DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I, Species I (FIGs. 4A-4B), Subspecies A (FIG. 3B), and Subspecies X (FIG. 1I), encompassing claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 21-25, in the reply filed on 3/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 10, and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 14, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 reciting “disposing a surface-mounted device over the package” renders the claim indefinite for lacking antecedent basis. It is unclear what is referred to by “the package”. In case “the package” refers to the “package structure”, it unclear how does the surface-mounted device which is recited as a constituent component of the package structure be disposed over the package structure.
Claims 14 and 22 reciting “opening partially exposing the first adhesive ring” render the claims in definite. It is unclear how does the “opening” relates to the “through-hole” previously recited in respective claims 11 and 21. It is unclear if the “opening” is intended to be different or the same as the “through-hole”. Applicant’s disclosure does not describe “an opening” that is different and separate from “through-hole” in the adhesive structure.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11-12, 14, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsao et al. US 20090108429 A1 (Tsao).
In re claim 1, Tao discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2-6) a method for forming a package structure, comprising:
disposing a chip-containing structure 30 over a substrate 32;
disposing a thermal conductive element 40 over the chip-containing structure 30;
forming a first adhesive element (lower portion of 50, no specific “adhesive element” claimed that would structurally distinguish over Tao’s spacer 50 that is bonding together 32 and 38) over the substrate 32, wherein the first adhesive element (lower portion of 50) laterally surrounds the chip-containing structure 30 (see FIGs. 4-5);
forming a second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) over the first adhesive element (lower portion of 50), wherein the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) laterally surrounds the thermal conductive element 40 (see FIGs. 4-5); and
disposing a heat dissipation structure 38 over the chip-containing structure 30, wherein the heat dissipation structure 38, the substrate 32, the first adhesive element (lower portion of 50), and the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) together surround a first space containing the chip-containing structure 30, and at least one of the first adhesive element (lower portion of 50) and the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) has a through-hole (see FIG. 5B, gap between upper portion of 50) connecting the first space (space surrounded within 50) to a second space (space outside 50) outside of the first space.
In re claim 4, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 5B) wherein the first adhesive element (lower portion of 50) is a continuous ring laterally surrounding a lower portion of the chip-containing structure 30 (portion with height H2 is a ring, ¶ 28), wherein the through-hole (gaps in upper portion of 50) is in the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50).
In re claim 5, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 5B) wherein the through-hole (gaps in upper portion of 50) is in a sidewall of the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50).
In re claim 7, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 5B) wherein the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) further has a second through-hole (plural gaps in upper portion of 50) connecting the first space (space surrounded within 50) to the second space (space outside 50).
In re claim 8, Tsao discloses (FIG. 2) wherein the disposing of the heat dissipation structure 38 comprises pressing the heat dissipation structure 38 against the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) and the thermal conductive element 40 at an elevated temperature (force applied after heat sink 38 is mounted, then thermal-set TIM 40 is cured, ¶ 34; no specific “elevated temperature” has been claimed that would distinguish over the temperature at which the thermal-set material 40 is cured at).
In re claim 11, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2-6) a method for forming a package structure, comprising:
disposing a chip-containing structure 30 over a substrate 32; and
attaching a heat dissipation structure 38 to the substrate 32 through an adhesive structure 50 (no specific “adhesive structure” claimed that would structurally distinguish over Tao’s spacer 50 that is bonding together 32 and 38), wherein the heat dissipation structure 38, the substrate 32, and the adhesive structure 50 together surround a first space containing the chip-containing structure 30, and the adhesive structure 50 has a through-hole (see FIG. 5B, gap between upper portion of 50) connecting the first space (space surrounded within 50) to a second space (space outside 50) outside of the first space.
In re claim 12, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 2) wherein the adhesive structure 50 is formed over the substrate 32 before the heat dissipation structure 38 is attached to the substrate 32 (50 are assembled on the substrate 32 first, ¶ 31).
In re claim 14, as best understood, Tsao (FIGs. 2 & 5B) wherein the formation of the adhesive structure 50comprises:
dispensing (understood to mean distributing of element onto a surface) a first adhesive ring (see FIG. 5B, lower portion of 50 with height H2 is a ring, ¶ 28) over the substrate 32, wherein the first adhesive ring (lower ring portion of 50, see FIG. 5B) laterally and continuously surrounds a lower portion of the chip-containing structure 30; and
dispensing (distributing onto a surface) a second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) over the first adhesive ring (lower portion of 50), wherein the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) defines “an opening” (gaps in upper portion of 50) partially exposing the first adhesive ring (lower portion of 50).
In re claim 21, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2-6) a method for forming a package structure, comprising:
disposing a chip-containing structure 30 over a substrate 32; and
attaching a heat dissipation structure 38 to the substrate 32 through an adhesive structure 50 (no specific “adhesive structure” claimed that would structurally distinguish over Tao’s spacer 50 that is bonding together 32 and 38), wherein the adhesive structure 50 laterally surrounds the chip-containing structure 30, and the adhesive structure 50 (see FIG. 5B) has a through-hole (gap between upper portion of 50) penetrating through opposite edges of the adhesive structure 50.
In re claim 22, as best understood, Tsao (FIGs. 2 & 5B) wherein the formation of the adhesive structure 50 comprises:
dispensing (understood to mean distributing of element onto a surface) a first adhesive ring (see FIG. 5B, lower portion of 50 with height H2 is a ring, ¶ 28) over the substrate 32, wherein the first adhesive ring (lower ring portion of 50, see FIG. 5B) laterally surrounds a lower portion of the chip-containing structure 30; and
dispensing (distributing onto a surface) a second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) over the first adhesive ring (lower portion of 50), wherein the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) defines at least one “opening” (gaps in upper portion of 50) partially exposing the first adhesive ring (lower portion of 50).
In re claim 23, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 5B) wherein the second adhesive element (upper portion of 50) further has a second through-hole (plural gaps in upper portion of 50).
In re claim 24, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 5B) wherein the first adhesive ring (lower portion of 50) continuously surrounds the lower portion of the chip-containing structure 30 (portion with height H2 is a ring, ¶ 28).
In re claim 25, Tsao discloses (e.g. FIG. 2) further comprising:
disposing a thermal conductive element 40 over the chip-containing structure 30 before the heat dissipation structure 38 is attached (¶ 33-34), wherein the adhesive structure 50 laterally surrounds the thermal conductive element 40 after the heat dissipation structure 38 is attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Lin et al. US 2018/0342466 A1 (Lin).
In re claim 2, Tsao discloses the package structure including the chip-containing structure 30 surrounded by the adhesive element 50 over the substrate 32. Tsao does not explicitly disclose disposing a surface-mounted device over “the package” (substrate 32, as best understood), wherein the first adhesive element 50 is between the surface-mounted device and the chip-containing structure 30.
However, Lin discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5-6) a method for forming a package structure, comprising disposing a chip-containing structure 20 over a substrate 10; forming a first adhesive element 30 over the substrate that laterally surrounds the chip-containing structure 20; disposing a heat dissipation structure 46 over the chip-containing structure 20, wherein the heat dissipation structure 46, the substrate 10, the first adhesive element 30 together surround a first space containing the chip-containing structure 20, and disposing a surface-mounted device 28 over “the package” (substrate 10, as best understood), wherein the first adhesive element 30 is between the surface-mounted device 28 and the chip-containing structure 20 (see FIGs. 6C-6D). Lin teaches surface mounting passive device 28 on the substrate for incorporate additional functions to the device package (¶ 29) and the surface-mounted device 28 are provided outside the ring structure 30 to protect from underfill creepage (¶ 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide additional surface-mounted device over Tsao’s substrate 32 outside the ring structure 50, such that the ring structure 50 is between the surface-mounted device and the inner chip-containing structure 30 as taught by Lin for the purpose of incorporating additional functions to the packaged device. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification. Finally, the modification achieves the predictable result of providing additional device functions while ensuring the additional surface-mounted device are protected by the intermediate ring structure as taught by Lin.
In re claim 3, Lin discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5-6) further comprising:
forming a third adhesive element 40 (including 40 and 14 under 40) over the substrate 10, wherein the surface-mounted device 28 is between the first adhesive element 30 and the third adhesive element 40, and the third adhesive element 40 adhere the heat dissipation structure 46 to the substrate 10 (see FIG. 5).
In re claim 15, Lin discloses (e.g. FIGs. 5-6) further comprising:
bonding a surface-mounted device 28 to the substrate 30 before the heat dissipation structure 46 is attached to the substrate 10 (see FIG. 6D, ¶ 34), wherein the adhesive structure 30 is between the surface-mounted device 28 and the chip-containing structure 20.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ho et al. US 2015/0187679 A1 (Ho).
In re claim 9, Tsao discloses the package structure including the thermal conductive element 40 (TIM) between the heat dissipation structure 38 and the chip-containing structure 30.
Tsao does not explicitly teach the heat dissipation structure has at least one trench, and a portion of the thermal conductive element extends into the at least one trench after the disposing of the heat dissipation structure.
However, Ho teaches (e.g. FIG. 2) a method of forming a package structure comprising disposing a thermal conductive element 28’ between a chip-containing structure 12 and a heat dissipation structure 24’ (may also include heat sink 40 shown in FIG. 1A), wherein the heat dissipation structure 24’ has at least one trench 25 (see FIGs 2A-2C), and a portion of the thermal conductive element 28’ extends into the at least one trench 25 after the disposing of the heat dissipation structure 24’ over the chip-containing structure 12. Ho teaches the trenches 25 increases the contact surface area between the TIM 28’ and the heat dissipation lid 24’, thereby increasing heat dissipation efficiency (¶ 27).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that heat dissipation structure can be modified to include trenches for the purpose of increasing contact surface area with the TIM. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out the modification. Finally, the modification achieves the predictable result of increasing heat dissipation efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tsao’s heat dissipation structure 38 to include trenches as taught by Ho according to known methods to yield the predictable result of improving heat dissipation efficiency by increasing contact surface area between the TIM and the heat dissipation structure as taught by Ho.
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896