DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ Amendment, filed 6/12/2026, has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerken et al. (US 20200190887) in view of Schalyo (US 20220235596).
Regarding claim 1: Gerken discloses a drive arrangement for adjusting a flap 22 of a motor vehicle 10 (title; abstr.; [0003]). Gerken discloses that the flap 22 is mounted to a vehicle body 10, 12 such that the flap is pivotally movable in relation to the vehicle body between an open position and a closed position (Fig. 1; [0017]-[0019]). Gerken discloses that the drive arrangement comprises a drive unit 32, 70, 72 for moving the flap between the open position and the closed position ([0019], [0024]). Gerken discloses that the drive unit comprises an electric drive 120, a unit housing 32, 70, in which the electric drive is housed (Figs. 2, 5, 6; [0019], [0024], [0025]). Gerken discloses an output shaft 122, which is rotatable mounted in the unit housing, that the output shaft comprises a shaft interface 128 for connecting the output shaft to the vehicle body (Figs. 5, 6; [0027], [0029]).
Gerken discloses that the drive arrangement comprises a mounting adapter (mounting structure of 32 – Figs. 5, 6) for mounting of the drive unit to the flap and that the mounting adapter comprises an adapter interface (Figs. 5, 6 – bottom and backside of 32), with which the mounting adapter is attached to the drive unit and that the mounting adapter comprises a further adapter interface (Figs. 5, 6 – bottom, side, and backside of 32) for attachment of the mounting adapter to the flap (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0022], [0025]-[0029]).
Gerken does not explicitly disclose that the mounting adapter is fully arranged inside of the flap. Schalyo discloses that a drive arrangement for adjusting a flap 5 of a motor vehicle 3 is fully arranged inside of the flap (Fig. 1). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Gerken so that the drive arrangement for adjusting a flap is fully arranged inside of the flap, as taught by Schalyo, so that Gerken’s mounting adapter (part of the drive arrangement) is fully arranged inside of the flap. As both Gerken and Schalyo are directed to power tailgates (flaps), as the drive arrangements are very well known, as the drive arrangements have variations for mounting, as the Gerken mounting adapter is a part of the drive arrangement, and as Schalyo explicitly discloses positioning the drive arrangement inside of the flap, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired drive arrangement positioning from a finite selection of drive arrangement positioning (i.e. inside the flap, outside the flap, or partially inside the flap). Such a simple substitution and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Regarding claim 2: Gerken discloses that the mounting adapter is designed separately with respect to the drive unit (Figs. 2, 5, 6 – the parts are not integral and therefore require a separate design).
Regarding claim 3: Gerken discloses that the mounting adapter is detachably attached to the drive unit (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4: Gerken discloses that the screw connection 88 secures the mounting adapter in its relative axial position in relation to the drive unit (Fig. 2; [0025]).
Regarding claim 5: Gerken discloses that a relative rotational movement of the mounting adapter and the unit housing is prevented by an anti-rotation arrangement (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0027]).
Regarding claim 7: Gerken discloses that the mounting adapter is attached to the unit housing in a definite relative angular position, which is determined by an angle mounting aid (Figs. 2-6; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet this very broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 8: Gerken discloses that the adapter interface comprises a centering element and that the unit housing comprises a counterpart centering element and that the centering element and the counterpart centering element are in contact such that the relative position of the mounting adapter in relation to the unit housing in a plane, which is orthogonally orientated with regard to the axis of rotation of the output shaft is determined (Figs. 2-6; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet this very broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 9: Gerken discloses that the adapter interface and the further adapter interface are arranged to each other with an offset, that the offset particularly determines the relative attachment position, in which the drive unit can be attached to the flap (Figs. 2-6; Figs. - 5, 6 – bottom, side, and backside of 32; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet the very broadly recited term “offset”).
Regarding claim 10: Gerken discloses a motor vehicle 10 comprising a vehicle body 12, a flap 22 and a drive arrangement 32, 70, 72 (Figs. 2, 5, 6; [0019], [0024], [0025]).
Regarding claim 11: Gerken discloses a method for installing the drive arrangement 32, 70, 72 and that the method comprises selecting and/or constructing the mounting adapter under consideration of the structural circumstances (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0025]).
Regarding claim 13: Gerken discloses that the mounting adapter is attached to the unit housing by the adapter interface using a screw connection with at least one screw element, and/or, that the mounting adapter is attached to the unit housing by the adapter interface using a form-fit connection with at least one form-fit element (Figs. 2, 4-6).
Regarding claim 14: Gerken discloses that the screw element is installed in the axial direction of the output shaft, and/or, that the form-fit connection secures the mounting adapter in its relative axial position in relation to the drive unit (Figs. 2, 4-6).
Regarding claim 15: Gerken discloses that the adapter interface comprises at least one anti-rotation element and that the unit housing comprises at least one counterpart anti-rotation element and that the anti-rotation element and the counterpart anti-rotation element form the anti-rotation arrangement (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0027]).
Regarding claim 16: Gerken discloses that the anti-rotation element and the counterpart anti-rotation element are designed such that a further form-fit connection is formed (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0027]).
Regarding claim 17: Gerken discloses that the anti-rotation element or the anti-rotation elements and the counterpart anti-rotation element or rather the counterpart anti- rotation elements form the angle mounting aid (Figs. 2-6; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet this very broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 18: Gerken discloses that the centering element is designed as a centering recess of the sheet metal part and that the counterpart centering element is designed as a centering projection of the unit housing, or, that the centering element is formed by the anti- rotation elements and the counterpart centering element is formed by the counterpart anti-rotation elements (Figs. 2-6; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet this very broadly recited limitation).
Regarding claim 20: Gerken discloses a method for installing the drive arrangement according to claim 1 to a motor vehicle, that the method comprises selecting and/or constructing the mounting adapter under consideration of the structural circumstances regarding the assembly space inside the flap and/or the drive unit and/or the orientation of the flap in relation to the vehicle body (Figs. 2, 4-6; [0025]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerken et al. (US 20200190887) and Schalyo (US 20220235596). in view of Daniels et al. (US 6711855).
Gerken and Schalyo disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 12: Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, does not discuss material of manufacture and thus does not explicitly disclose that the mounting adapter comprises a sheet metal part, or, that the mounting adapter comprises a full metal part. Daniels discloses that a mounting adapter can comprise a sheet metal part, or, that a mounting adapter can comprise a full metal part (col. 3, lines 1-16). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, so that the mounting adapter comprises a sheet metal part, or, that the mounting adapter comprises a full metal part as taught by Daniels. As Gerken, Schalyo, and Daniels are directed to power tailgates (flaps), as the use of metal in motor vehicles is very well known, as Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, is silent regarding materials, and as Daniels explicitly discloses the use of metal in forming a mounting adapter, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired metal construction configuration from a finite selection of vehicle construction configurations. Such a simple substitution or addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerken et al. (US 20200190887) in view of McGlinn et al. (US 8403615).
Gerken and Schalyo disclose the invention substantially as claimed and as discussed above.
Regarding claim 19: Gerken discloses that part of the mounting adapter comprises a first section, a middle section and a second section and that the adapter interface is arranged on the first section and the further adapter interface is arranged on the second section and that the middle section connects the first section and the second section, and that the offset is at least partly determined by the length and/or orientation of the middle section (Gerken - Figs. 2-6; Figs. - 5, 6 – bottom, side, and backside of 32; [0022], [0025]-[0029] - Gerken discloses various connections that would meet the very broadly recited claim).
Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, does not explicitly disclose that a part of the mounting adapter is a sheet metal part. McGlinn discloses that a motor vehicle has sheet metal structure that can be a centering and support structure (abstr.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and the benefit of the cited art to have configured Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, so that the mounting adapter comprises a sheet metal part as taught by McGlinn. As Gerken, Schalyo, and McGlinn are directed to motor vehicle support structures, as the use of sheet metal in motor vehicles is very well known, as Gerken, as modified by Schalyo, is silent regarding materials, and as McGlinn explicitly discloses the use of sheet metal in forming a mounting structure, it would have been within routine skill to have selected a desired metal construction configuration from a finite selection of vehicle construction configurations. Such a simple substitution or addition and configuration would have been predictable with a reasonable expectation for success and with no unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Vehicle tailgates (or flaps) are very well known in the art. Further, automatically opening and closing tailgates (or flaps) and associated drive arrangements, structures, and components are very well known in the art. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Gerken et al. (US 20200190887), Schalyo (US 20220235596), Daniels et al. (US 6711855), McGlinn et al. (US 8403615), Neal (US 9713977), D’Andrea et al. (US 20230264630), Horowitz (US 3637097), Sasaki (US 20140373454), Pulikonda et al. (US 20220316259), and Schalyo et al. (US 20230313589). In general, this art, alone or in combination, discloses various recited features, including but not limited to a drive arrangement for adjusting a flap of a motor vehicle, that the flap is mounted to a vehicle body such that the flap is pivotally movable in relation to the vehicle body between an open position and a closed position, that the drive arrangement comprises a drive unit for moving the flap between the open position and the closed position, that the drive unit comprises an electric drive, a unit housing, in which the electric drive is housed, and an output shaft, which is rotatable mounted in the unit housing, that the output shaft comprises a shaft interface for connecting the output shaft to the vehicle body, that the drive arrangement comprises a mounting adapter for mounting of the drive unit to the flap and that the mounting adapter comprises an adapter interface, with which the mounting adapter is attached to the drive unit and that the mounting adapter comprises a further adapter interface for attachment of the mounting adapter to the flap, and that the mounting adapter is fully arranged inside of the flap. Thus, upon reviewing these cited publications, and their included references, it appears that the claimed subject matter might teach a generally known concept. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specific details of the drive arrangement. Specifically, the detailed structural limitations of the anti-rotation element when combined with the independent claims are not explicitly disclosed or suggested. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention but such is not easily conceived from this art. The instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Further, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner can find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application. Thus, it would not have been within routine skill to glean the specifically combined limitations of the instant invention, from the art, without the benefit of hindsight reasoning or extensive experimentation.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ amendments and arguments, filed 6/12/2026, with respect to the previous rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and they are at least partially persuasive. The objections/rejections that have been withdrawn are not repeated herein.
Regarding claim 1, applicants argue that Gerken fails to teach or suggest the subject matter of claim 1 as amended to include the newly added limitation “wherein the mounting adapter is fully arranged inside of the flap”. Although this is a correct statement regarding Gerken, alone, the combination of Gerken and Schalyo (see rejections above) disclose the newly added limitation “wherein the mounting adapter is fully arranged inside of the flap”. Applicants argue that Schalyo does not disclose this limitation because Schalyo does not disclose the mounting adapter. However, Schalyo is not cited for disclosing the mounting adapter as such is disclosed by Gerken. Applicants are reminded that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, applicants argue that Gerken lacks any disclosures of the pivot cup preventing "relative rotational movement of the mounting adapter and the unit housing" as required by claims 5-6. Therefore, Gerken does not teach or suggest the subject matter of claims 5-6. Regarding claim 5, the examiner disagrees as Gerken, at [0027], discloses that “the pivot cup 64…facilitates stabilizing and retaining the tailgate 22 when in the fully open and closed positions”. The examiner interprets this disclosure as being an anti-rotation arrangement (at least in the fully open or closed positions).
Regarding claim 6, applicants’ arguments are moot as the amended/corrected version of claim 6 is found to comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taras P Bemko/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672
6/30/2026