Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/7/2026. Applicant has elected Group II, corresponding to claims 1-10. Invention Group I, corresponding to claims 11-20, is withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The specification submitted 11/24/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted up to this point including the 5/7/2026 replacement drawing, have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Altstatter (US # 20230307538).
Regarding Claim 1, Alstatter-538 teaches a semiconductor device (Figs. 1 and corresponding text), comprising:
a substrate (11), having a first surface (12) and a second surface (13);
a gate pad (21) and a source pad (22), laterally separated from each other, and both disposed on the first surface of the substrate (shown with gap 38 between);
a drain region (23), disposed on the second surface of the substrate (shown);
a first trench (16), disposed in the substrate and directly below the gate pad (shown) for at least a subset under 21);
a conductive portion (17), filling up the first trench (see Fig. 1B);
a dielectric liner (27), disposed in the first trench and surrounding the conductive portion (shown);
a first doped region (portions of 24 nearer to trenches 16), located on two sides of the first trench (shown);
a second trench (30), disposed in the substrate and directly below the source pad (at least a subset of the trenches 30 are directly below feature 22);
a gate electrode (19), filling up the second trench (shown);
a gate dielectric layer (31), disposed in the second trench and surrounding the gate electrode (shown); and
a source region (26), located on two sides of the second trench (shown), wherein the first doped region (18) and the source region have the same conductivity type ([0064, 91] teaches first-conductivity type).
Regarding Claim 2, Alstatter-538 teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric liner (27) comprises a first portion located on sidewalls (28) of the first trench and a second portion located on a bottom surface (29) of the first trench (shown with a bottom portion that has a larger dimension, very similar to the applicant’s T1 > T2; see also [0065]), the second portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of the first portion, the gate dielectric layer (31) comprises a third portion located on sidewalls of the second trench and a fourth portion located on a bottom surface of the second trench, and the fourth portion has a thickness greater than a thickness of the third portion (shown with a bottom portion that has a larger dimension, very similar to the applicant’s T1 > T2; see also [0067]).
Regarding Claim 3, Alstatter-538 teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate electrode (19) and the conductive portion (17) are both electrically coupled to the gate pad (21), and the first doped region (24) and the source region (26) are both electrically coupled to the source pad (22; see [0070, 71]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 4, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises an epitaxial layer located on the drain region, a well region is disposed in the epitaxial layer, the well region is laterally extended from being directly below the gate pad to be directly below the source pad, the first doped region and the source region both have a first conductivity type, the well region has a second conductivity type, the drain region and the epitaxial layer both have the first conductivity type, and the first doped region and the source region are both disposed in the well region.
Claims 5-10 are dependent upon claim 4.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899