DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2-8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the conductive via” in the first line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, Examiner interprets “the conductive via” as one of the “plurality of conductive vias”.
Claims 3-8 are also rejected based on dependency on claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. ‘242 (US 20190131242 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
A first substrate (as seen in attached Fig. 9) having a first side (as seen in attached Fig. 9) and a second side (as seen in attached Fig. 9) opposite to the first side (as seen in attached Fig. 9), wherein the first side includes a recess recessed from the first side [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0008];
A first semiconductor die (121) arranged in the recess and bonded to the first side of the first substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0008];
A second semiconductor die (122) bonded to the second side of the first substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0008];
A second substrate (as seen in attached Fig. 9) electrically bonded to the first side of the first substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0009];
A plurality of conductive vias (140) positioned along the second substrate and extending through the second substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0068];
A passivation layer (151) positioned on the second substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0008]; and
A barrier layer (160) positioned on the second substrate and in the passivation layer (151) [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶¶0067 and 0090, barrier layer is underbump metal layer in Lee et al. ‘242 as it provides the same function of better connection reliability].
Regarding claim 9, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the passivation layer (151) defines a plurality of openings disposed along the passivation layer to expose a portion of the second substrate [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0090].
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al, teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 9, wherein the barrier layer (160) is positioned in the openings [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0092, barrier layer shown as underbump metal layer].
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the passivation layer (151) is made of polybenzoxazole, polyimide, benzocyclobutene, solder resist film, the like, or a combination thereof [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0090, polyimide resin used for passivation layer].
Regarding claim 17, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer (160) is made of aluminum fluoride, or zinc oxide [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0092, underbump metal layers may be formed using any known conductive material such as metal but not limited to].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 (US 20210043557 A1) and Moon (US 7229918 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1.
Lee et al. ‘242 doesn’t teach the rest of the claimed structure of the conductive via.
Lee et al. ‘557 teaches a conductive via comprising:
Two isolation layers (153) (lining layer, has the same insulating materials) conformally formed on two sidewalls of the via opening [Fig. 1D, ¶0117, formed on the sidewalls and bottoms of the blind holes];
an adhesive layer (154) conformally formed, wherein the adhesive layer has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile and is formed of titanium, tantalum, titanium tungsten, or manganese nitride [Fig. 1F, ¶0117, adhesion layer comprising titanium or titanium nitride];
a seed layer (155) conformally formed on the adhesive layer (154), wherein the seed layer has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile and is formed of copper or ruthenium [Fig. 1F, ¶0117, seed layer made of copper]; and
a filler layer (156, copper layer) formed on the seed layer (155) and completely fill the via opening, wherein the filler layer is copper [Fig. 1F, ¶¶0117-0118, filled the via with copper layer on seed layer].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the structure of the via from Lee et al. ‘557 into Lee et al. ‘242 because Lee et al. ‘242 discloses via structures through the second substrate and Lee et al. ‘557 disclose a conductive via structure which would help with preventing short circuiting with the isolation layer, a seed layer that helps with filling the opening of a via so there aren’t any gaps, adhesion layer to help with attaching the seed layer to a via, and the filler layer made out of copper to help with increased conduction.
Lee et al. ‘242 in view of Lee et al. ‘557 doesn’t teach a via barrier layer conformally formed on the isolation layer IL (lining layer) and on the bottom surface of the via opening, wherein the via barrier layer has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile and is formed of tantalum, tantalum nitride, titanium, titanium nitride, rhenium, nickel boride, or tantalum nitride/tantalum bilayer; and the adhesion layer conformally formed on the barrier layer.
Moon teaches a via barrier layer (406) conformally formed on the isolation layer IL (lining layer, Lee et al. ‘557) and on the bottom surface of the via opening [col. 7 lines 8-26, formed over a material layer with vias and conductive lines], wherein the via barrier layer has a U-shaped cross-sectional profile and is formed of tantalum, tantalum nitride, titanium, titanium nitride, rhenium, nickel boride, or tantalum nitride/tantalum bilayer [Fig. 9, col. 8 lines 12-24, the layers are made of tantalum, tantalum nitride, titanium, or titanium nitride]; and the adhesion layer (414) conformally formed on the barrier layer [Fig. 9, col. 8 lines 12-24, the layers are made of tantalum, tantalum nitride, titanium, or titanium nitride and adhesion layer as claimed can be made out of titanium or tantalum which would provide the same structure].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the barrier and adhesion layer as described by Moon in Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 as the structures described are in relation to vias and the implementation of a barrier layer along with an adhesion layer would be improved diffusion prevention and increased oxidation resistance as described by Moon in Col. 7 Lines 50-60.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 (US 20210043557 A1), Moon (US 7229918 B2), and Shih (US 20220037287 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 3.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon doesn’t teach the semiconductor structure of claim 3, wherein the two isolation layers have a thickness between about 50 nm and about 200 nm.
Shih teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 3, wherein the two isolation layers have a thickness between about 50 nm and about 200 nm [¶0048, range from 10 nm to 200nm].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a thickness between about 50 nm and about 200 nm as this range would allow the ideal thickness for the isolation layer depending on the needs of the semiconductor structure.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 (US 20210043557 A1), Moon (US 7229918 B2), and Lu (US 20210020579 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 2.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon doesn’t teach the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the two isolation layers are formed of parylene, epoxy, or poly(p-xylene).
Lu et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 2, wherein the two isolation layers (17a and 17b) are formed of parylene, epoxy, or poly(p-xylene) [¶0050, isolation layers made from epoxy or epoxy-based material].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the epoxy material from Lu into Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon because both structures describe a semiconductor structure that includes isolation layers, seed layer, and filling layer (metal layer). The structure of the semiconductor from Lu has the same capabilities of connection and between electronic components (chips/dies) as the structure described by Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee and Lu and Moon, allowing for a person with ordinary skill in the art to combine the art to have the isolation layers be made from epoxy as it is an insulating material that would help with short circuit prevention.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and Lu teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 5.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and Lu further teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 5, wherein the two isolation layers have a thickness between about 1 μm and about 5 μm [¶0050, thickness of isolation layers about 2 μm and about 5 μm].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the thickness of the isolation layer as it is seen to be within a range that would be ideal for the structure.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and Wei et al. (US 20220102164 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 2.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557e and Moon doesn’t teach the adhesive layer having a thickness between about 5 nm and about 50nm.
Wei et al. teaches an adhesive layer has a thickness between about 5nm and about 50 nm [¶0090, adhesive layer range 2nm to 500nm].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the thickness of the adhesive layer as it is seen to be within a range that would be ideal for the claimed semiconductor structure.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and Bando et al. (US 20230145328 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 2.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon doesn’t teach the thickness of the seed layer to be between about 10nm and about 40nm.
Bando et al. teaches the seed layer thickness to be between about 5nm and about 50nm [¶0038, seed layer thickness range from about 10nm to about 300nm, the titanium layer of the two-layer metal film (described as seed layer) can be seen as a stand-alone seed layer as Bando et al. describes the titanium to help with contractability and help restrain diffusion which are aspects of a seed layer].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a seed layer thickness within the range presented by Brando et al. as it would be seen as ideal for the semiconductor structure and to maintain a small structure.
Claims 11-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and McElhinney et al. (US 20230096835 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 1.
Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon doesn’t teach a thickness of the passivation layer being greater than a thickness of the barrier layer.
McElhinney et al. teaches a thickness of the passivation layer (2402) is greater than a thickness of the barrier layer (2504) [Figs. 24-26, ¶0075, barrier layer thickness is approximately 3 μm and Fig. 25 showing the thickness of the passivation layer having a greater thickness].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine McElhinney et al. with Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 and Moon as they both showcase structures for packaging semiconductor dies and interconnects between them. It would have been obvious to include the passivation layer having a greater thickness than the barrier layer as it would be ideal to have the passivation layer being thicker as it would allow for improvement of efficiency and having a smaller barrier layer thickness would allow for the prevention of interdiffusion.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and McElhinney et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 11, further comprising a connector (2506) positioned on the barrier [Figs. 24-26, ¶¶0074 and 0075, reflow process of tin above the barrier layer and then reshaped, McElhinney et al.].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a connector positioned on the barrier as this would allow for further reliability and prevent the contamination from the base material to the connector.
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, McElhinney et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 12, wherein a first portion of the connector (a first part can be seen as the portion with immediate connection to the barrier) is extending to the passivation layer, completely filled the opening [Fig. 4, ¶0035], and disposed on the barrier layer [Figs. 25 and 26, ¶0070, the tin (connector) disposed on the barrier layer].
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and McElhinney et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 13, wherein a second portion of the connector is protruding from a plane coplanar with the top surface of the passivation layer and disposed on the first portion of the connector [as seen in attached Fig. 9, ¶0092, Lee et al. ‘242].
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and McElhinney et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 12, wherein the connector is a solder joint [Fig. 9, ¶0093].
Regarding claim 20, Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557, Moon, and McElhinney et al. teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 19, wherein the solder joint is made of tin, silver, or copper [¶0093, solder may include tin-silver or copper].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Kao et al. (US 20230026305 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim.
Lee et al. ‘242 doesn’t teach the material used for the passivation layer.
Kao et al. teaches the passivation layer is made of silicon nitride, silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, silicon nitride oxide, phosphosilicate glass, borosilicate glass, boron-doped phosphosilicate glass, or a combination thereof [¶0052, silicon nitride].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the use of silicon nitride as a passivation layer in Lee et al. ‘242 as described by Kao et al. because the use of silicon nitride was seen to work well as a passivation layer in a semiconductor device that focuses on interconnection as does Lee et al. ‘242
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. ‘242 in further view of Lee et al. ‘557 (US 20210043557 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. ‘242 teaches the semiconductor structure of claim 9.
Lee et al. ‘242 doesn’t teach the sidewall of the opening is substantially vertical or tapered.
Lee et al. ‘557 teaches the sidewall of the opening is substantially vertical or tapered [Fig. 1E, ¶0119, the top view of the opening can be polygon-shaped which would lead the sidewalls to be substantially vertical].
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement substantially vertical sidewalls in the openings because it would allow for the opening to be fully filled allowing for better conductivity and less leakage.
Conclusion
/NOOR MOHAMMAD ISMAIL TAHIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893