DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US 2018/0211904) (“Cho”).
With regard to claim 1, fig. 1A of Cho disclose an electronic device, comprising: a layer of gallium nitride (“GaN”, par [0051]); a drain terminal 52B on the layer of gallium nitride (“GaN”, par [0051]); and a first source metal strip (left 60a, fig. 1A) and a second source metal strip (middle 60A, fig. 1A); a plurality of drain metal strips 64 coupled to the drain terminal 52B, the plurality of drain metal strips 64 including a first drain metal strip (left 64, fig. 1A) and a second drain metal strip (middle 64, fig. 1A), the first drain metal strip (left 64, fig. 1A) being between the first (left 60A) and second source metal strips (middle 60A), the first drain metal strip (left 64) having a first end (top end of left 64 in fig. 1A) spaced from a second end (bottom end of left 64 in fig. 1A) along a first direction (top to bottom in fig. 1A), the first end (top end of left 64 in fig. 1A) of the first drain metal strip (left 64) being aligned with a central region (center of left 60A) of the first source metal strip (left 60A) along a second direction (left to right in fig. 1A) that is transverse to the first direction (top to bottom in fig. 1A).
With regard to claim 9, fig. 1A of Cho disclose a device, comprising: a first drain (left 64, fig. 1A); a second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A) spaced from the first drain (left 62) along a first direction (left to right in fig. 1A); a first source (middle 60A, fig. 1A) between the first drain (left 64, fig. 1A) and the second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A); a second source (middle 60B, fig. 1A) between the first drain (left 64, fig. 1A) and the second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A), the second source (middle 60B, fig. 1A) spaced from the first source (middle 60A, fig. 1A) along a second direction (top to bottom in fig. 1A) that is transverse to the first direction (left to right in fig. 1A); a first insulating region between the first drain (left 64, fig. 1A) and the second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A), the first source (middle 60A, fig. 1A) being within the first insulting region; and a second insulating region between the first drain (left 64, fig. 1A) and the second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A), the second source (middle 60B, fig. 1A) being within the second insulating region.
With regard to claim 12, fig. 1A of Cho discloses a device, comprising: a first drain (left 64, fig. 1A); a second drain (middle 64, fig. 1A) spaced from the first drain along a first direction (left to right, fig. 1A); a first source (left 60A, fig. 1A); a second source (middle 60A, fig. 1A) spaced from the first source (left 60A, fig. 1A) along the first direction (left to right, fig. 1A), the second source (middle 60A) being spaced from the first (left 64) and second drain (middle 64) along a second direction (bottom to top, fig. 1A ) that is transverse to the first direction (left to right, fig. 1A); a first insulating region that extends from a first side (right side of left 64) of the first drain (left 64) to first side of the first source (right side of left 60A); a second insulating region that extends from a first side (left side of middle 60A) of the second source (middle 60A) to a second side (right side of left 64) of the first drain (left 64).
With regard to claim 13, fig. 1A of Cho discloses the first side (right side of left 60A) of the first source (left 60A) faces the first side (right side of middle 60A) of the second source (middle 60A).
With regard to claim 14, fig. 1A of Cho discloses a third insulating region that extends from a first side (left side of middle 64) of the second drain (middle 64) to a second side (right side of middle 60A) of the second source (middle 60A).
With regard to claim 15, fig. 1A of Cho discloses that the first side (left side of middle 64) of the second drain (middle 64) faces the second side (right side of left 64) of the first drain (left 64).
With regard to claim 16, fig. 1A of Cho discloses a first active region (active region of “transistor”, par [0033]), the first source (left 60A) overlapping the first active region and the first drain (left 64) overlapping the first active region.
With regard to claim 17, fig. 1A of Cho discloses a second active region, the second source (middle 60A) overlapping the second active region and the first drain (left 64) overlapping the second active region.
With regard to claim 18, fig. 1A of Cho discloses that the second insulating region extends across the second active region (between middle 60A and left 64).
With regard to claim 19, fig. 1A of Cho discloses that the first insulating region extends across the first active region (between left 60a and left 64).
With regard to claim 20, fig. 1A of Cho discloses that a third active region (between middle 60A and middle 64), the second active region (between middle 60A and left 64) being between the first (between left 60a and left 64) and third active regions (between middle 60A and middle 64).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893