Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I and Species I in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner would not be unduly burdened if forced to examine the unelected Species II as the Examiner has failed to provide a proper prima facie case for election requirement. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the restriction requirement mailed 03/10/2026 Species I and II have distinct mutually exclusive features in Species I M1 and M2 are arranged at an interval and in Species II M1 and M2 are part of a single integral structure there is a search burden as the inventions require a different field of search; particularly different keyword searches would be needed for these distinct features. the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention as shown in for example US 20140319479 A1 cited below which teaches the first species but not the second. Examiner noted that non-elected inventions and/or species will be considered for rejoinder if they require all the limitations of an ultimately allowable elected claim
.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --DISPLAY APPARATUS HAVING AN ISLAND SHAPED METAL LAYER AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THE SAME--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 AND 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et. Al. (US 20140319479 A1 hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches in Figs. 1-2 with associated text a display apparatus comprising: pixel electrodes (E1-E3) disposed on a substrate SU1 (Fig. 2, [0033]), each of the pixel electrodes being spaced apart from each other (Figs. 1-2, [0039]); a pixel-defining layer PDL covering edges of each of the pixel electrodes (Fig. 2, [0038]); metal layers (any one or more of SP1-SP4) (embodiment in which SP1-SP4 is metal [0061]) disposed on the pixel-defining layer, having an island shape, disposed corresponding to spaces between the pixel electrodes, and spaced apart from each other (Figs. 1-2, [0060]-[0061]); and an opposite electrode CE covering the metal layers (Fig. 2, [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches the metal layers are arranged at constant interval (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches each of the metal layers have a same shape in a plan view (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches first pixels E2, second pixels E1, and third pixels E3 that emit light of different colors disposed on the substrate ([0067]]), wherein the first pixels and the third pixels are alternately arranged along a first virtual line (horizontal direction of Fig. 1) extending in a first direction (horizontal direction of Fig. 1), the second pixels are arranged along a second virtual line parallel to the first virtual line and adjacent to the first virtual line corresponding to a space between adjacent ones of the first pixels and the third pixels (Fig. 1), the metal layers include first metal layers (SP1 and SP3) and second metal layers (SP2 and SP4), the first metal layers are arranged between adjacent ones of the first pixels and the third pixels on the first virtual line (Fig. 1), and the second metal layers are arranged between the second pixels (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Park teaches the first metal layers and the second metal layers are each arranged at constant interval in the first direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches an interval between the first metal layers and an interval between the second metal layers are same see annotated Fig. below).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the pixel-defining layer includes an opening (OM1-OM3) exposing at least a portion of an upper surface of each of the pixel electrodes, and the display apparatus further comprises an emission layer (OL1-OL3) overlapping the opening in a plan view (Figs. 1-2, [0045], [0047] and [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Kim et. Al. (US 20200328378 A1 hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the display apparatus of claim 1.
Park does not specify a capping layer and an inorganic encapsulation layer covering the opposite electrode
Kim discloses in Fig. 1 with associated text a display apparatus similar to that of Park comprising a capping layer (701 and or 702) and an inorganic encapsulation layer 703 covering an opposite electrode 503 (Fig. 1, [0061])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a capping and inorganic encapsulation layer as taught by Kim in the display apparatus of Park because according to Kim such a structure may prevent or substantially prevent penetration of moisture to prevent or reduce damage to the first to third passivation layers 501, 502, and 503 described above and an organic light-emitting diode that may be fragile to (e.g., may have deteriorated or degraded performance due to) moisture [0054]).
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897