DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The allowed claims1-20 have been completely amended. The scope of claims have been changed. Claims 1, 13, 20 have been amended. Claims 21-34 are newly presented for Examination.
In view of the above statements, a Non-Final Rejection is hereby issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 13, 20-30, 32-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LADDU et al (US 2023/0224920 A1) in view of ZHANG et al (US 2025/0063562 A1, PCT/CN2020/120036, October 9, 2020).
Regarding claims 1, 20 (Currently Amended), LADDU ‘920 discloses a user equipment (UE) (see, the UE is configured by a network node/gNB or eNB or base station to perform measurement, the UE receives transmission configuration index (TCI) sates for a plurality of control resource sets (CORESETs), where the TCI states indicate Quasi Co-Location (QCL) characteristics to be used by the UE, section 0005, 0022-0021, 0030-0031, fig. 1, UE/user devices 131-133 coupled to base station 134) comprising: a transceiver (fig. 1, UE apparatus which includes a processor and RF antennas/transceiver by the virtue of receiving signals/control information and transmitting of signals from the base station/gNB, section 0014-0016); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (fig. 1, UE apparatus which includes a processor and RF antennas/transceiver by the virtue of receiving signals/control information and transmitting of signals from the base station/gNB, section 0014-0016), wherein the transceiver and the processor (fig. 1, UE apparatus which includes a processor and RF antennas/transceiver by the virtue of receiving signals/control information and transmitting of signals from the base station/gNB, section 0014-0016, 0023) are configured to: receive (see, the UE receives control information (e.g., via radio resource control (RRC)), section 0030-0031, the UE performs multi-DCI multi-TRP transmission, section 0034-0036) a first one or more radio resource control (RRC) signals (see, the base station configured the UE/user device via RRC/control information to indicate multi-TRP operation where the UE monitors PDCCH from multiple cells, section 0040, noted: RRC signal is sent to the UE, section 0036) comprising information (see, RRC message with configured TCI states, section 0030-0031) indicating: a serving cell (see, serving cell associated with PCI via RRC signaling/control signal, section 0040, 0064-0065),
wherein the serving cell is associated with a serving cell physical cell the first signal being used to determine a first identity (see, PCIs associated with different cell group can be determined by the UE, section 0062, 0076), the first identity being associated with a first identifier (PCI) (see, each cell is identified by a PCI where TRP #`1 is provided in cell 1 which may be a serving cell, section 0042),
an additional PCI different from the serving cell PCI (see, a plurality of cells having different PCIs associated with cell groups that include a serving cell and a non-serving cell , section 0005), and a second identifier (see, control information indicating PDSCH TCI activations corresponding to different CORESET Pol Index values, section 0005, 0037-0038, noted: different PCIs in relation to cell groups where the group includes a serving cell and a non-serving cell, 00079-0080);
a first control resource set (CORESET) (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-first CORESET is disclosed) and a second CORESET (see, control information indicating PDSCH TCI activations corresponding to different CORESET Pool Index values, section 0005, 0037-0038), wherein the first CORESET is associated with a first CORESET pool index (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-first CORESET is disclosed) and the second CORESET is associated with a second CORESET pool index different from the first CORESET pool index (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-second CORESET pool index that is different from the first CORESET is disclosed), and a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see, the UE/user device receives from the network nodes/base station/gNB or eNB, transmission configuration index (TCI) states for a plurality of OCRESETs associate with different PCIs, section 0042-0043) and a second TCI state (see, the UE/user device receives from the network nodes/base station/gNB or eNB, transmission configuration index (TCI) states for a plurality of OCRESETs associate with different PCIs, section 0042-0043),, receive one or more signals (see, the UE receives a MAC-CE indicating PDSCH TCI state activation for two different CORESET Pool Index values, where each TCI activation is associated with a PCI, section 0062, 0064) comprising activation information related to one or more TCI states (see, the UE receives control information/the eNB/base station sends activation indicating PDSCH TCI state activations corresponding to different OCRESET Pool Index values, section 0005, 0030),
determine (see, the UE determines to perform inter-cell multi-DCI based multi-TRP operation with the cells, section 0045), based on a CORESET pool index associated with a CORESET (see, CORESET Pool Index values associated with the cells, section ,0044-00045, 0046) carrying a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), a target TCI state from among the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see, see, the selected activated TCI state for the UE is provided within the PDCH transmitted to the UE,, the TCI states are associated with a CORESET, section 0030, 0064-the UE determines OCREST associated CORSET Pool index = 0, where the CORESET are associated with TCI states), wherein one or more CORESETs corresponding to the first CORESET pool index are associated with the serving cell PCI (see, CORESET associated with the serving cell PCI as CORESET having CORESET Pool Index =0, section 0062, 0064) and one or more CORESETs corresponding to the second CORESET pool index are associated with the additional PCI (see, a plurality of cells having different PCIs associated with cell groups that include a serving cell and a non-serving cell , section 0005, 0042, 0079-0080-CORESETs associated with PCIs, the PCIs represent CORESET Pol index =0, CORESET pool index =1, and
receive a downlink channel using a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see, the receives transmission configuration index (TCI) states for the plurality of OCRESETs, where the TCI states for the CORESETs relation to a plurality of cell having different PCIs in which the TCI states indicating the Quasi-CO-Location (QC) characteristics to the used by the UE for receiving the PDCCHs, section 0043, 00084), wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located with a target reference signal resource associated with the target TCI state.
LADDU ‘920 discloses all the claim limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located with a target reference signal resource associated with the target TCI state.
However, ZHANG et al (US 2025/0063562 A1, PCT/CN2020/120036, October 9, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) discloses: wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) is quasi-co-located with a target reference signal resource associated with the target TCI state (see, the UE identifies the TCI state from the plurality of TCI sates to apply, where the TCI state is related to QCL relationship, section 0036-0040).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-DCI or multi-TRP operation for communicating QCL information associated with TCI states, and managing or mapping of CORESET configurations relation to CORESET pool indices corresponding to cells as taught by ZHANG ‘562 into the multi-cell operation based on the TCI states indicating QCL characteristics to be used by the UE of LADDU ‘920. The motivation would have been to provide rate matching for PDSCH from different cells as suggested in section 0030.
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), LADDU et al (US 2023/0224920 A1) discloses a base station (fig. 6, eNB/gNB/RAN node which includes one or RF transceivers, a processor/controller 604 coupled to a memory 606, section 0134-0143) comprising:
a transceiver (fig. 6, RF transceivers 602A/602B coupled to a processor/controller 604 and memory 606, section 0134-0143); and a processor operatively coupled to the transceiver (fig. 6, RF transceivers 602A/602B coupled to a processor/controller 604 and memory 606, section 0134-0143), wherein the transceiver and the processor are configured to: transmit (see, the RF transceivers 602A, 6062B, transmits and receives signals, section 0136-0138) one or more radio resource control (RRC) signals (see, the base station configured the UE/user device via RRC/control information to indicate multi-TRP operation where the UE monitors PDCCH from multiple cells, section 0040, noted: RRC signal is sent to the UE, section 0036), comprising information indicating: a serving cell (see, serving cell associated with PCI via RRC signaling/control signal, section 0040, 0064-0065) , wherein the serving cell is associated with a serving cell physical cell a first identifier (PCI) (see, each cell is identified by a PCI where TRP #`1 is provided in cell 1 which may be a serving cell, section 0042),
an additional PCI different from the serving cell PCI (see, a plurality of cells having different PCIs associated with cell groups that include a serving cell and a non-serving cell , section 0005), and a second identifier (see, control information indicating PDSCH TCI activations corresponding to different CORESET Pol Index values, section 0005, 0037-0038) a first control resource set (CORESET) and a second CORESET (see, control information indicating PDSCH TCI activations corresponding to different CORESET Pool Index values, section 0005, 0037-0038), wherein the first CORESET is associated with a first CORESET pool index (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-first CORESET is disclosed) and the second CORESET is associated with a second CORESET pool index different from the first CORESET pool index (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-second CORESET pool index that is different from the first CORESET is disclosed), a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see, the UE/user device receives from the network nodes/base station/gNB or eNB, transmission configuration index (TCI) states for a plurality of OCRESETs associate with different PCIs, section 0042-0043) and a second TCI state (see, the UE/user device receives from the network nodes/base station/gNB or eNB, transmission configuration index (TCI) states for a plurality of OCRESETs associate with different PCIs, section 0042-0043),
transmit one or more signals comprising activation information related to one or more TCI states (see, the UE receives control information/the eNB/base station sends activation indicating PDSCH TCI state activations corresponding to different OCRESET Pool Index values, section 0005, 0030)
transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a CORESET (see, see, the selected activated TCI state for the UE is provided within the PDCH transmitted to the UE,, the TCI states are associated with a CORESET, section 0030, 0064) associated with a CORESET pool index corresponding to a target TCI state from among the first TCI state and the second TCI state (see, candidate TCI states among the TCI states, section 0030), wherein one or more CORESETs corresponding to the first CORESET pool index are associated with the serving cell PCI (section 0037-0038, 0043-see, different CORESET Pool Index values in relation to different cell identities (PCIs)-second CORESET pool index that is different from the first CORESET is disclosed), and one or more CORESETs corresponding to the second CORESET pool index are associated with the additional PCI (see, a plurality of cells having different PCIs associated with cell groups that include a serving cell and a non-serving cell , section 0005, 0079-0080-CORESETs associated with PCIs, the PCIs represent CORESET Pol index =0, CORESET pool index =1), and
transmit a downlink channel using a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (see, DMRS signals implicitly via the PDCCH, section 0027, see, TCI state with specific CSI-RS, activation of TCI state for a CORESET where the TCI state is configured with a QCL source reference signal, section 0030, 0040).
LADDU ‘920 discloses all the claim limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose:; wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located with a target reference signal resource associated with the target TCI state.
However, ZHANG et al (US 2025/0063562 A1, PCT/CN2020/120036, October 9, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) discloses: wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) is quasi-co-located with a target reference signal resource associated with the target TCI state (see, the UE identifies the TCI state from the plurality of TCI sates to apply, where the TCI state is related to QCL relationship, section 0036-0040).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-DCI or multi-TRP operation for communicating QCL information associated with TCI states, and managing or mapping of CORESET configurations relation to CORESET pool indices corresponding to cells as taught by ZHANG ‘562 into the multi-cell operation based on the TCI states indicating QCL characteristics to be used by the UE of LADDU ‘920. The motivation would have been to provide rate matching for PDSCH from different cells as suggested in section 0030.
Regarding claim 21 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more signals comprising the activation information comprise a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see, the UE is configured with activated TCI states via a MAC-CE or the gNB sends an activation message indicating TCI activated implicitly via the PDCCH, section 0005, 0030).
Regarding claim 22 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE comprises a TCI state indication for a UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE (see, the UE is configured with activated TCI states via a MAC-CE or the gNB sends an activation message indicating TCI activated implicitly via the PDCCH, section 0005, 0030) or a TCI state activation/deactivation of a UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see, the UE receives control information indication PDSCH TCI activated corresponding to different CORESET Pool index values, section 0005, 0030, 0043).
Regarding claim 23 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the target TCI state (see, candidate TCI or selected TCI to be used by the UE, where a TCI state is associated with CSI-RS, the CSI-RS is used for monitoring the CORESETs for possible PDCCH transmissions, section 0030-0031) is determined based on whether the CORESET carrying the PDCCH corresponds to the first CORESET pool index (see, CORESET is associated with one of the these COREST Pool Index values, section 0036, 0040) or the second CORESET pool index.
Regarding claim 24 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein one or more CORESETs corresponding to the first CORESET pool index are associated with the serving cell PCI via one or more activated TCI states (section 00423-0044, see, multi-cell/multi-DCI based on multi-TRP transmission, TCI states associated serving cell and non-serving cells, where the TCI states are associated with different CORESETs having different PCIs relating to different cell groups),, and one or more CORESETs corresponding to the second CORESET pool index are associated with the additional PCI via one or more activated TCI states (section 00423-0044, see, multi-cell/multi-DCI based on multi-TRP transmission, TCI states associated serving cell and non-serving cells, where the TCI states are associated with different CORESETs having different PCIs relating to different cell groups),.
Regarding claim 25 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink channel comprises the PDCCH carried by the CORESET (see, a group of CORESETs to schedule one set of uplink and downlink channels (PDCCH/PDSCH/PUSCH/PUCCH) for the UE, section 0036) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH carried by the CORESET (see, PDSCH being schedules by separate DCIs carriers by separate PDCCH, section 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 26 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink channel comprises a PDSCH scheduled by the PDCCH carried by the CORESET (section 0034, 0036, 0043, see, CORESETs associated with TCI states including receiving PDCCHs associated with a plurality of cells having different PCIs), and wherein the PDSCH is associated with the CORESET pool index associated with the CORESET carrying the PDCCH (see, PDSCH being schedules by separate DCIs carriers by separate PDCCH, section 0034, 0036-CORESET Pool Index values where a group of PDCCH/PDSCH/PUSCH/PUCCH that is scheduled).
Regarding claim 27 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the target reference signal resource comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see, candidate TCI or selected TCI to be used by the UE, where a TCI state is associated with CSI-RS, the CSI-RS is used for monitoring the CORESETs for possible PDCCH transmissions, section 0030-0031).
LADDU ‘920 discloses all the claim limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 28 (New), the UE of claim 1, wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located with the target reference signal resource with respect to QCL-TypeD.
However, ZHANG et al (US 2025/0063562 A1, PCT/CN2020/120036, October 9, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 28 (New), the UE of claim 1, wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) with the target reference signal resource with respect to QCL-TypeD (see, the UE identifies the TCI state from the plurality of TCI sates to apply, where the TCI state is related to QCL relationship (e.g. QCL TypeD), section 0036-0040).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-DCI or multi-TRP operation for communicating QCL information associated with TCI states, and managing or mapping of CORESET configurations relation to CORESET pool indices corresponding to cells as taught by ZHANG ‘562 into the multi-cell operation based on the TCI states indicating QCL characteristics to be used by the UE of LADDU ‘920. The motivation would have been to provide rate matching for PDSCH from different cells as suggested in section 0030.
Regarding claim 28 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the target reference signal resource is included in a first reference signal resource set when the target TCI state is the first TCI state (section 00620-0064), and wherein the target reference signal resource is included in a second reference signal resource set when the target TCI state is the second TCI state (see, updated TCI states associated with a plurality of CORESETS, section 0062-0064).
Regarding claim 30 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the UE of claim 29, wherein the first reference signal resource set is associated with the serving cell PCI (section 0076, 0086-servinv cells with PCIs associated with CORESET Pool index values) and the second reference signal resource set is associated with the additional PCI (section 0062-0064-PCIs associated with CORESETs, 0068-DL reference signals in relation non-serving cells (PCIs)).
Regarding claim 32 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the one or more signals comprising the activation information comprise a medium access control control element (MAC CE) (see, the UE is configured with activated TCI states via a MAC-CE or the gNB sends an activation message indicating TCI activated implicitly via the PDCCH, section 0005, 0030).
Regarding claim 33 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the base station of claim 32, wherein the MAC CE comprises a TCI state indication for a UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE or a TCI state activation/deactivation of a UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE (see, the UE receives control information indication PDSCH TCI activated corresponding to different CORESET Pool index values, section 0005, 0030-MAC-CE, 0043).
Regarding claim 34 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein one or more CORESETs corresponding to the first CORESET pool index are associated with the serving cell PCI via one or more activated TCI states (section 00423-0044, see, multi-cell/multi-DCI based on multi-TRP transmission, TCI states associated serving cell and non-serving cells, where the TCI states are associated with different CORESETs having different PCIs relating to different cell groups), and one or more CORESETs corresponding to the second CORESET pool index are associated with the additional PCI via one or more activated TCI states (section 00423-0044, see, multi-cell/multi-DCI based on multi-TRP transmission, TCI states associated serving cell and non-serving cells, where the TCI states are associated with different CORESETs having different PCIs relating to different cell groups).
Regarding claim 35 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the downlink channel comprises the PDCCH carried by the CORESET (see, a group of CORESETs to schedule one set of uplink and downlink channels (PDCCH/PDSCH/PUSCH/PUCCH) for the UE, section 0036) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the PDCCH carried by the CORESET (see, PDSCH being schedules by separate DCIs carriers by separate PDCCH, section 0034, 0036).
Regarding claim 36 (New), LADDU ‘920 discloses the base station of claim 13, wherein the target reference signal resource comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) or a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (see, QCL source reference signal, CSI-RS for selected TCI state where each CORESET is associated with TCI state, 0030,0031, 0040).
LADDU ‘920 discloses all the claim limitations above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 37 (New), the base station of claim 13, wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located with the target reference signal resource with respect to QCL-TypeD.
However, ZHANG et al (US 2025/0063562 A1, PCT/CN2020/120036, October 9, 2020) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 37 (New), the base station of claim 13, wherein the DMRS of the downlink channel is quasi-co-located (see, the base station which may use a combination of RRC signaling, MAC CE and DCI to inform the UE of QCL relationships between the antenna used for the reference signals (e.g., SSB or CSI-RS), wherein a plurality of TCI states in relation to a QCL Types (QCL Type A, QCL Type B, QCL Type D), section 036-0038) with the target reference signal resource with respect to QCL-TypeD (see, the UE identifies the TCI state from the plurality of TCI sates to apply, where the TCI state is related to QCL relationship (e.g. QCL TypeD), section 0036-0040).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the multi-DCI or multi-TRP operation for communicating QCL information associated with TCI states, and managing or mapping of CORESET configurations relation to CORESET pool indices corresponding to cells as taught by ZHANG ‘562 into the multi-cell operation based on the TCI states indicating QCL characteristics to be used by the UE of LADDU ‘920. The motivation would have been to provide rate matching for PDSCH from different cells as suggested in section 0030.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31, 38 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts either singularly or in combination fail to reasonably anticipate or render obvious “wherein the first CORESET pool index and the second CORESET pool index are non-negative integers, and wherein a number of bits occupied by each of the first CORESET pool index and the second CORESET pool index is less than a number of bits occupied by each of the serving cell PCI and the additional PCI” recited in clam 31, 38.
Conclusion
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473