DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 13-21 are under consideration
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group II in the reply filed on 07/22/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiu (US20170365561A1, published 2017).
Regarding claims 13-14 and 17-21,
Shiu teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device [abstract] including an EUV exposure step [0040].
Shiu teaches forming an etch stop layer (instant hard mask) over a substrate that may include one or more target layers (layers to be patterned), forming an overlying low-k dielectric layer (which may comprise of an organic material, instant first lithography stack layer), forming an overlying first and second insulating film (which may be silicon oxide (silicon dioxide) films, aligning with the instant dielectric material, instant second lithography stack layer), forming an overlying metal hard mask film, forming an overlying middle layer (which may contain a metal such as Ti or Al, instant third lithography stack layer), forming an overlying photoresist layer (which may include a carbon backbone polymer, an organic photoresist, instant fourth lithography stack layer), and exposing and developing the photoresist layer to form a pattern [0018, 0020, 0022-0023, 0028-0030, 0033, 0037, 0040-41, fig 2, 6-7, 11-12], reading on instant claims 13-14 and 17-20.
Shiu teaches transferring the photoresist pattern into the underlying layers using conventional etching and resist removal operations to exposure the underlying substrate [0042-0043, fig 13-17]. Shiu further teaches the substrate may include one or more target layers disposed on a semiconductor substrate [0020], implying the pattern may be further transferred into the target layers, reading on instant claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiu (US20170365561A1, published 2017) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Chang (US20170271150A1, published 2017).
Regarding claims 15-16,
Shiu teaches the above limitations set forth.
Shiu teaches a multilayer resist structure include bottom layer [0024], where the entire multilayer resist structure aligns with the instant fourth lithography stack layer and their metal hard mask film aligns with the instant third lithography stack layer. Shiu teaches forming an a third insulating film (instant fifth photoresist layer) formed over the metal hard mask film with an overlying multilayer resist structure [0031-0032], where the third insulating film may be oxide films such as silicon oxides.
Shiu fails to explicitly disclose their third insulating film with antireflective properties.
Chang, analogous art, teaches a method for semiconductor device fabrication [0016], where anti-reflection coatings (back-scattering anti-reflective material) include materials such as silicon oxide [0023].
As both Chang and Shiu teach methods for manufacturing a semiconductor device, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the silicon oxide containing third insulating film of Shiu would function as and have the inherent properties of an anti-reflective coating as disclosed by Chang, reading on instant claims 15-16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20230203354A1 teaches a similar patterning process comprising of a multilayer lithography stack, including an adhesive layer formed under the upper photoresist layer. US20110129781A1 teaches forming an etching object layer formed over a substrate with an overlying photoresist film, where the etching object layer may include a mask layer, a hard mask layer, an insulation layer, a conductive layer, an oxide layer, a nitride layer, an oxynitride layer, a metal layer, a metal nitride layer, a semiconductor layer or a polymer layer, etc.
/Alexander N. Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1737