Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
The 112 rejection of claim(s) 1-4 has been withdrawn in view of the amendments filed 08/10/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khakifirooz et. Al. (US 20120217561 A1 hereinafter Khakifirooz).
Regarding claim 1, Khakifirooz teaches in Fig. 4 with associated text a silicon on insulator (SOI) device, comprising: a wafer comprising a top silicon layer 4 is disposed on a buried oxide layer (part of 3 above 10a in an embodiment wherein 10a extends a dimension from the SOI layer 4 towards the center of the dielectric layer 3 [0089 (Fig. 4, [0089]); and a trap-rich layer (10b and the part of 3 between 10a and 10b) having nano-dots 10b (10b is a charge trapping layer [0089] that is the same as in Figs. 2 or 3 which uses the structure of Fig. 1C [0074] which is a nano-dot layer [0035]) and an oxide layer 22 (Fig. 4, [0031] and [0062]) stacked on a high resistivity substrate 12 (Fig. 11, [0028]) sequentially, wherein the oxide layer is bonded with the buried oxide layer (Fig. 4), and the nano-dots are located on a side of the oxide layer facing away from the buried oxide layer (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khakifirooz as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Peidous et. Al. (US 20160351437 A1 hereinafter Peidous).
Regarding claim 2, Khakifirooz teaches the silicon on insulator (SOI) device according to claim 1.
Khakifirooz does not specify a positive fixed charge layer is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer.
Peidous discloses in Figs. 3 with associated text a positive fixed charge layer 36 is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device of Khakifirooz in such a way that a positive fixed charge layer 36 is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer as taught by Peidous because according to Peidous after deposition of a silicon oxide layer, the positive charge, which is generally inherently present, therein needs to be neutralized by negative charge [0027], furthermore Language in an apparatus or product claim directed to the function, operation, intent-of-use, and materials upon which the components of the structure work that does not structurally limit the components or patentably differentiate the claimed apparatus or product from an otherwise identical prior art structure will not support patentability. See, e.g., In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939-40 (CCPA 1963); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 663-64 (CCPA 1971); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 959 (CCPA 1973). The patentability of an apparatus claim depends only on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure, Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 809 (Fed. Cir. 2002), or the function or result of that structure. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 848 (CCPA 1959). Please also see M.P.E.P. 2114 [R-1].
The following italicized limitations of claim 2 lines 2-4 are understood to be functional (i.e. wherein a positive fixed charge layer is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer): the limitation describes purpose, function, operation, or intent -of-use the backside warpage control structure. However, the claim does not disclose a sufficient structure which supports the function. Since Khakifirooz in view of Peidous shows an identical structure as claimed, namely a buried oxide layer and trap rich layer including an oxide layer, the Examiner submits that the buried oxide layer and trap rich layer including an oxide layer is capable of producing the claimed results.
Regarding claim 4, Khakifirooz teaches the silicon on insulator (SOI) device according to claim 1.
Khakifirooz does not specify he silicon on insulator (SOI) device further comprising: radio frequency devices disposed in the top silicon layer.
Peidous discloses in Figs. 2 with associated text a device similar to that of Khakifirooz further comprising: radio frequency devices disposed in a top silicon layer 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form radio frequency devices similar to those of Peidous in the top silicon layer of Khakifirooz because according to radio frequency devices are suitable on substrates with charge trapping layers [0012]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Khakifirooz and Peidous, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods to form radio frequency devices disposed in the top silicon layer with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khakifirooz as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Cheng et. Al. (US 20140091281 A1 hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 2, Khakifirooz teaches the silicon on insulator (SOI) device according to claim 1.
Khakifirooz does not specify nano-dots comprise a germanium nano-dots ([0031]).
Cheng discloses in Fig. 1 with associated text a SOI device similar to that of Khakifirooz wherein
the nano-dots comprise germanium nano-dots ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Ge nanodots as taught by Cheng in the device of Khakifirooz because according to Cheng an embedded semiconductor nanoparticles 24 can be silicon nanoparticles, germanium nanoparticles, GaAs nanoparticles, or nanoparticles of any other semiconductor material [0037] and embedded nanoparticles can be employed as a charge storage element [Abstract] and so would be suitable for charge storage in the device of Khakifirooz
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897