DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 11/15/2023. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CHA et al (US 20210158751 A1) in view of HONG et al (US 20210036090 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel (DP, [0068]) comprising a transmission area (area of FX, Figure 10) and a display area (DP-DA, [0068]) disposed adjacent to the transmission area, wherein an image is displayed in the display area ([0111]); and
wherein the display panel comprises:
a light emitting element (LD in PX, [0119], Figure 10) disposed in the display area;
a light receiving element (OPD in FX, Figure 10, [0133]) disposed in the display area;
a plurality of signal lines (DS/FS or DL/FSL, Figures 7-8/10) electrically connected to the light emitting element (LD) or the light receiving element (OPD).
CHA does not teach an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area and disposed under the display panel and a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein at least one of the signal lines comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to each of the first line and the second line.
However, HONG is a pertinent art which teaches a display device, in which wirings disposed around a transmission portion is formed to have an octagonal shape or a circular shape, thereby improving the light receiving quantity and quality of a sensor device disposed under the transmission portion. HONG, further teaches that a sensor area SA may be an area in which a sensor device (such as an optical sensor) utilizing infrared light, visible light, and/or sound is disposed. The sensor area SA may include a transmission portion (e.g., a transmission area) TA through which light and/or sound output from the sensor device to the outside or traveling toward the sensor device from the outside may be transmitted (Figures 1-2, [0061] and [0073]). Figures 4 and 13-20 of HONG teach of having connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area TA connecting signal branches for signal SLK, ELK,VIL on both side of the transmission area TA.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use modify the electronic device of CHA by forming an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area (of FX, Figure 10 of CHA) and disposed under the display panel and a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein at least one of the signal lines comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to each of the first line and the second line according to the teaching of HONG in order to form a display panel with capability of sensing outside signals with an improved wiring for higher light transmission ([0005] and [0073] of HONG).
Regarding claim 2, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line extends along one side of the transmission area (Figures 13-20 of HONG teach connection line around TA connecting lines on both side of TA).
Regarding claim 3, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line has a closed-line shape surrounding the transmission area (Figures 13-20 of HONG teach connection line around TA connecting lines on both side of TA).
Regarding claim 4, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line comprises a metal material ([0153]-[0154] and [0184] of HONG).
Regarding claim 5, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line comprises an optically transparent conductive material ([0153]-[0154] and [0184] of HONG).
Regarding claim 6, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line comprises a same material as the first and second lines ([0153]-[0154] and [0184] of HONG).
Regarding claim 7, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first line and the second line are disposed on a same layer, and the connection line is disposed on a layer different from the first and second lines and connected to each of the first and second lines via a contact hole (CNT, [0192] and [0252]).
Regarding claim 8, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the light emitting element (LD) is one of a plurality of light emitting elements, and the transmission area is disposed between the light emitting elements ([0157] of CHA).
Regarding claim 9, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the light receiving element (OPD, [0133] of CHA) is one of a plurality of light receiving elements, and each of the light receiving elements (OPD) is disposed between the light emitting elements (LD, Figure 12 of CHA) and spaced apart from the transmission area (area of FXA, LD needs to be spaced apart since light needs to reach the sensor below panel in CHA) (Figure 16 of HONG).
Regarding claim 10, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the light emitting element (LD, Figure 13) comprises: a first electrode (AE); a second electrode (CE) disposed on the first electrode; and a light emitting layer (EML, [0184]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode,
wherein the light receiving element comprises: a sensing anode (E1, [0189]) electrode disposed on a same layer as the first electrode; a sensing cathode electrode (E2) disposed on the sensing anode electrode; and a photoelectric conversion layer (OPL, [0190]) disposed between the sensing anode electrode and the sensing cathode electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the display panel further comprises: a pixel definition layer (PDL, [0182]) through which a light emitting opening (OP1), a light receiving opening (OP2, [0189]), and a transmission opening (opening at TA, Figure 16), which are spaced apart from each other, are defined, wherein the light emitting element corresponds to the light emitting opening, the light receiving element corresponds to the light receiving opening, and the transmission opening overlaps the transmission area (Figure 2 of HONG).
Regarding claim 12, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the signal lines comprise:
a data line (DL) electrically connected to the light emitting element (LD, Figure 8); and
a read-out line (FS, Figure 10) electrically connected to the light receiving element (OPD), wherein each of the data line and the read-out line extends in one direction (DR1, Figure 10), and the data line and the read-out line are arranged spaced apart from each other in a direction intersecting the one direction (DR2).
Regarding claim 13, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the data line (DL) and the read-out line (FS) are disposed on a same layer (Figure 10).
Regarding claim 14, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the first line and the second line are connected to each other via the connection line (line around TA, Figure 13-16 of HONG), and the first line and the second line correspond to the read-out line (FSL, Figure 10).
Regarding claim 15, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel (DP, [0068]) comprising a transmission area (FX area, Figure 10);
wherein the display panel comprises:
a circuit layer (DP-CL, [0068]); and
an element layer (DP-OLED, [0068]) disposed on the circuit layer and comprising a plurality of light emitting elements (LD, [0119]) and a plurality of light receiving elements (OPD, [0133]), wherein the circuit layer comprises:
a pixel driving circuit (LDC, [0119]) electrically connected to each of the light emitting elements (LD);
a sensor driving circuit (ODC, [0133]) electrically connected to each of the light receiving elements (OPD);
a data line (DL, [0090]) electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit;
a read-out line (ROC/FSL, [0097]) electrically connected to the sensor driving circuit; and
a connection line (line connecting FSL, Figure 7) connected to the read-out line (FSL).
CHA does not teach an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area, wherein the transmission area is disposed between the light emitting elements when viewed in a plane, wherein the transmission area is spaced apart from the pixel driving circuit, the sensor driving circuit (ROC), the data line (DL), the read-out line (FSL), and the connection line (lines connecting FSL), and the connection line is disposed along a periphery of the transmission area (area of FXA, Figure 10).
However, HONG is a pertinent art which teaches a display device, in which wirings disposed around a transmission portion is formed to have an octagonal shape or a circular shape, thereby improving the light receiving quantity and quality of a sensor device disposed under the transmission portion. HONG, further teaches that a sensor area SA may be an area in which a sensor device (such as a optical sensor) utilizing infrared light, visible light, and/or sound is disposed. The sensor area SA may include a transmission portion (e.g., a transmission area) TA through which light and/or sound output from the sensor device to the outside or traveling toward the sensor device from the outside may be transmitted (Figures 1-2, [0061] and [0073]). Figures 4 and 13-20 of HONG teaches of having connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area connecting signal branches for signal SLK, ELK,VIL on both side of the transmission area TA.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use modify the electronic device of CHA by forming an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area and disposed under the display panel and a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein at least one of the signal lines comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to each of the first line and the second line according to the teaching of HONG in order to form a display panel with capability of sensing outside signals with an improved wiring for higher light transmission ([0005] and [0073] of HONG).
Regarding claim 16, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the display panel further comprises: a display area in which an image is displayed, wherein the data line (DL) and the read-out line (FSL) extend in one direction (DR1, [0113]) in the display area and are spaced apart from each other in a direction (DR2) intersecting the one direction (DR1, Figure 7).
Regarding claim 17, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the read-out line comprises: a first line (TL1-1) and a second line (TL2-1) spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, wherein the first line is electrically connected to the second line via the connection line (CNT, Figure 6, [0107]).
Regarding claim 18, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the connection line (CNT) extends along one side of the transmission area (CNT, Figure 6, [0107]) (Figures 13-16 of HONG).
Regarding claim 19, Figures 1-13 of CHA in view of HONG teach that the electronic device of claim 15, wherein the connection line has a closed-line shape surrounding the transmission area (CNT, Figure 6, [0107]) (Figures 13-16 of HONG).
Regarding claim 20, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose that the electronic device of claim 15, wherein each of the light emitting elements comprises: a first electrode (AE, [0124], Figure 13); a second electrode (CE, [0132]) disposed on the first electrode; and a light emitting layer (EML, [0184]) disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein each of the light receiving element comprises: a sensing anode (E1, [0189]) electrode disposed on a same layer as the first electrode; a sensing cathode electrode (E2, [0192]) disposed on the sensing anode electrode; and a photoelectric conversion layer (OPL, [0190]) disposed between the sensing anode electrode and the sensing cathode electrode.
Examiner Notes
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. BiocraftLabs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813