DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/509611 by Yoneda et al.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/910163 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending application and the copending application recite analogous methods for manufacturing a semiconductor substrate and compositions for forming a resist underlayer film.
With regard to claims 1-7 of the pending application, the copending application recites (Claim 1) an analogous method for manufacturing a semiconductor substrate wherein the method comprises applying a composition for forming a resist underlayer film directly or indirectly to a substrate to form a resist underlayer film; applying a composition for forming a resist film to the resist underlayer film to form a resist film; exposing the resist film to radiation; and developing at least the exposed resist film, wherein the composition for forming a resist underlayer film comprises: a polymer comprising a repeating unit which comprises an organic sulfonic acid anion moiety and an onium cation moiety; and a solvent. The copending application further recites (Claim 4) the resist underlayer film being configured to have a film thickness of 6 nm or less.
The composition recited in the method for manufacturing a semiconductor substrate of the copending application is considered to be obvious with respect to the method recited in claim 1 of the pending application because in the copending application, the polymer comprising an organic sulfonic acid anion moiety and onium cation moiety is considered to be analogous to the acid generating agent recited in claim 1 of the pending application. Therefore, the method claims in the pending and copending applications are considered to be obvious variants with respect to each other.
With regard to claim 8 of the pending application, the copending application recites (Claim 6) an analogous composition for forming a resist underlayer film, comprising: a polymer comprising a repeating unit which comprises an organic sulfonic acid anion moiety and an onium cation moiety; and a solvent.
The composition recited in claim 6 of the copending application is considered to be obvious with respect to the composition recited in claim 8 of the pending application because in the copending application, the polymer comprising an organic sulfonic acid anion moiety and onium cation moiety is considered to be analogous to the acid generating agent recited in claim 8 of the pending application. Therefore, the composition claims in the pending and copending applications are considered to be obvious variants with respect to each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakaida et al. (US 2017/0045820 A1), herein referred to as Sakaida.
With regard to claim 8, Sakaida teaches [0019, 0047 and 0050] a composition for forming a resist underlayer film comprising a polymer, an acid generator and a solvent. With regarding to Applicant’s preamble recitation of the claimed composition being “suitable for forming a resist film having a thickness of 6 nm or less”, it is noted that the preamble recitation is considered to be intended use and does not further limit the chemical composition of the claimed composition. Therefore, Sakaida anticipates the limitations of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaida et al. (US 2017/0045820 A1), herein referred to as Sakaida.
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 7, Sakaida teaches [0015] a method for forming a resist pattern comprising the steps of applying the resist underlayer film-forming composition for lithography to a semiconductor substrate (method for manufacturing a semiconductor substrate, the method comprising: directly or indirectly applying a composition for forming a resist underlayer film to a substrate to form a resist underlayer film), followed by baking, to form a resist underlayer film; forming a resist film on the resist underlayer film using a resist solution; exposing the semiconductor substrate coated with the resist underlayer film (applying a composition for forming a resist film to the resist underlayer film to form a resist film and exposing the resist film to radiation) and developing the exposed substrate (developing the exposed resist film). Sakaida further teaches [0019, 0047 and 0050] the resist underlayer film-forming composition for comprises a polymer, an acid generator and a solvent.
With regard to the limitation recited in claim 1 of the resist underlayer film having a thickness of 6 nm or less, the limitations recited in claim 6 of the resist underlayer film having a thickness of less than 4 nm, and the limitations recited in claim 7 of the resist underlayer film having a thickness of between 0.5 nm and 4 nm; Sakaida teaches the resist underlayer film may be configured to have a thickness in a range of 1 nm to 200 nm. The range of thicknesses taught by Sakaida overlaps the claimed ranges recited in claims 1, 6 and 7. In view of MPEP Chapter 2144.05, Section I, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the range of thicknesses of the resist underlayer film taught by Sakaida overlaps Applicant’s claimed resist underlayer film thickness ranges. Therefore, claims 1, 6 and 7 are obvious in view of Sakaida.
Regarding claim 2, Sakaida teaches [0015] extreme ultraviolet light may be used for exposing the resist film. Therefore, claim 2 is obvious in view of Sakaida.
Regarding claim 3, Sakaida teaches [0059] a developer that may include a basic solution such as sodium hydroxide or potassium hydroxide. Therefore, claim 3 is obvious in view of Sakaida.
Regarding claim 5, Sakaida teaches [0055] a silicon containing film, such as silicon oxide or silicon nitride, may be disposed on the semiconductor substrate before applying the resist underlayer film. Therefore, claim 5 is obvious in view of Sakaida.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaida et al. (US 2017/0045820 A1), herein referred to as Sakaida, in view of Furukawa et al. (US 2016/0299432 A1), herein referred to as Furukawa.
Sakaida does not appear to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 4 directed to the claimed acid generating composition.
However, from the same field of technology, Furukawa recites [0072 and 0155] an acid generator composition for a radiation-sensitive resin composition. In view of claim 4, Furukawa teaches ([0177-0178 and Chemical Structures (cc-1 to cc-4)) an acid generator having the following compositions:
The acid generators taught by Furukawa satisfy the compositional limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, at the time of the filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the resist underlayer film taught by Sakaida to include the specified acid generator compositions taught by Furukawa in order to devise a resist underlayer film that has improved pattern control properties.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724