Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 29, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 8, 13, 16, 21, & 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 3 & 16, “wherein said a first terminal”, in line 1, should read “wherein said first terminal”, “said first reference power supply supplies”, in ll. 2-3, should read “said first reference power supply, supplies”, and “said second reference voltage source supplies”, in ll. 5-6, should read “said second reference voltage source, supplies”.
In claims 8 & 21, “and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are greater than or smaller”, in ll. 2-3, should read “and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element, are greater than or smaller”.
In claims 13 & 26, “said amplifier circuit receivers said sensing signal”, in ll. 1-2, should read “said amplifier circuit receives said sensing signal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 14, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 110286787 A, Pub. Date Sept. 27, 2019, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding independent claim 1, Wu, teaches:
A sensing device, comprising (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]: capacitive touch device 1 constitutes a sensing device):
a sensing circuit, generating a sensing signal ([0032]-[0034]: touch panel 13 containing detection electrodes 131 (sensing circuitry) that generate sensing signals based on self-capacitance Cs);
an analog-front-end (AFE) circuit, coupled to said sensing circuit and receiving said sensing signal ([0034]-[0036]: analog front end 15 coupled to the detection electrodes via the input pins); and
a noise compensation circuit, coupled to said sensing circuit and said AFE circuit ([0036]-[0037]: combination of the analog circuit 150 that includes analog front end 15 (AFE circuit), programmable filter 151 (sensing path/circuit) and subtraction circuit 152 (noise compensation circuit)), including a first filtering element, a second filtering element, and an operation element ([0036]-[0037]: first filtering element (programmable filter 151), second filtering element (analog circuit 150), operation element (subtraction element 152)), said first filtering element generating a first filtered signal according to a corresponding sensing reference signal of said sensing signal (Figs. 2, 3, & 4A-4B; [0011], [0034]-[0036], & [0042]: the first filtering circuit 151 generating the detection signal So1 (first filtered signal) from the sensing electrode input, reference signal Sd, which drives the sensing circuit), said second filtering element generating a second filtered signal according to an analog reference signal (Figs. 2, 3, & 4A-4B; [Abstract], [0011], [0034]-[0035], [0037], & [0039]: the analog circuit 150 (second filter) generating reference signal Sref (second filtered signal) from the drive signal Sd (analog reference)), said operation element generating a noise compensation signal according to said first filtered signal and said second filtered signal ([0037]: the subtraction circuit 152 generating the differential detection signal Sdiff (noise compensation signal) by performing a differential operation on So1 and Sref), and said AFE circuit compensating said sensing signal according to said noise compensation signal (Fig. 4A; [0039]-[0040]: AFE uses the resulting differential signal Sdiff (which has the noise/offset removed) as the compensated signal for subsequent downstream processing (e.g., Gain, ADC), where the cancellation value reduces the capacitor size requirement).
Regarding dependent claims 5 & 18, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said analog reference signal corresponds to an operating voltage of said AFE circuit (Figs. 1 & 3; [0011], [0032], & [0034]-[0035]: the drive signal Sd (analog reference signal) generated by the drive circuit 11, which corresponds to the supply voltage (operating voltage) of the control chip 100 containing the analog front end 15, discloses the drive circuit and AFE are part of the same control chip 100, the drive circuit generates the drive signal Sd to stimulate the panel).
Regarding independent claim 14, Wu, teaches:
A sensing device (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]: capacitive touch device 1 constitutes a sensing device), coupled to a sensing circuit ([0032]-[0036]: touch panel 13 containing detection electrodes 131 (sensing circuitry), the control chip 100 is coupled to the touch panel 13 and the programmable filter 151) and a first filtering element ([0032]-[0036]: first filtering element (programmable filter 151)), said sensing circuit generating a sensing signal ([0032]-[0034]: touch panel 13 containing detection electrodes 131 (sensing circuitry) that generate sensing signals based on self-capacitance Cs), said first filtering element coupled to said sensing circuit and generating a first filtered signal according to a corresponding sensing reference signal of said sensing signal (Figs. 2, 3, & 4A-4B; [0011], [0034]-[0036], [0042]: the first filtering circuit 151 generating coupled to the electrodes, generate the detection signal So1 (first filtered signal) from the sensing electrode input, reference signal Sd, which drives the sensing circuit), and comprising:
an analog-front-end (AFE) circuit, coupled to said sensing circuit and receiving said sensing signal ([0034]-[0036]: analog front end 15 coupled to the detection electrodes via the input pins); a second filtering element ([0036]-[0037]: second filtering element (analog circuit 150), generating a second filtered signal according to an analog reference signal corresponding to said AFE circuit (Figs. 2, 3, & 4A-4B; [Abstract], [0011], [0034]-[0035], [0037], & [0039]: the analog circuit 150 (second filter) generating reference signal Sref (second filtered signal) from the drive signal Sd (analog reference), which is the operating signal of the AFE); and
an operation element ([0036]-[0037]: operation element (subtraction element 152)), coupled to said first filtering element, said second filtering element, and said AFE circuit ([0036]-[0037]: subtraction element 152 (operation element) is coupled to the programmable filter 151 (first filtering element), the analog circuit 150 (second filtering element) and is part of the AFE circuitry), generating a noise compensation signal according to said first filtered signal and said second filtered signal ([0037]: the subtraction circuit 152 generating the differential detection signal Sdiff (noise compensation signal) by performing a differential operation on So1 and Sref), and said AFE circuit compensating said sensing signal according to said noise compensation signal (Fig. 4A; [0039]-[0040]: AFE uses the resulting differential signal Sdiff (which has the noise/offset removed) as the compensated signal for subsequent downstream processing (e.g., Gain, ADC), where the cancellation value reduces the capacitor size requirement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Chang (US 2019/0196652 A1, Pub. Date Jun. 27, 2019, hereinafter Chang).
Regarding dependent claims 2 & 15, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claim 1 and 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said first filtering element and said second filtering element ([0043] & [0045]-[0046]: discloses the analog circuit (second filter) is an estimation of the first filter, their parameters, RC values, are not identical, resulting in a frequency difference between their pole frequencies (cutoff frequencies))
Wu, is silent in regard to:
have different cutoff frequencies.
However, Chang, further teaches:
have different cutoff frequencies (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches a sensing AFE with multiple filters (AAF 122 and Comb 124) configured to have distinct frequency responses/bandwidths (different cutoffs) to optimize signal processing, Fig. 5 shows the AAF bandwidth (solid line) and Comb Filter response (dashed line) having different frequency profiles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify and design Wu’s parallel filters with different cutoff frequencies, as taught by Chang’s multi-stage approach, to optimize and improve the noise cancellation performance, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claims 6 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Yang (US 2023/0400946 A1, Fil. Date Jan. 4, 2023, hereinafter Yang), and further in view of Chang.
Regarding dependent claims 6 & 19, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said first filtering element is a first high-pass filtering element ([0036]: discloses that the first filtering circuit (formed by input resistor, amp, and self-capacitance) can be a high-pass filter (HPF))
Wu, is silent in regard to:
and said second filtering element is a second low-pass filtering element;
However, Yang, further teaches:
and said second filtering element is a second low-pass filtering element ([0021]: teaches determining noise using filtering circuit 223 that is specifically a low-pass filter (LPF) to remove high-frequency touch signals);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s reference path (second filter) to be a low-pass filter as taught by Yang (to extract low-frequency noise), to separate the noise (low frequency) from the touch signal (high frequency), optimizing and improving the noise cancellation performance, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Wu, in combination with Yang, are silent in regard to:
and a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a second cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
and a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a second cutoff frequency of said second filtering element (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches designing filters with different cutoff frequencies (preset bandwidths) for signal optimization).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s reference path (second filter) to be a low-pass filter, as taught by Yang (to extract low-frequency noise), using parallel filters with different cutoff frequencies, as taught by Chang’s multi-stage approach, teaching designing filters with different cutoff frequencies for signal optimization(f1>f2), to ensure the high-frequency touch signal passed by the first filter is effectively blocked by the second filter, optimizing and improving the noise cancellation performance, Wu establishes the first filter is a HPF (passing high frequencies), Yang establishes the second filter is a LPF (passing low frequencies and cutting off high frequencies), arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Claims 7, 9-10, 20, & 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lin (TW 201917550 A, Pub. Date May 1, 2019, hereinafter Lin), and further in view of Chang.
Regarding dependent claims 7 & 20, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), and said second filtering element is a second high-pass filtering element ([0036]-[0037]: discloses that the filtering circuits in the device can be a high-pass filter (HPF), retaining this teaching for the second element to create the claimed symmetry);
Wu, is silent in regard to:
wherein said first filtering element is a first low-pass filtering element
However, Lin, further teaches:
wherein said first filtering element is a first low-pass filtering element (Figs.1A & 4; [Pg. 9, ll. 8-24]: teaches using a low-pass filter (LPF) in the sensing path (composed of RC) to filter signals)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a band-pass filter for the sensing path, as taught by Wu, to isolate the specific driving frequency, use a low-pass filter for the reference path, as taught by Lin, to establish a stable DC/low-frequency baseline reference, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious (KSR).
Wu, in combination with Lin, are silent in regard to:
and a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a second cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
and a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a second cutoff frequency of said second filtering element (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches designing filters with specific distinct bandwidths (cutoff frequencies), demonstrates setting cutoff 1 (e.g., 1 MHz) < cutoff 2 (e.g., 2.4 MHz), if the first element is LPF (passing low freq. e.g., < 1 MHz per Chang) and the second element is a HPF (passing high freq.), the LPF cutoff f1, is designed to be smaller than the HPF cutoff f2 to separate the signal band from the noise band).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the first filtering element (sensing) as a low-pass filter, as taught by Lin, to pass the low-frequency touch signal, configure the second filtering element (reference) as a high-pass filter, as taught by Wu, to isolate high-frequency noise or interference for compensation, and design the first cutoff frequency (f1) to be smaller than the second cutoff frequency (f2), in view of Chang, ensuring that the low-frequency signal band (passed by the LPF) does not overlap with the high-frequency noise band (passed by the HPF), Wu further discloses the basic first filtering element (sensing path) and second filtering element (reference path) structure, teaching that filters can be high-pass filters, Lin discloses a capacitive sensing circuit where the filtering elements are low-pass filters composed of resistors and capacitors, providing the motivation to modify Wu’s sensing path to use a LPF, to capture low-frequency touch signals instead of HPF, Chang discloses signal processing circuits using multiple filters with different distinct cutoff frequencies/bandwidths (e.g., 0-1MHz vs. 2.4 MHz) to optimize signal separation, supports the limitation of designing the system such that the first cutoff LPF is smaller than the second cutoff (HPF), therefore, arriving to the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR), since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routing skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding dependent claims 9 & 22, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said first filtering element is a first bandpass filtering element ([0036]: discloses that the filtering circuit 151 can be a band-pass filter (BPF))
Wu, is silent in regard to:
and said second filtering element is a second low-pass filtering element;
However, Lin, further teaches:
and said second filtering element is a second low-pass filtering element (Figs.1A & 4; [Pg. 9, ll. 8-24]: teaches using low-pass filters (LPF) in sensing/reference paths);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement Lin’s first LPF in the reference path to filter out high-frequency noise and capture stable baseline data, and to establish a stable DC/low-frequency baseline reference, and using a band-pass filter for the sensing, as taught by Wu, to isolate the specific driving frequency, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to employ/use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, products) in the same way is obvious (KSR).
Wu, in combination with Lin, are silent in regard to:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are greater than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are greater than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., Band A vs Band B) and demonstrates operating different filters at different frequency ranges).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a band-pass filter for sensing path, as taught by Wu, to isolate the specific driving frequency, use a low-pass filter for the reference path, as taught by Lin, to establish a stable DC/Low-frequency baseline reference, and design the filters such that the band-pass cutoffs (signal band) are greater than the low-pass cutoff (noise/baseline band), in view of Change, thereby effectively separating the high-frequency signal from the low-frequency signal, where a BPF (first element) has a first cutoff (lower) and a second cutoff (upper), an LPF (second element) has a third cutoff (upper limit of low band), and Chang provides the engineering motivation to design these filters with specific, non-overlapping bandwidths, therefore if the first filtering element (BPF) is designed to pass the high-frequency drive signal (e.g., 100 kHz – 2—kHz) and the second element (LPF) is designed to pass low-frequency baseline noise (e.g., 0Hz – 10 kHz), then inherently both cutoff frequencies of the BPF (100 kHz and 200 kHz) are greater than the cutoff frequency of the LPF (10 kHz), satisfying the claim limitation. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art, the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000). See also In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988), Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985), and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Regarding dependent claims 10 & 23, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said first filtering element is a first bandpass filtering element ([0036]: discloses that the first filtering circuit 151 can be configured as a band-pass filter (BPF) to process the sensing signal) and said second filtering element is a second high-pass filtering element ([0037]: discloses the second filtering circuit 150 can be a high-pass filter circuit);
Wu, in combination with Lin, are silent in regard to:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are smaller than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are smaller than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., 0-1 MHz vs 2.4 MHz), and demonstrates the principle of operating a first filter at a lower frequency range than a second filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the first filtering element as a band-pass filter, to select the specific driving signal band and the second filtering element as a high-pass filter, to monitor high- frequency noise/interference, as taught by Wu, applying Chang’s teaching to Wu by tuning the first BPF to the driving signal frequency (e.g., 100 kHz) and the second HPF to a high-frequency noise band (e.g., > 1 MHz) to allow for noise compensation without cancelling the signal, furthermore, in view of Chang, would be obvious to design these filters such that the band-pass filter band is lower in frequency than the high-pass noise band, satisfying the limitation that the first filter’s cutoffs are smaller than the second filter’s cutoff, if the BPF captures the signal (low/mid freq.) and the HPF captures the noise (high freq.), the BPF passband is below the HPF passband, thus f1 (e.g., 90 kHz and 100 kHz) and f2 are both smaller than f3 (e.g., 1 MHz), satisfying the claimed relationship. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art, the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000). See also In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988), Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985), and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Claims 8 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Kim et al. (US 201917550 A, Pub. Date May 1, 2019, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Chang.
Regarding dependent claims 8 & 21, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said first filtering element and said second filtering element are bandpass filtering elements ([0036]-[0037]: discloses that both the first filtering circuit (sensing) and the second filtering circuit (analog/reference) can be configured as band-pass filters (BPF));
Wu, in combination with Kim, are silent in regard to:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are greater than or smaller than a third cutoff frequency and a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
and a first cutoff frequency and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element are greater than or smaller than a third cutoff frequency and a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element (Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths/frequencies (e.g., Band1 ≠ Band2), demonstrating operating filters at distinct frequency ranges (Band A vs Band B), motivating the offset cutoffs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s BPFs to operate at different frequency bands as taught by Kim and Chang, for distinct bandwidth management, so that the first filtering element, tuned to a first band, would have cutoff frequencies greater than or smaller than the second filtering element, tuned to a second band, to pass a different frequency, would inherently result in the first cutoff frequencies being greater than the second cutoff frequencies, enabling the device to separate the driving signal from specific frequency noise or to sense multiple driving frequencies simultaneously or dedicated noise monitoring, where the BPF has two cutoffs (upper/lower), if filter 1 is tuned to a high frequency (e.g., signal band) and filter 2 (e.g., Noise Band), the cutoffs of filter 1 would be greater than the cutoffs of filter 2. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Claims 11-12 & 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Kent (US 2008/0062151 A1, Pub. Date Mar. 13, 2008, hereinafter Kent), and further in view of Chang.
Regarding dependent claims 11 & 24, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], [0032], & [0042]), and said second filtering element is a second bandpass filtering element ([0036]-[0037]: discloses that the second filtering circuit 150 can be configured as a band-pass filter (BPF));
Wu, is silent in regard to:
wherein said first filtering element is a first band-stop filtering element
However, Kent, further teaches:
wherein said first filtering element is a first band-stop filtering element (Fig. 30; [Abstract] & [0277]-[0278]: teaches using a band-stop filter (notch filter) in sensing devices to attenuate specific unwanted frequency bands (e.g., resonance), Wu discloses the first filtering circuit)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s first filtering element to be a band-stop filter to operate at different frequency bands as taught by Kent, where Wu discloses the first filtering element and second filtering element architecture, teaches using band-pass filters (BPF), Kent teaches the use of band-stop filters in sensing systems to reject unwanted frequencies (i.e., resonance or interference), providing the motivation to configure the first filtering element in Wu as a band-stop filter to attain the suppression of specific noise bands in the sensing signal, arriving at the claimed invention with predictable results. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Wu, in combination with Kent, are silent in regard to:
a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element; and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element ([Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: Fig. 5 illustrates filter band forms, teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., 0-1 MHz vs 2.4 MHz), and demonstrates the principle of operating a first filter at a lower frequency range than a second filter) e.g., f1<f3); and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element ([Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: Fig. 5 illustrates filter band forms, teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., 0-1 MHz vs 2.4 MHz), demonstrating operating filters at distinct frequency ranges (Band A vs Band B), first element (band-stop) with a high cutoff f2 and second element (band-pass) with a high cutoff f4 but lower than f2, e.g., f2>f4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Wu’s BPFs to operate at different frequency bands as taught by Chang, where Wu discloses the first filtering element and second filtering element architecture, teaches using band-pass filters (BPF), Kent teaches the use of band-stop filters in sensing systems to reject unwanted frequencies (i.e., resonance or interference), providing the motivation to configure the first filtering element in Wu as a band-stop filter to suppress specific noise bands in the sensing signal, and Chang discloses filters with distinct cutoff frequencies (e.g., passbands vs. stopbands) to optimize signal separation, supporting the claim limitation that describes nesting the frequency bands, where the band-stop filter (first element) has a wider stopband that encompasses the narrower passband of the band-pass filter (second element), the logic the relationship describes in a band-pass inside band-stop spectral configuration is (f1<f3 and f2>f4), where the band-stop (first element) rejects a band from f1 to f2, and band-pass (second element) passes a narrow band from f3 to f4, the result is that the reference path (second element) isolates a specific signal (e.g., the driving carrier) that lies inside the frequency band being rejected/suppressed by the sensing path (first element), which is a known technique for signal separation. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Regarding dependent claims 12 & 25, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], [0032], & [0042]), wherein said first filtering element is a first bandpass filtering element ([0036]-[0037]: discloses that the first filtering circuit 151 can be a band-pass filter (BPF))
Wu, is silent in regard to:
and said second filtering element is a second band-stop filtering element;
However, Kent, further teaches:
and said second filtering element is a second band-stop filtering element (Fig. 30; [Abstract] & [0277]-[0278]: teaches using band-stop filters to reject specific frequencies, discusses acoustic/touch sensors requiring frequency selectivity and rejection of specific bands, Wu discloses the second filtering element);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify reference path (second filtering element) to be a band-stop filter, as taught by Kent, to improve a noise cancellation system, where the reference path would capture broadband noise while rejecting the driving signal (so you don’t subtract the signal you are trying to measure, preserving it from cancellation) while passing all other frequencies (broadband noise) to be subtracted from the main signal, the reference band-stop filter would have a wider stop window than the sensing band-pass filter’s window, to ensure the drive signal is fully preserved in the sensing path but blocked in the reference path, arriving at the claimed invention with predictable results. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Wu, in combination with Kent, are silent in regard to:
a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element; and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element.
However, Chang, further teaches:
a first cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is greater than a third cutoff frequency of said second filtering element ([Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: Fig. 5 illustrates filter band forms, teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., 0-1 MHz vs 2.4 MHz), tuning the cutoffs relative to each other for signal isolation, and demonstrates the principle of operating a first filter at a higher frequency range than a second filter) e.g., f1>f3); and a second cutoff frequency of said first filtering element is smaller than a fourth cutoff frequency of said second filtering element ([Fig. 5; [Abstract], [0029], & [0035]: Fig. 5 illustrates filter band forms, teaches designing filters with distinct bandwidths (e.g., 0-1 MHz vs 2.4 MHz), demonstrating operating filters at distinct frequency ranges (Band A vs Band B), first element (band-pass) with a high cutoff f2 and second element (band-stop) with a high cutoff f4 but higher than f2, e.g., f2<f4, this configuration (band-pass inside band-stop) allows the first path to see the signal and the second path to see everything except the signal (noise)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify reference path (second filtering element) to be a band-stop filter, as taught by Kent, to improve a noise cancellation system, where the reference path would capture broadband noise while rejecting the driving signal (so you don’t subtract the signal you are trying to measure, preserving it from cancellation) while passing all other frequencies (broadband noise) to be subtracted from the main signal, the reference band-stop filter would have a wider stop window than the sensing band-pass filter’s window, to ensure the drive signal is fully preserved in the sensing path but blocked in the reference path, therefore the band-pass frequency range [f1 & f2] sit inside the band-stop frequency range [f3 & f4], and mathematically, this means the band-pass lower cutoff (f1) is greater than the band-stop lower cutoff (f3) and the band-pass upper cutoff (f2) is smaller than the band-stop upper cutoff (f4), this specific cutoff relationship is the result of nesting the signal passband inside the stopband to ensure robust isolation, a design principle supported by Chang’s teaching of precise bandwidth management. The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Claims 3-4, 13, 16, & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view of Lin.
Regarding dependent claims 3 & 16, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), wherein said a first terminal of said first filtering element is coupled between said sensing circuit and a first reference power supply (Fig. 3; [0011] & [0035]: the first filtering circuit (resistor Rin) has an input (first terminal) coupled to the node between the detection electrode 131 (sensing circuit) and the drive circuit 11 (first reference power supply), Fig. 3 illustrates Rin connected to the node between the electrode 131 and the capacitor Cin leading to the driver); said first reference power supply supplies said sensing reference signal to said sensing circuit ([0034]: discloses drive circuit 11 (first ref. power supply) supplying the drive signal Sd (sensing ref. signal) to the detection electrodes 131 (sensing circuit)); a second terminal of said first filtering element is coupled to said operation element (Figs. 1 & 3; [0037]: discloses the output of the programmable filter 151 (second terminal) is coupled to the subtraction circuit 152 (operation element)); said second reference voltage source supplies said analog reference signal to said noise compensation circuit (Fig. 3; [0012]-[0013], [0034], & [0036]-[0037]: drive circuit 11 supplies the drive signal Sd (analog reference signal) to the analog circuit 150 (part of the noise compensation circuit and also referred to as the second filtering element)); a second terminal of said second filtering element is coupled to said operation element (Fig. 3; [0036]-[0037]: the output (second terminal) of the analog circuit 150 (second filtering element) coupled to the subtraction circuit 152 (operation element)); and said operation element is further coupled to said AFE circuit (Figs. 2-3; [0039]-[0040]: subtraction circuit 152 (operation element) coupled to the gain circuit 153 and subsequent AFE stages, where the subtractor is part of the AFE block but coupled to the downstream AFE components).
Wu, is silent in regard to:
a first terminal of said second filtering element is coupled to a second reference voltage source;
However, Lin, further teaches:
a first terminal of said second filtering element is coupled to a second reference voltage source (Figs. 1A & 4; [Pg. 3, ll. 10-22 & 30-37], [Pg. 5, ll. 36-39], [Pg. 6, ll. 1-7], & [Pg. 9, ll. 8-24]: teaches the first end of the second filtering devices (FT2) coupled to a second path (reference) voltage source VCC or ground, Fig. 1A illustrates switches connected the reference path to voltage sources VCC, Wu connects (coupled) the input (first terminal) of the analog circuit 150 (second filtering element) to the drive circuit 11);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement Wu’s analog circuit connection using the standard voltage source coupling taught by Lin to ensure a stable reference potential for the noise compensation operation, using a second reference voltage source (even if it’s the same hardware unit as the first source, as taught by Wu, to supply the reference path is a standard design practice affirmed by Lin, where Wu connects the analog circuit 150 (second filtering element) directly to the drive signal Sd, Lin reinforces the reference voltage source, teaching that in differential sensing, the reference path is coupled to a voltage source, like VCC in Fig. 1A, to establish the reference signal VSR, combining Wu and Lin, where it is obvious to couple the second filtering element to a second reference voltage source (which can also be the same hardware as the first source, i.e., drive circuit 11/Vcc) to generate the necessary analog reference for noise compensation, arriving at the claimed invention with predictable results (KSR).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claim 3 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), further comprising a sensing terminal and a non-sensing terminal (Fig. 1; [0011] & [0049]: the I/O pins of the control chip 100 (non-sensing terminal) connecting to the touch panel 13 (sensing terminal), discloses two distinct connection points (terminals) for each electrode in the self-capacitance mode: one for the first end (input) and one for the second end (output), Fig. 1 illustrates multiple pins (squares with ‘X’) connecting the control chip 100 to the touch panel 13), said sensing circuit coupled to said AFE circuit via said sensing terminal (Fig. 3; [0011]-[0012] & [0049]: the detection electrode 131 (sensing circuit) coupled to the input resistor Rin (AFE/Filter Input) via the chip’s input pin (sensing terminal) connected to the electrode’s signal output terminal), and said first terminal of said first filtering element coupled between said sensing circuit and said sensing reference signal via said non-sensing terminal (Fig. 3; [0011]-[0012] & [0049]:the first filtering circuit (programmable filter 151/input resistor Rin (first terminal)/first filtering element) coupled to the drive signal Sd (sensing reference signal) via the first end of the electrode (connected to the non-sensing/drive terminal), Fig. 3 illustrates the circuit path: drive 11 (Sd)>switch>Cin>electrode 131> Rin (filter)).
Regarding dependent claims 13 & 26, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claims 1 & 14 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]),
Wu, is silent in regard to:
wherein said AFE circuit includes an amplifier circuit; said amplifier circuit receivers said sensing signal and said noise compensation signal and compensates said sensing signal according to said noise compensation signal for reducing a noise in said sensing signal.
However, Lin, further teaches:
wherein said AFE circuit includes an amplifier circuit ([Pg. 2, ll. 25-35], [Pg. 6, ll. 32-39], & [Pg. 15, Claim 15, ll. 15-19]: teaches that the processing circuit (integrating circuit 130) includes an operational amplifier (amplifier circuit)); said amplifier circuit receivers said sensing signal and said noise compensation signal (Fig. 1A; [Pg. 2, ll. 5-14 & 25-36], [Pg. 3, ll. 10-16 & 23-29], [Pg. 6, ll. 32-39], & [Pg. 12, Claim 1, ll. 5-13]: discloses the op-amp receives the touch sensing voltage VTS (sensing) and sense reference voltage VSR (compensation)) and compensates said sensing signal according to said noise compensation signal for reducing a noise in said sensing signal ([Pg. 2, ll. 5-19], [Pg. 3, ll. 23-29], [Pg. 12, Claim 1, ll. 5-13], & [Pg. 13, Claim 4, ll. 13-16]: teaches using the voltage difference (Vdiff = VTS – VSR) at the amplifier to avoid circuit interference (noise)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the operational amplifier structure taught by Lin to implement the subtraction function in Wu, where a POSITA would also recognize that Wu’s subtraction circuit is functionally a differential amplifier as well, where Lin’s differential amplifier structure avoids circuit interference (i.e., reduces noise) affecting the sensing result, therefore the combination focuses on the amplifier circuit performing the compensation/noise reduction, furthermore, Wu teaches the broad concept of a subtraction circuit in the AFE that takes a sensing signal (So) and subtracts a reference signal (Sref) to output a compensated signal (Sdiff), to cancel out the base capacitance or noise, improving sensitivity, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (KSR).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, in view Lin, and further in view of Byun et al. (US 2011/0242050 A1, Pub. Date Oct. 6, 2011, hereinafter Byun).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Wu, teaches:
The sensing device of claim 16 (Figs. 1 & 3; [Abstract], [0011]-[0012], & [0032]), further comprising a sensing terminal and a non-sensing terminal (Fig. 1; [0011] & [0049]: the I/O pins of the control chip 100 (non-sensing terminal) connecting to the touch panel 13 (sensing terminal), discloses two distinct connection points (terminals) for each electrode in the self-capacitance mode: one for the first end (input) and one for the second end (output), Fig. 1 illustrates multiple pins (squares with ‘X’) connecting the control chip 100 to the touch panel 13), said sensing circuit coupled to said AFE circuit via said sensing terminal (Fig. 3; [0011]-[0012] & [0049]: the detection electrode 131 (sensing circuit) coupled to the input resistor Rin (AFE/Filter Input) via the chip’s input pin (sensing terminal) connected to the electrode’s signal output terminal),
Wu, in combination with Lin, are silent in regard to:
and said second terminal of said first filtering element coupled to said operation element via said non-sensing terminal.
However, Byun, further teaches:
and said second terminal of said first filtering element coupled to said operation element via said non-sensing terminal ([Fig. 7C; [0012]-[0013], [0060], [0063], [0068]-[0069], [0071], [0099], [Claim 3], [Claim 11], & [Claim 22]: teaches an operation element (differential op-amp) that receives signals via an inversion input terminal (non-sensing terminal), teaches the second end of the first filtering element (RS1,CS) is coupled to the compensator 730 (operation element) through the non-sensing terminal (VCOMIN), the charge amplifier 750 is used to couple a sensing circuit and receive a sensing signal, and couple a compensation circuit and receive a filter signal to output a sensing error signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu’s device to route the connection between the filtering element and the operation element via a non-sensing terminal (e.g., a dedicated feedback pin, a reference input pin, or an external component pin) as taught by Byun, Byun further teaches that using a distinct terminal (e.g., the inversion input) allows the operation element to receive a compensation signal or connect to an external tuning component (e.g., Byun’s negative capacitor) to effectively cancel parasitic capacitance and the modification provides design flexibility, to enable robust differential noise cancellation that relies on an external reference signal, like Byun’s common electrode voltage, or a feedback loop, arriving at the claimed invention with predictable results. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 159 6 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Circ. 2000). See also Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1985) and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu (US2019/0042029A1) discloses a control chip for touch panel with high sensitivity and operating method thereof. Zamprogno (US2020/0233009A1) discloses a circuit for sensing analog signal, corresponding electronic system and method.
/HUGO NAVARRO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858 01/19/2025
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/22/2026