DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 and 01/20/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
At least Figs. 1A-2C contain figure numbering/lettering that is marked through by arrows (See Fig. 1C, 104C, 110, Fig. 2A, 200, Fig. 2C 114A, for example).
At least Fig. 2A contains an arrow without an appropriate figure number (see top right of figure).
These informalities are provided as examples, and all appropriate amendments should be made to ensure that Figures 1A-2C are clear and legible.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 9, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 should read: “The semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the seal ring region is substantially rectangular in shape in a top view.”
Claim 9 should read: “The semiconductor structure of claim 1, further comprising: a protection layer over the redistribution layer.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16, line 8 should read: ”from corner portions of the seal ring region.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US Patent 9,627,332; herein known as Liang).
Regarding claim 15, Liang teaches (Figs. 1A-1C) a method of fabricating a semiconductor structure, comprising: providing a semiconductor substrate (10, [Col 2, Line 31]) having a circuit region (10A, [Col 2, Line 54]) and a seal ring region (10S, [Col 2, Line 54]); forming an active device (11, [Col 2, Line 55]) in the circuit region; forming a multi-layer interconnect (MLI) (42, 44, 46, [Col 3, Lines 40-60]) over the semiconductor substrate, a first stack of the MLI forming an interconnection to the active device (not shown, [Col 3, Lines 4-7]) and a second stack of the MLI forming a seal ring structure (30, [Col 3, Line 4]) surrounding the circuit region; after forming the MLI, depositing a passivation layer (62, [Col 6, Line 40]) over the MLI; forming a redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) over the passivation layer, wherein the forming the redistribution layer includes: depositing a conductive material ([Col 6, Line 44]) ; and patterning the conductive material ([Col 3, Line 67]) such that it is disposed only at a lateral side of the seal ring region (Fig. 1A); and depositing a protective layer (68, [Col 7, Line 4]) over the redistribution layer.
Regarding claim 19, Liang teaches (Fig. 1B) the method of claim 15, wherein the forming the MLI (42, 44, 46, [Col 3, Lines 40-60]) includes forming a stack of conductive vias (46, [Col 3, Line 53]) alternating between conductive lines (44, [Col 3, Line 46]), and depositing dielectric materials (42, [Col 3, Line 66]) around the stack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Chen et al. (US PGPub 2016/0071779; herein known as Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches (Figs. 1A-C) a semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate (10, [Col 2, Line 31]) having a circuit region (10A, [Col 2, Line 54]) and a seal ring region (10S, [Col 2, Line 54]) around the circuit region; at least one stack of a multi-layer interconnect (MLI) (42, 44, 46, [Col 3, Lines 40-60]) extending from the substrate to an upper metallization layer (54, [Col 6, Line 18]) in the seal ring region, wherein the at least one stack is continuous (shown in Fig. 1A) around the circuit region in a top view; and a redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) disposed over the upper metallization layer, wherein the redistribution layer extends along a lateral side of the seal ring region (Fig. 1A).
Liang does not explicitly teach wherein a corner of the seal ring region is devoid of the redistribution layer.
Chen teaches (Fig. 5) wherein a corner of the seal ring region (510-516, [0050]) is devoid of the redistribution layer (104, [0016]).
Because Liang and Chen are both directed toward RDL layers surrounding active regions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liang and Chen to include wherein a corner of the seal ring region is devoid of the redistribution layer in order to reduce or prevent delamination between the molding layer and redistribution layers (Chen, [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Liang in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: at least one transistor formed in the circuit region; and another stack of the MLI disposed over and connected to the at least one transistor.
Chen further teaches: at least one transistor formed in the circuit region (312, [0032]) formed in the circuit region (102, [0016]); and another stack of the MLI (340a, [0038]) disposed over and connected to the at least one transistor ([0038]).
Because Liang and Chen are both directed toward RDL layers surrounding active regions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further combine the teachings of Liang and Chen to include at least one transistor formed in the circuit region; and another stack of the MLI disposed over and connected to the at least one transistor to provide connection between an inner die and outer packaging through known packaging methods (Chen, [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, Fig. 1A) the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the seal ring region (10S, [Col 2, Line 54]) is substantially rectangular shape in a top view (shown in Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 4, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, annotated Fig. 1A below) the semiconductor structure of claim 3, wherein the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) is disposed on a first side (S1) of the substantially rectangular shape and a second side (S2) of the substantially rectangular shape, the corner (C1) disposed between the first side and the second side.
Regarding claim 5, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Chen, Fig. 2) the semiconductor structure of claim 4, wherein the corner devoid of the redistribution layer (104) has a first length (D2, [0024]) extending to the first side, wherein the corner devoid of the redistribution layer has a second length (D3, [0024]) extending to the second side, wherein the first and second lengths are at least 50 microns ([0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Chen, Fig. 2) the semiconductor structure of claim 3, wherein the redistribution layer (104, [0018]) has a terminal end (interpreted as the corner edge of the RDL layer) in the top view, wherein the terminal end is at least 50 microns from a corner of the seal ring region ([0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, annotated Fig. 1A below) the semiconductor structure of claim 3, wherein the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) is disposed on a first side (S1) of the substantially rectangular shape and a second side (S2) of the substantially rectangular shape, the first side opposing the second side in the top view.
Regarding claim 9, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, Fig. 1B) the semiconductor structure of claim 1, a protection layer (68, [Col 7, Line 4]) over the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]).
Regarding claim 10, Liang teaches (annotated Fig. 1A below, Fig. 1B) a semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate (10, [Col 2, Line 31]) having a circuit region (10A, [Col 2, Line 54]); a seal ring structure (30, [Col 2, Line 54]) comprising a plurality of metallization layers (42, 44, 46, [Col 3, Lines 40-60]), the seal ring structure surrounding the circuit region in a top view such that the seal ring structure is disposed along a first side (S1) of the circuit region, a second side (S2) of the circuit region and a corner (C1) of the circuit region between the first side and the second side; a first element (64, []) of a redistribution layer disposed over the seal ring structure disposed along the first side of the circuit region; a second element of the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) disposed over the seal ring structure disposed along the second side of the circuit region.
Liang does not explicitly teach wherein no element of the redistribution layer is disposed over the seal ring structure disposed along the corner of the circuit region.
Chen teaches (Fig. 5) wherein no element of the redistribution layer (104, [0016]) is disposed over the seal ring structure disposed along the corner (510-516, [0050]) of the circuit region ([0016]).
Because Liang and Chen are both directed toward RDL layers surrounding active regions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liang and Chen to include wherein a corner of the seal ring region is devoid of the redistribution layer in order to reduce or prevent delamination between the molding layer and redistribution layers (Chen, [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, annotated Fig. 1B below) the semiconductor structure of claim 10, further comprising: a via (Via) extending from the first element of the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]) to an uppermost metallization layer (54, [Col 6, Line 18]) of the seal ring structure (30, [Col 3, Line 4]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, annotated Fig. 1B above) the semiconductor structure of claim 11, a passivation layer (68, [Col 7, Line 4]) formed adjacent the via (Via) and adjacent the redistribution layer (64, [Col 6, Line 42]).
Regarding claim 13, Liang in view of Chen teaches (Liang, Fig. 1B) the semiconductor structure of claim 12, wherein the passivation layer (68, [Col 7, Line 4]) interfaces an entirety of an uppermost surface of the seal ring structure (30, [Col 3, Line 4]) disposed at the corner of the circuit region (shown to cover entirety of seal ring structure).
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Chen as applied to claims 7 and 11 above, further in view of Huang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0277127; herein known as Huang).
Regarding claim 8, Liang in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach wherein the redistribution layer on the first side is a plurality of segments in the top view and the redistribution layer on the second side is a continuous line in the top view, the continuous line being longer than the plurality of segments.
The instant application teaches wherein the design of the redistribution layer can be chosen in order to modify the stresses in the wafer upon sawing.
Huang teaches wherein the redistribution layer can be continuous or can have a pattern separated by spaces ([0050]), with the predictable outcome of changing the speed of the bonding wave the wafer in the direction of the RDL, thus impacting the stresses in the wafer.
Because Liang in view of Chen and Huang are both directed toward RDL seal rings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RDL structure of Liang in view of Chen with the teachings of Huang in order to obtain the predictable result of changing the speed of the bonding wave of the wafer along the modified RDL side, and thus modifying the stresses in the wafer. Absent a teaching of criticality of the claimed subject matter, it would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the redistribution layer on the first side is a plurality of segments in the top view and the redistribution layer on the second side is a continuous line in the top view, the continuous line being longer than the plurality of segments to achieve that predictable result. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Regarding claim 14, Liang in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the first element of the redistribution layer and the second element of the redistribution layer are asymmetrical.
Huang teaches wherein the first element of the redistribution layer and the second element of the redistribution layer are asymmetrical. ([0050]).
The instant application teaches wherein the design of the redistribution layer can be chosen in order to modify the stresses in the wafer upon sawing.
Because Liang in view of Chen and Huang are both directed toward RDL seal rings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the RDL structure of Liang in view of Chen with the teachings of Huang in order to obtain the predictable result of changing the speed of the bonding wave of the wafer along the modified RDL side, and thus modifying the stresses in the wafer. Absent a teaching of criticality of the claimed subject matter, it would have thus been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include teach wherein the first element of the redistribution layer and the second element of the redistribution layer are asymmetrical for that predictable result. See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of Chen, and as evidenced by Shauly (Design Rules in a Semiconductor Foundry, 2022; herein known as Shauly, provided for reference).
Regarding claim 16, Liang as evidenced by Shauly teaches the method of claim 15, further comprising: designing a pattern layout including defining: circuit patterns for the circuit region; interconnect patterns providing the first stack in the circuit region and the second stack in the seal ring region; and redistribution layers for the circuit region and the seal ring region,
Pattern design is known in the art as a requirement for fabrication and manufacture of semiconductor devices, examples of which are evidenced by Shauly. In order to fabricate a semiconductor structure, one must necessarily design a pattern layout, and if that device includes a circuit region, interconnects, and a redistribution layer, those regions must necessarily be designed accordingly.
Liang as evidenced by Shauly does not explicitly teach wherein the pattern layout for the redistribution layers excludes the redistribution layer from corner portions the seal ring region.
Chen teaches wherein the pattern layout for the redistrubution layers excludes the redistribution layer from corner portions (510-516, [0050]) of the seal ring region ([0016]).
Because Liang as evidenced by Shauly and Chen are both directed toward RDL layers surrounding active regions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liang as evidenced by Shauly and of Chen to include wherein the pattern layout for the redistribution layers excludes the redistribution layer from corner portions the seal ring region in order to reduce or prevent delamination between the molding layer and redistribution layers (Chen, [0016]).
Regarding claim 17, Liang in view of Chen and as evidenced by Shauly teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the designing the pattern layout includes implementing a design rule to exclude the redistribution layers from corner portions the seal ring region (Chen, [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Liang in view of Chen and as evidenced by Shauly teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the design rule excludes at least 50 microns of length adjacent the corner from including the redistribution layer (Chen, [0024]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chen.
Regarding claim 20, Liang teaches the method of claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein the depositing the protective layer includes spin coating a polyimide.
Liang does teach deposition of an appropriate protective layer, for the purpose of protecting underlying circuitry from water, air, and other elements.
Chen teaches wherein depositing the protective layer includes spin coating a polyimide ([0040]).
Because Liang and Chen are both in the same field of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the protective layer deposition of Chen, as is known in the art, in substitution of the protective layer of Liang, to include wherein the depositing the protective layer includes spin coating a polyimide, for the predictable result of providing protection to the underlying circuitry (Chen, [0040]). See MPEP 2143.I.B.
Conclusion
/EMILY FARMER/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812