DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11-20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3 and 7 are amended. Claim 1 is an independent claim. Claims 1-10 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al (CN 115305564 A, machine translation, “Su”), and further in view of Yang Wenwu (CN 114892268 A, machine translation, “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Su teaches an ingot puller apparatus (furnace) for producing a single crystal silicon ingot, ingot puller apparatus comprising a crucible assembly for holding a silicon melt (figs 1 and 3-5, n0018, n0029, n0050, n0054, n0056); a crystal puller housing that defines a growth chamber for pulling a silicon ingot from the silicon melt (figs 1 and 3-5, n0015, n0017, n0018, n0020, n0029, n0031, n0034, n0036, n0042, n0047, n0048, n0050, n0052, n0053, n0056), the crucible assembly being disposed within the growth chamber (figs 1 and 3-5), an assembly 3/31/32/51/52/53/6/62/63/7 (reflector assembly) having an opening for receiving the single crystal silicon ingot as the ingot is pulled through the reflector assembly (figs 1 and 3-5, n0025), the reflector assembly comprising an upper member 53 (figs 1 and 3-5, n0025, n0027, n0029-n0031, n0035, n0036, n0042, n0050, n0052, n0054, n0055, claims 1, 7 and 10), a screen 51 (shield) extending downward from the upper member (figs 1 and 3-5, n0025, n0027-n0031, n0034-n0036, n0042, n0043, n0048, n0050, n0052, n0054, n0055, claims 1, 7, 9 and 10), arms/booms 52 (two or more support shafts) for supporting the reflector assembly (figs 1 and 3-5, abstract, n0012, n0025, n0027-n0029, n0036-n0038, n0042, n0050, n0052, n0054, n0055, claims 1, 7, 9 and 10), the arms/booms 52 (two or more support shafts) extending upward from the reflector assembly (figs 1 and 3-5, abstract, n0025, n0027, n0029 and claim 1); and collars/rings 63 (two or more joists) (figs 1 and 3-5, abstract, n0012, n0025, n0027, n0029-n0031, n0035, n0044, n0045, n0050, n0054, n0055, claims 1-5 and 7-10), each of two or more joists being connected to one of the two or more support shafts (arm/boom 52) toward a lower end of the one of the two or more support shafts (arm/boom 52) (figs 3-5), each the two or more joists being connected to the upper member 53 by rods/plates 62/61 (first and second joints) that are separated from each other along a longitudinal axis of the joist (figs 1-5).
Su teaches the reflector assembly, the shield extending downward from the upper member and each joist being connected to the upper member by first and second joints that are separated from each other along a longitudinal axis of the joist as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach the upper member being a flange. However, Yang teaches a furnace for producing a single crystal ingot, wherein the furnace comprises flanges 11/22 (upper flange), and a cylinder 1 (shield) that extends downward from the upper flange 11/22, connecting parts 5 (joists) being connected to lifting parts 4 (shaft) toward a lower end of the support part 4, each connecting part 5 being connected to the flange 11/22 by members 52 (first and second joints) that are separated from each other along a longitudinal axis of the connecting part 5 (figs 1-6, n0017, n0027, n0054-n0057, n0062, n0063, n0104 and claim 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Su per teachings of Yang in order to reduce crystal defect and improve crystal quality (Yang abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Su/Yang teaches only two support shafts support the reflector assembly (Su abstract, n0006 and claim 1; Yang figs 1 and 4, abstract, n0007, n0009, n0032, n0033, claims 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, as addressed above, Su/Yang teaches reflector assembly, the ingot puller apparatus and two or more support shafts, similar to the instantly claimed. Therefore, it is reasonably expected that the apparatus of Su/Yang is capable of performing the instantly claimed functions of “during ingot growth, the reflector assembly being not supported in the ingot puller apparatus by any structure other than support shafts”. A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See also MPEP 2114. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Furthermore, Su/Yang teaches during ingot growth, the reflector assembly is not supported in the ingot puller apparatus by any structure other than support shafts, for example as shown in fig 4 of Su.
Regarding claim 4, Su/Yang teaches the first joint and second joint is each a liftable/movable (flexible) joint (Su abstract n0012, n0018, n0029; Yang n0016, n0054, n0055 and claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Su/Yang teaches each support shaft extends through the crystal puller housing at a support shaft port (Su figs 1 and 3-5, abstract, n0006, n0025, n0027, claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, Su/Yang teaches a ring (support band) disposed below the flange for supporting the reflector assembly (Yang n0027, n0054, n0056, n0057).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su/Yang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Korb et al (US 20100242836 A1, “Korb”).
Regarding claim 5, Su/Yang teaches the flexible joint as addressed above, but does not explicitly tach the joint being a ball and socket joint. However, Korb teaches a pulling system, wherein the pulling system comprises a ball and socket joint (0153, 0179). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Su/Yang per teachings of Korb in order to provide suitable joint for pulling the crystal (Korb abstract, 0002, 0007-0009, 0153 and 0155).
Regarding claim 6, Su/Yang teaches the ball and socket joint, but does not explicitly teach each flexible joint comprising two ball and socket joints. However, it is well settled that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance (MPEP 2144.04 VI B).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su/Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al (KR 101774040 B1, machine translation, “Park”).
Regarding claim 7, Su/Yang teaches the two or more support shafts are water cooled (Su abstract, n0027, n0029, n0036, n0042; Yang abstract, n0033), but does not explicitly each support shaft comprising an inlet for adding water to the support shaft and an outer for removing water from the support shaft. However, Park teaches a cooling structure for ingot growing apparatus, wherein the cooling structure comprises an inlet for adding water to the support shaft and an outlet for removing water from a support member (figs 1-7, 0023-0027, 0037-0041, 0052-0056, 0060, claims 1 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Su/Yang per teachings of Park in order to grow the ingot at a reduced cost (Park 0018, 0057 and 0058).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su/Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gmeilbauer et al (US 20110195251 A1, “Gmeilbauer”).
Regarding claim 8, Su/Yang teaches the flange as addressed above, but does not explicitly teach an outer gas shield abutting an outer circumferential edge of the flange. However, Gmeilbauer teaches an apparatus for growing a crystal, wherein an outer shield abuts outer circumferential edge of a flange (fig 1, 0018, 0019, 0026, 0027, 0044). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Su/Yang per teachings of Gmeilbauer in order to grow the crystal with reduced voids (Gmeilbauer abstract, 0013, 0014).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments that “The rods/plates 61/62 cannot be the claimed first and second joints that connect the joist to the upper flange as recited in claim 1 because the rods/plates are not connected to the upper member or to the heat shield assembly that is supported by the upper member” have been considered, but not found persuasive. As shown in figs 1 and 3-5 of primary reference to Su, the rods/plates 61/62 (first and second joints) are connected to the upper member or the upper portion of the heat shield assembly through collars/rings 63 and/or bottom portion of member 52 and/or member 53. Furthermore, the secondary reference to Yang teaches a furnace for producing a single crystal ingot, wherein the furnace comprises flanges 11/22 (upper flange), and a cylinder 1 (shield) that extends downward from the upper flange 11/22, connecting parts 5 (two or more joists) being connected to lifting parts 4 (shaft) toward a lower end of the support part 4, each connecting part 5 (two or more joists) being connected to the flange 11/22 by members 52 (first and second joints) that are separated from each other along a longitudinal axis of the connecting part 5 (figs 1-6, n0017, n0027, n0054-n0057, n0062, n0063, n0104 and claim 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Su per teachings of Yang in order to reduce crystal defect and improve crystal quality (Yang abstract). Therefore, Su/Yang teaches the instantly claimed/argued limitations of claim 1. It is well established that arguments of counsel cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence. See, e.g., In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it is examiner’s position that a prima facie case of obviousness is well-established per teachings/combination of the instantly cited references.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714