Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki; Hirohisa (US 20100162952 A1) in view of Ko; Chung-Ting et al. (US 20210115557 A1) and Ishii; Katsutoshi (US 20180312969 A1). Yamazaki teaches a processing apparatus (Figure 1) comprising: a processing container (203; Figure 1; [0032]) configured to be depressurized; a film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) supply path (232b after 260; Figure 1; [0035]) configured to supply a film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) into the processing container (203; Figure 1; [0032]); an exhaust pipe (231; Figure 1; [0037]) connected to the processing container (203; Figure 1; [0032]) and configured to exhaust the film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) in the processing container (203; Figure 1; [0032]); a branch pipe (branch pipe holding 291/292; Figure 1; [0038]) branching from the exhaust pipe (231; Figure 1; [0037]); and a diaphragm vacuum gauge (293/294; Figure 1; [0038]) connected to the branch pipe (branch pipe holding 291/292; Figure 1; [0038]) – claim 1
Yamazaki does not teach:
wherein at least one of Yamazaki’s exhaust pipe (231; Figure 1; [0037]) or Yamazaki’s branch pipe (branch pipe holding 291/292; Figure 1; [0038]) has an inner surface where a material that promotes consumption of Yamazaki’s film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) is exposed, a silane-based gas source; Yamazaki’s film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) supply path (232b after 260; Figure 1; [0035]) connected to the silane-based gas source and configured to supply a silane-based gas as a film formation gas (TMA; [0035]) from the silane-based gas source – claim 1
The processing apparatus (Figure 1) of Claim 1, wherein the material that promotes the consumption of the silane-based gas (TMA; [0035]) is nickel, as claimed by claim 3.
Ko also teaches a film forming system (Figure 1) including an exhaust pipe (150; Figure 1A; [0031],[0036]) made from nickel material ([0031]) or coated thereby ([0033]) that promotes consumption of the same film formation gas (TMA; [0039]) taught by Yamazaki.
Ishii teaches a similar vertically-stacked deposition processing chamber (10; Figure 1) fed by a silane-based gas source (70; Figure 1; [0069], claim 9,16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yamazaki to use nickel exhaust piping, or coatings thereover, as taught by Ko, further, for Yamazaki to add Ishii’s gas source.
Motivation for Yamazaki to use nickel exhaust piping, or coatings thereover, as taught by Ko is for preventing exhaust clogging or parts damage as taught by Ko ([0036]).
Motivation for Yamazaki to add Ishii’s gas source is for “forming a SiO2 coating film inside the exhaust pipe” as taught by Ishii ([0009]) for “..suppressing generation of particles in an exhaust pipe and facilitating maintenance” as taught by Ishii ([0007]).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki; Hirohisa (US 20100162952 A1) and Ko; Chung-Ting et al. (US 20210115557 A1) in view of Kitamura; Masahito et al. (US 20160086801 A1). Yamazaki and Ko are discussed above. Yamazaki and Ko do not teach:
The processing apparatus (Figure 1) of Claim 1, further comprising a pipe heater configured to heat at least one of the exhaust pipe (231; Figure 1; [0037]) or the branch pipe (branch pipe holding 291/292; Figure 1; [0038]), as claimed by claim 5
The processing apparatus (Figure 1) of Claim 1, further comprising: a cleaning gas supply path (232a; [0035]) configured to supply a cleaning gas into the processing container (203; Figure 1; [0032]); and a bypass path interconnecting the cleaning gas supply path (232a; [0035]) and the branch pipe (branch pipe holding 291/292; Figure 1; [0038]), as claimed by claim 6
Kitamura also teaches a film formation system (Figure 1) including precursor piping that bypasses Kitamura’s chamber (202) and that are also heated (206a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yamazaki to add Kitamura’s heated bypass piping as taught by Kitamura.
Motivation for Yamazaki to add Kitamura’s heated bypass piping as taught by Kitamura is for and for “stably produce a precursor gas” ([0088]) and preventing “re-liquefication” ([0067]) as taught by Kitamura, respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-10, filed March 9, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, 6 under Yamazaki; Hirohisa (US 20100162952 A1) in view of Ko; Chung-Ting et al. (US 20210115557 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Yamazaki; Hirohisa (US 20100162952 A1) in view of Ko; Chung-Ting et al. (US 20210115557 A1) and Ishii; Katsutoshi (US 20180312969 A1).
Applicant states:
“
However, Yamazaki merely discloses in paragraph [0035] that trimethylaluminum (TMA) is supplied as a raw material (i.e., film formation gas). The chemical formula of TMA is A1(CH₃)₃, whereas the chemical formula of silane is SiH₄. That is, TMA is not a silane-based gas required in amended Claim 1.
“
In response, the Examiner agrees. See the above new grounds of rejection.
Applicant states:
“
Thus, even assuming arguendo that nickel is exposed in the inner surfaces of the exhaust lines 158, Ko is silent on whether or not nickel promotes consumption of TMA.
“
In response, Ko states at [0031]:
“
The lines 158 or the components 154 of the exhaust lines 150 may be made of steel, stainless steel, nickel, aluminum, alloys of these, combinations of these, or the like. A line 158 or a component 154 of the exhaust lines 150 may be referred to herein as a “part” of the exhaust lines 150.
“
Further, that Ko’s nickel piping and Ko’s TMA gas source is “consumed” thereby is at least evidenced by Ko’s own motivation to prevent clogging as taught by Ko ([0036]). Further, the newly added teachings of Ishii’s silane-based gas must be consumed by Ko’s nickel exhaust conduit as evidenced by Applicant’s specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Film formation apparatus using diaphragm pressure sensors in the exhaust line include US 20120225566 A1; US 20150200081 A1; US 20130252433 A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716