DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
2. With respect to applicant’s remarks regarding rejected claims 1-7 on pages 8-9, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicants argues “Bang, the primary reference, is not a vacuum chuck. The vacuum (pressure-reducing passages 4110) in Bang is primarily used to move plunger 4400 down to set substrate height. While in some embodiments, pressure reducing passages 4110 can assist in clamping the substrate to the plunger via a through-hole (see e.g., [0084]), Bang does not clamp the substrate to the support surface or flatten the substrate. Instead, Bang includes a set of proximity pins 4500 that are positioned at a fixed height above the surface of support plate 4100 ensuring that the substrate never comes into contact with the upper surface of the support plate. See e.g., [0073], FIG. 10, and [0093]-[0094]”.
First: Bang discloses in figure 9 that the through hole 4403 is not different from a through-hole, which can assist in clamping the substrate to the plunger 4400.
Second: the limitation “flatten the substrate … ensuring that the substrate [never] comes into contact with the upper surface of the support plate” must be disclosed in the claims in order to be considered.
3. With respect to applicant’s remarks regarding rejected claims 1-7, page 9, the new added limitation “the plunger body is fully retracted into the cavity such that an upper surface of the vacuum pad plunger is aligned with the upper planar support surface” has been found in reference of Bang in the following figure 13, (plungers body 4400 is fully retracted into the cavity C of the support surface A such that an upper surface of the vacuum pad plungers 4400 is aligned with the upper planar support surface A of the support plate 4100).
[AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (C)][AltContent: arrow]
Grounds for the rejection of claims are provided below as necessitated by amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/25 was filed after the mailing date of the 06/04/25 on Non-Final Action The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0129175) in view of Gilan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0048439). Hereafter “Bang” and “Gilan”.
Regarding Claim 1, Bang teaches a vacuum chuck for supporting a sample (figure 7 is not different from a vacuum chuck for supporting substrate W), the vacuum chuck comprising:
a support plate having an upper planar support surface sized and shaped to retain a sample disposed thereon (figure 7, support plate 4100, sample substate W);
one or more vacuum lines formed within the support plate (figure 8, pressure-reducing passages 4110 is not different from vacuum lines);
a plurality of cavities formed within the support plate (figure 9, a plurality of recesses 4120 is not different from a plurality of cavities, support plate 4100), wherein each cavity is coupled to a vacuum line in the one or more vacuum lines and includes an aperture at an upper surface of the planar support surface (figure 9, recess 4120 is not different from cavity, passage 4114 is not different from a vacuum line, planar support surface of support plate 4100); and
a plurality of vacuum pad plungers corresponding in number to the plurality of cavities (figure 9, plunger 4400), wherein each vacuum pad plunger is disposed in a unique one of the cavities and comprises a plunger body having a vacuum channel extending through its length and a biasing mechanism (figure 9, plunger 4400, cavities 4120, element 4420, 4401, is not different from a biasing mechanism), wherein the plunger body is moveable between an up position in which a portion of the plunger body extends through the aperture of its respective cavity protruding above the upper planar support surface and a down position in which the plunger body is fully retracted into the cavity such that an upper surface of the vacuum pad plunger is aligned with the upper planar support surface, and wherein the biasing mechanism biases the plunger body in the up position (figure 9, plunger body 4400, the upper planar support surface of support plate 4100, cavity 4120, element 4420, 4401, is not different from a biasing mechanism; the above figure 13, plungers body 4400 is fully retracted into the cavity C of the support surface A such that an upper surface of the vacuum pad plungers 4400 is aligned with the upper planar support surface A of the support plate 4100).
However, Bang does not teach cavity is fluidly coupled to a vacuum line. Gilan teaches cavity is fluidly coupled to a vacuum line (Figures 1e, 5, 14a-c, 15a-c, cavity 14/16, vacuum line 41, vacuum chuck 100; [0022, 0049, 0076]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Bang by having cavity is fluidly coupled to a vacuum line in order to implement suction for the system.
Regarding Claim 2, Bang teaches the plunger body of each vacuum pad plunger comprises a lower body portion, an upper neck portion and a shelf extending perpendicularly away from the neck portion at a junction between the neck portion and the lower body portion (figure 9, plunger 4400, a lower body portion 4401, and a shelf extending perpendicularly away from the neck portion 4402).
Regarding Claim 3, Bang teaches neck portion of each plunger body is sized and shaped to fit through the aperture and the shelf of the plunger body limits a distance in which the neck portion can protrude above the upper planar support surface (figure 9, portion 4402, 4401 of plunger 4400, aperture of recess 4120).
Regarding Claim 4, Bang teaches each plunger body comprises a first seal around an outer perimeter of the lower body portion that physically contacts and forms a vacuum tight seal with a sidewall surface of the cavity in which the plunger body is disposed that faces the outer perimeter of the lower body in an oppositional relationship (figure 9, element 4410 is not different from a first seal).
Further Gilan also teaches a first seal around an outer perimeter of the lower body portion that physically contacts and forms a vacuum tight seal with a sidewall surface of the cavity in which the plunger body is disposed that faces the outer perimeter of the lower body in an oppositional relationship (Abstract, lines 7-9; [0009], lines 6-8; [0045], lines 9-13; [0050], lines 10-12; [0058]; [0064], lines 12-16; [0065], lines 9-16; [0070]; [0072], lines 1-3; [0073], lines 4-6; [0074], lines 5-7; [0075]; [0079], lines 1-6; [0080]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Bang by having seal around an outer perimeter in order to prevent vacuum leaks through the through holes, (Gilan, abstract, lines 7-9; [0009], lines 6-8; [0045], lines 9-13; [0050], lines 10-12; [0058]; [0064], lines 12-16; [0065], lines 9-16; [0070]; [0072], lines 1-3; [0073], lines 4-6; [0074], lines 5-7; [0075]; [0079], lines 1-6; [0080]).
Regarding Claim 5, Bang teaches the lower body and neck portions of each plunger are cylindrically shaped with a diameter of the neck portion being less than a diameter of the lower body portion (figure 9, lower body 4401, neck of element 4402).
Regarding Claim 6, Bang teaches each plunger body comprises a seal at its upper surface that surrounds an opening of the vacuum channel extending through the length of the plunger body (figure 9, element 4410 is not different from a seal).
Regarding Claim 7, Bang teaches the biasing mechanism for each vacuum pad plunger comprises a compression spring (figure 9, element 4420).
7. Claim(s) 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bang et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0129175) in view of Gilan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0048439), further in view of Dudovitch et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0290572). Hereafter “Bang”, “Gilan”, “Dudovitch”.
According to claim 8, Bang teaches all the limitations as in claim 1 as stated above except for a plurality of lift pin holes formed completely through the support plate; and a moveable stage configured to move the support plate, including the vacuum pad plungers, in X, Y and Z directions; and a plurality of lift pins corresponding in number to the plurality of lift pin holes, wherein each lift pin is aligned with a unique one of the lift pin holes and configured such that as the support plate is moved up and down in the Z direction by the moveable stage while the lift pins remain in a fixed position. Dudovitch teaches a plurality of lift pin holes formed completely through the support plate; and a moveable stage configured to move the support plate, including the vacuum pad plungers, in X, Y and Z directions ([0008, 0031, 0038, 0039, 0047, 0049, 0051, 0063]; Figures 2A-B, 4A-B); and a plurality of lift pins corresponding in number to the plurality of lift pin holes, wherein each lift pin is aligned with a unique one of the lift pin holes and configured such that as the support plate is moved up and down in the Z direction by the moveable stage while the lift pins remain in a fixed position ([0008, 0031, 0038, 0039, 0047, 0049, 0051, 0063]; Figures 2A-B, 4A-B, lift pins 430, plate 420). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Bang by having a plurality of lift pin and moving the support plate in order to ensure an accurate working distance across all regions of the sample ([0049]).
According to claim 15, Bang teaches all the limitations as in claim 1 as stated above. Bang also teaches a vacuum chuck operable to hold a sample during a sample inspection process (figures 7, 10). However, Bang does not teach a radiation source, adapted to irradiate a spot on the sample with coherent radiation; a detector, positioned to receive radiation reflected off the sample and to generate a signal responsive thereto. Dudovitch teaches a radiation source, adapted to irradiate a spot on the sample with coherent radiation (figure 1, beam source 122. The charged particle beam line 125 is not different from coherent radiation); a detector, positioned to receive radiation reflected off the sample and to generate a signal responsive thereto (figure 1, detector 138; [0030]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Bang by having a radiation source and a detector in order to detect scattered light from the sample ([0030]).
Regarding Claims 9, 16, Bang teaches the plunger body of each vacuum pad plunger comprises a lower body portion, an upper neck portion and a shelf extending perpendicularly away from the neck portion at a junction between the neck portion and the lower body portion (figure 9, plunger 4400, a lower body portion 4401, and a shelf extending perpendicularly away from the neck portion 4402).
Regarding Claims 10, 17, Bang teaches neck portion of each plunger body is sized and shaped to fit through the aperture and the shelf of the plunger body limits a distance in which the neck portion can protrude above the upper planar support surface (figure 9, portion 4402, 4401 of plunger 4400, aperture of recess 4120).
Regarding Claims 11, 18, Bang teaches each plunger body comprises a first seal around an outer perimeter of the lower body portion that physically contacts and forms a vacuum tight seal with a sidewall surface of the cavity in which the plunger body is disposed that faces the outer perimeter of the lower body in an oppositional relationship (figure 9, element 4410 is not different from a first seal).
Further Gilan also teaches a first seal around an outer perimeter of the lower body portion that physically contacts and forms a vacuum tight seal with a sidewall surface of the cavity in which the plunger body is disposed that faces the outer perimeter of the lower body in an oppositional relationship (Abstract, lines 7-9; [0009], lines 6-8; [0045], lines 9-13; [0050], lines 10-12; [0058]; [0064], lines 12-16; [0065], lines 9-16; [0070]; [0072], lines 1-3; [0073], lines 4-6; [0074], lines 5-7; [0075]; [0079], lines 1-6; [0080]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify Bang by having seal around an outer perimeter in order to prevent vacuum leaks through the through holes, (Gilan, abstract, lines 7-9; [0009], lines 6-8; [0045], lines 9-13; [0050], lines 10-12; [0058]; [0064], lines 12-16; [0065], lines 9-16; [0070]; [0072], lines 1-3; [0073], lines 4-6; [0074], lines 5-7; [0075]; [0079], lines 1-6; [0080]).
Regarding Claims 12, 19, Bang teaches the lower body and neck portions of each plunger are cylindrically shaped with a diameter of the neck portion being less than a diameter of the lower body portion (figure 9, lower body 4401, neck of element 4402).
Regarding Claims 13, 20, Bang teaches each plunger body comprises a seal at its upper surface that surrounds an opening of the vacuum channel extending through the length of the plunger body (figure 9, element 4410 is not different from a seal).
Regarding Claim 14, Bang teaches the biasing mechanism for each vacuum pad plunger comprises a compression spring (figure 9, element 4420).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: there was no prior art found by the examiner that suggested modification or combination with the cited art so as to satisfy the combination of all the limitations in claims 1, 6, 13 and 14.
11. As claims 21-23, the prior art of record taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious a vacuum chuck for supporting a sample or a scanning laser inspection system for evaluating a sample comprising a plurality of cavities formed within the support plate, each cavity is fluidly coupled to a vacuum line in the one or more vacuum lines and includes an aperture at an upper surface of the planar support surface; and a plurality of vacuum pad plungers, each vacuum pad plunger is disposed in a unique one of the cavities and comprises a plunger body having a vacuum channel extending through its length and a biasing mechanism, wherein the plunger body is moveable between an up position in which a portion of the plunger body extends through the aperture of its respective cavity protruding above the upper planar support surface and a down position in which the plunger body is fully retracted into the cavity such that an upper surface of the vacuum pad plunger is aligned with the upper planar support surface; wherein after a sample is positioned on the plurality of vacuum pad plungers with the plungers in the up position, and upon application of a vacuum to the one or more vacuum lines formed in the support plate, the vacuum causes the plungers to retract into the support plate such that the sample is pulled into direct contact with and clamped against the upper planar support surface of the support plate, thereby flattening the sample against the support plate; in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1 and 21, or 8 and 21, or 15 and 23.
Fax/Telephone Information
October 2, 2025
/Tri T Ton/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2877