DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 12-13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0203448A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] comprising:
a transistor (35) fig. 5 [0055];
a light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] comprising:
a first electrode (160) fig. 5 [0061] electrically connected to the transistor (35);
a second electrode (180) fig. 5 [0061] on the first electrode (160); and
an intermediate layer (175) fig. 5 [0061] between the first electrode (160) and the second electrode (180);
a bus line (44) fig. 5 [0063] adjacent to the light-emitting diode (60);
a first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060] arranged on the bus line (44);
a second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] arranged on the first insulating layer (140);
a conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] electrically connected to the bus line [0063] through a first opening (gap in 140, hosting 44, 165) fig. 5 [0062] defined in the first insulating layer (140) and a second opening (gap in 150, hosting 165, 180) fig. 5 [0063] defined in the second insulating layer (150);
a third insulating layer (172) fig. 5 [0065, 0085] arranged on the second insulating layer (150) and comprising a third opening (OA3) fig. 5 [0065] overlapping the first opening (gap in 140, hosting 44, 165) and the second opening (gap in 150, hosting 165, 180) in a plan view; and
a fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] arranged on the third insulating layer (172) and comprising a fourth opening (OA4) fig. 5 [0065] overlapping the conductive layer (165) in a plan view, wherein a portion of the second electrode (180) of the light-emitting diode (60) is in (direct) contact with the conductive layer (165) through the third opening (OA3) and the fourth opening (OA4).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] is in (electrical) [0063] contact with an entire top surface of the bus line (44) fig. 5 [0063] which is exposed through the first opening (gap in 140, hosting 44, 165) fig. 5 [0062] of the first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060].
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 2. Kim also teaches wherein an edge portion of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] is in direct contact with a side surface of the first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060] defining the first opening (gap in 140, hosting 44, 165) fig. 5 [0062].
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 1. Kim also teaches a portion of the third insulating layer (172) fig. 5 [0065, 0085] surrounding the third opening (OA3) fig. 5 [0065] comprises an overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] protruding (horizontally) toward the third opening (OA3) from an (left) edge where top and side (left) surfaces of the second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] meet each other (see annotated fig. 5 of Kim below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Forward inclined surface of 176)][AltContent: textbox (Top surface of the conductive layer 165)][AltContent: textbox (Overhang portion protruding away from left-sidewall towards opening )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Left sidewall of 150 meeting top surface )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
Annotated fig. 5 of Kim
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 4. Kim also teaches wherein a portion of the fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] overlaps a portion of the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] of the third insulating layer (172) fig. 5 [0065, 0085] in a plan view and has a forward-tapered inclined surface (sidewall) with respect to a top surface of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] (see annotated fig. 5 of Kim above).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] and the first electrode (160) fig. 5 [0061] of the light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] comprise a same material (‘have same structure’ [0063] – could both comprise silver [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] comprising:
a display area (area overlapping OA2 and OA4) fig. 5 [0054] and a non-display area (area outside of OA2, OA4) fig. 5 [0054] outside (laterally outside) the display area (area overlapping OA2 and OA4);
a bus line (44) fig. 5 [0063] arranged in the display area (overlapping OA2, OA4);
a multi-insulating layer (140, 150) fig. 5 [0060, 0065] comprising a first insulating layer (140) and a second insulating layer (150) and having an opening (opening in 150) fig. 5 [0060] overlapping the bus line (44) in a plan view;
a conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] in direct contact with the bus line (44) through the opening of the multi-insulating layer (opening in 150, hosting 165);
a third insulating layer (172) fig. 5 [0065, 0085] arranged on the multi-insulating layer (140, 150) and comprises an overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] protruding (horizontally) toward the third opening (OA3) from an (left) edge where top and side (left) surfaces of the second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] meet each other;
a fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] arranged on the third insulating layer (172); and
a light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] arranged in the display area (overlapping OA2) and comprising:
a first electrode (160) fig. 5 [0061] electrically connected to the transistor (35);
a second electrode (180) fig. 5 [0061] on the first electrode (160); and
an intermediate layer (175) fig. 5 [0061] between the first electrode (160) and the second electrode (180), wherein the second electrode (180) of the light-emitting diode (60) is electrically (directly) connected to the conductive layer (165) through an opening of the third insulating layer (OA3 in 172) fig. 5 [0065] and an opening (OA4 in 176) fig. 5 [0065] of the fourth insulating layer (176) each overlapping the opening (OA4) fig. 5 [0065] of the multi-insulating layer (140, 150) in a plan view.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein an edge of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] is on (supported by) the side surface of the multi-insulating layer (140, 150) fig. 5 [0060, 0065].
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein a portion of the fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] overlaps a portion of the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] of the third insulating layer (172) fig. 5 [0064] in a plan view and has a forward-tapered inclined surface with respect to a top surface of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063].
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12. Kim also teaches wherein the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063] and the first electrode (160) fig. 5 [0061] of the light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] comprise a same material (‘have same structure’ [0063] – could both comprise silver [0062]).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0203448A1), as applied in claims 4, 6, 12, and 17 above, in view of Shim (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0165980A1)
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 4. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a dummy conductive layer located on the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] of the third insulating layer (172) and separated from the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063],
wherein the dummy conductive layer and the conductive layer (165) comprise a same material.
Shim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 2, 0050] further comprising:
a dummy conductive layer (right 210) fig. 2 [0050] located on the overhang structure (portion of OC overhanging PAS) fig. 2 [0050] of the third insulating layer (OC) and separated from the conductive layer (220) fig. 2 [0050],
wherein the dummy conductive layer (210) and the conductive layer (220) comprise a same material (both ‘auxiliary electrodes’ [0066, 0062]; auxiliary electrodes may comprise metal like gold [0062, 0059 Shim]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim to include the dummy conductive layer of Shim in order to provide an eave [0068] that structurally supports [0068] and modifies the local geometry of [0068-0071] overlying layers, as taught by Shim.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 6. Kim also teaches wherein the intermediate layer (175) fig. 5 [0061] comprises:
a first portion arranged on (supported by) the forward-tapered inclined surface (left sidewall) of the fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] and the top surface of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063],
wherein the portion of the second electrode (180) fig. 5 [0061] of the light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] is in direct contact with the conductive layer (165) beyond an edge of the first portion of the intermediate layer (175).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and a second portion (of intermediate layer 175) separated from the first portion and located over the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064].
Shim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 2, 0050] wherein the intermediate layer (EL) fig. 2 [0067] comprises:
a second portion (P2 of EL) separated from the first portion (P1 of EL) and located over the overhang structure (portion of OC overhanging PAS) fig. 2 [0050].
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: oval]
Annotated fig. 2 of Shim
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the intermediate light emission layer(s) of the LED extend beyond the banks to overlap the conductive layer [0071] in order to increase the surface area of the light-emitting layer(s) [0004, 0007] to increase light emission capacity and to enhance the electrical connection between the light emitting layer(s) and conductive [0071], as taught by Shim.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12. However, Kim does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
a dummy conductive layer located on the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064] of the third insulating layer (172) and separated from the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063], wherein the dummy conductive layer and the conductive layer (165) comprise a same material.
Shim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 2, 0050] further comprising:
a dummy conductive layer (right 210) fig. 2 [0050] located on the overhang structure (portion of OC overhanging PAS) fig. 2 [0050] of the third insulating layer (OC) and separated from the conductive layer (220) fig. 2 [0050],
wherein the dummy conductive layer (210) and the conductive layer (220) comprise a same material (both ‘auxiliary electrodes’ [0066, 0062]; auxiliary electrodes may comprise metal like gold [0062, 0059 Shim]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim to include the dummy conductive layer of Shim in order to provide an eave [0068] that structurally supports [0068] and modifies the local geometry of [0068-0071] overlying layers, as taught by Shim.
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 17. Kim also teaches wherein the intermediate layer (175) fig. 5 [0061] comprises:
a first portion arranged on (supported by) the forward-tapered inclined surface (left sidewall) of the fourth insulating layer (176) fig. 5 [0065, 0094] and the top surface of the conductive layer (165) fig. 5 [0063],
wherein the portion of the second electrode (180) fig. 5 [0061] of the light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061] is in direct contact with the conductive layer (165) beyond an edge of the first portion of the intermediate layer (175).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and a second portion (of intermediate layer 175) separated from the first portion and located over the overhang structure (portion of 172 overhanging 165) fig. 5 [0064].
Shim teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 2, 0050] wherein the intermediate layer (EL) fig. 2 [0067] comprises:
a second portion (P2 of EL) separated from the first portion (P1 of EL) and located over the overhang structure (portion of OC overhanging PAS) fig. 2 [0050].
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Annotated fig. 2 of Shim
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the intermediate light emission layer(s) of the LED extend beyond the banks to overlap the conductive layer [0071] in order to increase the surface area of the light-emitting layer(s) [0004, 0007] to increase light emission capacity and to enhance the electrical connection between the light emitting layer(s) and conductive [0071], as taught by Shim.
Claims 9-11, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PG Pub No US2020/0203448A1), as applied in claims 1 and 12 above, in view of Yamazaki (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0317374A1)
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 1. Kim also teaches wherein the transistor (35) fig. 5 [0055] comprises:
a semiconductor layer (110) fig. 5 [0055];
a gate electrode (120) fig. 5 [0057] overlapping a channel region [0047] of the semiconductor layer (110) in a plan view; and
an electrode (drain 135) fig. 5 [0057] electrically connected to one (drain region [0057]) selected from among regions arranged on sides of the channel region (110) [0055] of the semiconductor layer (110).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and the bus line (44) fig. 5 [0063] and the gate electrode (120) [0056] comprise a same material (material of 44 not explicitly disclosed).
Yamazaki teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 4 [0113] wherein the bus line (222b) fig. 4 [0129, 0163] and the gate electrode (221) fig. 4 [0189] comprise a same material (could both comprise aluminum [0189, 0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the electrodes and metal-lines are formed of a same highly-conductive material like aluminum [0163, 0189] in order to reduce the number of process steps by allowing multiple components to be formed of the same material in the same step(s) [0067-0069] and reduce contact resistance [0129-0130], as taught by Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 1.
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060] (SiN/SiO [0059]) and the second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] (organic materials [0060]) comprise inorganic insulating materials different from each other (150 organic material instead [0060]).
Yamazaki teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 4 [0113] wherein the first insulating layer (213) fig. 4 [0140] and the second insulating layer (215) fig. 4 [0140] comprise inorganic insulating materials different from each other (inorganic or organic materials could equally be used for insulating layers [0235]; 213 could be silicon oxide while 215 is silicon nitride [0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the insulating layers are each formed of inorganic materials like silicon oxide or silicon nitride [0140, 0235] as an alternative to organic materials [0235] because of these material’s art-recognized suitability as interchangeable dielectrics for isolation of components in the display device [0235, 0140], as taught by Yamazaki. Moreover, the modification from organic to inorganic material(s) reflects a materials substitution for the same purpose, i.e, for the insulating layer(s) of a display device – which is considered obvious in the absence of evidence of the significance of a particular materials choice. (See MPEP 2144.06, II).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Yamazaki teaches a display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 10. Kim also teaches wherein an inclination angle of a side surface of the first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060] (side of 140 bordering 44) defining the first opening (gap in 140, hosting 44, 165) fig. 5 [0062] is different from an inclination angle of a side surface of the second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] defining the second opening (gap in 150, hosting 165, 180) fig. 5 [0063].
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12.
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the first insulating layer (140) fig. 5 [0060] (SiN/SiO [0059]) and the second insulating layer (150) fig. 5 [0060] (organic materials [0060]) comprises an inorganic insulating material (150 organic material instead [0060]).
Yamazaki teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 4 [0113] wherein each of the first insulating layer (213) fig. 4 [0140] and the second insulating layer (215) fig. 4 [0140] comprises inorganic insulating materials (inorganic or organic materials could equally be used for insulating layers [0235]; 213 could be silicon oxide while 215 is silicon nitride [0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the insulating layers are each formed of inorganic materials like silicon oxide or silicon nitride [0140, 0235] as an alternative to organic materials [0235] because of these material’s art-recognized suitability as interchangeable dielectrics for isolation of components in the display device [0235, 0140], as taught by Yamazaki. Moreover, the modification from organic to inorganic material(s) reflects a materials substitution for the same purpose, i.e, for the insulating layer(s) of a display device – which is considered obvious in the absence of evidence of the significance of a particular materials choice. (See MPEP 2144.06, II).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Yamazaki teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 14. Kim in view of Yamazaki (with reference to Yamazaki) also teaches wherein the inorganic insulating material of the first insulating layer (213) fig. 4 [0140] is different from the inorganic insulating material of the second insulating layer (215) fig. 4 [0140] (inorganic or organic materials could equally be used for insulating layers [0235]; 213 could be silicon oxide while 215 is silicon nitride [0235]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches the display apparatus [see fig. 5, 0054] of claim 12. Kim also teaches further comprising a transistor (35) fig. 5 [0055] arranged in the display area (area overlapping OA2 and OA4) fig. 5 [0054] and electrically connected to the first electrode (160) fig. 5 [0061] of the light-emitting diode (60) fig. 5 [0061], wherein the transistor (35) fig. 5 [0055] comprises:
a semiconductor layer (110) fig. 5 [0055];
a gate electrode (120) fig. 5 [0057] overlapping a channel region [0047] of the semiconductor layer (110) in a plan view; and
an electrode (drain 135) fig. 5 [0057] electrically connected to one (drain region [0057]) selected from among regions arranged on sides of the channel region (110) [0055] of the semiconductor layer (110).
However, Kim does not explicitly disclose and the bus line (44) fig. 5 [0063] and the gate electrode (120) [0056] comprise a same material (material of 44 not explicitly disclosed).
Yamazaki teaches a display apparatus (100) fig. 4 [0113] wherein the bus line (222b) fig. 4 [0129, 0163] and the gate electrode (221) fig. 4 [0189] comprise a same material (could both comprise aluminum [0189, 0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the display apparatus of Kim such that the electrodes and metal-lines are formed of a same highly-conductive material like aluminum [0163, 0189] in order to reduce the number of process steps by allowing multiple components to be formed of the same material in the same step(s) [0067-0069] and reduce contact resistance [0129-0130], as taught by Yamazaki.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they feature display apparatuses with bus lines.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 01/12/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892