DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 06/05/2026. Currently, claims 1-7 and 9-21 are pending in the application. Claim 21 has been added new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over CHA et al (US 20210158751 A1) in view of SO (US 20220209068 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Figures 1-13 of CHA disclose an electronic device, comprising:
a display panel (DP, [0068]) comprising a transmission area (area of FX, Figure 10) and a display area (DP-DA, [0068]) disposed adjacent to the transmission area, wherein an image is displayed in the display area ([0111]); and
wherein the display panel comprises:
a light emitting element (LD in PX, [0119], Figure 10) disposed in the display area;
a light receiving element (OPD in FX, Figure 10, [0133]) disposed in the display area;
a plurality of signal lines (DS/FS or DL/FSL, Figures 7-8/10) electrically connected to the light emitting element or the light receiving element.
CHA does not explicitly teach that an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area and disposed under the display panel, and a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein at least one of the signal lines comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to, at most among the signal lines, each of the first line and the second line, and has a closed-line shape surrounding the transmission area.
However, SO is a pertinent art which teaches a display panel, wherein an optical sensor (200, [0043])) overlapping the transmission area and disposed under the display panel. Figures 9/10 of SO, further, teaches a connection line (131/124) in closed loop shape connecting a first line and a second line around the transmission area in a method of improved wiring to reduce non-display area and maximize the display area ([0004]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an optical sensor overlapping the transmission area and disposed under the display panel in order to use a camera or proximity sensor in the display device of CHA according to the teaching of SO and further to use a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein at least one of the signal lines comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to, at most among the signal lines, each of the first line and the second line, and has a closed-line shape surrounding the transmission area in order to minimize the non-display area and maximize the display area according to the teaching of SO ([0004] and [0043]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, there is no prior art available nor obvious motivation to combine elements of prior art which teaches an electronic device, comprising: “a plurality of light emitting elements disposed in the display area; a plurality of light receiving elements disposed in the display area; a plurality of signal lines electrically connected to the plurality of light emitting elements or the plurality of light receiving elements; and a connection line disposed along a periphery of the transmission area, wherein the transmission area is disposed between the plurality of light receiving elements in a first direction and the transmission area is disposed between the plurality of light emitting elements in a second direction intersecting the first direction, wherein the plurality of signal lines comprises a first read-out line electrically connected to the light receiving elements spaced apart from the transmission area in the second direction and a second read-out line electrically connected to the light receiving elements adjacent to the transmission area in the first direction, and wherein the second read-out line comprises a first line and a second line spaced apart from the first line with the transmission area interposed therebetween, and the connection line is connected to each of the first line and the second line” in combination with other limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 15, there is no prior art available nor obvious motivation to combine elements of prior art which teaches an electronic device, comprising: “sensor driving circuit electrically connected to each of the light receiving elements; a data line electrically connected to the pixel driving circuit; a read-out line electrically connected to the sensor driving circuit and including a first line on a first side of the transmission area connected to a transistor associated with a first one of the light receiving elements, and a second line connected to a transistor associated with a second one of the light receiving elements on an opposite side of the transmission area; and a connection line connecting the first and second lines of the read-out line, wherein the transmission area is disposed between the light emitting elements when viewed in a plane, wherein the transmission area is spaced apart from the pixel driving circuit, the sensor driving circuit, the data line, the read-out line, and the connection line, and the connection line is disposed along a periphery of the transmission area” in combination with other limitations in the claim.
Regarding claim 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20, these claims are allowed as they depend on a allowed claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-7 and 8-20, filed on 06/05/2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) overcomes the pertinent prior arts and put them in condition for allowance. However, the newly added claim 21 is not allowable as explained above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813