DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 10, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 4, 9-10, and 12-20 remain withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected Group and Species.
Claim Objections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et. al. (WO 2021054551 A1, using US 20220376144 A1 for ease of reference), hereinafter An.
Regarding claim 1, An teaches a light emitting element (Fig 20 light emitting element 300_1, [0220]) comprising: a first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]); a second semiconductor layer (Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]); an active layer (Fig 20 active layer 330_1, [0222]) between (Fig 20) the first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]) and the second semiconductor layer (Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]) in a stacking direction (Fig 20 up/down direction); a first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]) surrounding (Fig 20) the first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]), the second semiconductor layer (Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]), and the active layer (Fig 20 active layer 330_1, [0222]); and an electrode layer (Fig 20 electrode layer 370_1, [0221]) on (the bottom surface of the electrode layer is on the top surface of the first semiconductor layer; the side surface of the electrode layer is on the side surface of the first insulating layer; the electrode layer Is on both of these structures while also being in the stacking direction; the claim as written does not require the bottom surface of the electrode layer to be on both the first semiconductor layer and first insulating layer in the stacking direction) the first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]) and the first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]) in the stacking direction (Fig 20 up/down direction), wherein a first thickness (Fig 20 second thickness W2, [0224]) of the first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]) surrounding the first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]) is different ([0224]) from a second thickness (Fig 20 third thickness W3, [0224]) of the first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]) surrounding the second semiconductor layer (Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]).
Regarding claim 2, An teaches the first thickness (Fig 20 second thickness W2, [0224]) of the first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]) is thinner (W3 may be greater than W2, [0224]) than the second thickness (Fig 20 third thickness W3, [0224]) of the first insulating layer (Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An et. al. (WO 2021054551 A1, using US 20220376144 A1 for ease of reference), hereinafter An, with supporting evidence from Lee et. al. (US 20210296537 A1), hereinafter Lee.
An fails to teach a diameter of the first semiconductor layer (Fig 20 second semiconductor layer 320_1, [0221]) and a diameter of the second semiconductor layer (Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]) are same as each other.
However, Lee teaches a light emitting element (Fig 1B light emitting element LD, [0065]) with a rod shape similar to An with a diameter marked (Fig 1B diameter D, [0065]). Lee does not show additional markings to indicate the diameter changes along the length of the rod shape. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the diameter of the first and second semiconductor layers of An would be the same as each other. MPEP 2131.01(III)
Claims 5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et. al. (WO 2021054551 A1, using US 20220376144 A1 for ease of reference), hereinafter An, in view of Cho et. al. (US 20210167050 A1), hereinafter Cho
Regarding claim 5, An fails to teach a second insulating layer surrounding the first insulating layer.
However, Cho teaches a second insulating layer (Fig 4 second insulating layer 382, [0123]) surrounding the first insulating layer (Fig 4 first insulating layer 381, [0123] corresponding to An: Fig 20 insulating film 380_1,[0220]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified An to incorporate the teachings of Cho by having a second insulating layer surrounding the first insulating layer. This would protect the first insulating layer during later processing steps ([0123]).
Regarding claim 7, An as modified in claim 5 teaches the second insulating layer (Cho: Fig 4 second insulating layer 382, [0123]) surrounds a side surface (Cho: See note below) of the electrode layer (An: Fig 20 electrode layer 370_1, [0221]).
Examiner notes the second insulating layer surrounds the first insulating layer after processing to expose the top of the light emitting element, as shown in Figs 12-15 of Cho; The exposed electrode layer of An would be surrounded by the second insulating layer in the process of Cho.
Regarding claim 8, An as modified in claim 5 teaches the second insulating layer (Cho: Fig 4 second insulating layer 382, [0123]) exposes (Cho: Fig 16) the electrode layer (Cho: Fig 16 electrode material layer 370 corresponds to An: Fig 20 electrode layer 370_1, [0221]) and the second semiconductor layer (Cho: Fig 16 first conductivity type semiconductor 310, [0122] corresponds to An: Fig 20 a first semiconductor layer 310_1, [0222]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §102/103 section starting on page 7, filed August 10, 2026, with respect to the amendments to claim 1 not being taught, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The claim as written can be interpreted in the manner used in the rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813