DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Claims 18-29 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected process , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 . Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-17 and 30 in the reply filed on 3/5/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that restricted claims must be both independent and distinct . This is not found persuasive because “ dependent inventions (frequently termed related inventions) … may be properly divided if they are, in fact, "distinct" inventions, even though dependent .” See MPEP sec 802.01. “ A process of making and a product made by the process can be shown to be distinct inventions if either … (B) that the product as claimed can be made by another materially different process. ” See MPEP sec 806.05(f). Growing instead of mounting is another materially different process to make the LED chip so the two related inventions are distinct and may be restricted. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 7 ll. 5-6, the specification does not describe the ratio of width of alignment to adhesion feature is less than 0.5. Paragraph [0136] of the instant specification discloses instead that the ratio of the adhesive feature to the alignment feature is less than 0.5. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 7 ll. 5-6, the limitation “ a ratio of the lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature to a lateral dimension of the adhesion feature in a direction parallel to the recess floor is less than 0.5 ” is indefinite as to whether the ratio is alignment to adhesion feature or adhesion to alignment feature. Paragraph [0136] of the instant specification discloses that the ratio of the adhesive feature to the alignment feature is less than 0.5. For purposes of examination the former interpretation will be used. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) . With regard to claim 1, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package 10 comprising: one or more LED chips 22 ; a light collector (“ clear barrier layer 30 can be disposed between one or more encapsulant layers 28 ”, col. 10 ll. 16-18) arranged over the one or more LED chips 22 ; and at least one alignment feature 46 configured to receive a portion of the light collector 30 . With regard to claim 2, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses comprising a housing 12 , wherein the housing 12 forms a recess 26 with a recess floor (bottom of 26) and one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60) , and wherein the at least one alignment feature 46 is formed in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60) . With regard to claim 3, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises one or more of a notch (“o ne or more notches 46 can be formed in sidewalls of cavity 26 ”, col. 12 ll. 59-60) , an indentation, a bore hole, a channel, a groove, and a dot in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60) . With regard to claim 4, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises a horizonal lip (bottom horizontal part of 46) parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) and along the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60) . With regard to claim 5, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that a ratio of a lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) to a distance from an outer wall (outer wall of 12) of the housing 12 to an edge of the at least one alignment feature 46 closest to the one or more LED chips 22 is less than 0.6. With regard to claim 6, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that an adhesion feature (“ clear barrier layer 30 can be at least partially disposed within body 12 when inset in notch 46 “, col. 12 ll. 62-64) within the horizontal lip 46 . With regard to claim 7, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that a ratio of a lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) to a distance from an outer wall of the housing 12 to an edge of the at least one alignment feature 46 closest to the one or more LED chips 22 is less than 0.6; and a ratio of the lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 to a lateral dimension of the adhesion feature 46 in a direction parallel to the recess floor is less than 0.5. With regard to claim 8, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 and the adhesion feature continuously extend around an entire perimeter of the recess 26 . With regard to claim 10, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises a cutout shape 46 in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60) , the cutout shape configured to receive a corresponding protrusion of the light collector 30 . With regard to claim 11, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that comprising an adhesion feature 46 within the cutout shape 46 . With regard to claim 12, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises two alignment features 46 on opposing sides of the one or more LED chips 22 . With regard to claim 13, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses further comprising a lead frame structure (16, 18) at least partially within the housing 12 , wherein the one or more LED chips 22 are electrically coupled 24 to one or more anode leads 16 and one or more cathode leads 18 of the lead frame structure (16, 18) . With regard to claim 14, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses portions of the one or more anode leads 16 and portions of the one or more cathode leads 18 extend out of the housing 12 and bend along a bottom surface (“J-bend”, col. 8 ll. 61) of the housing 12 . Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano et al. (US 2018/0323352) (“Takano”) . With regard to claim 30, figs. 190 of Takano discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) display 1100 comprising: a display panel 1155 ; and at least one LED package comprising: one or more LED chips (“ plurality of light emitting devices ”, par [1012]) ; a light collector 1154 arranged over the one or more LED chips (“ plurality of light emitting devices ”, par [1012]) ; and at least one alignment feature (top of 1152) configured to receive a portion of the light collector 1154 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) in view of Donhowe et al. (US 2021/0213147) (“ Donhowe ”). With regard to claim 9, fig. 4B of Reiherzer discloses the horizontal lip 46 . Reiherzer does not disclose the segmented adhesion feature within the horizontal lip. However, Donhowe disclose the segmented adhesion feature (“discontinuous adhesive layer”, par [0087]) within the horizontal lip. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the barrier layer attached to the body of Reiherzer using a discontinuous adhesive layer as taught in Donhowe in order to allow the two objects to be adjoined. See par [0087] of Donhowe . Claim s 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) in view of Lowery et al. (US 2003/0071568) (“Lowery”) . With regard to claim 15, Reiherzer does not disclose an underfill material on the recess floor and adjacent to the one or more LED chips. However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery discloses an underfill material 37 on the recess floor 13 and adjacent to the one or more LED chips 11 . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting devices of Reiherzer with the underfill around them as taught in Lowery in order to create a physical barrier to contaminants. See par [0031] of Lowery. With regard to claim 16, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses comprising: a first encapsulant layer (28 under 30) , and a second encapsulant layer (28 above 30) on the light collector 30 , wherein the light collector 30 is between the first encapsulant layer (28 below 30) and the second encapsulant layer (28 above 30) . Reiherzer does not disclose a first encapsulant layer on the underfill material ; wherein the first encapsulant layer is between the light collector and the underfill material . However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery discloses a first encapsulant layer 17 on the underfill material 37 ; wherein the first encapsulant layer 17 is between the light collector 18 and the underfill material 37 . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting devices of Reiherzer with the underfill around them as taught in Lowery in order to create a physical barrier to contaminants. See par [0031] of Lowery. With regard to claim 17, Reiherzer does not disclose a lens, wherein the light collector is between the lens and the one or more LED chips. However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery disclose a lens 19 , wherein the light collector 18 is between the lens 19 and the one or more LED chips 11 . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting device of Reiherzer with the lens as taught in Lowery in order to shape the light. See par [0020] of Lowery. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT BENJAMIN T LIU whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6009 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 11:00am-7:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Yara J Green can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571 270-3035 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893