DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 1 and 15, “the apparatus” is indicated to comprise sensor and wireless receiver elements; it is unclear which of these is referred to by indicating “wherein the apparatus is configured to … analyze or display” as neither of these (sensor or receiver components) is generally considered to be configured to perform these functions. With regard to claim 7, the relationship between “a transmitter” as indicated in the dependent claim and “a transmitter” of claim 1 is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5 and 12 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rayer (USPGPub 2022/0257131 – cited by Applicant). Rayer (Figure 1) teach a sensor system comprising consumable (paragraph [0038]) and wearable (paragraph [0039]) subcomponents. Rayer discloses further details of the consumable and wearable portions of the system (paragraphs [0040] – [0042]). Examiner notes that claims 14 and 15 are directed to respective subcomponents of the system of claim 1. Additionally, Rayer teach measurement data that is collected (paragraphs [0045] – [0048]); readout/display of output information (paragraphs [0052] – [0055]); use of optical sensing elements (paragraph [0061]); the manner of data collection via an access window when the consumable and wearable components are connected (paragraphs [0063] - [0065]); and measured physiological parameters of interest (Figure 2; paragraphs [0069] – [0072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rayer as applied to claim 1 above. Rayer recognizes that the measuring patch requires power to perform its measurements (paragraph [0084] – [0086]), but does not particularly teach the use of a contract free rechargeable arrangement. However, use of such elements was well known at the time of the invention, and thus it would have been within the skill level of the art to modify Rayer to incorporate known components, including a contact free recharging arrangement, since it has generally been held to be within the skill level of the art to use known elements in their intended manner. Similarly, Rayer indicate that data is provided between the consumable and wearable components, but they do not particularly teach that a telemetry element is utilized for the data exchange. However, without a showing of criticality or unexpected results it would have been obvious to modify Rayer to provide telemetry elements in the components, consistent with known uses of such structures. Likewise, use of machine learning models for processing physiological signals was known at the time of the invention and it would be within the skill level of the art to implement Rayer with processing relying on such models.
Conclusion
/ERIC F WINAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791