Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 03/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a trap rich layer” and “a high resistivity substrate” in lines 3-4 however it is unclear how high the resistivity must be to be considered high while the specification recites that the trap rich layer “may have a trapping density of 10 cm-2·eV-1” and the high resistivity substrate “may have resistance of 1 kΩ·cm” it noted that it is not limited thereto and so it is unclear if for example a trapping density of 10 cm-2·eV-1” and a resistance of 1 kΩ·cm is required.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “wherein nanodots” however it is unclear if this is referring to the nanodots of claim 1 or refers to other nanodots for the purpose of examination either interpretation will be considered valid.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the claims are dependent on and require all the limitations of claim 1 and are therefore rejected for the same reason as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et. Al. (US 20140091281 A1 hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, Khakifirooz teaches in Fig. 11 with associated text a silicon on insulator (SOI) device, comprising: a wafer comprising a top silicon layer 30 is disposed on a buried oxide layer 26 (Fig. 11, [0041]); and a trap-rich layer (22 and 24) having nano-dots 24 and an oxide layer 22 (Fig. 11, [0031] and [0062]) stacked on a high resistivity substrate 12 (Fig. 11, [0028]) sequentially, wherein the oxide layer is bonded with the buried oxide layer (Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 3, Khakifirooz teaches nano-dots comprise germanium nano-dots ([0031]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Peidous et. Al. (US 20160351437 A1 hereinafter Peidous).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng teaches The silicon on insulator (SOI) device according to claim 1, wherein a positive fixed charge layer is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer (trapping electrons which are negative carriers is taught [0062])..
Cheng does not specify a positive fixed charge layer is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer.
Peidous discloses in Figs. 3 with associated text a positive fixed charge layer 36 is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the device of Cheng in such a way that a positive fixed charge layer 36 is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer as taught by Peidon because according to Peidon after deposition of a silicon oxide layer, the positive charge, which is generally inherently present, therein needs to be neutralized by negative charge [0027], furthermore Language in an apparatus or product claim directed to the function, operation, intent-of-use, and materials upon which the components of the structure work that does not structurally limit the components or patentably differentiate the claimed apparatus or product from an otherwise identical prior art structure will not support patentability. See, e.g., In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939-40 (CCPA 1963); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 663-64 (CCPA 1971); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 959 (CCPA 1973). The patentability of an apparatus claim depends only on the claimed structure, not on the use or purpose of that structure, Catalina Mktg. Int’l, Inc. v. Coolsavings.com, Inc., 289 F.3d 801, 809 (Fed. Cir. 2002), or the function or result of that structure. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 848 (CCPA 1959). Please also see M.P.E.P. 2114 [R-1].
The following italicized limitations of claim 2 lines 2-4 are understood to be functional (i.e. wherein a positive fixed charge layer is induced at a surface of the buried oxide layer contacting the oxide layer while negative carriers are trapped in the trap-rich layer): the limitation describes purpose, function, operation, or intent -of-use the backside warpage control structure. However, the claim does not disclose a sufficient structure which supports the function. Since Cheng in view of Peidous shows an identical structure as claimed, namely a buried oxide layer and trap rich layer including an oxide layer, the Examiner submits that the buried oxide layer and trap rich layer including an oxide layer is capable of producing the claimed results.
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the silicon on insulator (SOI) device according to claim 1.
Chen does not specify he silicon on insulator (SOI) device further comprising: radio frequency devices disposed in the top silicon layer.
Peidous discloses in Figs. 2 with associated text a device similar to that of Chen further comprising: radio frequency devices disposed in a top silicon layer 26.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form radio frequency devices similar to those of Peidous in the top silicon layer of Cheng because according to Cheng radio frequency devices are suitable on substrates with charge trapping layers [0012]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, in view of the teachings of Cheng and Peidous, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods to form radio frequency devices disposed in the top silicon layer with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897