DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omata et al (US Publication 20240144882) in view of Toyotaka et al (US Publication 20210319764).
Regarding claim 8, Omata teaches a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate comprising a display area and a peripheral area adjacent to the display area (Fig. 5, SUB with R1 adjacent to R2, para 54);
a first transistor disposed in the display area (Fig. 38, DRT in R1), and comprising a first semiconductor pattern comprising a first terminal and a second terminal (Fig. 38, DRT with terminals SE and DE) and a first electrode pattern overlapping the first semiconductor pattern (Fig. 38, G overlapping DRT and AE);
a second transistor electrically connected to the first electrode pattern of the first transistor and a data line (Fig. 28, SST electrically connected to electrode pattern for DRT);
a third transistor electrically connected to the first electrode pattern of the first transistor and a reference voltage line (Fig. 28, RST electrically connected to electrode pattern of DRT and Vrst);
a fourth transistor electrically connected to the first terminal of the first transistor and a driving voltage line (Fig. 28, BCT electrically connected to first terminal of DRT and Vsig, para 106 and 109);
a storage capacitor comprising a first capacitor electrode electrically connected to the first electrode pattern of the first transistor (Fig. 38, Cs electrode AE electrically connected to G of DRT, para 384), and a third capacitor electrode electrically connected to the second terminal of the first transistor and overlapping the first electrode pattern of the first transistor (Fig. 38, SC electrically connected to DE and overlapping G); and
a hold capacitor comprising a second capacitor electrode and the third capacitor electrode (Fig. 38, Cad with OE and SC),
wherein the third capacitor electrode is disposed on an insulating layer covering a driving semiconductor pattern (Fig. 38, SC on PL).
Omata does not specifically teach a driving transistor disposed in the peripheral area, and comprising a driving semiconductor pattern and a driving gate electrode overlapping the driving semiconductor pattern.
Toyotaka teaches a driving transistor disposed in the peripheral area, and comprising a driving semiconductor pattern and a driving gate electrode overlapping the driving semiconductor pattern (Fig. 15A, 4011 in 221a with 4017 overlapping 4011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Omata to include a driving transistor disposed in the peripheral area as taught by Toyotaka in order to increase the active display area, improve image quality, and reduce the bezel size of the device.
Regarding claim 9, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 9 depends.
Omata teaches wherein an area where the first semiconductor pattern and the first electrode pattern overlap each other is disposed inside of the third capacitor electrode in a plan view (Fig. 38, DRT and G disposed in SC (overlapping as stated in the instant application para 113)).
Regarding claim 10, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 10 depends.
Omata teaches wherein the driving voltage line comprises a first voltage line extending in a first direction and a second voltage line extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig. 33, Sla extending in the y direction, Pla extending in x direction, para 302 and 382), and the second voltage line and the second capacitor electrode are integral (OE layer connected to PSH and thus Pla).
Regarding claim 11, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 11 depends.
Omata teaches wherein the driving gate electrode, the first capacitor electrode, and the second capacitor electrode are disposed on a same layer (Fig. 38, G, AE, and OE disposed on PL).
Regarding claim 12, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 upon which claim 12 depends.
Omata teaches the third capacitor electrode is disposed on the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode (Fig. 38, SC disposed on OE and AE), and
the third capacitor electrode overlaps the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode (Fig. 38, SC overlaps OE and AE).
Regarding claim 13, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 13 depends.
Omata teaches a connection electrode that electrically connects the second terminal of the first transistor to the third capacitor electrode (Fig. 38, portion of DE connecting bulk of DE to SC).
Regarding claim 14, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 13 upon which claim 14 depends.
Omata teaches wherein the connection electrode overlaps the first electrode pattern (Fig. 38, portion of DE connecting bulk of DE to SC overlaps G).
Regarding claim 18, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 18 depends.
Omata does not specifically teach wherein the driving semiconductor pattern comprises a silicon semiconductor material, and the first semiconductor pattern comprises an oxide semiconductor material.
Toyotaka teaches wherein the driving semiconductor pattern comprises a silicon semiconductor material, and the first semiconductor pattern comprises an oxide semiconductor material (para 87, SI and OS transistors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Omata as modified to include the driving semiconductor pattern / first semiconductor layer comprising silicon semiconductor material and the first semiconductor pattern / second semiconductor layer comprising oxide semiconductor material as taught by Toyotaka in order to provide high-speed reliable driving capabilities (SI) with the extremely low leakage current of OS transistors and optimize display power consumption and image quality.
Regarding claim 19, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 19 depends.
Omata does not specifically teach wherein one or more insulating layers comprising an insulating material are disposed between the driving semiconductor pattern and the substrate.
Toyotaka teaches wherein one or more insulating layers comprising an insulating material are disposed between the driving semiconductor pattern and the substrate (Fig. 15A, 4011 on 4102, para 211).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Omata as modified to include the insulating material layer as taught by Toyotaka in order to provide a moisture/oxygen barrier, protection against corrosion, and improve the lifespan and performance of the device.
Regarding claim 20, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 upon which claim 20 depends.
Omata teaches wherein the second capacitor electrode is electrically connected to the reference voltage line (Fig. 2, OE of Cad electrically connected to Vrst).
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omata et al (US Publication 20240144882) in view of Toyotaka et al (US Publication 20210319764) further in view of Okamoto et al (US Publication 20240321205).
Regarding claims 15-17, Omata as modified teaches the limitations of claims 8 and 13 upon which claim 14 and 15 depend.
Omata teaches:
[claim 16] an organic light-emitting diode comprising a pixel electrode, a counter electrode, and an intermediate layer disposed between the pixel electrode and the counter electrode (para 199, PE, CE, ORG).
Omata does not specifically teach:
[claim 15] a fifth transistor electrically connected between a first initialization voltage line and the second terminal of the first transistor.
[claim 16] a sixth transistor electrically connected between the second terminal of the first transistor and the organic light-emitting diode.
[claim 17] a seventh transistor electrically connected between the organic light-emitting diode and a second initialization voltage line.
Okamoto teaches:
[claim 15] a fifth transistor electrically connected between a first initialization voltage line and the second terminal of the first transistor.
[claim 16] a sixth transistor electrically connected between the second terminal of the first transistor and the organic light-emitting diode.
[claim 17] a seventh transistor electrically connected between the organic light-emitting diode and a second initialization voltage line.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application for Omata as modified to include the fifth, sixth, and seventh transistors as taught by Toyotaka in order to further optimize and improve the operability and reliability of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 1, the prior art including Omata, Toyotaka, and Oamoto does not teach or render obvious "a first conductive layer disposed on the first semiconductor layer, and comprising a first capacitor electrode and a second capacitor electrode; disposed in the display area; a second conductive layer disposed on the first conductive layer, and comprising a third capacitor electrode overlapping the first capacitor electrode and the second capacitor electrode; a second semiconductor layer disposed on the second conductive layer, and comprising a first semiconductor pattern overlapping the third capacitor electrode" and in the combination as claimed.
Claims 2-7 further limit allowable claim 1 therefore are allowable for the same reasons as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wang et al (US Publication 20240363072) – Array substrate and display apparatus.
Choi (US Publication 20210201814) – Gate driving circuit and light emitting display apparatus comprising the same.
Kwon et al (US Publication 20150243719) – Display backplane having multiple types of thin-film-transistors
/NICHOLAS LELAND HUTSON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818