Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I and species of Fig. 10, 12 in the reply filed on 3/23/26 is acknowledged. Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 cites that a tunnel body with an outboard passthrough fixed at the tunnel seat and coupled to the frame assembly by the rear panel to space a process chamber with a quad chamber arrangement from the frame assembly differently along a transfer extending through the tunnel seat than a process module having a single or a dual chamber arrangement using a singular equipment front-end module arrangement. However, it is unclear how the thing being compared in terms of spacing along a transfer extending through the tunnel seat, i.e. a process module having a single or a dual chamber arrangement using a singular equipment front-end module arrangement has a different spacing configuration with regards to the transfer, since there is no mention of any spacing correlations regarding the process module/singular eq front end module or in relation to a transfer extending through a tunnel seat with regards to the process module/singular eq front end module.
It is unclear if the process module and singular eq front end module even have a tunnel seat and transfer through it. Additionally, it is unclear how exactly the spacing is different, since details of the geometry, dimensions, etc of the spacing are unknown. Second, the claim cites, “one of (a) a plate body with an inboard passthrough and (b) a tunnel body…” However, it is unclear if the claim is requiring one or the other, at least one of the two or one of both, since citing “one of” suggests one or the other, but using the conjunction “and” suggests at least one of the two or both. Claims 2-4, 9, 10, 17 also cite, the transfer axis. However, this transfer axis was never introduced previously and it is unclear where this is located, what components are acting in relation to this axis and other frames of reference. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this language. Claim 17 also cites a load lock module then cites the load lock. It is unclear if they are the same are different and should be made consistent in language.
Claim 11 cites that the floor portion of the tunnel body slopes toward the flange portion at a greater angle than the ceiling portion of the tunnel body. However, it is unclear what is being compared since there is no mention of any angle regarding the ceiling portion (i.e. greater angle than angle of the ceiling portion and? Cannot compare angle to a structure). Claims 15, 16 also cite the perforated plate. However, this was not previously introduced and it is unclear where it came from and its relation with other structures. While claim 14 introduced it, claims 15, 16 do not depend on claim 14. Claim 17 recites EFEM; however, it is unclear what exactly this acronym is and should be clarified. Claim 17 also cites, coupled the load lock. Does this mean coupled to the load lock or something else? Claim 18 also cites, the process module. However, it is unclear if it is the process module (a) or (b) mentioned in claim 17. There is no clear evidence to point to which. Dependent claims 2-19 are also rejected by dependency to rejected claim 1, and claims 18-19 rejected by dependency to rejected claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (US 20080053957) in view of Wakabayashi2 (US 20080050924).
Regarding claim 1. Wakabayashi teaches in the drawings an equipment front-end module (LM loader module 50 [30-34]), comprising: a frame assembly (outer structure of 50 [33] forming at least a frame/outer rectangular casing surrounding at least load ports 51, fig. 2, commensurate to applicant’s 140, his fig. 2) with a load port seat (at least the bottom edges of openings 51a-c [34] fig. 2, and tables 70 [34] fig. 1, forming seats/lower surfaces capable of supporting at the load ports/openings 51a-c [34 40 44]) and a transfer robot seat (fig. 3, the widest plate supporting the robot arm 54 [34 44-48] above it); a fan filter unit (FFU 55 [33]) supported by the frame assembly (fig. 3, supported/held by walls of 50); but does not teach a controls box enclosing the fan filter unit and supported by the fan filter unit; However, Wakabayshi2 teaches in fig. 5 a controls box (housing 61 [57]) enclosing the fan filter unit (encloses the fan component of the FFU 60 fig. 5) and supported by the fan filter unit (fig. 5, 61 supported by/mounted on the filter component 60b of FFU 60). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of invention to modify Wakabayashi to add more structural protection for each component (fan and filter) of the FFU which would protect/encase each component, via said box/casings fig. 5, in case one or more of the components became loose.
Wakabayashi further teaches a rear panel (rear wall 57 [33] fig. 2) with a tunnel seat (the areas of 57 to which the edges/walls of funnel shaped hollow tunnel 60 fig. 1-3, commensurate to applicant’s 166 fig. 8, are attached/seated on, commensurate to applicant’s 154) fixed to the frame assembly (said parts of 57 are integrally fixed to/part of the frame/casing 50 fig. 1-3) and is separated from the load port seat by the transfer robot seat (fig. 1-3, said parts of 57 are in the rear of 50 which are separated/spaced from said load seats at the front of 50 by intervening spaces and elements between them, such as said seat of 54/51, fig. 1-3); and one of (a) a plate body with an inboard passthrough (eg the central part of 57 and is a plate/wall portion with opening 53 [33 39 48 49] that allows wafers to pass in and out) and (b) a tunnel body (said 60 forming a hollow triangular/tunnel structure, commensurate to applicant’s 166) with an outboard passthrough (the rear/wide opening of 60) fixed at the tunnel seat (as disc, fig. 1-3, the outer edges/side walls of the wide end of 60 attached to the seat/contact areas of 57)
and coupled to the frame assembly by the rear panel (fig. 1-3, as disc, 60 is connected to 50 via contact to 57) to space a process chamber (the entire 20+30a-d forming a processing chamber module) with a quad chamber arrangement (includes 4 chambers 30a-d) from the frame assembly (said 20+30a-d separated/spaced from 50 via 60 fig. 1) differently along a transfer extending through the tunnel seat (as disc, fig. 1-3 the spacing/separation of 20+30a-d from 50 is via a transfer/hollow space inside 60) than a process module having a single or a dual chamber arrangement using a singular equipment front-end module arrangement (this is no clear frame of reference/comparison to differentiate the spacing from Wakabayashi, as discussed in the 112 rejection above; further, any arbitrary/theoretical process module with at least one or two chambers and a single FEM arrangement with a different spacing arrangement, whether in shape and/or dimension would satisfy this, such as Figs. 10, 11).
Regarding claim 2. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, wherein the frame assembly comprises: an inboard floor joist arranged along the transfer axis (one of the arms 66 of 60, forming support ribs for at least receiving/inboarding wafers, fig. 1-3 that are connected to the floor of 60 and arranged along a vertical transfer axis along which arm 54 can place wafers into 66, fig. 3; all are connected as part of the extended casing assembly 50); an outboard floor joist (another arm 66 from which wafers can also be taken away/outboard via 54, fig. 3, also connected to floor of 60 and connected to 50) axially spaced apart from the inboard floor joist along the transfer axis (fig. 3, each 66 is vertically spaced apart along said vertical trfr axis), wherein the inboard floor joist and the outboard floor joist define the transfer robot seat (as disc, each defines a seat for the robot arm to receive/place the wafer); and a front-end substrate transfer robot fixed to the transfer robot seat (eg lifting mechanism 67 which can robotically/automatically lift the 66 [38] and fixed to the 66, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, wherein the frame assembly comprises: a first inboard post (eg one of posts 65, 81 fig. 3-5 [38 41] which are capable of inboarding as prev discussed and also opening valves to allow wafers to pass into chambers [41 42] fig. 1-5) laterally offset from the transfer axis (65 81 are laterally spaced from the vertical axis along the center of 66 in 60, fig. 1-5); a second inboard post (another one of the posts 65, 81) separated from the first inboard post by the transfer axis (fig. 1-5, esp fig. 1, 2, eg opposing posts 81 of G7, 8 with the 63/66 intervening between them and having the vert trfr axis), wherein the first inboard post and the second inboard post define the load port seat (each define valve element 80 fig. 4-5 which seats into the valve opening 42 fig. 5 for load/unloading wafers); and a load port fixed to the load port seat (as disc, 42 fixed to 80 when sealed).
Regarding claim 4. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, wherein the frame assembly comprises: a first outboard post laterally offset from the transfer axis (eg one of posts 65, 81 fig. 3-5 [38 41] which are capable of outboarding as prev discussed and also opening valves to allow wafers to pass into chambers [41 42] fig. 1-5, 65 81 are laterally spaced from the vertical axis along the center of 66 in 60, fig. 1-5); and a second outboard post separated from the first outboard post by the transfer axis (another one of the posts 65, 81, fig. 1-5, esp fig. 1, 2, eg opposing posts 81 of G7, 8 with the 63/66 intervening between them and having the vert trfr axis), the first outboard post and the second outboard post supporting the rear panel (all the posts 81 support the flat rear panel at the rear/bottom of 80, fig. 4, through which panel the 81 extends/holds up).
Regarding claim 5. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 4, wherein the plate body is fixed at the tunnel seat (as prev discussed, all the parts of 57 are fixed/connected integrally to each other, include the plate body and tunnel seat that are parts of 57) and coupled to the frame assembly by the rear panel (all the parts of 57 are connected to the rest of 50 via the outer edges of 57 connected directly to the rest of 50 fig. 1-3), wherein the transfer axis extends through the inboard passthrough defined by the plate body (the transfer axis of the wafer from robot arm 54 extends through the 53 for the lateral transfer, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 5, further comprising a load lock module (at least LL 40ab [41 42]) with a first front-end gate valve and a second front-end gate valve (at least gate valves G7 8 [41 42] at front ends of the 40ab fig. 1-3) arranged along the transfer axis (along the trfr axis through each of ports 42 which G7/8 close/open for wafer trfr) and abutting the plate body (fig. 2, G7/8 abut towards 57), wherein the first front-end gate valve and the second front-end gate valve are registered to the inboard passthrough (the term registering is very broad; both G7/8 are directly transfer-path connected to 53, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 4, wherein the tunnel body is fixed at the tunnel seat (as disc previously) and coupled to the frame assembly by the rear panel (as disc previously), wherein the transfer axis extends through the outboard passthrough defined by the tunnel body (the lateral/horizontal transfer direction extends through the back/big opening of 60, going thru 53 fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 7, further comprising a load lock module with a first front-end gate valve and a second front-end gate valve arranged along the transfer axis and abutting the plate body, wherein the first front-end gate valve and the second front-end gate valve are registered to the outboard passthrough (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 9. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, wherein the plate body comprises: a plate body fastener pattern (fig. 2, the area where 60 is fixed/fastened to the central part of 57 has a rectangular outline) extending about the inboard passthrough (fig. 2, said outline extends at ends near/about 53 and the wide end opening of 60); a plate body flange portion (top or bottom walls of 60 extending from 57 fig. 1-3) orthogonal relative to the plate body (bottom/top wall of 60 are normal to 57 fig. 3); a first plate body registration tab (the other of top/bottom of 60 forming a tab/flange extending from 57 and registered/associated w 60) laterally offset from the transfer axis (fig. 3, both top and bottom of 60 offset from the double headed lateral arrow near 54 for arm trfr) and between the plate body flange portion and the plate body fastener pattern (either top/bottom of 60 is between 57 and opposing edge of the other one of the top/bottom of 60 fig. 3); and a second plate body registration tab (a vertical side wall of 60) separated from the first plate body registration tab by the transfer axis (fig. 3, both sides of 60 separated from the top/bottom of 60 by internal transfer axis/horizontal in the diagonal direction), the second plate body registration tab between the plate body flange portion and the plate body fastener pattern (either sides of 60 is between 57 and opposing edge of the other one of the top/bottom of 60 fig. 3).
Regarding clam 10. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, wherein the tunnel body comprises: a flange portion (any one of the four side walls of 60 as prev disc, each an extended wall/flange section fig. 2-3) axially offset from a facia portion (the rectangular face/frame outer end edge of 60 fig. 2) defining the outboard passthrough (the outer wide frame end edges forming the wide end opening of 60 fig. 2); a ceiling portion (top wall of 60 fig. 2 3) extending axially along the transfer axis (extends along the longitudinal direction/along the lateral trfr axis fig. 2) and coupling the flange portion to the facia portion of the tunnel body (top wall of 60 connects at least two sidewalls of 60 to the top outer end edge of 60 fig. 2); and a floor portion (bottom of 60 fig. 2, 3) extending axially along the transfer axis (also extends along the longitudinal direction/along the lateral trfr axis fig. 2, 3) and coupling the flange portion to the facia portion (bottom wall of 60 connects at least two sidewalls of 60 to the bottom outer end edge of 60 fig. 2), the floor portion separated from the ceiling portion by the transfer axis (bottom and top walls of 60 separated at least in their central areas by the intervening lateral/horizontal trfr line/axis).
Regarding claim 11. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 10, wherein the ceiling portion is oblique relative to the transfer axis (fig. 3, the hatchings of the top of 60 is slanted relative to the horizontal trfr axis), wherein the floor portion is oblique relative to the transfer axis (same, hatchings of bottom of 60 slanted relative to the horizontal trfr axis), and wherein the floor portion of the tunnel body slopes toward the flange portion at a greater angle than the ceiling portion of the tunnel body (bottom of 60’s hatchings towards one side more than the top of 60, fig. 2, 3; further, it has been held that differences in relative dimensions did not render claims patentable, MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 10, wherein the flange portion comprises: an upper fastener plate parallel to the facia portion (side walls of 60 have upper portions that are fixing/fastening wall portions to the ceiling and vertical/parallel to connection/edge end portion also vertical to 57, fig. 2) and extending upwards from the ceiling portion of the tunnel body (as disc, fixes/connects rest of sidewall to ceiling fig. 2); a lower fastener plate (floor of 60 has edge portions that are fixing/fastening wall portions to the side walls of 60, fig. 2) orthogonal to the upper fastener plate (they are horizontal vs said vertical plate, fig. 2 3) and extending axially from the floor portion of the tunnel body (extends laterally from base of 60 fig. 2 3); a first tunnel body registration tab (parts of the obtusely angled side walls of 60 that is angled/closest to 57) laterally offset from the transfer axis (fig. 2, acute angle relative to lateral double head arrow thru 53) and separating the upper fastener plate from the lower fastener plate (fig. 2, forms entire side wall vertically separating the upper and lower fastener plates at opposite ends); and a second tunnel body registration tab (parts of the other obtusely angled side walls of 60 that is angled/closest to 57) separated from the first tunnel body registration tab by the transfer axis (they are opposing each other across the central trfr space/axis thru 60 fig. 2), the second tunnel body registration tab separating the upper fastener plate from the lower fastener plate (same/mirror of 1st tunnel body registration tab, fig. 2, thus vertically separating the upper and lower fastener plates at opposite ends).
Regarding claim 13. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 10, wherein the floor portion of the tunnel body intersects the rear panel below a transfer space defined within the equipment front-end module (fig. 2, 3 bottom of 60 hits the 57 at y position where transfer space in 50 exists eg double arrow near 54) to return purge circulated through the tunnel body (53 is open so any purge gas can freely flow thru 60 and back into 50) below substrates being transferred to and from the outboard passthrough defined by the tunnel body (wafer passing 53 has clearance below hence gas can flow below the w when transferred thru 53).
Regarding claim 14. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 1, further comprising a perforated plate (the filter is a flat/plate like element, fig. 3 and must be perforated/has openings in order to let the gas pass thru and be filtered) supported within the equipment front-end module (fig. 3, supported in the upper part of 50) between the fan filter unit and the transfer robot seat (the filter is between the fan/blades, which is part of the FFU, above it and wide plate attached to 54 below it fig. 3) to distribute a purge fluid within a transfer space within the frame assembly (air/purge gas is flown inside 50 that is used for transferring the wafer via 54 fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2, teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 13, wherein the tunnel body has a perforated plate extension (60 has one of the arms 63 which is a plate shape with a central opening) fixed within the tunnel body (fig. 2 3) and parallel to the transfer axis (fig. 2 3), wherein the perforated plate extension abuts the perforated plate supported within the equipment front-end module (fig. 2, 3, 63 abuts 50 supporting the filter/perforated plate).
Regarding claim 16. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the equipment front-end module of claim 13, wherein the plate body abuts the perforated plate supported within the equipment front-end module in the tunnel seat (fig. 3, 57 abuts the filter/attached to it in 50, wherein 57 is part of said tunnel seat as prev discussed).
Regarding claim 17. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches a semiconductor processing system (the entire apparatus shown in fig. 1, used to process semiconductor wafer [2 30]), comprising: an equipment front-end module as recited in claim 1 (see claim 1), further comprising a perforated plate supported within the equipment front-end module between the fan filter unit and the transfer robot seat to distribute a purge fluid within the EFEM (see claim 14); a load lock module axially spaced apart from the equipment front-end module along the transfer axis (LL 40a,b spaced form 50 along a trfr axis going thru the gate valves G7/8 fig. 1-3 in the lateral/horizon dxn); and one of (a) a process module having a dual chamber arrangement (this is true since the process module 20+30a-d has at least two processing wafer chambers 30) and (b) a process module having a quad chamber arrangement coupled the load lock and therethrough to the equipment front-end module (this is also true since 20+30a-d has at least 4 chambers/eg 30a-d, coupled at least indirectly to LL 40ab further indirectly to 50 via the LL fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the semiconductor processing system of claim 17, wherein the plate body is fixed at the tunnel seat (as prev discussed, the central part of 57 is fixed/integral to the tunnel seat/attachment areas to 60 since they are all part of 57) and supported therethrough by the rear panel (the central part of 57 is held by the rest/entirety of 57 since they are all part of the entire 57 as prev discussed), wherein the plate body abuts the perforated plate in the tunnel seat (57 abuts the filter/perf plate in the area of attachment of 57 to 60 fig. 2 3), and wherein the process module is coupled to the load lock module (as disc in claim 17 eg at 30a-d coupled to LL 40ab) and therethrough to the equipment front-end module (see claim 17, indirectly coup to 50 via LL).
Regarding claim 19. Wakabayashi in view of Wakabayashi2 teaches the semiconductor processing system of claim 17, wherein the tunnel body is fixed at the tunnel seat and supported therethrough by the rear panel (fig. 1-3, 60 is fixed to the attachment area on 57 and held by 57), wherein the tunnel body includes a perforated plate extension fixed therein (see claim 15) and abutting the perforated plate (claim 15) within the tunnel seat (the fan is held in the area of the attachment to 60/57 fig. 2 3), and wherein the process module having the quad chamber arrangement is coupled to the load lock module (claim 17) and therethrough to the equipment front-end module (claim 17).
Conclusion
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718