DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on May 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7-13 and 15-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawano (U.S. 2004/0221808).
Referring Figure 1-2 and paragraphs [0045]-[0062], Kawano discloses a reaction chamber, comprising: a lower chamber 3 having an interior space defined by a bottom surface and horizontally-oriented sidewalls that extend upwards from the bottom surface (par.[0046]); a lid 2 opposite from the bottom surface and in direct contact with the sidewalls (par.[0045]), wherein the lid comprises an opening; a spacer plate 7, 38, comprising: a first end connected to the lid; and a second end extending towards the opening of the lid, wherein the second end comprises a horizontally-oriented section 33 and a ridge 34 extending downward from the horizontally-oriented section (Figs. 3B-3C, pars.[0063]-[0065]); a susceptor 4 (par.[0046]), comprising: a primary region comprising a heating element (par.[0046]); and an outer edge extending away from the primary region, wherein the outer edge comprises a groove 14 that is sized to mate with the ridge (par.[0046]); and a seal 8, 20 positioned within the groove (par.[0055]).
With respect to claim 4, the reaction chamber of Kawano further includes wherein the seal comprises an e-ring 8 formed from a metal material (Figs. 1-2 and 4, par.[0056]).
With respect to claim 5, the reaction chamber of Kawano further includes wherein the seal 30 contacts the ridge 34 of the spacer plate 38 (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 6, the reaction chamber of Kawano further includes wherein the groove 14 and the ridge 38 have complementary shapes (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 14, as stated above, referring Figure 1-2 and paragraphs [0045]-[0062], Kawano discloses a reaction chamber, comprising: a lower chamber 3 having an interior space defined by a bottom surface and horizontally-oriented sidewalls that extend upwards from the bottom surface; a lid 2 opposite from the bottom surface and in direct contact with the sidewalls, wherein the lid comprises an opening; a spacer plate 7, 38 comprising: a first end connected to the lid; and a second end extending towards the opening of the lid, wherein the second end comprises a horizontally-oriented section 33 and a first ridge 34 extending downward from the horizontally-oriented section; a susceptor, comprising: a primary region comprising a heating element and having a first height; and an outer edge, having a second height that is less than the first height, extending away from the primary region, and an e-ring seal 8, 20 disposed between the first ridge and the outer edge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawano (U.S. 2004/0221808) in view of Halpin et al. (U.S. 2013/0129577) and Hou (U.S. 2017/0044660).
The teachings of Kawano have been discussed above.
Kawano fail to teach wherein the spacer plate is connected to the lid with a fastener formed from a non-conducting material.
With respect to claim 2 and 19, referring to Figures 7-8, 10, 12, 15 and paragraph [0036], Halpin et al. teach a reaction chamber wherein the spacer plate 114 is connected to the lid 26 with a fastener 110 since it is a conventionally known means to securely mate two chamber components. Hou teaches a reaction chamber wherein it is conventionally known in the art for a fastener to be formed from a non-conducting material since it is a nonreactive material used in plasma processing chambers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kawano with wherein the spacer plate is connected to the lid with a fastener formed from a non-conducting material as taught by Halpin et al. and Hou since it is a conventionally known means to securely mate two chamber components that is nonreactive in a plasma processing chamber. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claims 3 and 20, the reaction chamber of Kawano in view of Halpin et al. and Hou further comprising an electrical insulator disposed between the spacer plate and the lid (Note. Hou teaches that it is conventionally known to place an electrical insulator between components to provide electrical insulation between components (pars.[0027]-[0029]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Kawano with an electrical insulator disposed between the spacer plate and the lid as taught by Hou in order to provide electrical insulation between the spacer plate and the lid).
With respect to claim 17, the reaction chamber of Kawano in view of Halpin et al. and Hou further includes wherein the susceptor 28 further comprises a second ridge 102 extending upwards from the outer edge, and wherein the groove is formed by a vertical sidewall of the primary region and the second ridge (Halpin et al.-Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 18, the reaction chamber of Kawano in view of Halpin et al. and Hou further includes wherein the groove 44 and the first ridge 42 have complementary shapes Halpin et al.-Fig. 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-6, 14, and 17-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-18, and 21-22 of copending Application No. 17/895370 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 4-18, and 21-22 contain or render obvious all the limitations of the instant claims 1, 4-6, 14, and 17-18.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fitzgerald et al.’477, Halpin et al.’159, Fitzgerald’843 teach chamber sealing with spacer and susceptor. Kobayashi et al.’825, Savandaiah et al.’107, Rosenstein et al.’795 teach using a fastener to mate chamber components. Yajima teach that fasteners are made from non-conducting materials.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716