DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communications dated 11/28/2023.
Claims 1-33 are pending in this application.
Acknowledges
2. Receipt is acknowledged of the following items from the Applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/28/2023.
The references cited on the PTOL 1449 form have been considered.
Applicant is requested to cite any relevant prior art if being aware on form PTO-1449 in accordance with the guidelines set for in M.P.E.P. 609.
Foreign Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
5. The claim is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 11-12, and lines 14-15 both recite limitations “a first conductive layer”. It is unclear if they are the same or different first conductive layers. If they are the same, the in definite article “a” in such limitation on lines 14-15 must be changed to a definite article such as “the” or “said”. Otherwise, further clarification is required to distinguish them from one another.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bang et al. (US 2021/0083033)
Regarding claim 1, Bang discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate 100 (see figs. 1, 4, 6) having a display area DA (fig. 1), a peripheral area PA outside the display area DA, a first edge (along the first scan drive SD1 in fig. 1) extending in a first direction DR3, and a second edge (bottom edge) extending in a second direction DR1, DR2 crossing the first direction;
a plurality of data transfer lines CL (extending from data pad PD, see para. 0044) in the peripheral area, adjacent to the second edge, and extending in the first direction DR3; and
first power connection lines VSL1, VSL2 in the peripheral area, (having ends) adjacent to the second edge in a space between the first edge and the plurality of data transfer lines CL, and extending in the first direction DR3,
wherein a 1-1th power connection line VSL1, VSL2 that is nearest to the plurality of data transfer lines CL from among the first power connection lines comprises a first conductive layer 151 or 152 (fig. 4) on a first insulating layer 104, and
wherein a 1-2th power connection line VSL1, VSL2 that is farthest away from the plurality of data transfer lines CL from among the first power connection lines comprises a first conductive layer 151 or 152 on the first insulating layer 104 and a second conductive layer 141 or 142 on a second insulating layer 103 (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second insulating layer 103 is under the first insulating layer 104. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 3, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first insulating layer 104 covers the second conductive layer 141/142 in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 4, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first conductive layer 151/152 and the second conductive layer 141/142 in the 1-2th power connection line overlap each other when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the substrate. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 5, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein a length of the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line VLS1 in the first direction is greater than a length of the first conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 6, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a first power input line PV1, PV2 on end portions of the first power connection lines VSL1, VSL2 in a direction away from the display area DA, electrically connected to the first conductive layer in the 1-1th power connection line VSL1, VSL2, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 7, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 6, further comprising a first power transfer line on end portions of the first power connection lines in a direction toward the display area, electrically connected to the first conductive layer in the 1-1th power connection line , and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 8, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 7, further comprising a plurality of driving power lines VL1 extending in the first direction and extending into the display area, wherein the first power transfer line extends along the second edge and is electrically connected to the plurality of driving power lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 9, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the 1-2th power connection line further comprises a third conductive layer 131 on a third insulating layer 102. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 10, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the second insulating layer 103 is under the first insulating layer 104, and the third insulating layer 102 is under the second insulating layer 103. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 11, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second insulating layer 103 covers the third conductive layer 131 in the 1-2th power connection line, and the first insulating layer 104 covers the second conductive layer 141/142 in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 12, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first conductive layer 151/152, the second conductive layer 141/142, and the third conductive layer 131 in the 1-2th power connection line overlap one another when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the substrate. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 13, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, wherein a length of the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction is greater than a length of the first conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction, and wherein a length of the third conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction is greater than a length of the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction. See figs. 1, 4.
Regarding claim 14, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a first power input line PV1, PV2 on end portions of the first power connection lines VSL1, VSL2 in a direction away from the display area DA, electrically connected to the first conductive layer in the 1-1th power connection line, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 15, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 14, further comprising a first power transfer line on end portions of the first power connection lines in a direction toward the display area, electrically connected to the first conductive layer in the 1-1th power connection line, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 16, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 15, further comprising a plurality of driving power lines VL1 extending in the first direction and extending into the display area DA, wherein the first power transfer line extends along the second edge and is electrically connected to the plurality of driving power lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 17, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising second power connection lines PV1, PV2 in the peripheral area, adjacent to the second edge in a space between the first edge and the first power connection lines, and extending in the first direction, wherein each of the second power connection lines comprises a first conductive layer on the first insulating layer and a second conductive layer on the second insulating layer. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 18, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the second insulating layer 103 is under the first insulating layer 104. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 19, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first insulating layer 104 covers the second conductive layer 103 in the 1-2th power connection line and the second conductive layer 141/142 in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 20, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line overlap each other when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the substrate, and wherein the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in each of the second power connection lines overlap each other when viewed in the direction perpendicular to the substrate. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 21, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein a length of the second conductive layer included in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction is greater than a length of the first conductive layer included in the 1-2th power connection line in the first direction, and wherein a length of the second conductive layer included in each of the second power connection lines in the first direction is greater than a length of the first conductive layer included in each of the second power connection lines in the first direction. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 22, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 20, further comprising a second power input line PV1, PV2 on end portions of the second power connection lines in a direction away from the display area, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 23, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 22, further comprising a second power transfer line on end portions of the second power connection lines in a direction toward the display area, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 24, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 23, wherein the second power transfer line extends along the first edge and is electrically connected to a common electrode of pixels arranged in the display area. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 25, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein each of the second power connection lines further comprises a third conductive layer on a third insulating layer. See fig. 1, 4.
Regarding claim 26, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 25, wherein the second insulating layer 103 is under the first insulating layer 104, and the third insulating layer 102 is under the second insulating layer 103. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 27, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 26, wherein the second insulating layer 103 covers the third conductive layer 131 in each of the second power connection lines, and wherein the first insulating layer covers the second conductive layer in the 1-2th power connection line and the second conductive layer in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 28, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 25, wherein the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer in the second power connection line overlap one another when viewed in a direction perpendicular to the substrate. See fig. 4.
Regarding claim 29, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 25, wherein a length of the second conductive layer included in the second power connection line in the first direction is greater than a length of the first conductive layer included in the second power connection line in the first direction, and wherein a length of the third conductive layer in the second power connection line in the first direction is greater than a length of the second conductive layer included in the second power connection line in the first direction. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 30, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 25, further comprising a second power input line PV1, PV2 on end portions of the second power connection lines in a direction away from the display area, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conducive layer in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 31, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 30, further comprising a second power transfer line on end portions of the second power connection lines in a direction toward the display area, and electrically connected to each of the first conductive layer, the second conductive layer, and the third conductive layer in each of the second power connection lines. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 32, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 31, wherein the second power transfer line extends along the first edge and is electrically connected to a common electrode of pixels arranged in the display area. See fig. 1.
Regarding claim 33, Bang discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a display element PX (fig. 1) or EL (fig. 4) in the display area DA; and
an encapsulation layer 190 (fig. 4) covering the display element EL and comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer 191 and an organic encapsulation layer 192 on the inorganic encapsulation layer, wherein the inorganic encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the first power connection line or is in direct contact with an inorganic insulating layer covering the first power connection line. See fig. 4.
Conclusion
8. A shortened statutory period for response to this action is set to expire 3 (three) months and 0 (zero) day from the day of this letter. Failure to respond within the period for response will cause the application to become abandoned (see M.P.E.P 710.02(b)).
A shortened time for reply may be extended up to the maximum six-month period (35 U.S.C. 133). An extension of time fee is normally required to be paid if the reply period is extended. The amount of the fee is dependent upon the length of the extension. Extensions of time are generally not available after an application has been allowed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571)272-1633.
/DAO H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 January 28, 2026