DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
The previously issued specification objection is hereby withdrawn in view of the amended title.
The previously issued claim objections are hereby withdrawn in view of amended claims 8 and 16.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims #1-7, 9-15, and 17 in the reply filed on June 30, 2026 have been carefully considered, but are not persuasive and the previous rejection maintained. Claims 8 and 16 remain indicated as being allowable.
Denorme et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0343720 A1), hereafter “Denorme”, teaches a shallow trench isolation 50 adjacent to and directly contacting two sides of the MV device (pMOS of TP region) via S/D regions RSp. See Denorme, FIG. 11. Furthermore, Denorme teaches a first gate dielectric layer OX located on the STI 50 and the substrate 40 because the manner in which the claim is written does not require “directly on”. As such, ‘on’ is interpreted as merely requiring proximity, wherein intervening layers may be present therebetween. The Examiner notes that Applicant’s specification/drawings do not teach a first gate dielectric layer directly on a substrate 12 because of intervening base region 24. Applicant’s specification does not teach the base region 24 as part of the substrate 12.
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1)
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 12-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Denorme.
As to claim 1, Denorme teaches:
A substrate 40 having a medium-voltage region TP and an one time programmable (OTP) capacitor region C. See Denorme, FIG. 11. The Examiner notes that “medium-voltage” is intended use language and does not add any structural limitations. The Examiner interprets “medium-voltage region” as any region with a MOS transistor, and is therefore capable of having a medium-voltage applied.
A MV device (pMOS in the TP region) on the MV region.
An OTP capacitor (capacitor C formed in the C region) on the OTP capacitor region.
A shallow trench isolation (STI) 50 adjacent to two sides (lateral sides of RSp) of the MV device, wherein a first gate dielectric layer OX of the MV device is on the STI and the substrate. Denorme teaches a first gate dielectric layer OX located on the STI 50 and the substrate 40 because the manner in which the claim is written does not require “directly on”. As such, ‘on’ is interpreted as merely requiring proximity, wherein intervening layers may be present therebetween.
As to claim 2, Denorme teaches the first gate dielectric layer OX on the substrate; a first gate electrode G on the first gate dielectric layer; a spacer CI1 adjacent to the first gate electrode; and the shallow trench isolation (STI) 50 adjacent to two sides of the first gate electrode.
Denorme, Annotated FIG. 11
As to claims 4 and 5, the Examiner notes that the plain ordinary meaning of “portion” is ‘a part of a whole’. As such, the first gate dielectric layer OX can be divided into an Examiner-defined bottom portion and top portion, such that a width of the top portion is less than a width of the bottom portion. Refer to Denorme, Annotated FIG. 11 above.
As to claim 6, Denorme teaches lateral sidewalls of the Examiner defined top portion and the spacer CI1 are vertically aligned. Id.
As to claim 7, Denorme teaches a fin-shaped structure (space occupied by 20n) on the substrate; a doped region 20n in the fin-shaped structure; an interfacial layer (30 or OX) on the doped region; and a top electrode G on the interfacial layer.
As to claim 9, Denorme teaches:
A substrate 40 having a medium-voltage region TP, and an one time programmable (OTP) capacitor region C, and a core region TN. The Examiner notes that “medium-voltage” is intended use language and does not add any structural limitations. The Examiner interprets “medium-voltage region” as any region with a MOS transistor, and is therefore capable of having a medium-voltage applied.
A MV device (pMOS in the TP region) on the MV region.
A shallow trench isolation (STI) 50 adjacent to two sides (lateral sides of RSp) of the MV device, wherein a first gate dielectric layer OX of the MV device is on the STI and the substrate. Denorme teaches a first gate dielectric layer OX located on the STI 50 and the substrate 40 because the manner in which the claim is written does not require “directly on”. As such, ‘on’ is interpreted as merely requiring proximity, wherein intervening layers may be present therebetween.
An OTP capacitor (capacitor C formed in the C region) on the OTP capacitor region.
A metal-oxide-semiconductor (MOS) transistor TN on the core region.
As to claim 10, Denorme teaches the first gate dielectric layer OX on the substrate; a first gate electrode G on the first gate dielectric layer; a spacer CI1 adjacent to the first gate electrode; and the shallow trench isolation (STI) 50 adjacent to two sides of the first gate electrode.
As to claims 12 and 13, the Examiner notes that the plain ordinary meaning of “portion” is ‘a part of a whole’. As such, the first gate dielectric layer OX can be divided into an Examiner-defined bottom portion and top portion, such that a width of the top portion is less than a width of the bottom portion. Refer to Denorme, Annotated FIG. 11 above.
As to claim 14, Denorme teaches lateral sidewalls of the Examiner defined top portion and the spacer CI1 are vertically aligned. Id.
As to claim 15, Denorme teaches a fin-shaped structure (space occupied by 20n) on the substrate; a doped region 20n in the fin-shaped structure; a first interfacial layer (30 or OX) on the doped region; and a top electrode G on the interfacial layer.
As to claim 17, Denorme teaches the MOS transistor TN comprises a second fin-shaped structure 20n on the substrate; a second interfacial layer OX on the second fin-shaped structure; a second gate electrode G on the second interfacial layer; and a source/drain region RSn adjacent to two sides of the second gate electrode.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Denorme as applied to claims 1 and 9, and further in view of Chang et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0043725 A1), hereafter “Chang”.
As to claims 3 and 11, Denorme does not teach a reverse T-shaped first gate dielectric layer.
On the other hand, Chang teaches a first gate dielectric layer 16 with a reverse T-shape. See Chang, FIG. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute Chang’s first gate dielectric layer with a reverse T-shape for Denorme’s first gate dielectric layer in order to yield the predictable benefit of improving fabrication processes of high-k dielectric materials. Id. at ¶¶ [0002]-[0003].
Furthermore, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claims Allowable If Rewritten in Independent Form
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 8 and 16, Denorme does not teach the top surfaces being coplanar.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUBERR L CHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893