DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues on page 7 of the arguments that Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) does not disclose "the light collector comprising an aperture and a reflective material so that light from the one or more LED chips exits through the aperture” because Reiherzer does not provide any basis for those limitations. However, fig. 3 of Reiherzer disclose that the light collector 30 comprising an aperture (side ends of 30) and a reflective material (“reflectors”, col. 11 ll. 46) so that light from the one or more LED chips 22 exits through (between the two side ends of 30) the aperture (side ends of 30). Claim 1 remains rejected. Claims 2-8 and 10-14 depend on claim 1 and are rejected for same reason as for claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, applicant argues on page 7 of the arguments that Takano (US 2018/0323352) does not disclose "the light collector comprising an aperture and a reflective material so that light from the one or more LED chips exits through the aperture” because Takano does not provide any basis for those limitations. However, fig. 43 of Takano disclose that the light collector 300 comprising an aperture 342 and a reflective material 310 so that light from the one or more LED chips (171, 172) exits through the aperture 342. Claim 30 remains rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reiherzer (US 9,240,530).
With regard to claim 1, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package 10 comprising: one or more LED chips 22; a light collector (“clear barrier layer 30 can be disposed between one or more encapsulant layers 28”, col. 10 ll. 16-18) arranged over the one or more LED chips 22, the light collector 30 comprising an aperture (side ends of 30) and a reflective material (“reflectors”, col. 11 ll. 46) so that light from the one or more LED chips 22 exits through (between the two side ends of 30) the aperture (side ends of 30); and at least one alignment feature 46 configured to receive a portion of the light collector 30.
With regard to claim 2, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses comprising a housing 12, wherein the housing 12 forms a recess 26 with a recess floor (bottom of 26) and one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60), and wherein the at least one alignment feature 46 is formed in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60).
With regard to claim 3, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises one or more of a notch (“one or more notches 46 can be formed in sidewalls of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 59-60), an indentation, a bore hole, a channel, a groove, and a dot in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60).
With regard to claim 4, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises a horizonal lip (bottom horizontal part of 46) parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) and along the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60).
With regard to claim 5, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that a ratio of a lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) to a distance from an outer wall (outer wall of 12) of the housing 12 to an edge of the at least one alignment feature 46 closest to the one or more LED chips 22 is less than 0.6.
With regard to claim 6, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that an adhesion feature (“clear barrier layer 30 can be at least partially disposed within body 12 when inset in notch 46 “, col. 12 ll. 62-64) within the horizontal lip 46.
With regard to claim 7, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that a ratio of a lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 parallel to the recess floor (bottom of 26) to a distance from an outer wall of the housing 12 to an edge of the at least one alignment feature 46 closest to the one or more LED chips 22 is less than 0.6; and a ratio of a lateral dimension of the adhesion feature 46 to the lateral dimension of the at least one alignment feature 46 in a direction parallel to the recess floor is less than 0.5.
With regard to claim 8, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 and the adhesion feature continuously extend around an entire perimeter of the recess 26.
With regard to claim 10, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises a cutout shape 46 in the one or more recess sidewalls (“sidewall of cavity 26”, col. 12 ll. 60), the cutout shape configured to receive a corresponding protrusion of the light collector 30.
With regard to claim 11, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that comprising an adhesion feature 46 within the cutout shape 46.
With regard to claim 12, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses that the at least one alignment feature 46 comprises two alignment features 46 on opposing sides of the one or more LED chips 22.
With regard to claim 13, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses further comprising a lead frame structure (16, 18) at least partially within the housing 12, wherein the one or more LED chips 22 are electrically coupled 24 to one or more anode leads 16 and one or more cathode leads 18 of the lead frame structure (16, 18).
With regard to claim 14, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses portions of the one or more anode leads 16 and portions of the one or more cathode leads 18 extend out of the housing 12 and bend along a bottom surface (“J-bend”, col. 8 ll. 61) of the housing 12.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takano (US 2018/0323352) (“Takano”).
With regard to claim 30, fig. 43 of Takano discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) display 100B comprising: a display panel; and at least one LED package comprising: one or more LED chips (171, 172); a light collector 300 arranged over the one or more LED chips (171, 172), the light collector 300 comprising an aperture 342 and a reflective material 310 so that light from the one or more LED chips (171, 172) exits through the aperture 342; and at least one alignment feature 18 configured to receive a portion (sides of 300) of the light collector 300.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) in view of Donhowe et al. (US 2021/0213147) (“Donhowe”).
With regard to claim 9, fig. 4B of Reiherzer discloses the horizontal lip 46.
Reiherzer does not disclose the segmented adhesion feature within the horizontal lip.
However, Donhowe disclose the segmented adhesion feature (“discontinuous adhesive layer”, par [0087]) within the horizontal lip.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the barrier layer attached to the body of Reiherzer using a discontinuous adhesive layer as taught in Donhowe in order to allow the two objects to be adjoined. See par [0087] of Donhowe.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiherzer (US 9,240,530) in view of Lowery et al. (US 2003/0071568) (“Lowery”).
With regard to claim 15, Reiherzer does not disclose an underfill material on the recess floor and adjacent to the one or more LED chips.
However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery discloses an underfill material 37 on the recess floor 13 and adjacent to the one or more LED chips 11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting devices of Reiherzer with the underfill around them as taught in Lowery in order to create a physical barrier to contaminants. See par [0031] of Lowery.
With regard to claim 16, figs. 3 and 4B of Reiherzer discloses comprising: a first encapsulant layer (28 under 30), and a second encapsulant layer (28 above 30) on the light collector 30, wherein the light collector 30 is between the first encapsulant layer (28 below 30) and the second encapsulant layer (28 above 30).
Reiherzer does not disclose a first encapsulant layer on the underfill material; wherein the first encapsulant layer is between the light collector and the underfill material.
However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery discloses a first encapsulant layer 17 on the underfill material 37; wherein the first encapsulant layer 17 is between the light collector 18 and the underfill material 37.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting devices of Reiherzer with the underfill around them as taught in Lowery in order to create a physical barrier to contaminants. See par [0031] of Lowery.
With regard to claim 17, Reiherzer does not disclose a lens, wherein the light collector is between the lens and the one or more LED chips.
However, figs. 1-2 of Lowery disclose a lens 19, wherein the light collector 18 is between the lens 19 and the one or more LED chips 11.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the light emitting device of Reiherzer with the lens as taught in Lowery in order to shape the light. See par [0020] of Lowery.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893