DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-16, and newly added claims 21-24, in the reply filed on March 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 11, 2026.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to because fig. 6 contains a typographical error that renders the flowchart step unclear. Specifically, regarding the decision diamond located between step 303 and step 304 states: “The first conductive is identified?” To maintain consistency with the specification and the claims, which refer to a “first conductive structure,” the text in the drawing is requested to be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 2, 8, 11, 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
6. Regarding claims 2, 8, 11:
The term “about” renders the boundaries of the claims indefinite. The specification does not provide objective boundaries or a standard for determining the scope of the term “about”.
7. Regarding claim 14:
“The selection” lacks antecedent basis. Neither claim 9 nor claim 13 recites a “selection”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury (US 20230335374).
11. Regarding claim 1:
Gaury discloses a method for detecting defects in a semiconductor structure ([0054] teaches a method of detecting a defect in a semiconductor device), the method comprising:
receiving the semiconductor structure having a plurality of conductive structures ([0148] teaches inspecting a node 1100 comprising a set of structures such as metal lines, vias, gate, or substrate, that are electrically connected together);
performing an electron beam inspection operation on the plurality of conductive structures of the semiconductor structure to obtain an inspection data ([0050], fig. 15 teach activating an electron source to irradiate a region of a sample and acquiring a plurality of images of the structure. The images correspond to an inspection data); and identifying a first conductive structure having a non-open defect from the inspection data ([0153]-[0154] teaches detecting defect 1112 from SEM images. Contact pad 1109 comprises defect 1112).
Gaury does not specifically disclose that wherein a pulsed electron beam utilized in the electron beam inspection operation is selected from a group consisting of a nanosecond pulsed beam, a picosecond pulsed beam, and a femtosecond pulsed beam. However, Gaury teaches that in some embodiments, pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds (as taught in [0224]). Gaury also teaches that the excitation pulse is adjustable and is in a range of 0.05 picoseconds to 1 nanosecond (as taught in [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include that wherein a pulsed electron beam utilized in the electron beam inspection operation is selected from a group consisting of a nanosecond pulsed beam, a picosecond pulsed beam, and a femtosecond pulsed beam. Such modification would allow for detection of defects with fast decay rates in the order of several femtoseconds (as taught in Gaury [0074]).
12. Regarding claim 3:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1. Gaury further discloses that wherein the first conductive structure is a portion of a titanium silicide layer, a metal-to-diffusion (MD) layer, a metal-to-gate layer, or a back-end-of-line (BEOL) structure of the semiconductor structure ([0148] teaches contact pad 1109 connecting metal line 1106 to source 1110 of a transistor 1125, semiconductor substrate 1120. A contact pad connecting a metal line to a transistor constitutes a metal-to-diffusion layer. [0153]-[0154] teaches detecting defect 1112. Contact pad 1109 comprises defect 1112).
13. Regarding claim 4:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1. Gaury further discloses that wherein the inspection data at least comprises a gray level of the first conductive structure and a gray level of a defect-free conductive structure ([0211] teaches that the determined gray level values of a feature (e.g., metal contact pad 1620 of fig. 16A) of a semiconductor device may be distinguishable. A gray level of an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact substantially free of contact are disclosed).
14. Regarding claim 5:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1.
The electrical node shown in fig. 11 of Gaury does not specifically disclose that wherein the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is identified by comparing a gray level of the first conductive structure in the inspection data with gray levels of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third conductive structure having an open defect, respectively.
However, Gaury in additional views and descriptions discloses that wherein the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is identified by comparing a gray level of the first conductive structure in the inspection data with gray levels of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third conductive structure having an open defect, respectively ([0211] teaches that the determined gray level values of a feature (e.g., metal contact pad 1620 of fig. 16A) of a semiconductor device may be distinguishable. A gray level of an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact substantially free of defect are compared, and an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact are identified based on their gray level value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include that wherein the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is identified by comparing a gray level of the first conductive structure in the inspection data with gray levels of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third conductive structure having an open defect, respectively. Such modification would allow for identifying an electric defect based on the determined gray level value of the feature comprising the defect (as taught in Gaury [0211]).
15. Regarding claim 6:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 5. Gaury further discloses that wherein the gray level of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is greater than the gray level of the third conductive structure having the open defect and less than the gray level of the second conductive structure free from having defect ([0211] teaches that an open contact, corresponding to the third conductive structure, may appear dark with gray level value below 150. A high resistance contact, corresponding to the first conductive structure, may appear brighter than the open contact with gray level value between 200-205. A normal contact free of defect, corresponding to the second conductive structure, may appear bright than the high-resistance contact, with gray level value between 210-230).
16. Regarding claim 7:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1. Gaury further discloses that wherein the electron beam inspection is performed through a field emission-scanning electron microscopy (FE-SEM) ([0094] teaches that electron source assembly 340 may include a field emission source configured to emit electrons. [0003] teaches inspection systems utilizing scanning electron microscope can be employed).
17. Regarding claim 9:
Gaury discloses a method for detecting defects in a semiconductor structure ([0054] teaches a method of detecting a defect in a semiconductor device), the method comprising:
providing a semiconductor structure having a plurality of conductive structures ([0148] teaches inspecting a node 1100 comprising a set of structures such as metal lines, vias, gate, or substrate, that are electrically connected together); performing an electron beam inspection operation on the plurality of conductive structures of the semiconductor structure to obtain an inspection data ([0050], fig. 15 teach activating an electron source to irradiate a region of a sample and acquiring a plurality of images of the structure. The images correspond to an inspection data); and identifying a first conductive structure having a non-open defect from the inspection data ([0153]-[0154] teaches detecting defect 1112 from SEM images. Contact pad 1109 comprises defect 1112).
Gaury does not specifically disclose that wherein a response time of a pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is accelerated to a level shorter than microseconds. However, Gaury teaches that in some embodiments, pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds (as taught in [0224]). Gaury also teaches that the excitation pulse is adjustable and is in a range of 0.05 picoseconds to 1 nanosecond (as taught in [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include that wherein a response time of a pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is accelerated to a level shorter than microseconds. Such modification would allow for detection of defects with fast decay rates in the order of several femtoseconds (as taught in Gaury [0074]).
18. Regarding claim 10:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 9. Gaury further discloses that wherein the operation of providing the semiconductor structure ([0148] teaches inspecting a node 1100 comprising a set of structures such as metal lines, vias, gate, or substrate, that are electrically connected together) comprises:
receiving a substrate ([0064] teaches electronic devices are constructed of circuits formed on a piece of silicon called a substrate. [0148] teaches an electrical node comprising a set of structures such as, but not limited to, metal lines, contact pads, vias, gate, source, drain, interconnects, or substrate); and forming a middle-end-of-line (MEOL) structure over the substrate ([0148] teaches contact pad 1109 connecting metal line 1106 to source 1110 of a transistor 1125, semiconductor substrate 1120, which corresponds to forming a MEOL structure over the substrate), wherein the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is identified from a titanium silicide layer, a metal-to-gate layer, or a metal-to-diffusion (MD) layer in the MEOL structure ([0148] teaches contact pad 1109 connecting metal line 1106 to source 1110 of a transistor 1125, semiconductor substrate 1120. A contact pad connecting a metal line to a transistor constitutes a metal-to-diffusion layer. [0153]-[0154] teaches detecting defect 1112. Contact pad 1109 comprises defect 1112).
19. Regarding claim 12:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 9. Gaury does not specifically disclose that wherein the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is selected from a group consisting of a nanosecond pulsed beam, a picosecond pulsed beam, and a femtosecond pulsed beam.
However, Gaury teaches that in some embodiments, pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds (as taught in [0224]). Gaury also teaches that the excitation pulse is adjustable and is in a range of 0.05 picoseconds to 1 nanosecond (as taught in [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include that wherein the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is selected from a group consisting of a nanosecond pulsed beam, a picosecond pulsed beam, and a femtosecond pulsed beam. Such modification would allow for detection of defects with fast decay rates in the order of several femtoseconds (as taught in Gaury [0074]).
20. Regarding claim 21:
Gaury discloses a method for detecting defects in semiconductor structures ([0054] teaches a method of detecting a defect in a semiconductor device), the method comprising:
receiving a semiconductor structure having a plurality of conductive structures ([0148] teaches inspecting a node 1100 comprising a set of structures such as metal lines, vias, gate, or substrate, that are electrically connected together);
performing an electron beam inspection operation on the plurality of conductive structures of the semiconductor structure through a field emission-scanning electron microscopy (FE-SEM) to obtain an inspection data ([0050], fig. 15 teach activating an electron source to irradiate a region of a sample and acquiring a plurality of images of the structure. The images correspond to an inspection data); and identifying a first conductive structure having a non-open defect from the plurality of conductive structures from the inspection data ([0153]-[0154] teaches detecting defect 1112 from SEM images. Contact pad 1109 comprises defect 1112)
The electrical node shown in fig. 11 of Gaury does not specifically disclose determining a first gray level of the first conductive structure substantially between a second gray level of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third gray level of a third conductive structure having an open defect.
However, Gaury in additional views and descriptions discloses determining a first gray level of the first conductive structure substantially between a second gray level of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third gray level of a third conductive structure having an open defect ([0211] teaches that an open contact may appear dark with gray level value below 150. A high resistance contact may appear brighter than the open contact with gray level value between 200-205. A normal contact free of defect may appear bright than the high-resistance contact, with gray level value between 210-230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include determining a first gray level of the first conductive structure substantially between a second gray level of a second conductive structure free from having defect and a third gray level of a third conductive structure having an open defect. Such modification would allow for identifying an electric defect based on the determined gray level value of the feature comprising the defect (as taught in Gaury [0211]).
21. Regarding claim 22:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 21.
Gaury does not specifically disclose that wherein a response time of a pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is accelerated to a level shorter than microseconds. However, Gaury teaches that in some embodiments, pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds (as taught in [0224]). Gaury also teaches that the excitation pulse is adjustable and is in a range of 0.05 picoseconds to 1 nanosecond (as taught in [0285]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury to include that wherein a response time of a pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation is accelerated to a level shorter than microseconds. Such modification would allow for detection of defects with fast decay rates in the order of several femtoseconds (as taught in Gaury [0074]).
22. Claims 2, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Almogy (US-20060192904).
23. Regarding claim 2:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1. Gaury fails to disclose that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms.
However, Almogy teaches that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms ([0046] teaches a soft open defect with a resistance of about 10kohm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Almogy to include that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms. Such modification would allow for identifying a graded difference between the gray levels of conductors positioned at both sides of the soft open defect (as taught in Almogy [0046]).
24. Regarding claim 11:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 9. Gaury fails to disclose that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms.
However, Almogy teaches that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms ([0046] teaches a soft open defect with a resistance of about 10kohm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Almogy to include that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure having the non-open defect is in a range of from about 1x103 ohms to about 1x106 ohms. Such modification would allow for identifying a graded difference between the gray levels of conductors positioned at both sides of the soft open defect (as taught in Almogy [0046]).
25. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Reed, B. W., et al. "Solving the Accelerator-Condenser Coupling Problem in a Nanosecond Dynamic Transmission Electron Microscope." Review of Scientific Instruments, vol. 81, 2010 (hereinafter referred to as Reed).
26. Regarding claim 8:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 1. Gaury fails to disclose that wherein a current of the pulsed electron beam is about 10 mA.
However, Reed discloses that wherein a current of the pulsed electron beam is about 10 mA (abstract section teaches using a pulsed-laser-driven photocathode to operate electron microscope at currents in excess of 10mA).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Reed to include that wherein a current of the pulsed electron beam is about 10 mA. Such modification would allow for imaging of material microstructure with a resolution of nanometer scale and exposure time of nanoseconds (as taught in Reed abstract section).
27. Claims 13, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Rodríguez-Montañés, R., Pineda de Gyvez, J., & Volf, P. A. J. (2002). Resistance characterization for weak open defects. IEEE Design & Test of Computers, 19(5), 18-26. https://doi.org/10.1109/MDT.2002.1033788 (hereinafter referred to as Montanes).
28. Regarding claim 13:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 9. Gaury further discloses identifying a second conductive structure free from having defect from the plurality of conductive structures from the inspection data ([0211] teaches that a normal contact free of defect, corresponding to the second conductive structure, may appear bright than the high-resistance contact, with gray level value between 210-230).
Gaury fails to disclose that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure is in a range of from about 30% to about 50% higher than a resistance of the second conductive structure.
Montanes does not specifically disclose that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure is in a range of from about 30% to about 50% higher than a resistance of the second conductive structure. However, Montanes teaches detecting open defect by comparing its resistance with the defect-free structures (as taught on pg. 20, where the reference line reference resistance corresponds to defect free, and an open defect is circled in fig. 3(a) showing a resistance anomaly from the reference resistance). Montanes also teaches detecting weak opens that occur across a broad, continuous spectrum of elevated resistance values, providing statistical distributions of defects adding anywhere from less than 100 kohm to over 10Mohm of resistance (as taught on pg. 21, fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Montanes to include that wherein a resistance of the first conductive structure is in a range of from about 30% to about 50% higher than a resistance of the second conductive structure. Such modification would allow for detecting weak open defects with resistance in various ranges higher than the resistance of defect-free structure (as taught in Montanes pg. 21).
29. Regarding claim 15:
Gaury in view of Montanes discloses the method of claim 13. Gaury further discloses identifying a third conductive structure having an open defect from the plurality of conductive structures from the inspection data ([0211] teaches that the determined gray level values of a feature (e.g., metal contact pad 1620 of fig. 16A) of a semiconductor device may be distinguishable. A gray level of an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact substantially free of defect are compared, and an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact are identified based on their gray level value).
30. Regarding claim 16:
Gaury in view of Montanes discloses the method of claim 15. Gaury further discloses that wherein a resistance of the third conductive structure is at least 20% higher than a resistance of the first conductive structure ([0211] teaches an open contact having extremely high resistance, in Gohm, represented by data set 1710, and a high resistance contact having resistance in Mohm, represented by data set 1720. Gohm is at least 20% higher than Mohm).
31. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Montanes, further in view of Zewail (US-20110284744).
32. Regarding claim 14:
Gaury in view of Montanes discloses the method of claim 13. Gaury further discloses a gray level of a first conductive structure having the non-open defect in the inspection data is distinguishable from a gray level of the second conductive structure free from having defect in the inspection data ([0211] teaches that the determined gray level values of a feature (e.g., metal contact pad 1620 of fig. 16A) of a semiconductor device may be distinguishable. A gray level of an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact substantially free of defect are compared, and an open contact, a high resistance contact, and a normal contact are identified based on their gray level value).
Gaury fails to disclose that wherein the selection of the pulsed electron beam in the electron beam inspection operation is determined based on whether a gray level of a first conductive structure having the non-open defect in the inspection data is distinguishable from a gray level of the second conductive structure free from having defect in the inspection data.
Zewail does not specifically disclose that that wherein the selection of the pulsed electron beam in the electron beam inspection operation is determined based on whether a gray level of a first conductive structure having the non-open defect in the inspection data is distinguishable from a gray level of the second conductive structure free from having defect in the inspection data. However, Zewail discloses using femtosecond mode or nanosecond mode for different inspection resolutions (as taught in [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Montanes, further in view of Zewail to include that wherein the selection of the pulsed electron beam in the electron beam inspection operation is determined based on whether a gray level of a first conductive structure having the non-open defect in the inspection data is distinguishable from a gray level of the second conductive structure free from having defect in the inspection data. Such modification would allow for inspection with different resolution to construct each image (as taught in Zewail [0036]).
33. Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Zewail.
34. Regarding claim 23:
Gaury discloses the method of claim 22. Gaury further discloses adapting the response time of the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation to a level of nanosecond, picosecond, or femtosecond to perform one or more second electron beam inspection operations on the semiconductor structure ([0224] pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds. [0229] teaches using electron beam inspection to probe a region of interest for defect detection).
Gaury fails to disclose that if no first conductive structure is identified, adapting the response time of the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation to a level of nanosecond, picosecond, or femtosecond to perform one or more second electron beam inspection operations on the semiconductor structure.
Zewail does not specifically disclose that if no first conductive structure is identified, adapting the response time of the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation to a level of nanosecond, picosecond, or femtosecond to perform one or more second electron beam inspection operations on the semiconductor structure. However, Zewail discloses using femtosecond mode or nanosecond mode for different inspection resolution (as taught in [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Zewail to include that if no first conductive structure is identified, adapting the response time of the pulsed electron beam used in the electron beam inspection operation to a level of nanosecond, picosecond, or femtosecond to perform one or more second electron beam inspection operations on the semiconductor structure. Such modification would allow for inspection with different resolution to construct each image (as taught in Zewail [0036]).
35. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Gaury in view of Zewail, further in view of Almogy.
36. Regarding claim 24:
Gaury in view of Zewail discloses the method of claim 23. Gaury further discloses that first conductive structure is identified using a femtosecond pulsed beam ([0224] pulsed electron beam may comprise a plurality of ultrashort electron pulses with pulse duration 100 femtoseconds. [0229] teaches using electron beam inspection to probe a region of interest for defect detection).
Gaury in view of Zewail fails to disclose terminating the second electron beam inspection operation if no first conductive structure is identified using a femtosecond pulsed beam.
Almogy does not specifically disclose terminating the second electron beam inspection operation if no first conductive structure is identified using a femtosecond pulsed beam. However, Almogy discloses stopping the inspection after imaging the test structure to determine the location of a defect (as taught in [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gaury in view of Zewail, further in view of Almogy to include terminating the second electron beam inspection operation if no first conductive structure is identified using a femtosecond pulsed beam. Such modification would allow for inspection for multiple structures and stopping the current supply (as taught in Almogy [0033]).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LARRY LI whose telephone number is (571) 272-5043. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached at (571)272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LARRY LI/
Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881