DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 6/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mun et al. US 2022/0059543 A1 (Mun).
In re claim 1, Mun discloses (e.g. FIGs. 6A-6C) a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a base structure 201;
a bit line structure 213+214 disposed over the base structure; and
a spacer 215U,215L disposed around the bit line structure, and including a first layer 216, a second layer and a third layer (in a first interpretation, “second layer” correspond to upper portion of 218 and “third layer” correspond to 219+220 above 218), wherein the third layer 219+220 is disposed over the second layer 218 and a width of the third layer (width of 219+220 along C-C’) is substantially equal to a width of the second layer (width of 218 along D-D’).
In a second interpretation, “second layer” correspond to lower portion of 217 and “third layer” correspond to upper portion of 217, wherein the third layer (upper portion of 217) is disposed over the second layer (lower portion of 217) and a width of the third layer (upper portion of 217) is substantially equal to a width of the second layer (upper portion of 217).
In a third interpretation, as shown in FIG. 6C, “second layer” correspond AG and “third layer” correspond to AGC, wherein the third layer AGC is disposed over the second layer AG and a width of the third layer AGC is substantially equal to a width of the second layer AG.
In re claim 2, Mun discloses (FIGs. 6A-6C) wherein the base structure 201 includes a base portion 203 and an active area 209 in the base portion, wherein the bit line structure 213++214 is electrically connected to the active area through a conductor 212.
In re claim 3, Mun discloses (e.g. FIGs. 6A-6C) wherein the base structure 201 includes a base portion 203 and an active area 210 in the base portion, wherein the bit line structure 213+214 (outer bit line structures) is electrically insulated from the active area 210 through an insulator 204 (¶ 85).
In re claim 4, Mun discloses (e.g. FIGs. 6A-6C) wherein the first layer 216 is interposed between the second layer (218, or lower portion of 217, or AG) and the bit line structure 213+214, and a width of the first layer 216 is less than a width of the second layer (218, or lower portion of 217, or AG; ¶ 93).
In re claim 5, Mun discloses (in the second interpretation as annotated for FIG. 6B above) wherein the width of the first layer 216 is substantially equal to one half of the width of the second layer (lower portion of 217, ¶ 93).
In re claim 6, Mun discloses (e.g. FIG. 6A-6C) wherein a material of the first layer 216 (e.g. silicon nitride, ¶ 93) is different from a material of the second layer (lower portion of 217 in second interpretation formed of SiC, ¶ 92; or air gap AG in third interpetation).
In re claim 7, Mun discloses (e.g. FIGs. 6A-6C) wherein the first layer 216 is interposed between the third layer (219+220, or upper portion of 217, or AGC) and the bit line structure 213+214, and a width of the first layer 216 is less than a width of the third layer (219+220, or upper of 217, or AGC; ¶ 93).
In re claim 8, Mun discloses (in the second interpretation as annotated for FIG. 6B above) wherein the width of the first layer 216 is substantially equal to one half of the width of the third layer (upper portion of 217, ¶ 93).
In re claim 9, Mun discloses (e.g. FIG. 6C) wherein a material of the first layer 216 (e.g. silicon nitride, ¶ 93) is same as a material of the third layer AGC (silicon nitride, ¶ 242).
In another interpretation of FIG. 6A, the first layer is layer 217, the second layer is layer 219+220, the third layer is 218. As such, a material of the first layer 217is same as a material of the third layer 220 (¶ 92).
In re claim 10, Mun discloses (e.g. FIG. 6C, third interpretation) wherein the bit line structure 213+214 includes a main portion 213 and a cap portion 214 disposed on the main portion 213 (¶ 85), wherein an elevation of a top surface of the main portion 213 is lower than an elevation of a top surface of the second layer AG of the spacer.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,610,535. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current pending claims are anticipated by the patented claims. More specifically,
Pending claim 1 is anticipated by claim 1 of US 12,610,535.
Pending claim 2 is anticipated by claim 2 of US 12,610,535.
Pending claim 3 is anticipated by claim 2 of US 12,610,535.
Claim 4-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,610,535 in view of Mun.
Although the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,610,535 does not specifically recites the width, material, and elevation as recited in claims 4-10, these features are obvious in view of Mun as detailed above.
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896