DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al. (“Shibuya”), US 2019/0206768.
Regarding Claim 9, Shibuya discloses a product (Figs. 11-15; ¶ 0044-0052), comprising:
electrically insulating material (1300; Figs. 13-14; ¶ 0048 “molding compound 1300”) molded onto (Figs. 13-14; ¶ 0048) a sculptured, electrically conductive leadframe structure (1100; Figs. 11-14; ¶ 0044) comprising a pattern of electrically conductive formations (1108, 1110, 1114; Figs 11-14; ¶ 0044) including a plurality of lead portions (110; Figs. 11-14; ¶ 0044 “leads 1110”), a die pad (1108; Figs. 11-14; ¶ 0044 “die pad 1108”), and a connecting bar (1114; Figs. 11-14; ¶ 0044) between the plurality of lead portions and the die pad (Figs. 11-14; ¶ 0044 “1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110”), wherein each respective lead portion of the plurality of lead portions is spaced apart from each other along a first direction (Figs. 11, 13 along a vertical direction) and the connecting bar extends in the first direction (Figs. 11, 13 extends in the vertical direction), wherein electrically insulating material penetrates into spaces between the plurality of lead portions, the die pad, and the connecting bar of the pattern of electrically conductive formations (Figs. 13-14; ¶ 0047 “a pre-molding process in which the gaps between the die pads 1108 and the leads 1110”, ¶ 0048 “a molding compound 1300 has been applied to fill the gaps between the die pads 1108 and the leads 1110”, noting that a portion of 1300 penetrates into the space between both ends of the connecting bar 1114 and leads 1110) and provides a pre-molded leadframe structure (Figs. 13-14; ¶ 0047 “pre-molding”, ¶ 0048) configured to have at least one semiconductor die arranged thereon (¶ 0047 “attach a die”, ¶ 0051 “dies may be attached and electrically connected”), the pre-molded leadframe structure having opposed first and second surfaces (Figs. 12, 14) and a pre-molded leadframe thickness (122; Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “first thickness 1122”) between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the connecting bar couples together the plurality of lead portions and the die pad (Figs. 11-14; ¶ “1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110”),
wherein the connecting bar has a reduced uniform thickness (1124; Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “second thickness 1124…corresponds to the thickness of the ribs 1114”) smaller than (Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “second thickness 1124 that is less than the first thickness 1122”) the pre-molded leadframe thickness between the first surface and the second surface (Figs. 12, 14; ¶ 0046 “first thickness 1122”, ¶ 0048) and exposed wettable flanks (1504; Figs. 12, 15; ¶ 0052 “solderable metal 1504 on the lateral facing surface 1116 (as well as on the inner surface 1128 of the lead 1110 extending (into the drawing of FIG. 15) between the lateral facing surface 1116 and the exposed copper 1502) provides a wettable flank”) formed in the plurality of lead portions (Figs. 12, 15; ¶ 0052 “solderable metal 1504…on the inner surface 1128 of the lead 1110…provides a wettable flank”) of the pattern of electrically conductive formations facing the connecting bar with the second reduced thickness (Figs. 12, 14, 15).
Regarding Claim 10, Shibuya discloses wherein the reduced uniform thickness is approximately half (¶ 0046 “the second thickness 1124…is approximately half the first thickness 1122”) the pre-molded leadframe thickness between the first surface and the second surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komatsu et al. (“Komatsu”), US 2018/0122731 (cited in the IDS), in view of Shibuya et al. (“Shibuya”), US 2019/0206768.
Regarding Claim 1, Komatsu discloses a method (300; Fig. 3; ¶ 0019), comprising:
molding electrically insulating material (220; Figs. 2, 5-10; ¶ 0020, 0026) onto (¶ 0020 “molded structure generally occupies the interstitial regions between the die pads, conductive lead structures and/or any other components of the lead frames”, ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220 occupies regions between the die attach pads (DAPA) 404 and conductive lead structure 406”) a sculptured, electrically conductive leadframe structure (410, 412, 414, 416; Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0025 “four premolded lead frames 410, 412, 414 and 416 are illustrated, but…the premolded lead frame assembly 402 can include any number of lead frames”, ¶ 0026 “premolded lead frame assembly 402 taken along the line 5-5 in FIG. 4”) comprising a pattern of electrically conductive formations (404, 406, 420, 422; Figs. 4-9; ¶ 0025 “die attach pad 404 and a plurality of conductive lead structures 406”, ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406 between adjacent lead frames are initially joined together and arranged along parting lines 420 and 422”), wherein electrically insulating material penetrates into spaces between electrically conductive formations in the pattern of electrically conductive formations (¶ 0020 “molded structure generally occupies the interstitial regions between the die pads, conductive lead structures and/or any other components of the lead frames”, ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220 occupies regions between the die attach pads (DAPA) 404 and conductive lead structure 406”) to provide a pre-molded leadframe structure (402; Figs. 4-9; ¶ 0025-0026 “premolded lead frame assembly 402”) configured to have at least one semiconductor die arranged thereon (¶ 0023 “IC dies are…mounted (coupled) to the die attach pads”, ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404”), the pre-molded leadframe structure having opposing first (510; Fig. 5; ¶ 0026 “top (first) side 510”) and second (512; Fig. 5; ¶ 0026 “bottom (second) side 512”) surfaces and a first thickness between the first surface and the second surface (¶ 0026 “402 has a generally planar top (first) side 510 and bottom (second) side 512” in this instance the thickness between 510 and 512), wherein the sculptured, electrically conductive leadframe structure comprises a plurality of lead portions (406; Fig. 4; ¶ 0025 “a plurality of conductive lead structures 406”) and a die pad (404; Figs 4-5; ¶ “402 includes an array of lead frames each having a die attach pad 404 and a plurality of conductive lead structures 406 arranged about the die attach pad 404”) that are connected together by a connecting bar (420, 422; Fig. 4; ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406 between adjacent lead frames are initially joined together and arranged along parting lines 420 and 422”), each respective lead of the plurality of leads is spaced apart from each other along a first direction (Fig. 4; ¶ 0008 “FIG. 4 is a plan view”, leads 406 are spaced from below cutline 5-5 to above cutline 5-5) parallel to a second direction that the connecting bar extends coupling together each respective lead of the plurality of leads together (Fig. 4 for example, connecting bar 420 intersects cutline 5-5 from below cutline 5-5 to above cutline 5-5, therefore connecting bar 420 of cutline 5-5 extends parallel to the first direction), and the plurality of leads, the connecting bar, and the die pad having the first thickness between the first surface and the second surface (Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0026 “402 has a generally planar top (first) side 510 and bottom (second) side 512” as shown in Fig. 4 cut line 5-5 and Fig. 5 the plurality of leads 406, the connecting bar 420, and the die pad 404 have the first thickness between 510 and 512 ); and
reducing the thickness (Figs. 6-7; ¶ 0027 “etching process is then performed…thereby creating a trench 704 (see process step 312)”) of a plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and a second portion of the connecting bar (Figs. 4, 7; ¶ 0027 “trench 704 in the example embodiment extends entirely across the width (e.g., direction normal to page in FIGS. 6 and 7) of the conductive lead structure 406 along a respective parting line 422 or 424”) from the first thickness to a second thickness less than the first thickness (Figs. 6-7).
Komatsu does not disclose
reducing the thickness of the plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar further includes forming a flat, continuous surface that extends along the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Shibuya discloses
reducing the thickness of the plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar further includes forming a flat, continuous surface (Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “second thickness 1124 of the distal ends 1118 corresponds to the thickness of the ribs 1114”, therefore 1114 and 1118 have the same flat continuous surface) that extends along (Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “Ribs 1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110.”) the connecting bar (1114; Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “Ribs 1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110.”) from the plurality of lead portions (1118; Fig. 12; ¶ 0045 “distal end 1118 of the leads 1110”) to the die pad (1108; Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “die pad 1108”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Komatsu to have reducing the thickness of the plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar further includes forming a flat, continuous surface that extends along the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad, as taught by Shibuya, because the recessed flat continuous surface (Shibuya ¶ 0044-0046) “provides for greater wettability and, thus, better solder joints” (Shibuya ¶ 0052).
Komatsu as modified by Shibuya does not disclose reducing the thickness of the plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar further includes forming a flat, continuous surface that extends along the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Komatsu further discloses “the trench 704 has a concave profile, but other profiles are possible” (¶ 0027). Furthermore, Komatsu discloses that leadframes can be recessed by etching (¶ 0027 “An etching process is then performed to remove material from the conductive lead structure 406 thereby creating a trench 704 (see process step 312).”, 0021). There are only a few ways to reduce the thickness to form a recessed leadframe surface, such as etching, stamping, and building up to form a thicker portion. Therefore, it would be obvious at the time of the invention for a person of ordinary skill in the art to decide that reducing the thickness is a reasonable method to form the recessed leadframe structure of Shibuya because it is a known, effective, and reliable process for forming a flat, continuous surface that extends along the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Regarding Claim 2, Komatsu discloses wherein reducing the first thickness to the second thickness comprises partially removing material from the second surface of the pre-molded leadframe structure (Figs. 6-7; ¶ 0027).
Regarding Claim 3, Komatsu discloses wherein removing material from the second surface of the pre-molded leadframe structure may be accomplished via photo-etching (¶ 0027).
Regarding Claim 4, Komatsu does not disclose wherein the reduced second thickness is approximately half said first thickness.
Shibuya discloses wherein the reduced second thickness is approximately half said first thickness (¶ 0046 “the second thickness 1124…is approximately half the first thickness 1122”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Komatsu to have wherein the reduced second thickness is approximately half said first thickness, as taught by Shibuya, because the reduced second thickness being approximately half of the first thickness (Shibuya ¶ 0046) “provides for greater wettability and, thus, better solder joints” (Shibuya ¶ 0052).
Regarding Claim 5, Komatsu discloses arranging at least one semiconductor die (904; Fig. 9; ¶ 0029) on the die pad of the pre-molded leadframe structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0023, 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406 via wirebonds 908”).
Regarding Claim 6, Komatsu discloses further comprising, after removing the plurality of first portions of the plurality of lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar (Figs. 4, 7; ¶ 0027), cutting the pre-molded leadframe structure along the connecting bar (Figs. 4, 10; ¶ 0024, 0030 “singulated using saw 1004 (or other separating device) along parting lines 420 and 422”) removing the connecting bar with the second thickness (Figs. 4, 10; ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406 become respective conductive leads 112 of respective IC chip packages after singulation” therefore the at least one connection formation with reduced thickness is removed, 0030).
Regarding Claim 7, Komatsu discloses arranging at least one semiconductor die (904; Fig. 9; ¶ 0029) on the pre-molded leadframe structure (Fig. 9; ¶ 0023, 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406 via wirebonds 908”), and cutting at the connecting bar (Figs. 4, 10; ¶ 0030 “singulated using saw 1004 (or other separating device) along parting lines 420 and 422”) of the pre-molded leadframe structure having at least one semiconductor die arranged thereon (Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404”).
Regarding Claim 8, Komatsu discloses wherein the pre-molded leadframe structure (402; Fig. 4; ¶ 0025) comprises a plurality of die pads (404; Figs. 4-10; ¶ 0026 “die attach pads 404”), which includes the die pad (Fig. 4: ¶ 0008 “FIG. 4 is a plan view”, ¶ 0025), separated by from each other by a plurality of connecting bars (420, 422; Fig. 4 connecting bars 420 of each 406 are between the left die pads 404 and the right die pads 404, and connecting bars 422 of each 406 are between the bottom die pads 404 and top die pads 404), which extend therebetween respective die pads of the plurality of die pads (Fig. 4 connecting bars 420 of each 406 are between the left die pads 404 and the right die pads 404, and connecting bars 422 of each 406 are between the bottom die pads 404 and top die pads 404), the plurality of die pads are configured to have respective semiconductor dice arranged thereon (¶ 0023 “IC dies are…mounted (coupled) to the die attach pads”, 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404”), wherein the method further comprises:
arranging respective semiconductor dice (904; Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404”) at the plurality of die pads (404; Figs. 4, 9-10) of the pre-molded leadframe structure (402; Fig. 4; ¶ 0025), and
cutting the pre-molded leadframe structure (Fig. 10; ¶ 0024, 0030 “singulated using saw 1004 (or other separating device)”) having the respective semiconductor dice arranged at the plurality of die pads (Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406”) with the plurality of connecting bars extending therebetween (Figs. 4, 10; ¶ 0030 “singulated…along parting lines 420 and 422”) to provide singulated semiconductor devices (100; Fig. 10; ¶ 0030 “individual IC chip packages 100”).
Regarding Claim 11, Komatsu discloses a method (300; Fig. 3; ¶ 0019), comprising:
forming a molding compound (220; Figs. 2, 5-10; ¶ 0020, ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220”) including:
covering first sidewalls (Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0020 “molded structure generally occupies the interstitial regions between the die pads, conductive lead structures and/or any other components of the lead frames”, ¶ 0026 “220 occupies regions between the die attach pads (DAPA) 404 and conductive lead structure 406”) of a plurality of lead portions (406; Figs. 4-9; ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406”, ¶ 0026) of a leadframe structure (410, 412, 414, 416; Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0025 “four premolded lead frames 410, 412, 414 and 416 are illustrated, but…the premolded lead frame assembly 402 can include any number of lead frames”, ¶ 0026 “premolded lead frame assembly 402 taken along the line 5-5 in FIG. 4”), and leaving first surfaces (512; Fig. 5; ¶ 0025, ¶ 0026 “bottom (second) side 512”) of the plurality of lead portions transverse to the first sidewalls exposed from the molding compound (Figs. 4-5 ¶ 0026 “220 is flush with the die attach pads 404 and conductive lead structure 406 such that the premolded lead frame assembly 402 has a generally planar top (first) side 510 and bottom (second) side 512”), wherein each respective lead portion of the plurality of lead portions is spaced apart from each other along a first direction (Fig. 4 spaced from below cutline 5-5 to above cutline 5-5; ¶ 0008 “plan view”; ¶ 0027 “direction normal to page in FIGS. 6 and 7”), and wherein each respective lead portion of the plurality of lead portions extends away from a die pad of the leadframe structure in a second direction transverse to the first direction (Fig. 4 in the cutline 5-5 second direction; ¶ 0008 “plan view”, ¶ 0026 “FIG. 5, which is a cross-sectional view of the premolded lead frame assembly 402 taken along the line 5-5 in FIG. 4”);
covering second sidewalls (Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0008 “FIG. 4 is a plan view”, ¶ 0020 “molded structure generally occupies the interstitial regions between the die pads, conductive lead structures and/or any other components of the lead frames”; ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220 occupies regions between the die attach pads (DAPA) 404 and conductive lead structure 406.”) of a connecting bar (420, 422; Fig. 4; ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406 between adjacent lead frames are initially joined together” by section “420 and 422”) of the leadframe structure, the connecting bar extends between the plurality of lead portions and couples together the plurality of lead portions (Fig. 4; ¶ 0025 “conductive lead structures 406 between adjacent lead frames are initially joined together” by section “420 and 422” ) along the first direction (Fig. 4), the connecting bar being coupled to the one or more lead portions of the leadframe structure (Fig. 4), and leaving a second surface (512; Fig. 5; ¶ 0026 “bottom (second) side 512”) of the connecting bar transverse to the second sidewalls exposed from the molding compound (Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220 is flush with the die attach pads 404 and conductive lead structure 406 such that the premolded lead frame assembly 402 has a generally planar top (first) side 510 and bottom (second) side 512”);
after forming the molding compound (Figs. 4-9; ¶ 0026 “premolded lead frame assembly 402 taken along the line 5-5 in FIG. 4”), etching the leadframe structure (Fig. 7; ¶ 0021 “a trench is formed in the plurality of conductive lead structures of each lead frame along a parting line between adjacent lead frames” “the trench can be formed in any suitable manner, including by laser cutting, sawing or an etching process”, ¶ 0027 “etching process is then performed to remove material from the conductive lead structure 406 thereby creating a trench 704”) within the molding compound (Fig. 7 in this instance etching the leadframe structure 406 between molding compound 220 on the left side of 406 and 220 on the right side of 406) along the first surfaces (512) of the one or more lead portions (Fig. 7) and the second surface (512) of the connecting bar (Fig. 7).
Komatsu does not disclose
the connecting bar being between the die pad and the plurality of leads, the connecting bar coupling the plurality of lead portions to the die pad,
the etching the leadframe structure including:
forming a flat continuous surface recessed from the first surfaces of the plurality of lead portions and a third surface of the die pad by removing first portions of the plurality of leads and removing a second portion of the connecting bar, the flat continuous surface extending along the one or more lead portions and the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Shibuya discloses
the connecting bar (1114; Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “Ribs 1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110.”) being between the die pad (1108; Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “die pad 1108”) and the plurality of leads (1110; Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “leads 1110”), the connecting bar coupling the plurality of lead portions (1118; Fig. 12; ¶ 0045 “distal end 1118 of the leads 1110”) to the die pad (Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “Ribs 1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110.”),
forming a flat continuous surface (Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “second thickness 1124 of the distal ends 1118 corresponds to the thickness of the ribs 1114”, therefore 1114 and 1118 have the same flat continuous surface) recessed (¶ 0046 “a second thickness 1124 that is less than the first thickness 1122” and “second thickness 1124…is approximately half the first thickness 1122”) from the first surfaces of the plurality of lead portions (Fig. 12; ¶ 0046 “proximal ends 1120 of the leads 1110 have a first thickness 1122”) and a third surface (Fig. 12; ¶ 0045 “outer surface 1130”) of the die pad (Fig. 12), the flat continuous surface extending along the one or more lead portions (1118) and the connecting bar (1114) from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad (Figs. 11-12; ¶ 0044 “Ribs 1114 interconnect the separate die pads 1108 and leads 1110.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Komatsu to have the connecting bar being between the die pad and the plurality of leads, the connecting bar coupling the plurality of lead portions to the die pad, forming a flat continuous surface recessed from the first surfaces of the plurality of lead portions and a third surface of the die pad, the flat continuous surface extending along the one or more lead portions and the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad, as taught by Shibuya, because the recessed flat continuous surface (Shibuya ¶ 0044-0046) “provides for greater wettability and, thus, better solder joints” (Shibuya ¶ 0052).
Komatsu as modified by Shibuya does not disclose etching the leadframe structure to form a flat continuous surface recessed from the first surfaces of the plurality of lead portions and a third surface of the die pad by removing first portions of the plurality of leads and removing a second portion of the connecting bar, the flat continuous surface extending along the one or more lead portions and the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Komatsu further discloses “the trench 704 has a concave profile, but other profiles are possible” (¶ 0027). Furthermore, Komatsu discloses that leadframes can be recessed by etching (¶ 0027 “An etching process is then performed to remove material from the conductive lead structure 406 thereby creating a trench 704 (see process step 312).”, 0021). There are only a few ways to form a recessed leadframe surface, such as etching, stamping, and building up to form a thicker portion. Therefore, it would be obvious at the time of the invention for a person of ordinary skill in the art to decide that etching is a reasonable method to form the recessed leadframe structure of Shibuya because it is a known, effective, and reliable process for forming a flat continuous surface recessed from the first surfaces of the plurality of lead portions and a third surface of the die pad by removing first portions of the plurality of leads and removing a second portion of the connecting bar, the flat continuous surface extending along the one or more lead portions and the connecting bar from the plurality of lead portions to the die pad.
Regarding Claim 12, Komatsu discloses wherein forming the molding compound further includes covering third sidewalls (Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0020 “molded structure generally occupies the interstitial regions between the die pads, conductive lead structures and/or any other components of the lead frames”, 0026 “220 occupies regions between the die attach pads (DAPA) 404 and conductive lead structure 406”) of the die pad (404; Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0025-0026) of the leadframe structure (Figs. 4-5), and leaving a third surface (510; Figs. 4-5; ¶ 0026) of the die pad transverse to the third sidewalls exposed from the molding compound (Fig. 5; ¶ 0026 “molded structure 220 is flush with the die attach pads 404 and conductive lead structure 406 such that the premolded lead frame assembly 402 has a generally planar top (first) side 510”).
Regarding Claim 13, Komatsu does not disclose wherein forming the flat continuous surface further includes removing a third portion of the leadframe structure that couples the die pad to the connecting bar.
Shibuya discloses wherein forming the flat continuous surface further includes removing a third portion (1116; Fig. 12; ¶ 0045 “the lateral facing surface 1116 may be of any suitable shape (e.g., convex, concave, etc.)”) of the leadframe structure that couples the die pad to the connecting bar.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Komatsu to have wherein forming the flat continuous surface further includes removing a third portion of the leadframe structure that couples the die pad to the connecting bar, as taught by Shibuya, because removing surface 1116 to form a concave or zigzag surface would increase the amount of solderable metal to provide “for greater wettability and, thus, better solder joints” (Shibuya ¶ 0052).
Regarding Claim 14, Komatsu discloses further comprising singulating along the connecting bar (Fig. 10; ¶ 0024 “singulated…along parting lines”, ¶ 0030 “singulated…along parting lines 420 and 422”).
Regarding Claim 15, Komatsu discloses wherein the singulating along the connecting bar includes sawing along the connecting bar (Fig. 10; ¶ 0030 “singulated using saw 1004…along parting lines 420 and 422”).
Regarding Claim 16, Komatsu discloses further comprising coupling a die (904; Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029) to the die pad before singulating along the connecting bar (Figs. 3, 9-10; ¶ 0019, 0023-0024, 0029-0030).
Regarding Claim 17, Komatsu discloses wherein singulating along the connecting bar includes singulating along the flat continuous surface reducing or preventing forming an irregular wettable flank of a lead (¶ 0031 “less likely to capture burrs and other debris during singulation”).
Regarding Claim 18, Komatsu discloses further comprising coupling a die (904; Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029) to the die pad (Figs. 3, 9; ¶ 0019, 0023 “IC dies are then mounted (coupled) to the die attach pads in process step 320 and then wirebonded to the conductive lead structures in process step 324”, 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406 via wirebonds 908 (see process step 324)”).
Regarding Claim 19, Komatsu discloses further comprising forming a plurality of wires (908; Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406 via wirebonds 908 (see process step 324)”) coupled to the die (Figs. 9-10; ¶ 0029 “IC dies 904 are mounted (coupled) to the plated die attach pads 404 (see process step 320) and electrically coupled to conductive lead structures 406 via wirebonds 908 (see process step 324)”).
Regarding Claim 20, Komatsu discloses wherein the first portions of the lead portions and the second portion of the connecting bar are continuous with each other (Fig. 4; ¶ 0025 “lead structures 406 between adjacent lead frames are initially joined together and arranged along parting lines 420 and 422”).
Response to Arguments
In their amendment and response dated 5/8/2026, the applicant states (page 9) “Applicant respectfully submits that submission of these replacement sheets of Figures addresses the objections to the drawings.” Thank you for the replacement sheets for Figs. 1-6.
The applicant states (page 11) that “amended claim 1 is allowable over the currently cited references”.
The amendments to Claim 1, and its dependent claims 2 and 5-8, has necessitated an updated rejection of Claims 1-2 and 5-8 over the Komatsu and Shibuya references, as discussed supra.
The applicant states (page 12) that “Shibuya fails to teach or suggest the language of amended claim 9”.
The amendments to Claim 9, and its dependent Claim 10, has necessitated an updated rejection of Claims 9-10, as discussed supra.
The applicant states (page 14) that “amended claim 11 is allowable over the currently cited references”.
The amendments to Claim 11, and its dependent Claims 12-13, has necessitated an updated rejection of Claims 11-13, as discussed supra.
Independent Claims 1, 9, and 11 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra. Dependent Claims 2-8, 10, and 12-20 are rejected for at least the reasons stated supra.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818