DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 15-21, and 28-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,079,687 in view of Van Wingerden et al. [US 2006/0206851]. The subject matter of claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, and 15-21, and 28-33 of the application are anticipated by or broader than the subject matter of claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 15, and 16 of the Patent.
The Patent does not claim a determined multidimensional process window and physically configuring or physically modifying an electronic device manufacturing process based on the process window and/or outputting a signal representing, or based on, the process window to a tool or system for enabling physical configuration or physical modification of the device manufacturing process.
Van Wingerden teaches a determined multidimensional process window (Figs. 8a and 8b) and physically configuring or physically modifying an electronic device manufacturing process based on the process window and/or outputting a signal representing, or based on, the process window to a tool or system for enabling physical configuration or physical modification of the device manufacturing process (see [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to provide the subject matter taught by Van Wingerden in the claimed features of the ‘687 Patent in order to ensure the process or tool is operating with defined parameters to successfully manufacture an operable device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Plihal [US 2016/0274036].
For claims 17 and 21, Plihal teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium (400, see Fig. 4) comprising instructions therein, the instructions, when executed by a computer system, configured to cause the computer system to at least perform a method comprising: determining, by a hardware computer system (see Fig. 4), a multi-dimensional process window (focus exposure dose process window, see [0065]) for a certain feature of a plurality of features of pattern based on a failure rate of the feature (failure rate of a design structure, see [0066], or failure type, see [0084], of a plurality of unique design structures for each bin, see [0006], or a plurality of failures, see[0084], failure rate used to identify process window edge, see [0070]-[0073] and [0082]-[0083]); and physically configuring or physically modifying an electronic device manufacturing process based on the process window and/or outputting a signal representing, or based on, the process window to a tool or system for enabling physical configuration or physical modification of the device manufacturing process (process window used to decide optimal parameters of a lithography process, see [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Plihal in view of Van Wingerden et al. [US 2006/0206851].
For claims 18 and 28, Plihal teaches determining the process window based on the failure rate (see prior art rejection of claim 17 above), but fails to teach the determining the process window comprises: obtaining a probability density function of a parameter of the feature for a setting of a process variable of a patterning process used to generate the feature; and determining the process window based on the probability density function.
Van Wingerden teaches obtaining a probability density function of a parameter of the feature for a setting of a process variable of a patterning process used to generate the feature; and determining the process window based on the probability density function (determining the process latitude for dose and focus based on CD distribution associated with variation in process variables, see [0096]-[0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the process window determination as taught by Van Wingerden in the determination of a process window as taught by Plihal in order to optimize the process latitude in order to increase the likelihood of manufacturing an operable device.
For claim 20, Plihal fails to teach the configuring or modifying the device manufacturing process based on the process window and/or outputting a signal representing, or based on, the process window to a tool or system for enabling configuration or modification of the device manufacturing process comprises an optical proximity correction and/or optimization of a resist thickness or type of the patterning process .
Van Wingerden teaches configuring or modifying the device manufacturing process based on the process window and/or outputting a signal representing, or based on, the process window to a tool or system for enabling configuration or modification of the device manufacturing process comprises an optical proximity correction and/or optimization of a resist thickness or type of the patterning process (optimizing mask features of exposure, see [0116] and [0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the mask or processing type as taught by Van Wingerden in the process windows optimization process as taught by Plihal in order to ensure quality and accuracy of pattern transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10, 15, 16, and 30-33 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the non-statutory obvious-type double patenting rejection set forth in this Office action or a reply with terminal disclaimer accompanied by a reply requesting reconsideration.
Claims 19 and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The previously cited prior art fails to teach alone or in combination the subject matter including “iv) measurements of a failure rate of the feature, and (v) a probability density function of the process variable for a setting of the process variable; converting, by a hardware computer system, the probability density function of the process variable for the setting to a probability density function of the parameter for the setting based on a conversion function, wherein the conversion function is determined based on the function of the process variable; determining, by the hardware computer system, a process window based on the probability density function of the parameter for the setting and the measurements of the failure rate of the feature” as recited in claim 1 and similarly recited 16, and “the obtaining the probability density function of the parameter comprises converting a probability density function of the process variable for the setting to the probability density function based on a conversion function, wherein the conversion function is determined based on a function of the process variable” as recited in claim19 and similarly recited in claim 29. Claims 2-4, 6, 8, 10, 15, and 30-33 depend therefrom.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12 of the Remarks filed on June 1, 2026, with respect to subject matter eligibility have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Plihal is relied upon to teach the salient features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759