DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lei [US 20180119276] in view of Wagatsuma [US 20200294798].
Claim 1: Lei teaches a method for forming a Silicon containing film [title], wherein the method includes supplying raw material gas to a substrate, wherein raw material is deposited (adsorbed) onto the substrate [0051, 0054], thermally treating the substrate in nitriding gas (adsorbing the nitriding gas to the substrate) [0055], and exposing the substrate to a hydrogen plasma (which would inherently reform the film since a hydrogen plasma is provided with the same materials) [0065, 0067], wherein the aforementioned steps are repeated a plurality of times to form the SiCN film [0063, abstract]. However, the prior art does not appear to teach the raw material has in a molecule thereof, a cyclic structure including a silicon atom and carbon atom. Wagatsuma is provided.
Wagatsuma teaches a method for forming a film [title], wherein the method includes supplying raw material gas to a substrate and adsorbing the raw material gas to the substrate [0057], wherein the raw material gas is 1,1,3,3-tetrachloro-1,3-disilacyclobutane which contains silicon and carbon having a cyclic structure (in light of original disclosure) [0014; 0111]; and treating the substrate in atmosphere of nitriding gas [Fig. 1-3; 0016]; wherein Wagatsuma teaches the substrate is heated (thereby thermally nitriding) [0042; 0044]; and exposing the substrate to hydrogen plasma to improve film density [0031], where one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by exposing the same type of film with the same step would have yielded a reforming process.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the silicon containing raw materials taught by Wagatsuma since Wagatsuma teaches such precursor compound is already known and operable to be use as a raw material for SiCN films.
Claim 4: Wagatsuma teaches using 1,1,3,3-tetrachloro-1,3-disilacyclobutane as the raw material, which has a four member cyclic structure including a silicon atom and carbon atom [0111].
Claim 7: Wagatsuma teaches using 1,1,3,3-tetrachloro-1,3-disilacyclobutane as the raw material [0111].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4 and 7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDY C LOUIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718