DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Regarding the amendment filed 12/18/2025: Claims 1-10 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Objection to the Specification
Applicant's arguments regarding the objection of claim 4 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Rejection Under 35 USC 102
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-7 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Golovchenko et al (US 20150060276 A1, cited in IDS heretofore referred to as Golovchenko) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However a new rejection has been formed in view of Wang et al (Wang, Junrong, et al. "Effects of access resistance on the resistive-pulse caused by translocating of a nanoparticle through a nanopore." RSC advances 4.15 (2014): 7601-7610., cited in IDS, heretofore referred to as Wang)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Golovchenko in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 1, Golovchenko teaches a pore chip (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 10) comprising a membrane (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 14 and Par 0082; Golovchenko teaches a support structure as a solid state membrane) having a pore (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 12), wherein, with a diameter of the pore as d (Golovchenko; Par 0084; Golovchenko teaches a pore diameter of preferably 10-20nm), and a thickness of the membrane as t (Golovchenko; Par 0084; Golovchenko teaches a pore diameter of preferably 20-100nm), a relation 1 ≤ t/d < 2 is satisfied (Golovchenko; Par 0084; Golovchenko teaches at least half of the preferred embodiments would cover the relation claimed).
Golovchenko is silent on wherein d and t are designed such that, during use, when a voltage is applied between two electrodes provided across the pore, a radial distribution of electric-field intensity within the pore becomes uniform.
Wang teaches wherein d and t are designed such that, during use, when a voltage is applied between two electrodes provided across the pore, a radial distribution of electric-field intensity within the pore becomes uniform (Wang; Fig 3a, Pg 7604, Sec “The particle and nanopore surfaces are uncharged”; Wang teaches the current streamline, i.e. radial distribution of the electric field, is uniform across the pore until the particle disrupts it when the relation is at least t/d=1).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Golovchenko with the pore size design of Wang in order to increase accuracy based on pore size choice (Wang; Pg 7609, Sec Conclusions).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 1. Wang further teaches wherein the membrane has a multi-layer structure (Golovchenko; Par 0082; Golovchenko teaches using multi layers).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 2. Wang further teaches wherein the membrane has a multi-layer structure of different insulating materials (Golovchenko; Par 0095; Golovchenko teaches using a SiO2 layer on top of a SiN layer, which have different insulations).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 3. Wang further teaches wherein the membrane comprises a lower silicon nitride (SiN) layer and an upper silicon dioxide SiO2 layer (Golovchenko; Par 0095; Golovchenko teaches using a SiO2 layer on top of a SiN layer).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 3. Wang further teaches wherein the membrane has the layered structure comprising two layers, i.e., a first insulating layer structured as a lower layer and a second insulating layer structured as an upper layer (Golovchenko; Par 0095; Golovchenko teaches using a SiO2 layer on top of an SiN layer, which have different insulations), and wherein the first insulating layer has a Young’s modulus that is higher than that of the second insulating layer (Golovchenko; Par 0105; Golovchenko teaches using a SiO2 layer on top of an SiN layer, so the lower layer has a higher Young’s modulus than the upper layer).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 1. Wang further teaches further comprising a support member structured to support the membrane and having an opening in a region that corresponds to the pore (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 14 and Par 0082; Golovchenko teaches a support frame may be used for the membrane).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches a microparticle measurement system comprising: a pore device (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 10) comprising the pore chip according to claim 1. Golovchenko further teaches a case (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 15) having two chambers separated by the pore chip (Golovchenko; Element 16 and Element 19; Golovchenko teaches and upper and lower reservoir in a fluidic cell, with the pore chip separating the upper and lower reservoir); and a measurement apparatus structured to apply an electronic signal to the pore device (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 24), and to measure an electrical signal that occurs in the pore device (Golovchenko; Par 0047; Golovchenko teaches an electrode measuring system).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 1.
Wang further teaches wherein d and t are designed such that, during use, when a voltage is applied between two electrodes provided across the pore, a radial distribution of electric-field intensity within the pore becomes uniform (Wang; Fig 3a, Pg 7604, Sec “The particle and nanopore surfaces are uncharged”; Wang teaches the current streamline, i.e. radial distribution of the electric field, is uniform across the pore until the particle disrupts it when the relation is at least t/d=1).
But Wang does not explicitly teach for “wherein d and t are designed such that the radial distribution of relative electric-field intensity within the pore is 95% or greater.”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the radial distribution, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches the pore chip according to claim 1.
Wang further teaches wherein d and t are designed such that, during use, when a voltage is applied between two electrodes provided across the pore, a radial distribution of electric-field intensity within the pore becomes uniform (Wang; Fig 3a, Pg 7604, Sec “The particle and nanopore surfaces are uncharged”; Wang teaches the current streamline, i.e. radial distribution of the electric field, is uniform across the pore until the particle disrupts it when the relation is at least t/d=1).
But Wang does not explicitly teach for “wherein d and t are determined such that a radial distribution of relative electric-field intensity within the pore is 97% or greater.”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the radial distribution, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Golovchenko and Wang teaches a pore device (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 10) comprising: the pore chip according to claim 1. Golovchenko further teaches a case (Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 15) having two chambers that are separated by the pore chip (Golovchenko; Element 16 and Element 19; Golovchenko teaches and upper and lower reservoir in a fluidic cell, with the pore chip separating the upper and lower reservoir) and two electrodes respectively provided in the respective chambers Golovchenko; Fig 1, Element 24 and Par 0047; Golovchenko teaches an electrode measuring system, with two electrodes, one electrode provided in each chamber).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Lin et al teaches a pore membrane measurement system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858