DETAILED ACTION
Please note foreign priority retrieval was unsuccessful, as indicated by document of 7/9/24.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-19) in the reply filed on 2/24/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gu et al (CN 111477670A).
With respect to Claim 1, Gu et al discloses a display device (Figure 16) comprising a display panel (Figure 16, 101, 102 and 103) including a first non-folding area (Figure 16, 101), a second non-folding area (Figure 16, 103), and a folding area (Figure 16, 102) disposed between the first non-folding area and the second non-folding area; a buffer (Figure 14-16, 2032) disposed on the display panel and having a thickness decreasing from a central portion thereof toward an edge (Figures 14-15) thereof overlapping the display panel; and a cover window (Figure 16, 80) disposed on the buffer (Figures 14-16). See Figures 14-16 and corresponding text, especially column 4, last 20 lines; column 5, last 30 lines; column 6, first 30 lines; column 8, last 30 lines and column 9, first 30 lines.
With respect to Claim 3, Gu et al discloses wherein the buffer includes a curable resin. See page 9, lines 15-22.
With respect to Claim 4, Gu et al discloses wherein the buffer includes a urethane acrylate based resin. See page 9, lines 15-22 of Gu et al..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111477670A).
Gu et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Gu et al does not disclose the buffer directly contacts the display panel (Claim 2), the modulus of the buffer (Claim 6) and the thickness of the central portion of the buffer (Claim 7).
With respect to Claim 2 and the limitation “wherein the buffer directly contacts the display panel” , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to arrive at the limitation, “the buffer directly contacts the display panel”, as exclusion of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not needed. See Ex Parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989). See Figure 16.
With respect to Claim 6 and the limitation “a modulus of the buffer is in a range of about 65Mpa to about Mpa”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to arrive at the modulus of the buffer layer, as Gu et al discloses the same material, and the optimization of the physical characteristics of the known material would be with the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 7 and the limitation “wherein a thickness of the central portion of the buffer is in the range of about 25 micrometers to about 100 micrometers”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention to arrive at the claimed dimension, as changes in size are prima facie obvious. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gu et al (CN 111477670A) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of Park et al (US 2020/0266368).
Gu et al is relied upon as discussed above. Moreover, Gu et al discloses a functional layer, 60 in Figure 16.
However, Gu et al does not disclose the display panel includes a circuit element including at least one transistor; a light emitting element layer including at least one light emitting diode and disposed on the circuit element layer; and an encapsulant layer disposed on the light emitting element layer, as required by present Claim 8.
Park et al discloses a foldable display device which comprises a functional layer comprising a circuit element, a light emitting element and an encapsulant element, in order from bottom to top. See paragraphs 57-62 of Park.
With respect to Claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the known components of a functional layer in a display device, for their known function of emitting light in a display device. The use of known components, for their known function, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the Examiner takes Official Notice that transistors are well known circuit elements, and light emitting diodes are well known light emitting elements.
With respect to Claim 9, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the buffer layer directly contacts the encapsulation layer”, as exclusion of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not needed. See Ex Parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989). Moreover, rearrangement of parts, for their known benefit is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
With respect to Claim 10, the combined references make obvious the limitation wherein the display panel further includes: a functional layer disposed on the encapsulation layer. See layer 70, Figure 16 of Gu et al and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 11, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the buffer directly contacts the functional layer”, as exclusion of an element is obvious if the function of the element is not needed. See Ex Parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (BPAI 1989). Moreover, rearrangement of parts, for their known benefit is prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 and 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
AGG
May 11, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812