DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on March 11, 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on March 11, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “…the identified inventions pertain to a generic invention and are not mutually exclusive.” This is not found persuasive because the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed January 13, 2026 sets out how the inventions listed are independent and distinct.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US Pub 2022/0375813).
In re claim 1, Huang et al discloses an electronic package, comprising: a carrying structure (i.e. 24); an electronic component (i.e. 25) disposed on the carrying structure; a supporting structure (i.e. 22b) having a supporting body and disposed on the carrying structure, wherein the supporting body of the supporting structure is in contact with or in proximity to the electronic component (i.e. see at least Figure 2 showing supporting structure 22b at least in contact with electronic component 25); a barrier structure (i.e. 23) having an opening and disposed on the supporting body of the supporting structure, wherein the electronic component is exposed from the opening of the barrier structure (i.e. see at least Figure 2); and a thermal conduction layer (i.e. 22a) formed on the electronic component exposed from the opening of the barrier structure, wherein the thermal conduction layer on the electronic component is blocked or surrounded by the barrier structure (i.e. see at least Figure 2 showing barrier structure 23 at least blocking the thermal conduction layer 22a).
In re claim 3, Huang et al discloses wherein the supporting structure (i.e. 22b) is a heat dissipation structure, and the supporting body of the supporting structure is made of a heat dissipation material (i.e. see at least paragraph 0062).
In re claim 7, Huang et al discloses wherein the thermal conduction layer (i.e. 22a) is made of a liquid metal (i.e. see at least paragraph 0059), and the liquid metal on the electronic component is blocked or surrounded by the opening of the barrier structure (i.e. 23) (i.e. see at least Figure 2).
In re claim 8, Huang et al discloses further comprising a barrier body (i.e. 250), wherein the electronic component and the supporting body of the supporting structure have a gap therebetween, and the barrier body is formed in the gap between the electronic component and the supporting body of the supporting structure and blocks the thermal conduction layer (i.e. see at least Figure 6A).
In re claim 9, Huang et al discloses further comprising a barrier body (i.e. 250) surrounding side surfaces of the electronic component, wherein the barrier body and the barrier structure commonly block the thermal conduction layer on the electronic component (i.e. see at least Figure 6A).
In re claim 10, Huang et al discloses further comprising a heat sink (i.e. 20) disposed on the barrier structure and the thermal conduction layer, wherein the thermal conduction layer is between the electronic component and the heat sink (i.e. see at least Figure 2; paragraph 0080).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Huang et al (US Pub 2021/0082837)
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817