Notice of Final Rejection
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In the present context, applicant argues that Koshimizu does not teach or suggest the emphasized feature, “Controller configured to generate an impedance control signal to control an impedance between the power source and the load, the atleast one controller further configured to generate the impedance control signal in response to a pulsed DC output signa from second power source.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Applicant’ depends on paragraph [0057] o mainly and variable DC power supply 50 and continues arguments only on paragraph [0057]. Even though rejection depends on Fig 1, Fig 3 paragraphs [0059] [0057] [0073]. Also, in the conclusion of the office action it was clearly mentioned paragraph 35 of previous office action (dated 08/06/2025) page 11, that applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
However, Fig 1/Fig 2 or Fig 3 or Fig 5 of instant application teaches different ways to control the plasma processing. However, to avoid piece meal prosecution examiner has applied the best reference possible.
Applicant conveniently pick and choose the paragraphs to defend his statements. Hence, applicant’s arguments are moot and clarity is provided in the present rejection. Examiner is using the same reference and sticking to the same 35 USC 102 (a) (1) rejection using US 2021-0327681 A1 by Koshimizu et al (Koshimizu).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by US2021-0327681 A1 by Koshimizu et al (Koshimizu).
Referring to claim 1 Koshimizu teaches:
A RF generator (Fig 1 item 1 RF plasma generator ( paragraphs [0057] -[0059] ) comprising: a power source ( Fig 2A that outputs a time- varying signal to a load (see at least one controller (Fig 1 item 200 controller [0064]) coupled to the power source (See paragraphs [0059]), the at least one controller (item 200) configured to generate an impedance control signal to control an impedance between the power source and the load (See paragraphs [0058] –[0059] where Koshimizu teaches that controller is coupled via matching unit 46 to power supplies 48, 90, which is configured to generate a signal in response to HF/LF power having a Low Frequency RF power supply 48 for assisting the matching units and a load impedance with each other and load), the at least one controller (200) further configured to generate the impedance control signal in response to a pulsed DC output signal from a second power source (See paragraph [0058] , [0059], [0064] [0073]).
Referring to the claim 2 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1, wherein pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, and the impedance control signal varies in accordance with at least one of the plurality of half cycles (See controller 200 transmits a signal to HF RF power supply and varies a frequency of HF power so as to assist a matching unit 88 that is configured to match an internal impedance of the LF RF power supply within a load impedance by adjusting an inductance and a capacitance see paragraphs [0059]-[0073] and also [0136] and claims 1-4 and Fig 1-3).
Referring to the claim 3 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1, wherein the impedance control signal varies at least one of a frequency of the time- varying signal or an actuator command to a matching network. (see Fig 1-3 and paragraphs [0058] - [0071] claims 1-4).
Referring to the claim 4 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 3, wherein the actuator command varies elements of a matching network, including at least one reactive element. (see Fig 1-3 and paragraphs [0058] - [0071] claims 1-4).
Referring to the claim 5 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1, wherein the pulsed DC output signal includes a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, and wherein the impedance control signal controls the impedance over the negative half cycle. (See Fig 1-3 and [0059]-[0071])
Referring to the claim 6 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 5, wherein the negative half cycle has a duration longer than the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and paragraphs [0073] -[0099]).
Referring to the claim 7 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1, wherein pulsed DC output signal includes a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, and wherein the impedance control signal commands a first frequency of the time-varying signal during at least a portion of the negative half cycle. (See Fig 1-3 paragraphs [0087] [0136]-[0138] claim1 )
Referring to the claim 8 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 7, wherein the impedance control signal commands a second frequency of the time-varying signal during at least a portion of the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-3 paragraphs [0087] [0136]-[0138] claim1 ).
Referring to the claim 9 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 7, wherein the negative half cycle has a duration longer than the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and paragraphs [0073] -[0099]).
Referring to the claim 10 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1, wherein the pulsed DC output signal is modulated by an envelope signal including a plurality of states, and wherein the at least one controller includes a first impedance tuner configured to determine the impedance control signal for a first of the plurality of states and the at least one controller includes a second impedance tuner configured to determine the impedance control signal for a second of the plurality of states. (See paragraphs [0087] [0172] claims 1-4 and Fig 1-4C and 15A=D).
Referring to the claim 11 Koshimizu teaches the RF generator of claim 1 wherein the impedance control signal varies a frequency of the time-varying signal using frequency hopping over a plurality of bins over at least a portion of the pulsed DC output signal. (See paragraphs [0087] -[0106] claims 1-4 Fig 1-4C).
Referring to the claim 12 Koshimizu teaches; A controller (Fig 1 item 200 paragraph [0058]) for a power generator (item 90+48 RF power supply) comprising: an impedance tuner (item 88+46 matching units see paragraphs [0058], [0059] [0064]) coupled to a power source (item 90+88) that outputs a time-varying signal to a load (See Fig 3 and paragraph [0073]), the impedance tuner (88+46) configured to generate an impedance control signal to control an impedance match between the power source and the load (See paragraph [0058 and [0059], the impedance tuner further configured to generate the impedance control signal in response to a pulsed DC output signal from a second power source (See paragraph [0057] and Fig 3 and paragraph [0073]).
Referring to the claim 13 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, and the impedance control signal varies in accordance with at least one of the plurality of half cycles. (See controller 200 transmits a signal to HF RF power supply and varies a frequency of HF power so as to assist a matching unit 88 that is configured to match an internal impedance of the LF RF power supply within a load impedance by adjusting an inductance and a capacitance see paragraphs [0059]-[0071] and also [0136] and claims 1-4 and Fig 1-3).
Referring to the claim 14 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12, wherein the impedance control signal varies at least one of a frequency of the time-varying signal or an actuator command to a matching network. (see Fig 1-3 and paragraphs [0059] - [0071] claims 1-4).
Referring to the claim 15 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 14, wherein the actuator command varies elements of a matching network, including at least one reactive element. (see Fig 1-3 and paragraphs [0059] - [0071] claims 1-4).
Referring to the claim 16 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, and wherein the impedance control signal controls the impedance match over the negative half cycle and does not control the impedance match over the positive half cycle. (See Paragraphs [0073] [0087], [0136] -[0138] and Fig 1-3).
Referring to the claim 17 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 16, wherein the negative half cycle has a duration longer than the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and paragraphs [0073] -[0099]).
Referring to the claim 18 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, and wherein the impedance control signal commands a first frequency of the time-varying signal during at least a portion of the negative half cycle. (See Fig 1-3 paragraphs [0087] [0136]-[0138] claim1).
Referring to the claim 19 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 18, wherein the impedance control signal commands a second frequency of the time-varying signal during at least a portion of the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-3 paragraphs [0087] [0136]- [0138] claim1).
Referring to the claim 20 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 18, wherein the negative half cycle has a duration longer than the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and paragraphs [0073] -[0099]).
Referring to the claim 21 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, and wherein the impedance tuner includes a first tuner configured to determine the impedance control signal for a first of the plurality of half cycles and the impedance tuner includes a second tuner configured to determine the impedance control signal for a second of the plurality of half cycles (See Fig 1-4C and 15A-D and paragraphs [0073], [0087] and [0172]).
Referring to the claim 22 Koshimizu teaches the controller of claim 12 wherein the impedance control signal varies a frequency of the time-varying signal using frequency hopping over a plurality of bins over at least a portion of the pulsed DC output signal. (See an LF/HF power generated from a RF power supply includes a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle and a signal generated from a controller 200 for impedance matching of another DC power source connected to upper electrode and a portion of the pulsed DC cycle signal paragraphs [0087]-[0106]).
Referring to the claim 23 Koshimizu teaches A non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions, the instructions comprising (See paragraph [0064] claim 33 of Koshimizu): controlling an impedance tuner coupled to a power source that outputs a RF signal to a load (See paragraphs [0058], [0059]); generating an impedance control signal to control an impedance match between the power source and the load (See [0065] [0066]); and generating the impedance control signal in response to a pulsed DC output signal from a second power source (See paragraph [0073]).
Referring to the claim 24 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions of claim 23, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, the instructions comprising: varying the impedance control signal in accordance with at least one of the plurality of half cycles. ( see Fig 1-3, paragraphs [0059]-[0071] and also [0136] and claims 1-4).
Referring to the claim 25 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 23, the instructions comprising: varying at least one of a frequency of the RF signal or an actuator command to a matching network, wherein varying elements of a matching network, including at least one reactive element. ( see Fig 1-3, paragraphs [0059]-[0071] and also [0136] and claims 1-4). .
Referring to the claim 26 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 23, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, the instructions comprising: controlling an impedance over the negative half cycle and not controlling the impedance in over the positive half cycle. (See Paragraphs [0073] [0087], [0136]-[0138] and Fig 1-3).
Referring to the claim 27 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles, including a negative half cycle and a positive half cycle, the instructions comprising: controlling a first frequency of the RF signal during at least a portion of the negative half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and 15A-D and paragraphs [0073], [0087] and [0172] teaches controlling RF signals)
Referring to the claim 28 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 27, the instructions comprising: controlling a second frequency of the RF signal during at least a portion of the positive half cycle. (See Fig 1-4C and 15A- D and paragraphs [0073], [0087] and [0172] teaches controlling a second frequency).
Referring to the claim 29 Koshimizu teaches the non-transitory computer- readable medium of claim 23, wherein the pulsed DC output signal has a plurality of half cycles (See Fig 1, 3-4C and 15 A-D) , the instructions comprising: determining the impedance control signal for a first of the plurality of half cycles (See Fig 3-4C and paragraph [0087]); and determining the impedance control signal for a second of the plurality of half cycles (See 15A-D where two or more states indicates the adjusting the impedance to load signal for a impedance match paragraph [0172] and claims 1-4).
Conclusion
Claims 1-29 are rejected
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SRINIVAS . SATHIRAJU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2844