a recessed area of the package (area inside 225).
Regarding Claim 10, Alasimio (Fig. 4) discloses a method, comprising:
forming a frame (218) having a base and leads (PCB);
attaching a semiconductor die (212) to the base (218);
coupling the semiconductor die (212) to the leads using wire bonds (222);
forming an optical package (225) around the lead frame (218), the semiconductor die (212), and the wire bonds (222);
covering the semiconductor die with a glass lid (208);
disposing a perimeter frame (203) over the glass lid (208); and
securing the glass lid (208) and the perimeter frame (203) to the optical package (225).
Alasimio does not explicitly disclose that the frame is a lead frame.
Hsieh (Fig. 1) discloses that frame is lead frame (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method in Alasimio in view of Hsieh such that frame is lead frame in order to support and serve as a substrate for semiconductor die [0037]
Regarding Claim 11, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein disposing
the perimeter frame (203) includes securing the perimeter frame to the glass lid (208) with an adhesive layer (226).
Regarding Claim 13, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein covering the semiconductor die with the glass lid (208) includes forming an air gap (distance between 212 and 208) between the semiconductor die (2012) and the glass lid. (208)
Regarding Claim 14, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein securing the glass lid (208) and the perimeter frame (203) to the optical package (225) includes sealing using a layer of epoxy. (226) [0025]
Regarding Claim 15, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the method of claim 10, wherein securing the glass lid (208) and the perimeter frame (203) to the optical package (225) lengthens a moisture penetration path to the air gap. (distance between 212 and 208)
Regarding Claim 16, Alasimio discloses a die package, comprising:
a lead frame (218); a glass lid (208) suspended above the lead frame (218); a perimeter frame (203) over the glass lid (208); and a packaging material (225) configured to be conformal with the lead frame (218), the glass lid (208), and the perimeter frame. (218)
Alasimio does not explicitly disclose that the frame is a lead frame.
Hsieh (Fig. 1) discloses that frame is lead frame (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a method in Alasimio in view of Hsieh such that frame is lead frame in order to support and serve as a substrate for semiconductor die [0037]
Regarding Claim 17, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the die package of claim 16, further comprising a sealant (226) between the perimeter frame (225), the glass lid (208), and the packaging material (225).
Regarding Claim 20, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the package of claim 16, wherein the perimeter frame. (203).
Alasimio does not explicitly disclose that the perimeter frame is made of a rigid material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio such that the perimeter frame is made of a rigid material in order to support a lens stack and since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alasimio et al. (US 2016/0241749 A1) in view of Hsien (US 2019/0172861 A1) and further in view of Kahana et al. (US 2022/0075027 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 2.
Alasimio in view of Hsieh does not explicitly disclose that the optical sensor is a silicon photomultiplier.
Kahana discloses an optical sensor is a silicon photomultiplier.(Simp) [0040]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh and Kahana such that the optical sensor is a silicon photomultiplier in order to make it possible to generate signals within a dynamic range from a single photon to hundreds and thousands of photons detected by the different SPADs [0040]
Regarding Claim 4, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the optical sensor includes a micro-lens array.
Alasimio in view of Hsieh does not explicitly disclose that the optical sensor includes a micro-lens array.
Kahana discloses an optical sensor includes a micro-lens array [sensor 116 may include a plurality of lenses 422 (e.g., microlenses),] [0094]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh and Kahana such that the optical sensor includes a micro-lens array in order to r increasing an optical fill factor and sensitivity of detector array [0094]
Claim(s) 8, 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alasimio et al. (US 2016/0241749 A1) in view of in view of Hsien (US 2019/0172861 A1) and Minamio et al. (US 2008/0001240 A1)
Regarding Claim 8, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein
the perimeter frame (203).
Alasimio in view of Hsieh does not explicitly disclose a hardened liquid crystal polymer. [0094]
Minamio discloses a frame includes a hardened liquid crystal polymer. [0094]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh and Minamio such that the perimeter frame includes a hardened liquid crystal polymer. [0094] since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 9, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sealant (226).
Alasimio in view of Hsieh does not explicitly disclose an organic epoxy material.
Minamio discloses an organic epoxy material. 015]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh and Minamio including an organic epoxy material. [0015] since since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 19, Alasimio in view of Hsieh discloses the die package of claim 16, wherein the packaging material (225)
Alasimio in view of Hsieh does not explicitly disclose a pre-molded epoxy or a ceramic.
Minamio discloses an organic epoxy material. 015]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Alasimio in view of Hsieh and Minamio including a pre-molded epoxy or a ceramic [0015] since the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (See MPEP 2144.07).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12, 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891