Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US20180277040A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate including a light emitting area and a non-light emitting area surrounding the light emitting area (Figs. 1B/2 substrate 110 has display areas DA and peripheral areas PA surrounding display areas DA);
a conductive line disposed on the substrate to pass through the light emitting area in a plan view, wherein the conductive line includes an overlapping portion overlapping the light emitting area (Figs. 1B/2 conductive member 160 disposed on substrate 110 and passes through display area DA in a plan view and has a portion that overlaps display area DA); and
a pixel electrode disposed on the conductive line and at least partially overlapping the overlapping portion of the conductive line (Fig. 2 first electrode 172 disposed on conductive member 160 and first electrode 172 overlaps conductive member 160 in outer light emitting area OA), and
wherein the overlapping portion of the conductive line includes:
a body part having a polygonal planar shape and having an area smaller than an area of the light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has inner portion with square shape and an area smaller than display area DA);
a first protrusion part protruding in a first direction from the body part to a boundary between the light emitting area and the non-light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has left portion of first extension portion 162 that extends from inner portion of conductive member 160 through the peripheral area PA); and
a second protrusion part protruding in a second direction opposite to the first direction from the body part to the boundary between the light emitting area and the non- light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has right portion of first extension portion 162 that extends from inner portion of conductive member 160 through the peripheral area PA).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the first protrusion part and the second protrusion part be opposite to each other with a center point of the body part therebetween (Fig. 1B left portion of first extension portion 162 is opposite right portion of first extension portion 162 with conductive member 160 between them).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display device of claim 2,
wherein the overlapping portion of the conductive line is point symmetric with respect to the center point of the body part (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 is point symmetric with respect to the center point of display area DA).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the pixel electrode overlaps an edge of the body part in the plan view (Figs. 1B/2 first electrode 172 overlaps an edge of conductive member 160 in plan view), and
a portion of an upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to an edge of the body part, from which the first protrusion part protrudes, and a portion of the upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to an edge of the body part, from which the second protrusion part protrudes, are substantially flat (Figs. 1B/2 a portion of an upper surface of first electrode adjacent to conductive member 160 near right portion of first extension portions 162 and a portion of an upper surface of first electrode adjacent to conductive member 160 near left portion of first extension portions 162 are both substantially flat).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the display device of claim 4,
wherein a portion of the upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to an edge of the body part, where the first protrusion part and the second protrusion part do not protrude, has a stepped structure (Fig. 2 first electrode 172 has a stepped structure in the outer area of display area OA).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a first via insulating layer and a second via insulating layer, which are disposed between the substrate and the pixel electrode (Fig. 9 insulation layers 150 and 165 are disposed between substrate 110 and lower electrode 172); and
a lower conductive layer disposed between the substrate and the first via insulating layer (Fig. 9 electrode 141), and
wherein the conductive line is disposed between the first via insulating layer and the second via insulating layer (Fig. 9 conductive member 160 disposed between insulation layers 150 and 165), and is electrically connected to the pixel electrode through a contact hole defined in the second via insulating layer (Fig. 9 conductive member and all the other pixel elements electrically connected through vias defined in both insulation layers 165 and 150).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the display device of claim 6,
wherein the conductive line is electrically connected to the lower conductive layer through a contact hole defined in the first via insulating layer (Fig. 9 conductive member 160 connected to electrode 141 through a via defined in insulation layer 150).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the display device of claim 1,
wherein the conductive line includes:
a data line which transmits a data voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include a data line pattern which transmits a data voltage”);
a power supply voltage line which transmits a power supply voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include…a driving voltage line pattern which transmits a driving voltage”); and
an initialization voltage line which transmits an initialization voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include…a contact pattern electrically connected to the thin film transistors, the data line pattern, and the driving voltage line pattern”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20180277040A1) in view of Choi (US20200365665A1).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a light emitting layer disposed on the pixel electrode (Fig. 2 light emitting layer 174);
a common electrode disposed on the light emitting layer (Fig. 2 second electrode 176).
Lee does not appear to teach
a polarization layer disposed on the common electrode.
Choi teaches
a polarization layer disposed on the common electrode (Par. 131 “Components such as …a polarizer…may be further arranged on the sealing member”).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Choi because the inclusion of a polarizer minimizes reflection effects (Choi par. 131).
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20180277040A1) in view of Kim et al. (US20220123080A1, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate including a light emitting area and a non-light emitting area surrounding the light emitting area (Figs. 1B/2 substrate 110 has display areas DA and peripheral areas PA surrounding display areas DA);
a conductive line disposed on the substrate to pass through the light emitting area in a plan view, wherein the conductive line includes an overlapping portion overlapping the light emitting area (Figs. 1B/2 conductive member 160 disposed on substrate 110 and passes through display area DA in a plan view and has a portion that overlaps display area DA); and
a pixel electrode disposed on the conductive line and at least partially overlapping the overlapping portion of the conductive line (Fig. 2 first electrode 172 disposed on conductive member 160 and first electrode 172 overlaps conductive member 160 in outer light emitting area OA), and
wherein the overlapping portion of the conductive line includes:
a body part having a polygonal planar shape and having an area smaller than an area of the light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has inner portion with square shape and an area smaller than display area DA);
a first protrusion part protruding in a first direction from a first edge of the body part to a boundary between the light emitting area and the non-light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has left portion of first extension portion 162 that extends from inner portion of conductive member 160 through the peripheral area PA); and
a second protrusion part protruding in a second direction opposite to the first direction from a second edge of the body part to the boundary between the light emitting area and the non-light emitting area in the plan view (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 has right portion of first extension portion 162 that extends from inner portion of conductive member 160 through the peripheral area PA).
Lee does not appear to teach
a body part having an octagonal planar shape.
Kim teaches
a body part having an octagonal planar shape (Fig. 1 first pixel electrodes 400R/400G/400B with octagonal planar shapes).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee with the teachings of Kim because as both Lee and Kim teach suitable shapes for pixel electrodes, it would have been obvious to substitute Lee’s square conductive members 160 with Kim’s octagonal electrodes to achieve the predictable result of forming conductive member 160 in the shape of an octagon.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 10,
wherein the first edge and the second edge are opposite to each other with a center point of the body part therebetween (Fig. 1B left portion of first extension portion 162 is opposite right portion of first extension portion 162 with conductive member 160 between them).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 11,
wherein the overlapping portion of the conductive line is point symmetric with respect to the center point of the body part (Fig. 1B conductive member 160 is point symmetric with respect to the center point of display area DA and so any modifications to shape would maintain that property).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 11,
wherein the body part includes:
a third edge located in a third direction perpendicular to both of the first direction and the second direction from the center point;
a fourth edge located in a fourth direction opposite to the third direction from the center point and opposite to the third edge with the center point therebetween;
a fifth edge connecting the first edge and the third edge;
a sixth edge connecting the second edge and the fourth edge and opposite to the fifth edge with the center point therebetween;
a seventh edge connecting the first edge and the fourth edge; and
an eighth edge connecting the second edge and the third edge and opposite to the seventh edge with the center point therebetween (Kim teaches a regular octagonal electrode shape as can be seen in above rejection of claim 11 and Kim’s fig. 1. As Kim teaches a regular octagon, the 8 edges of that shape would have the above claimed configuration).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein
a first imaginary line extending from the center point to the first edge and substantially perpendicular to the first edge is inclined by about 45 degrees in a counterclockwise direction from a second imaginary line extending from the center point to the seventh edge and substantially perpendicular to the seventh edge in the plan view (As Kim teaches a regular octagonal electrode shape, a first imaginary line extending from its center to a first edge in a perpendicular fashion would be inclined by 45 degrees in a counterclockwise direction with respect to a second imaginary line extending from its center to a seventh edge, see above rejection of claim 13), and
a third imaginary line extending from the center point to the second edge and substantially perpendicular to the second edge is inclined by about 45 degrees in the counterclockwise direction from a fourth imaginary line extending from the center point to the eighth edge and substantially perpendicular to the eighth edge in the plan view (As Kim teaches a regular octagonal electrode shape, a third imaginary line extending from its center to a second edge in a perpendicular fashion would be inclined by 45 degrees in a counterclockwise direction with respect to a fourth imaginary line extending from its center to a eighth edge, see above rejection of claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 14, wherein
a fifth imaginary line extending from the center point to the third edge and substantially perpendicular to the third edge is inclined by about 45 degrees in a clockwise direction from the fourth imaginary line in the plan view (As Kim teaches a regular octagonal electrode shape, a fifth imaginary line extending from its center to a third edge in a perpendicular fashion would be inclined by 45 degrees in a clockwise direction with respect to the fourth imaginary line extending from its center to a eighth edge, see above rejection of claims 13-14), and
a sixth imaginary line extending from the center point to the fourth edge and substantially perpendicular to the fourth edge is inclined by about 45 degrees in the clockwise direction from the second imaginary line in the plan view (As Kim teaches a regular octagonal electrode shape, a sixth imaginary line extending from its center to a third edge in a perpendicular fashion would be inclined by 45 degrees in a clockwise direction with respect to the second imaginary line extending from its center to a seventh edge, see above rejection of claims 13-14).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 13,
wherein the pixel electrode overlaps the first to eighth edges in the plan view (Fig. 2 lower electrode 172 overlaps conductive member 160 and, given the plan view shown in fig. 1A, the lower electrode would overlap all eight sides of the conductive member as taught by Kim), and
a portion of an upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to the first edge and a portion of the upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to the second edge are substantially flat (Figs. 1B/2 a portion of an upper surface of first electrode adjacent to conductive member 160 near right portion of first extension portions 162 and a portion of an upper surface of first electrode adjacent to conductive member 160 near left portion of first extension portions 162 are both substantially flat).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 13,
wherein each of portions of an upper surface of the pixel electrode adjacent to the third to eighth edges, respectively, have a stepped structure (Fig. 2 first electrode 172 has a stepped structure in the outer area of display area OA. As Kim teaches a regular octagonal shape, lower electrode 172 would have such a stepped structure adjacent to the third through eighth edges).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, further comprising:
a first via insulating layer and a second via insulating layer, which are disposed between io the substrate and the pixel electrode (Fig. 9 insulation layers 150 and 165 are disposed between substrate 110 and lower electrode 172); and
a lower conductive layer disposed between the substrate and the first via insulating layer (Fig. 9 electrode 141 disposed between substrate 110 and insulation layer 150), and
wherein the conductive line is disposed between the first via insulating layer and the second via insulating layer (Fig. 9 conductive member 160 disposed between insulation layers 150 and 165), is electrically connected to the pixel electrode through a contact hole is defined in the second via insulating layer, and is electrically connected to the lower conductive layer through a contact hole defined in the first via insulating layer (Fig. 9 conductive member and all the other pixel elements electrically connected through vias defined in both insulation layers 165 and 150).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, wherein the conductive line includes:
a data line which transmits a data voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include a data line pattern which transmits a data voltage”);
a power supply voltage line which transmits a power supply voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include…a driving voltage line pattern which transmits a driving voltage”); and
an initialization voltage line which transmits an initialization voltage (Par. 21 “the first conductive member may include…a contact pattern electrically connected to the thin film transistors, the data line pattern, and the driving voltage line pattern”).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20180277040A1) in view of Kim (US20220123080A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Choi (US20200365665A1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee and Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, further comprising:
a light emitting layer disposed on the pixel electrode (Lee fig. 2 light emitting layer 174);
a common electrode disposed on the light emitting layer; and
a polarization layer disposed on the common electrode (Fig. 2 second electrode 176).
Lee does not appear to teach
a polarization layer disposed on the common electrode.
Choi teaches
a polarization layer disposed on the common electrode (Par. 131 “Components such as …a polarizer…may be further arranged on the sealing member”).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Lee and Kim with the teachings of Choi because the inclusion of a polarizer minimizes reflection effects (Choi par. 131).
Conclusion
/COLE LEON LINDSEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812