DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 16, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matyushkin et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2017/0110356 A1) in view of Kosakai et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2020/0266088 A1).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
Regarding claim 15, Matyushkin et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus (Fig. 1B), comprising: a plasma processing chamber (Fig. 1B); a substrate support disposed in the plasma processing chamber (Fig. 1B, 4A), the substrate support including a base (Fig. 4A – 114), an electrostatic chuck disposed on the base (Fig. 4B- 106) and having a central region with a substrate support surface and an annular region surrounding the central region (Fig. 4A – 106), a chuck electrode disposed in the central region (Fig. 4A – 106), and an electrode structure disposed below the chuck electrode in the central region (Fig. 4A – 402, 404, 404a, 406), the electrode structure including a first electrode layer extending over the substrate support surface in a plan view (Fig. 4A – 402) and one or more connectors connecting the first electrode layer and the base (Fig. 4A – 406); and at least one power supply electrically connected to the electrode structure via the one or more connectors (Fig. 4A – 118). (Paragraphs 0067-0077)
The difference between Matyushkim et al. and claim 15 is that an annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region is not discussed (Claim 15).
Regarding an annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region (Claim 15), Kosakai et al. teach an annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region for holding a focus ring. (Paragraph 0072)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
Regarding claim 16, Matyushkin et al. teach wherein the electrode structure further includes a second electrode layer (Fig. 4A – 404a) disposed below the first electrode layer (Fig. 4A – 402) and extending over the substrate support surface in the plan view, one or more connectors (Fig. 4A – 406) connecting the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, and a conductor connecting the second electrode layer and the base (Fig. 4A), and the at least one power supply (Fig. 4A – 118) is electrically connected to the electrode structure via the conductor. (Paragraphs 0067-0077)
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
Regarding claim 18, Matyushkin et al. teach the substrate support, comprising: a base; an electrostatic chuck having a central region and an annular region surrounding the central region, the central region having a substrate support surface, a chuck electrode disposed in the central region; and an element disposed below the chuck electrode in the central region.
The difference between Matyushkin et al. and claim 18 is that the annular region having an edge ring support surface and the annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region is not discussed and the element configured to reduce a difference between an electrostatic capacity per unit area of the central region between the substrate support surface and the base and an electrostatic capacity per unit area of the annular region between the edge ring support surface and the base, wherein the element includes a conductor plate is not discussed.
Regarding the annular region having an edge ring support surface and the annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region (Claim 18),
Kosakai et al. teach an annular region having a thickness smaller than a thickness of the central region for holding a focus ring. (Paragraph 0072)
Regarding the element configured to reduce a difference between an electrostatic capacity per unit area of the central region between the substrate support surface and the base and an electrostatic capacity per unit area of the annular region between the edge ring support surface and the base, wherein the element includes a conductor plate (Claim 18), Matyushkin et al. teach this limitation because Matyushkin et al. teach using a metal electrode conductor plate and a ceramic. (Paragraph 0052)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the element is formed of a metal-based composite material.
Regarding claim 20, Kosakai et al. teach that conductors can be made of conductive composites. (Paragraph 0078)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 21:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the element is formed of a material having a dielectric constant higher than a dielectric constant of a dielectric material forming the annular region.
Matyushkin et al. teach using a metal electrode conductor plate and a ceramic. (Paragraph 0052) The dielectric constant of a metal is nearly infinite and the ceramic has a definite dielectric constant.
The motivation for utilizing the features of Kosakai et al. is that it allows for holding a focus ring. (Paragraph 0072)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Matyushkin et al. with the teachings of Kosakai et al. because it allows for holding a focus ring.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 1-13 are allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter including an electrode structure disposed below the chuck electrode in the central region and being in an electrically floating state, the electrode structure including a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer disposed below the first electrode layer, and one or more connectors connecting the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer extending over the substrate in a plan view.
Claim 14 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach the claimed subject matter including an electrode structure disposed below the chuck electrode in the central region and being in an electrically floating state, the electrode structure including a first electrode layer, a second electrode layer disposed below the first electrode layer, and one or more connectors connecting the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer extending over the substrate support surface in a plan view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 4, 2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. New rejections have been made based on newly applied prior art.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
August 4, 2026