DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 and 04/10/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guatala (US 2017/0133298).
Regarding claim 1, Guatala teaches a device in fig. 1 comprising:
a first semiconductor device (101A), the first semiconductor device comprising a first interconnect structure (118);
an integrated cooling structure (102A) bonded to the first interconnect structure (refer to 118) (NOTE: the TSV 117 extending from the cooling structure 120 to bond to interconnect structure 118), wherein the integrated cooling structure (120) is configured for a working fluid to enter and exit the integrated cooling structure (see fig. 1);
a second semiconductor device (101B) comprising a second interconnect structure (refer to bonding structure formed under the semiconductor device 101B), the second semiconductor device bonded to the integrated cooling structure opposite the first interconnect structure (see fig. 1); and
a plurality of through substrate vias (117) extending through the integrated cooling structure (120), wherein the plurality of through substrate vias electrically couple the first semiconductor device to the second semiconductor device (see fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359).
Regarding claim 2, Gutala teaches all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above. Besides, Gutala teaches the integrated cooling structure (102A) comprises an inlet port (refer to left 113) and an outlet port (refer to right 113), both the inlet port and the outlet port (113) connected to a cavity (135) within the integrated cooling structure (102A).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359).
Regarding claim 3, Gutala teaches all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for an external pump; an inlet tube, a first side of the inlet tube attached to the external pump, and a second side of the inlet tube attached to the inlet port, wherein the inlet tube contains the working fluid; and an outlet tube, a first side of the outlet tube attached to the outlet port, and a second side of the outlet tube attached to the external pump, wherein the outlet tube contains the working fluid.
Fukuoka teaches an external pump; an inlet tube, a first side of the inlet tube attached to the external pump (180), and a second side of the inlet tube (184) attached to the inlet port (112), wherein the inlet tube contains the working fluid; and an outlet tube, a first side of the outlet tube (182) attached to the outlet port (114), and a second side of the outlet tube attached to the external pump, wherein the outlet tube contains the working fluid (see par. 34).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include an external pump; an inlet tube, a first side of the inlet tube attached to the external pump, and a second side of the inlet tube attached to the inlet port, wherein the inlet tube contains the working fluid; and an outlet tube, a first side of the outlet tube attached to the outlet port, and a second side of the outlet tube attached to the external pump, wherein the outlet tube contains the working fluid as taught by Fukuoka in the teaching of Gutala in order to create fluid pathway such that coolant fluid flowing therethrough may remove the heat from the semiconductor devices (see par. 35).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Mann (US 2009/0032937).
Regarding claim 7, Gutala teaches all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the working fluid comprises a glycol solution or water.
Mann teaches a same field of an endeavor wherein coolant fluid is glycol water or water (see par. 4 and 19).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the working fluid comprises a glycol solution or water as taught by Mann in the teaching of Gutala because water is well known in the art to be cheap and typical to use as engine coolant or automatic transmission fluid.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298), and further in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359).
Regarding claim 16, Guatala teaches an apparatus in fig. 1 comprising:
a first semiconductor package (100) comprising: a first semiconductor device (101A);
a second semiconductor device (101B); and
an integrated micro-cooling structure (102A) disposed between the first semiconductor device and the second semiconductor device (101A/101B).
Guatala fails to teach a pumping system attached to the first semiconductor package, the pumping system comprising: a pump; a first tube, wherein a first side of the first tube is attached to the pump and a second side of the first tube is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure; and a second tube, wherein a first side of the second tube is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure and a second side of the second tube is attached to the pump; and a liquid coolant, wherein the liquid coolant is contained within the pumping system and within a cavity within the integrated micro-cooling structure.
Fukuoka teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein a pumping system (280 in fig. 3) attached to the first semiconductor package (200), the pumping system (280) comprising: a pump (280); a first tube (212), wherein a first side of the first tube (refer to side of tube 212 to attached to 280) is attached to the pump (280) and a second side of the first tube (refer to other end 212) is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure (230) (NOTE: fig. 4 shows the tube 212 is attached to the 230 at right side 250); and
a second tube (214), wherein a first side of the second tube (refer to one side of 214) is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure (230) and a second side of the second tube (refer to the other side of tube 214) is attached to the pump (280) NOTE: fig. 4 shows the tube 212 is attached to the 230 at left side 250); and
a liquid coolant (refer to dielectric cooling fluid in par. 43), wherein the liquid coolant is contained within the pumping system (180; see par. 43) and within a cavity (within the integrated micro-cooling structure (see par. 43).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the pumping system comprising: a pump; a first tube, wherein a first side of the first tube is attached to the pump and a second side of the first tube is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure; and a second tube, wherein a first side of the second tube is attached to the integrated micro-cooling structure and a second side of the second tube is attached to the pump; and a liquid coolant, wherein the liquid coolant is contained within the pumping system and within a cavity within the integrated micro-cooling structure as taught by Fukuoka in the teaching Guatala in order to lowers the electrical on-resistance on the semiconductor device, maintaining or even improving the electrical performance of the semiconductor device while simultaneously improving heat removal from the semiconductor device (see par. 15).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Chiriac (US 20190331142).
Regarding claim 17, Guatala and Fukuoka teach all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the pump has a pumping power of 10 or less watts.
Chiriac teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the pump has a pumping power of 10 or less watts (see par. 51).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the pump has a pumping power of 10 or less watts as taught by Chiriac in the teaching of Gutala and Fukuoka in order to allow the pump to work at a low wattage.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Hao (CN 120760388A).
Regarding claim 19, Guatala and Fukuoka teach all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the pumping system is configured to accommodate the liquid coolant with a Reynolds number greater than 4,000 within the cavity.
Hao teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the pumping system is configured to accommodate the liquid coolant with a Reynolds number greater than 4,000 within the cavity (refer to the optimal Reynolds number range of liquid flow (is more than 2000 but less than 4000).
Thus, it would have obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the pumping system is configured to accommodate the liquid coolant with a Reynolds number greater than 4,000 within the cavity as taught by Hao in the teaching of Gutala and Fukuoka so that the turbulent flow heat exchange efficiency is maximized.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutala (US 20170133298) in view of Fukuoka (US 2018/0166359) as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Kenji (JP 2013-98212A).
Regarding claim 20, Guatala and Fukuoka teach all the limitations of claimed invention for the same reasons as set forth above except for the pumping system is attached to a second semiconductor package.
Kenji teaches the same field of an endeavor wherein the pumping system (4) is attached to a second semiconductor package (refer to the upper semiconductor chips 5).
Thus, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the invention was made to include the pumping system is attached to a second semiconductor package as taught by Kenji in the teaching of Guatala and Fukuoka in order increase package’s footprint by stacking the lower package with the upper package.
Allowable Subject Matter
Reference 1: Fukuoka (US 20180166359)
Reference 2: Gutala (US 20170133298)
Regarding claim 8, both Fukuoka and Gutala does not teach “etching a cavity within the first substrate; wherein the etching the cavity forms micropillars within the cavity, the micropillars formed from a material of the first substrate; attaching a second substrate to the first substrate opposite the first semiconductor device, wherein the attaching the second substrate to the first substrate seals the cavity forming an integrated cooling structure configured to accommodate a liquid coolant…”
Claims 8-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of a method comprising: “..;etching a cavity within the first substrate; wherein the etching the cavity forms micropillars within the cavity, the micropillars formed from a material of the first substrate attaching a second substrate to the first substrate opposite the first semiconductor device, wherein the attaching the second substrate to the first substrate seals the cavity forming an integrated cooling structure configured to accommodate a liquid coolant;..” in combination of all of the limitations of claim 8. Claims 9-15 include all of the limitations of claim 8.
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest all the limitations of claim 2. Claims 5-6 include all the limitations of claim 4.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “the pumping system is configured to accommodate the liquid coolant at a first temperature in the first tube and at a second temperature in the second tube, the second temperature being higher than the first temperature.”
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818