DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 10/3/25.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 11 and 16 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-20 are pending and subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1 and the Lee reference:
With a new interpretation of the bottom dielectric layer, Lee teaches the amended limitation as set forth below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al., US Publication No. 2011/0291177 A1.
Lee teaches
1. A device structure, comprising (see fig. 3K; also see figs. 2A and 11J):
a bottom dielectric layer (25C);
a vertical isolation structure (34) extending from the bottom dielectric layer along a direction (e.g. vertical direction), a bottom surface of the vertical isolation structure (34) interfacing a top surface of the bottom dielectric (25C);
a stack structure (e.g. left 27B/28B/35) disposed over the bottom dielectric layer and comprising:
a first silicide layer (e.g. lower 35),
a second silicide layer (e.g. upper 35) over the first silicide layer,
an oxide layer extending (27B) between the first and second silicide layers along the direction, and
a first channel feature (e.g. 32A left) extending along a first sidewall (e.g. right sidewall) of the oxide layer (27B) and extending between the first (e.g. lower 35) and second (e.g. upper 35) silicide layers along the direction; and
a first dielectric layer (31A) sandwiched between the vertical isolation structure (34) and the stack structure (e.g. left 27B/28B/35). See Lee at para. [0001] – [0233], figs. 1-15.
2. The device structure of claim 1, wherein the stack structure further comprises an isolation layer (e.g. topmost layer 27B) over the second silicide layer, fig. 3K
5. The device structure of claim 1, wherein the first silicide layer and the second silicide layer comprise titanium silicide, cobalt silicide, tungsten silicide, or palladium silicide, para. [0176] – [0177].
6. The device structure of claim 1, further comprising: a first polycrystalline semiconductor layer between (28B) the first silicide layer (e.g. lower 35) and the oxide layer (27B) along the direction; and a second polycrystalline semiconductor layer (28B) between the second silicide layer (e.g. upper 35) and the oxide layer (27B) along the direction, para. [0053].
7. The device structure of claim 6, wherein the first polycrystalline semiconductor layer and the second polycrystalline semiconductor layer comprise polycrystalline silicon, para. [0053].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3:
Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach:
a composition of the isolation layer is different from a composition of the bottom dielectric layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form a composition of the isolation layer is different from a composition of the bottom dielectric layer, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended purpose as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Regarding claim 4:
Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above, but does not expressly teach:
wherein the bottom dielectric layer comprises zirconium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, or silicon nitride.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the bottom dielectric layer to comprise zirconium oxide, aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride, silicon carbide, or silicon nitride, since it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended purpose as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP § 2144.07, Art Recognized Suitability for an Intended Purpose.
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
29 January 2026