Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 05/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Majhi et al., US 2019/0036020.
Majhi et al. shows the invention as claimed including a resistive random access memory device, comprising:
A first electrode 231;
A second electrode 201 comprising a conductive material; and
A switching oxide layer 211 fabricated between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the switching oxide layer comprises a transition metal oxide and deuterium.
Concerning dependent claim 6, note that the device further comprises an interface layer 211 positioned between the switching oxide layer 221 and the second electrode 201, wherein the interface layer can be deuterium based as a result of the deuterium treatment (see figs. 2-3H and their descriptions).
With respect to dependent claim 8, note that the second electrode is fabricated on the deuterium-treated interface layer 211 (see fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majhi et al., US 2019/0036020.
Majhi et al. is applied as above but does not expressly disclose wherein the switching oxide layer comprises a base oxide and a dopant oxide that is more chemically stable than the base oxide, wherein the first electrode comprises a non-reactive material that is not reactive to the base oxide or the dopant oxide. However, Majhi et al. discloses where the oxide layer 211 can include at least one of HfOx, SiOx, Al2Ox, TiOx, TaOx, GdOx, ErOx, NbOx, WOx, ZnOx, InSnO, and InGaZnOx, where the list of materials includes, for example, the dopant oxide of Al2O3, and SiO2, and the base oxide of HfOx (see paragraph 0017). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to select one of the claimed base oxide and dopant oxides because a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Regarding dependent claim 3, note that, as stated above, Majhi discloses both one of the materials from the dopant and base oxides (see paragraph 0017).
Concerning dependent claim 4, note that Majhi discloses wherein the first electrode can comprise ruthenium, for example (see paragraph 0059).
With respect to dependent claim 5, note that Majhi discloses that the second electrode can comprise titanium and tantalum (see paragraph 0059).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majhi et al., US 2019/0036020 in view of Zhang et al., US 2022/0006008.
Majhi et al. is applied as above and additionally discloses wherein at least a portion of the second electrode is deposited on the switching oxide layer but does not expressly disclose wherein the interface layer positioned between the switching oxide layer and the second electrode comprises a discontinuous film of a dielectric material. Zhang et al. discloses where an interface layer is formed between electrodes and comprises a discontinuous film 2053 of a dielectric material (see, for example, fig. 2 and paragraphs 0035-0047). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Majhi et al. so as to comprise the discontinuous film to be used as a geometric confining film because in such a way the operating current can be lowered and the contact resistance can be increased.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smythe et al., US 2011/0182103 discloses a RRAM including a deuterium treatment (see fig. 8 and paragraphs 0024, 0034, and 0052).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
June 4, 2026