CTNF 18/526,132 CTNF 89509 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim s 9-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention II (method) , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 . 08-23-02 AIA Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i). 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Magnetic force portion (any structure that applies a magnetic force to the mask assembly, due to lack of disclosure of corresponding structure in the specification, para. [0057]) in claims 1-8. Deposition source (any structure that applies a deposition material to deposit on the display substrate, due to lack of disclosure of corresponding structure in the specification, para. [0056]) in claims 1-8. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220042159 to Cho . Claim 1: Cho discloses an apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising: a chamber (1100 [chamber], Fig. 1); a mask assembly (1500 [mask assembly]) arranged in the chamber (1100) and facing a display substrate (S [display substrate], Fig. 1); a magnetic force portion (1600 [electromagnetic unit]) arranged in the chamber (1100) and applying a magnetic force to the mask assembly (1500, para. [0074]); and a deposition source (1400 [source unit]) arranged in the chamber (1100), facing the mask assembly (1500), and supplying a deposition material to deposit on the display substrate (D) by passing through the mask assembly (1500), wherein the mask assembly comprises: a first mask layer (400 [mask frame], Fig. 4) having a first mask opening (OA [opening area]) formed therein; and a second mask layer (300/200/100) disposed on the first mask layer (400), the second mask layer comprises: a metal layer (300 [mask sheet], para. [0094]) having a metal opening (300OP [mask opening portion]) formed therein; and an inorganic layer (200/100) disposed on the metal layer (300) and having an inorganic opening (OP2/OP1) overlapping the first mask opening (300OP) in a plan view (Fig. 4), and the metal opening (OA) overlaps the inorganic opening (OP2/OP1) in a plan view (Fig. 4). Claim 2: Cho discloses wherein, in a plan view, the metal layer (300, Fig. 4, Cho) surrounds the inorganic opening (OP2/OP1, Fig. 4). Claim 7: Cho discloses wherein a lower surface of the metal layer (lower surface of 300, Fig. 4, Cho) is exposed from the inorganic layer (200/100, Fig. 4). Claim 8: Cho discloses wherein the inorganic layer (200/100, Fig. 4, Cho) covers an upper surface of the metal layer (at least a portion of upper surface of 300, Fig. 4). Claims 9-17: (Withdrawn) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-4, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170121816 to Kim in view of US 20170133592 to Baek . Claim 1: Kim discloses apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising: a chamber (110 [chamber], Fig. 1); a mask assembly (150/130) arranged in the chamber (110) and facing a display substrate (210 [substrate]); and a deposition source (120 [deposition source]) arranged in the chamber (110), facing the mask assembly (150/130), and supplying a deposition material to deposit on the display substrate (210) by passing through the mask assembly (150/130, Fig. 1), wherein the mask assembly comprises: a first mask layer (150 [mask supporting unit], Fig. 1) having a first mask opening (opening of 150) formed therein; and a second mask layer (130 [mask assembly]) disposed on the first mask layer (150), the second mask layer (130) comprises: a metal layer (131 [mask], para. [0031]) having a metal opening (130A [opening] of 131) formed therein; and an inorganic layer (132 [intermediate layer]) disposed on the metal layer (131) and having an inorganic opening (130A of 132) appears to overlap the first mask opening (opening of 150) in a plan view (Fig. 1, 2), and the metal opening (130A of 131) would overlap the inorganic opening (130A of 132) in a plan view (Fig. 2). However Kim does not disclose a magnetic force portion arranged in the chamber and applying a magnetic force to the mask assembly. Yet Kim teaches that this particular implementation is disclosed, it is contemplated that the apparatus may embody many forms and include multiple and/or alternative components and features (0027]). Baek teaches a magnetic force portion (90/80 [magnet plate]/[pressing plate], Fig. 11) arranged in the chamber (40 [chamber]) and applying a magnetic force to the mask assembly (100 [mask frame assembly]) for the purpose of improving adhesion of the substrate to the mask assembly (para. [0062]) and/or adhering the mask frame assembly to the substrate by a magnetic force (para. [0061]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the magnetic force portion as taught by Baek with motivation to improve adhesion of the substrate to the mask assembly and/or adhere the mask frame assembly to the substrate by a magnetic force. Claim 2: The apparatus of Kim in view of Baek discloses wherein, in a plan view, the metal layer (131, Fig. 1, 2, Kim) surrounds the inorganic opening (130A of 132, Fig. 2). Claim 3: The apparatus of Kim in view of Baek discloses wherein at least a part of the inorganic layer (part of 132, Fig. 2, Kim) is arranged within the metal opening (130A of 131, Fig. 2). Claim 4: The apparatus of Kim in view of Baek does not disclose wherein the metal layer comprises a plurality of metal layers. However Baek teaches the metal layer (130, Fig. 1) can be a plurality of metal layers (430 [support sticks]) for the purpose of having the shapes of the opening holes to vary as an option (para. [0058-0059]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of metal layers as taught by Baek with motivation to have the shapes of the opening holes to vary as an option. Claim 8: The apparatus of Kim in view of Baek discloses wherein the inorganic layer (132, Fig. 2, Kim) covers an upper surface of the metal layer (upper surface of 131, Fig. 2). Claims 9-17: (Withdrawn) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240324435 discloses a mask assembly (MA, Fig. 2) having a first mask layer (41) and a second mask layer (42), the second mask layer including a metal layer (421) and an inorganic layer (422, para. [0076-0078]), and the metal layer covered by the inorganic layer, and multiple metal openings (OP421, para. [0078]), by same assignee . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Charlee J. C. Bennett whose telephone number is (571)270-7972. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 10am-6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gordon Baldwin can be reached at 5712725166. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 2 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 3 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 4 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 5 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 6 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 7 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 8 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 9 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 10 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/526,132 Page 11 Art Unit: 1718