DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on January 14, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the animal tissue" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no disclosure of animal tissue in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Ratuld (US 2014/0242215 A1; August 28, 2014).
Regarding claim 1, Ratuld discloses an animal digest composition having enhanced palatability, wherein the animal digest composition is dried and comprises dried animal digest particles ([0050], [0136]).
Ratuld discloses that the animal digest composition is dried to have a moisture content of about 1 to about 8% ([0136]), which overlaps the claimed range of about 3% or less. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Ratuld further teaches that additional pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers can be mixed with the digest material in step d3) before the drying step d6) ([0119]), wherein the pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers include fat or lipids ([0058]-[0059]). Ratuld teaches that animal digests having enhanced palatability can be mixed with fat prior to application to pet food ([0169]). Ratuld discloses examples wherein 6% fat is applied to pet food ([0220]) and therefore would have been obvious to mix the 6% fat with digest material prior to application to food. It further would have been obvious to mix the 6% fat with the digest material in step d3) and further dry the composition to form particles in step d6) as Ratuld teaches that fat and lipids can be added in step d3).
Additionally, as Ratuld teaches that fat and lipids are palatability enhancers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art determine the optimum amount of fat in the animal digest particles depending on the desired palatability and flavor of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05:Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
With respect to the claimed volume diameter particle size distribution, Ratuld teaches that the liquid digest has a particle size lower than 500 microns before it is spray dried ([0214], [0227]), but fails to specifically teach the claimed volume diameter particle size distribution.
As Ratuld teaches particles having a size lower than 500 microns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that after the drying process, the particle size would be even smaller. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions, such as the grind size and spray drying time, to result in a desired particle size distribution. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art and would have been obvious absent a showing that the claimed volume diameter particle size distribution produces new or unexpected results.
Ratuld does not teach the presence of silicon dioxide flow aid and therefore the composition of Ratuld is considered to devoid of silicon dioxide flow aid.
Regarding claims 2-5, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Ratuld teaches that the liquid digest has a particle size of lower than 500 microns, but fails to specifically teach the claimed particles sizes and percentages of particles having such claimed particle sizes.
However, as Ratuld teaches particles having a size lower than 500 microns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that after the drying process, the particle size would be even smaller. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art can vary the processing conditions, such as the grind size and spray drying time, to result in a desired particle size distribution. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art and would have been obvious absent a showing that the claimed particles sizes and percentages of particles having such claimed particle sizes produces new or unexpected results.
Regarding claim 6, Ratuld teaches that the dried animal digest composition is completely devoid of the silicon dioxide flow aid and is also devoid of a chemical flow aids such as clay, fly ash, quicklime, zeolite, silicates, stearates, diatomaceous earth, bamboo shoot, pea fiber, pea hull, citrus fiber, cellulose powder, or microcrystalline cellulose.
Regarding claim 7, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Ratuld teaches that additional pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers can be mixed with the digest material in step d3) before the drying step d6) ([0119]), wherein the pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers include fat and protein ([0058]-[0059], [0062]-[0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to mix fat and protein with the digest material in step d3) and further dry the composition to form particles in step d6) as Ratuld teaches that fat and lipids can be added in step d3).
Additionally, as Ratuld teaches that fat and protein are palatability enhancers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art determine the optimum amount of fat and protein in the animal digest particles depending on the desired palatability, flavor and nutrition of the composition. This is merely routine experimentation that is well within the ordinary skill in the art. As stated in MPEP 2144.05:Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Regarding claim 8, Ratuld teaches that the animal digest particles are prepared from animal tissue that can be liver ([0052]-[0053]).
Ratuld further teaches Examples 1 and 2 using liver as the animal tissue for preparing the liquid digest that is then spray dried into particles, and therefore Ratuld teaches that 100% of animal tissue used to prepare the dried animal digest particles can be from liver tissue ([0213]-[0228]).
Regarding claim 9, Ratuld teaches that the animal tissue used to prepared the dried animal digest particles is clean, undecomposed animal tissue ([0050]). Ratuld further teaches that partially defatting tissue can be used ([0050]).
While, Ratuld fails to specifically teach that the animal tissue is pre-processed to remove animal fat, as Ratuld teaches clean tissue free of hair, horns, teeth, hooves, and feather and teaches defatted tissue ([0050]), it would have been obvious to pre-process the animal tissue to remove fat.
Regarding claim 10, Ratuld teaches that the animal digest composition as described above with respect to claim 1 comprises 100% of the dried animal digest particles as the animal digest is mixed with additional ingredients/palatability enhancers and further dried to form the dried animal digest particles.
Regarding claim 11, Ratuld further teaches that the dried animal digest composition can comprise 60% by weight of the dried animal digest particles and 40% by weight of an additive that can be a pyrophosphate compound ([0220], [0228]), thus falling within the claimed ranges of 25-99.99% dried particles and 0.01-75% additive.
Regarding claim 12, as stated above with respect to claim 1, Ratuld teaches that additional pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers can be mixed with the digest material in step d3) before the drying step d6) ([0119]), wherein the pet food ingredients and palatability enhancers include yeast ([0062]-[0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to mix yeast with the digest material in step d3) and further dry the composition to form particles in step d6) as Ratuld teaches that yeast can be added in step d3) as a palatability enhancer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791