Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The office now relies on new reference Wang (US 20230093835 A1) to address the amended method including etching first and second sidewall portions of gate dielectric.
Examiner’s Note
For clarity of the record and ease of examination, the teachings relied upon from Su (CN114678328A) are cited in this Office Action using the corresponding U.S family publication Su (US20220271139A1) solely as a convenient location for pinpoint citations (e.g. paragraph numbering and consistent figures/element labeling). The CN publication and the cited U.S family publication describes the same disclosure, and US20220271139A1 is referenced only to identify the specific passages that correspond to the teachings being applied from CN 114678328 A. The prior art relied upon for statutory purposes remains CN114678328A, and the rejection is based on CN114678328A as the applicable reference. US20220271139A1 is not relied upon as a separate or independent prior art reference and is not the basis of the rejection, including because US20220271139A1 may not qualify as prior art in view of potential applicability of a 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) exception.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…the etching the first sidewall…” should be corrected to “…etching the first sidewall…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…top surfaces of the gate dielectric layer is lower than top surfaces of the gate spacers…” should be corrected to “…top surfaces of the gate dielectric layer are lower than top surfaces of the gate spacers…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-9, 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 first recites “…a first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and a second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric…”, but later recites “…the gate electrode is disposed between the first sidewall portion of the gate stack and the second sidewall portion of the gate stack…”. The “first sidewall portion of the gate stack” and “second sidewall portion of the gate stack” lack clear antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpreted as “…the gate electrode is disposed between the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric…”.
Claim 21 recites “…an etching process that has different etching selectivity with respect to the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric and the bottom portion of the gate dielectric”. It is unclear is if the sidewall portions are etched faster/slower than the bottom portion; or the portions have different compositions and therefore different etch rates. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is interpretated as the etching process etches the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric at a greater rate than the bottom portion of the gate dielectric.
Claim 23 recites “…wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers further reduces a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer over a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region…”. Although the amendment clarifies interlayer dielectric layer over a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region, it remains unclear how reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers further reduces a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer. The claim does not recite etching, recessing, planarization, or otherwise removing the interlayer dielectric layer during the height-reduction operation. It is therefore unclear whether the height reduction process directly removes the ILD or affects a subsequent deposited ILD thickness. For the purpose of examination, claim 23 is interpretated as requiring that the process to reduce the height of the gate dielectric and the gate spacers also reduces a local vertical thickness of the IDL.
Claims 2-9 and 22-26 inherit the indefiniteness of their corresponding independent claims 1 and 21, hence rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 114678328 A) in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 1 (Currently amended), Su discloses a method comprising:
forming a gate stack over a semiconductor layer (Su teaches, in Figs. 8-9 and ¶ [0029], gate structure 250 which is later replaced by replacement gate structure 250’ (described in ¶ [0040]) formed over semiconductor/channel members 208), wherein the gate stack includes a gate electrode (Fig. 17 and ¶ [0038], gate electrode layer 255), disposed over a gate dielectric (Fig. 17 and ¶ [0038], gate dielectric layer 254; also, gate electrode layer 255 is formed on and wrapping around the gate dielectric layer 254 and therefore “gate electrode is disposed over gate dielectric” ), the gate stack is disposed between a first epitaxial source/drain and a second epitaxial source/drain along a first direction (source/drain features 245 formed by epitaxial process and are on both sides of gate structure 250’ along the Y-direction), the semiconductor layer extends lengthwise along the first direction from the first epitaxial source/drain to the second epitaxial source/drain, and the gate stack extends lengthwise along a second direction, wherein the second direction is different than the first direction (Su, Figs. 8-9, fin structures 211, including channel members 208, extending lengthwise along the Y-direction and gate stacks 250/250’ extending lengthwise along the X-direction, orthogonal to the Y-direction);
etching the gate dielectric to expose sidewalls of the gate electrode, (Block/frame 146 of Fig. 1C, Fig. 22A-22B and ¶ [0050], etching/removing portions of the gate dielectric, thereby exposing sidewall surfaces of the underlying gate electrode 255 in the gate cut openings 286);
forming a gate isolation liner along the exposed first sidewall of the gate electrode and the exposed second sidewall of the gate electrode (Block 152 of Fig. 1C, Fig. 25A to Fig. 25C and Fig. 25B-1 to Fig. 25C-1, and ¶ [0055], gate cut feature 288 includes dielectric liner 288A formed in contact with the exposed gate electrode segments 255. The “first sidewall” and the “second sidewall” of the gate dielectric is addresses below); and
forming a source/drain contact to the first epitaxial source/drain (¶ [0044], source/drain contact 260 contacting the epitaxial source/drain feature 245 described as “source/drain feature 245 vertically sandwiched between the contact 260 and backside dielectric 270”).
Su is silent regarding
etching a first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and a second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric to expose a first sidewall and a second sidewall, respectively, of the gate electrode, wherein the gate electrode is disposed between the first sidewall portion of the gate stack and the second sidewall portion of the gate stack along the first direction.
However, Wang teaches
etching a first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and a second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric to expose a first sidewall and a second sidewall, respectively, of the gate electrode, wherein the gate electrode is disposed between the first sidewall portion of the gate stack and the second sidewall portion of the gate stack along the first direction (Wang teaches, in Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶ [0047] – [0050], an initial gate structure including a gate electrode layer 202 and an initial gate dielectric layer 203, wherein initial gate dielectric layer 203 is disposed along a bottom surface and first and second opposite sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202. Wang further teaches source/drain layers 206 and conductive source/drain contact structures 205 disposed on opposite sides of the gate structure. Wang teaches etching a first sidewall portion and a second sidewall portion of initial gate dielectric layer 203, together with corresponding portions of spacers 204, to form grooves 208 between gate electrode layer 202 and conductive structures 205. The etching exposes a first sidewall and a second sidewall respectively, of gate electrode layer 202, with gate electrode layer 202 disposed between the first and second etched sidewall portions along the direction extending between the source/drain layers 206).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Su, in view if Wang, by etching a first sidewall portion and a second sidewall portion of gate dielectric layer 254 to expose a first sidewall and a second sidewall, respectively of gate electrode layer 255, wherein gate electrode layer 255 is disposed between the first and second sidewall portions along the first direction, and by forming Su’s dielectric liner 288A along the exposed first and second sidewalls of gate electrode layer 255. Wang teaches that removing the high k-gate dielectric material from between the gate electrode and adjacent source/drain-contact structures reduces parasitic capacitance (See Wang ¶ [0040]). Su further teaches forming a dielectric liner in contact with exposed sidewalls of a gate electrode. Accordingly, the modification would have predictably reduced parasitic capacitance between the gate electrode and adjacent source/drain contacts while providing dielectric isolation along the exposed first and second sidewalls of the gate electrode.
Re: Claim 2 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Wang further teaches
further comprising: forming gate spacers along sidewalls of the gate stack, wherein the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric is between a first one of the gate spacers and the first sidewall of the gate electrode and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric is between a second one of the gate spacers and the second sidewall of the gate electrode (Wang teaches, in Figs. 2-3 and ¶¶ [0047] – [0054], disclosing first spacers 204 disposed on opposing sides of the initial gate structure and initial gate dielectric layer 203 disposed along the opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202, such that a first sidewall portion of initial gate dielectric layer 203 is between a first one of first spacers 204 and a first sidewall of gate electrode layer 202, and a second sidewall portion of initial gate dielectric layer 203 is between a second one of first spacers 204 and a second sidewall of gate electrode layer 202); and
etching the gate spacers while etching the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric (Wang teaches in Fig. 3 and ¶¶ [0057] – [0062], etching initial gate dielectric layer 203 and the first spacers 204 on both opposing sides of gate electrode layer 202 to form grooves 208 that expose the opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202, and teaches that initial gate dielectric layer 203 and first spacers 204 may be removed by etching in the same process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Su to include Wang’s arrangement and simultaneous etching of the opposing gate spacers and gate-dielectric sidewall portions for the same reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1, e.g., to remove high-k gate-dielectric material adjacent the gate-electrode sidewalls and thereby reduce parasitic capacitance between the gate electrode and adjacent source/drain contacts.
Re: Claim 3 (Currently amended), Su discloses all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends.
Su and Wang further teach
wherein the etching of the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the etching of the gate spacers forms a gap (Wang teaches etching opposing sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 and corresponding first spacers 204 to form first grooves 208 between gate electrode layer 202 and conductive structures 205. The opposing first grooves 208 constitute gaps formed by etching the respective first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 and the corresponding first spacers 204),
the gate isolation liner partially fills the gap, and the method further comprises forming a gate isolation layer to fill a remainder of the gap (Su teaches, in ¶ [0055], at block 152, depositing a dielectric material in the gate cut opening 286 to form a gate cut feature 288. Su further teaches that when the gate cut feature 288 is multilayer, it includes a dielectric liner 288A in contact with the gate segments and a dielectric filler 288B spaced apart from the gate segments by the dielectric liner. Accordingly, the dielectric liner 288A corresponds to the claimed gate isolation liner and partially fills the gate opening/gap 286, and the dielectric filler 288B corresponds to the claimed gate isolation layer that fills the remainder of the gap).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Su’s dielectric liner 288A and filler 288B in Wang’s grooves 208 because both address isolating exposed gate-electrode surfaces. Applying Su’s liner-and-filler structure to Wang’s grooves would have predictably provided dielectric isolation while replacing removed high k-sidewall dielectric with lower k-material, reducing parasitic capacitance.
Re: Claim 4 (Original), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends.
Su does not explicitly disclose wherein the etching of the gate spacers exposes the first epitaxial source/drain, the second epitaxial source/drain, or both.
However, Su teaches, in ¶ [0054], in the gate-cut opening formation sequence, that operations at block 150 expose gate spacer 234 in a lower portion of the gate cut opening 286 and that gate spacer 234 may be further removed by selective etching. Su also teaches, in Fig. 21B and ¶ [0049], that the gate cut opening 286 extends into the source/drain regions, and further teaches, in ¶ [0057], that in some embodiments, the forming of the gate cut openings 286 in the source/drain regions include extending through the dielectric layers 222 to expose a backside-facing surface of the contact feature 260. In view of Su’s teaching that (a) the gate cut opening extends into the source/drain regions, (b) the process already includes selectively removing gate spacer 234 to enlarge the lower portion of the opening, and (c) the opening may be extended to expose the source/drain contact 260 in the source/drain regions, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as a matter of routine process tuning to continue/extend the selective removal in the source/drain-region portion of the opening such that the etch also exposes the underlying epitaxial source/drain feature 245 (i.e., the claimed wherein the etching of the gate spacers exposes the first epitaxial source/drain, the second epitaxial source/drain, or both) in order to improve clearance/isolation and to further reduce parasitic coupling, consistent with Su’s stated goal of reducing capacitance between the gate electrode and the source/drain features (Su, ¶ [0051])).
Su further teaches
wherein the gate isolation liner is formed on the first epitaxial source/drain, the second epitaxial source/drain, or both (Su teaches, in ¶ [0055], forming gate cut feature 288 by depositing dielectric material, and teaches that when multilayered, the gate cut feature includes a dielectric liner 288A (in contact with the gate segments and a dielectric filler 288B. Once the etch is performed to expose the epitaxial source/drain surface within the opening (as above), the subsequently deposited liner 288A would (as a liner deposition into the opening) to formed along the exposed surfaces within the opening, including the exposed epitaxial source/drain feature, thereby meeting the limitation that the gate isolation liner is formed on the first/second epitaxial source/drain).
Re: Claim 5 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 2 on which this claim depends.
Su further discloses,
further comprising forming a first dielectric layer before etching the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and before etching the gate spacers, wherein the first dielectric layer includes an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer disposed over a contact etch stop layer (CESL) (Su teaches, in ¶[0032], block 120 where a contact etch stop layer (CESL) 243 is deposited and then an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 244 is deposited over the CESL 243 (i.e., a dielectric stack that corresponds to the claimed “first dielectric layer”, which includes ILD over CSEL.
As set forth with respect to claim 2, Wang teaches etching opposite first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 and corresponding gate spacers 204 to form grooves 208 on opposite sides of gate electrode layer 202.
Su further teaches, in ¶ [0050], that later block 146 removes/etches the gate dielectric layer 254 (exposing the underlying gate electrode layer 255), and further, in ¶ [0054], operations at block 150 expose the gate spacer 234 (and the gate spacer may be further removed). Thus, Su’s CESL/ILD stack 243/244 is formed before the subsequent gate-dielectric and gate spacer etching operations. Accordingly, in the method of Su as modified by Wang, the CESL/ILD stack 243/244 is formed before etching the first sidewall portion and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and before etching the gate spacers.
Re: Claim 6, Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 5 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation of claim 6 “wherein the etching of the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the etching of the gate spacers forms a gap between first sidewall of the gate electrode and the first dielectric layer and between the second sidewall of the gate electrode and the first dielectric layer”, Su teaches, in ¶ [0032], forming the “first dielectric layer” as CESL 243 and ILD 244 over CESL 243 (block 120). Su further teaches, in ¶¶ [0049] - [0050], forming a gate cut opening 286 (explicitly described as having a “gap width t1”) and extending the opening through the gate structure. In this sequence, Su teaches removing gate dielectric 254 to expose surface of the underlying gate electrode 255 in the opening (block 146), and Su teaches, in ¶ [0054], etching that exposes gate spacer 234 and may continue such that CESL 243 and then IDL 244 are exposed in the same gate cut opening 286 (block 150). Accordingly, the gate cut opening 286 is the claimed gap between the exposed gate electrode surfaces (255) and the first dielectric layer (CESL/ILD, 243/244).
Su does not expressly disclose that the gate dielectric and gate spacer etching is performed at both a first sidewall portion and an opposing second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric to form the claimed gap between a first sidewall of the gate electrode and the first dielectric layer and between a second sidewall of the gate electrode and the first dielectric layer.
Wang teaches, in Figs. 2-3, initial gate dielectric layer 203 along opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202 and first spacers 204 outside the dielectric layer. Wang further teaches etching the first and second opposing sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 and corresponding first spacers 204, including the same etching process, to form grooves 208 exposing the opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s opposing-sidewall etching arrangement to Su’s gate structure. Su teaches removing gate dielectric layer 254 and spacer 234 until CESL 243 or ILD layer 244 is exposed, while Wang teaches performing such etching on both opposing sides of the gate electrode to reduce parasitic capacitance. The modified method would therefore form a gap between the first sidewall of gate electrode layer 255 and first dielectric layer 243/244 and between the second sidewall of gate electrode layer 255 and first dielectric layer 243/244. The modification would have predictably reduced parasitic capacitance on both sides of the gate electrode while providing sufficient space for formation of Su’s dielectric gate isolation structure.
Further regarding the limitation of claim 6 “and the gate isolation liner partially fills the gap, and the method further comprises forming a second dielectric layer to fill a remainder of the gap”, Su teaches, ¶ [0055], depositing dielectric material in the gate cut opening 286 to form a gate cut feature 288 (block 152), and teaches a multilayer embodiment including a dielectric liner 288A and a dielectric filler 288B.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Su’s disclosed multilayer configuration such that the liner 288A (gate isolation liner) partially fills the gap/opening and the filler 288B (second dielectric layer) fills the remainder, in order to obtain a robust interface in contact with the gate segments (e.g., oxygen-free liner) while using a different bulk dielectric (e.g., lower-k filler) to reduce parasitic capacitance and improve device performance (Su, ¶ [0055]).
Re: Claim 7 (Original), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 5 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation of claim 7, “further comprising etching the first dielectric layer while etching the gate spacers”, Su teaches, in ¶ [0032], the “first dielectric layer” as CESL 243 with ILD 244 over CESL 243 (block 120) and teaches, in ¶ [0029], gate spacers 234. SU further teaches, in ¶ [0054], that during formation/extension of the gate cut opening 286 (a multi-step etch sequence), operations at block 150 expose the gate spacers 234, and the etch may continue such that CESL 243 is exposed, and in another embodiment may continue such that ILD 244 is exposed, i.e., the opening-formation etch reaches the CESL/ILD stack.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to etch the first dielectric layer (CESL 243 and/or ILD 244) during (i.e., while) etching the gate spacers 234 in the gate cut-opening formation flow as a routine process-integration choice, because the same opening-formation etch is already being advanced through adjacent dielectric films in that region, and combining/overlapping etch steps reduces process steps and enables achieving the desired opening depth/profile with predictable results.
Re: Claim 8 (Original), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 7 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation of claim 8, wherein the etching of the gate spacers and etching of the first dielectric layer exposes the first epitaxial source/drain, the second epitaxial source/drain, or both, Su teaches, in ¶ [0054], that during formation/extension of the gate cut opening 286, operations at block 150 expose gate spacer 234, and in alternative embodiments the etch continues such that CESL 243 is exposed, and in yet another embodiment such that ILD 244 is exposed in the gate cut opening 286. Su further teaches, in ¶ [0057], the forming of the gate cut openings 286 in the source/drain regions include extending through the dielectric layers 222 to expose a backside-facing surface of the contact feature 260. Accordingly, the gate cut feature 288 extends through to reach the contact feature 260. In some alternative embodiments, the dielectric layers 222 in the source/drain regions have been removed entirely (see FIGS. 25B-3 and 25B-4), such as at the processing stage associated with FIG. 10. Accordingly, the gate cut feature 288 similarly extend to reach a back-facing surface of the contact feature 260 (FIG. 25B-3) or further extend into the contact feature 260.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to tune/extend the disclosed etching of gate spacers 234 and the first dielectric layer (CESL/ILD 243/244) in the source/drain region portion of the gate cut opening so that the etch also exposes a surface of the epitaxial source/drain features 245 when needed, to further improve isolation and reduce parasitic coupling consistent with Su’s stated goal of improving gate isolation and reducing capacitance (including between the gate electrode and the source/drain features).
wherein the gate isolation liner is formed on the first epitaxial source/drain, the second epitaxial source/drain, or both (Su teaches, in ¶ [0055], depositing dielectric in the opening to form gate cut feature 288, including a multilayer embodiment with dielectric liner 288A and dielectric filler 288B. Once the epitaxial source/drain surface is exposed in the opening (as above), it would have been an obvious and predictable result of the conformal liner deposition that the liner 288A is formed on the exposed surfaces within the opening, including the exposed epitaxial source/drain surfaces).
Re: Claim 9 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Regarding the limitation of claim 9, wherein the etching the first sidewall portion of the gate dielectric and the second sidewall portion of the gate dielectric reduces a width of the gate electrode along the first direction, as explained for claim 1 rejection, Wang teaches, in Figs. 2-3, etching opposing first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 to expose the respective opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202, wherein those opposing sidewalls face conductive structures 205 along the direction extending between the source/drain regions.
Su teaches, in ¶ [0050], that in block 146 the gate dielectric layer 254 is removed, thereby exposing surfaces of the underlying gate electrode layer 255 in the gate cut opening 286. Su further teaches, in ¶ [0051], that in block 148 the gate electrode layer 255 may be recessed, including being laterally recessed such that gate cut opening 286 is widened and the endcap distance is reduced. A lateral recess of the gate electrode necessarily corresponds to a reduction in gate electrode width at the recessed region.
Although Su teaches the lateral recess of gate electrode 255 as a later step (block 148), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate/overlap that lateral recess with the gate dielectric removal step (block 146) i.e., perform the gate dielectric etch/over-etch with conditions that also laterally recess the exposed portion of gate electrode 155 - because Su teaches that reducing endcap distance reduces capacitance (including between the gate electrode and the source/drain features) and improves device performance, and combining adjacent etch operations is a routine process-integration choice to reduce steps while achieving the same opening geometry and capacitance benefit.
Re: Independent Claim 10 (Currently amended), Su discloses a method comprising:
forming a channel layer over a substrate (Su teaches, in Fig. 2 and ¶ [0021], channel layer 208 on substrate base 202);
forming a gate structure over the channel layer by:
forming gate spacers (Su teaches, in Figs. 7-8 and ¶ [0029], forming gate spacers 234 around the dummy gate stack 230 (in block 114)).
Regarding the limitation of claim 10, forming a gate dielectric layer over the channel layer, wherein the gate dielectric layer is disposed along sidewalls of the gate spacers, Su teaches, in ¶ [0033], forming gate trenches between adjacent gate spacers 234 (block 122); then (¶ [0037]) forming gate dielectric layer 254 on and surrounding the channel layer 208 (including interface layer 254A and high k-254B. Although Su doesn’t explicitly state that 254 is “disposed along sidewalls” of spacers 234, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the gate dielectric 254 conformally along the spacer-bounded trench sidewalls (i.e., along the spacer sidewalls) as a routine integration choice to ensure continuous dielectric isolation and proper gate stack formation in the spacer-defined gate trench); and
forming a gate electrode layer over the gate dielectric layer (Su teaches, in Fig. 17 and ¶ [0038], forming gate electrode layer 255 on and surrounding gate dielectric layer 254);
recessing the gate dielectric layer to expose sidewalls of the gate electrode layer (Su teaches, in Figs. 22A-22B, ¶ [0050], gate dielectric layer 254 is removed, thereby exposing the surface of underlying gate electrode layer 255 in the gate cut opening region); and
forming a lining layer to cover the exposed sidewalls of the gate electrode layer (Su teaches, in ¶ [0055], gate cut features 288 may be multilayered and include a dielectric line 288A in contact with the gate segment, i.e., lining/covering the exposed gate electrode surfaces in the opening).
Su does not expressly disclose that the recessed portions of the gate dielectric layer are sidewall portions that interface with the gate spacers.
However, Wang teaches a gate structure including gate electrode layer 202, initial gate dielectric layer 203 disposed along opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202, and first spacers 204 disposed outside and interfacing with the opposing sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203. Wang further teaches etching those gate dielectric sidewall portions and corresponding spacers 204 to form grooves 208 that expose the opposing sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Su according to Wang by recessing the sidewall portions of gate dielectric layer 254 that interface with gate spacers 234 to expose the corresponding sidewalls of gate electrode layer 255. Wang teaches that removing gate-dielectric material from between the gate electrode and adjacent structures reduces parasitic capacitance. Applying Wang’s recessing arrangement to Su would have predictably exposed the gate-electrode sidewalls while reducing the amount of high-k dielectric material adjacent those sidewalls. It would further have been obvious to form Su’s dielectric liner 288A over the sidewalls exposed according to Wang because Su teaches forming dielectric liner 288A in contact with exposed surfaces of gate electrode layer 255 to provide dielectric isolation.
Re: Claim 13 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Su further teaches
further comprising: forming a source/drain feature adjacent to the channel layer (Su, in Figs. 9-10 and ¶¶ [0030] – [0031], forms source/drain features 245 in source/drain trenches 236 adjacent the channel region (channel layer 208));
forming a contact etch stop layer over the source/drain feature (Su, in Fig. 11 and ¶ [0032], deposits a contact etch stop layer (CESL) 243 that is conformally deposited over the workpiece, including on surfaces of the source/drain features 245);
forming an interlayer dielectric layer over the contact etch stop layer (Su, in Fig. 11 and ¶ [0032], then blanket deposits ILD layer 244 over CESL 243); and
In regards to the limitation of claim 13, “recessing the interlayer dielectric layer and the contact etch stop layer while recessing the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric layer that interface with the gate spacers”, Su further teaches, in ¶ [0050], that during formation/extension of the gate cut opening 286 (a multi-step etching operation), the process includes removing gate dielectric 254 to expose the underlying gate electrode 255 (block 146), and operations that may continue such that CESL 243 is exposed and then teaches, in ¶ [0054], ILD 244 is exposed in the gate cut opening (block 150).
As set forth with respect to claim 10, Wang teaches that the recessed portions of the gate dielectric layer are the first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 that interface with gate spacers 204.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recess ILD 244 and CESL 243 during (i.e., while) the gate dielectric 254 is recessed in the gate-cut-opening formation sequence, because Su already teaches etching these adjacent dielectric films in the same localized opening region to shape/expand the opening, and Wang teaches recessing the gate dielectric sidewall portions that interface with the gate spacers. Integrating or overlapping such recess operations to achieve the desired opening depth/profile and clearance with predictable results is a routine process-integration choice.
Re: Claim 14 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Su does not explicitly state that
further comprising laterally recessing the gate electrode layer while recessing the gate dielectric layer.
However, Su teaches, in ¶ [0067], recessing the exposed portion of the gate dielectric layer 254, thereby exposing a portion of the gate electrode layer 255. Su also teaches, in ¶ [0067], laterally recessing the gate electrode layer 255 to expand and extend the gate cut opening 286.
As set forth with respect to claim 10, Wang teaches that the recessed portions of the gate dielectric layer are the first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 that interface with gate spacers 204.
Although Su describes these as separate operations (recess gate dielectric to expose gate electrode, then laterally recess gate electrode), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to laterally recess the gate electrode layer while recessing the gate dielectric layer, because once dielectric recess exposes the gate electrode, overlapping/combining etch sequence (or extending the same recess step with conditions that also etch the exposed gate electrode) is a routine process-integration choice to achieve the same widened opening/reduced endcap distance that Su already identifies as beneficial for reduced capacitance while reducing discrete processing steps (Su, ¶ [0051]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 114678328 A) in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1) and further in view of Chuang (US 20100065915 A1).
Re: Claim 11 (Original), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Su further teaches,
further comprising: forming a filling layer over the lining layer, wherein a composition of the filling layer is different than a composition of the lining layer (Su teaches, ¶ [0055], depositing into the gate cut opening 286 to form gate cut feature 288, and teaches that feature 288 may be multilayer, including a dielectric liner 288A and a dielectric filler 288B over the liner, where the liner and filler may be different material (e.g., liner oxygen-free and filler oxygen-containing; and/or different dielectric constants)).
Regarding performing a planarization process on the filling layer and lining layer, wherein the planarization process exposes the gate electrode layer, Su teaches, in ¶ [0055], performing a planarization (CMP) on deposited dielectric of gate cut feature 288 to remove excess dielectric.
Although Su describes CMP exposing backside dielectric layer 270 / isolation feature 204 / liner 284, Su does not expressly state that this planarization exposes the gate electrode layer.
However, Chuang teaches, in ¶ [0038], that after forming dielectric layers, a CMP overpolish may be performed to expose dummy gate structure (i.e., exposing a gate electrode by planarization endpoint selection. Because the dummy gate structure includes the dummy gate electrode, Chuang is explicitly teaching that a planarization process (CMP+ over-polish) can be end-pointed to expose a gate electrode (the dummy gate electrode) as part of a standard process flow.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when implementing Su’s liner/filler dielectric stack (288A/288B) and CMP step, to choose the CMP endpoint/stop so that the planarization exposes the gate electrode layer (as claim 11 requires), because Chuang teaches that CMP /over-polish is routinely used in gate processing to expose a gate electrode surface (at least the dummy electrode) for subsequent processing; and selecting a CMP endpoint to expose a desired underlying conductive layer is a routine and predictable integration choice.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (CN 114678328 A) in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1) further in view of Lu (US 20170117380 A1).
Re: Claim 12 (Currently amended), Su and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 10 on which this claim depends.
Su is silent regarding
further comprising recessing the gate spacers while recessing the sidewall portions of gate dielectric layer that interface with the gate spacers, wherein after the recessing of the gate spacers and the recessing of the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric layer that interface with the gate spacers, top surfaces of the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric layer is lower than top surfaces of the gate spacers.
As set forth with respect to claim 10, Wang teaches that the recessed portions of the gate dielectric layer are the first and second sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 that interface with gate spacers 204.
Lu teaches further comprising recessing the gate spacers while recessing the gate dielectric layer (Lu teaches, in Figs. 1-2 and ¶ [0076], co-removal/co-recess of spacer and gate stack materials in the same operation , i.e, portions of the gate electrode 212 and the dielectric layer 214 of the gate structure 310 may be removed with the low-k dielectric gate spacers 120), wherein after the recessing of the gate spacers and the recessing of the gate dielectric layer, top surfaces of the gate dielectric layer is lower than top surfaces of the gate spacers (Lu teaches, in Fig. 15 and ¶ [0077] , the gate electrodes and dielectric layers can be recessed more than gate spacers to create the exact height relationship: “a gate electrode 212d and dielectric layer 214d may be recessed more than the low-k dielectric gate spacer 120d so that an upper surface of the gate electrode 212d and the dielectric layer 214d is lower than an upper surface of the low-k dielectric gate spacer 120d”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Su’s recessing gate dielectric 254 (block 146) and etch-back/recessing of gate spacers 234 using the co-recess integration taught by Lu (i.e., etch conditions/endpoint that recess spacers and gate dielectric during the same recess flow), while using Wang’s sidewall recess arrangement in order to achieve the predictable and expressly taught post-recess height relationship (gate dielectric top lower than spacer tops), which improves process integration/clearance near the gate region and is a routine etch-depth/selectively control objective when shaping recessed gate topography.
Claims 21-22, 24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiung (US 20220102199 A1) in view of Bohr (US 20110156107 A1) further in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1).
Re: Independent Claim 21 (Currently amended), Hsiung discloses a method comprising:
forming a gate structure that includes a gate stack and gate spacers disposed along sidewalls of the gate stack (Hsiung teaches, in Figs. 31B-32 and ¶ [0084], forming a gate structure between gate spacers and describes gate sidewall spacers 260 defining the gate region/gate trench and a replacement gate structure 320 formed between the spacers 260), wherein the gate stack includes a gate electrode and a gate dielectric (Hsiung teaches, in Fig. 31A and 31B and ¶ [0084], gate structure 320 includes work function metal layer 324 and fill metal layer 326 combined which is the claimed gate electrode, and gate dielectric 322) and
after reducing a height of the gate dielectric and a height of the gate spacers (Hsiung teaches, in Fig. 32 and ¶ [0085], an etching back process that etches back the replacement gate structure 320 and the gate spacers 260, producing recesses over both. Because the replacement gate structure 320 includes gate dielectric 322 (Hsiung, ¶ [0084]) within the replacement gate structure, etching back the replacement gate structure reduces the height of the gate dielectric/gate stack, and etching back spacers 260 reduces the spacer height), forming a dielectric structure over the gate spacers, the gate dielectric, and the gate electrode (Hsiung teaches, in Fig. 33 and ¶ [0087], after the etching of gate dielectric and gate spacers as explained above, forming gate dielectric caps 340 (claimed dielectric structure) over gate spacers 260, gate dielectric 322 and gate electrode (324/326)), wherein the dielectric structure is disposed between the gate electrode and an interlayer dielectric layer (Hsiung teaches, in Fig. 36 and ¶ [0094], dielectric structure 340 is disposed between gate electrode 324/326 and interlayer dielectric layer 370).
Hsiung is silent regarding wherein the gate electrode wrapped by the gate dielectric, such that the gate dielectric has sidewall portions and a bottom portion.
However, Bohr teaches wherein the gate electrode wrapped by the gate dielectric (Bohr, Fig. 3A and ¶ [0047], a gate dielectric layer 104 deposited along the bottom and sidewalls of a gate trench, thereby forming a U-shaped gate dielectric layer, and a gate electrode layer 102 formed within and over the U-shaped gate dielectric layer 104, i.e., gate electrode 102 is wrapped its sidewalls and bottom by gate dielectric 104). Hsiung and Bohr both disclose transistor fabrication, hence analogous art.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hsiung’s replacement gate stack (within replacement gate structure 320 between spacers 260) using Bohr’s U-shaped gate dielectric configuration (104 wrapping the gate electrode 102) in order to provide enhanced dielectric isolation/encapsulation of the gate electrode sidewalls during gate -contact/self-aligned-contact integration (a predictable design choice to reduce gate-to-contact leakage/short risk in precisely the type of contact-formation environment addressed by Hsiung).
Both Hsiung and Bohr are silent regarding
wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers includes performing an etching process that has different etching selectivity with respect to the sidewall portions of the gate dielectric and the bottom portion of the gate dielectric.
However, Wang teaches, in Figs. 2-3, an initial gate dielectric layer 203 disposed along sidewalls and a bottom of gate electrode layer 202 and first spacers 204 disposed outside the gate-dielectric sidewall portions. Wang further teaches etching initial gate dielectric layer 203 and first spacers 204 to form grooves 208 that expose the sidewalls of gate electrode layer 202. The etching removes the sidewall portions of initial gate dielectric layer 203 while retaining the bottom portion as gate dielectric layer 209 beneath gate electrode layer 202. Thus, Wang’s etching process has different effective etching selectivity with respect to the sidewall portions and bottom portion of the gate dielectric: the sidewall portions are etched or recessed, whereas the bottom portion is substantially retained.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply Wang’s gate dielectric etching arrangement when reducing the heights of the gate dielectric and gate spacers in the gate structure of Hsiung as modified by Bohr. Bohr provides a U-shaped gate dielectric having sidewall and bottom portions corresponding to Wang’s initial gate dielectric configuration, and Wang teaches selectively removing the gate dielectric sidewall portions while retaining the bottom portion. Wang explains that removing the high k-dielectric from the gate sidewalls reduces parasitic capacitance, while retaining the bottom portion preserves electrical isolation beneath the gate electrode. Applying Wang’s etching technique to the U-shaped gate dielectric of Hsiung as modified by Bohr would therefore have predictably reduced the sidewall height and gate spacers while maintaining the bottom dielectric for channel isolation.
Re: Claim 22 (Previously presented), Hsiung, Bohr and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Hsiung further teaches
wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers recesses the gate dielectric and the gate spacers below a top of the interlayer dielectric layer (Hsiung teaches, in Fig. 32 and ¶¶ [0084] – [0085], performing an etch-back process that etches back the replacement gate structures 320 and the gate spacers 260, thereby forming recesses over the etched-back gate structures and the etched-back gate spacers. Because the replacement gate structures include the gate dielectric 322 and the gate spacers 260, this etch-back corresponds to reducing the height of the dielectric and the height of the gate spacers. Hsiung further teaches, in Fig. 36, that after the above etch-back/recessing, a dielectric stack including a metal CESL 360 is deposited and then another ILD layer 370 is deposited over the metal CESL 360 and the recessed gate dielectric layer 322 and the gate spacers 260 are below top of the interlayer dielectric layer 370).
Re: Claim 24 (Previously presented), Hsiung, Bohr and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Hsiung further teaches
wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers (Hsiung teaches, in ¶ [0085], performing an etch-back process that etches back the replacement gate structures 320 (including gate dielectric 322) and the gate spacers 260, resulting in recessed over the etched-back gate structures 320 and etched-back gate spacers 260).
Bohr teaches reduces a width of the gate electrode (Bohr teaches, in ¶ [0041], that when gate structures are recessed (height-reduced), the recess etch may also remove gate-electrode material such that the metal gate electrode 102 is recessed within the spacers 108, thereby reducing the thickness of the metal gate electrode 102, and Bohr explains, in ¶ [0057], it is important that no portion of the metal gate electrode 102 remains above the top of the spacers 108 after the recessing (because remaining portions atop the spacers can cause contact-to-gate-shorts). Accordingly, removing the portions of the gate electrode that extend onto/above the spacer region necessarily reduces the lateral width of the gate electrode at the top/recessed region).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hsiung’s etch-back (height reduction) of the replacement gate structures 320 (including gate electrode metals 324/326) and gate spacers 260 using Bohr’s taught recess integration (recessing the gate electrode within the spacers such that gate-electrode material atop/over the spacer region is removed), in order to avoid gate-to-contact shorts (Bohr, ¶ [005]).
Re: Claim 26 (Previously presented), Hsiung, Bohr and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Hsiung further teaches,
further comprising, after forming the dielectric structure, removing a portion of the interlayer dielectric layer when forming a source/drain contact (Hsiung teaches, in Figs. 33-34 and ¶¶ [0087] -[0088], gate dielectric caps 340 formed over gate metal caps 330 and gate spacers 260, and thereafter forming source/drain contracts 350. Hsiung further teaches, in ¶ [0088], that formation of the source/drain contact 350 includes performing one or more etching processes to form contact openings extending through the ILD layer 310 to expose the source/drain epitaxial structures 280, followed by metal fill and CMP. Accordingly, Hsiung teaches that after forming the dielectric structure, a portion of the ILD layer (e.g., ILD 310 is removed by etching when forming the source/drain contacts 350, thereby meeting the additional limitation of claim 26).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiung (US 20220102199 A1) in view of Bohr (US 20110156107 A1) further in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1) and further in view of Liu (US 20150263132 A1).
Re: Claim 23 (Currently amended), Hsiung, Bohr and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Hsiung further teaches
wherein the gate structure is disposed between the first source/drain region and the second source/drain region (Hsiung teaches, in Figs. 28-32 and ¶¶ [0080] – [0085], source/drain epitaxial structures 280 formed in source/drain regions S/D on opposing sides of replacement gate structure 320. Hsiung further teaches interlayer dielectric layer 310 disposed over the first and second source/drain epitaxial structures 280).
Hsiung, Bohr and Wang are silent regarding,
wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers reduces a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer over a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region.
However, Liu teaches wherein the reducing the height of the gate dielectric and the height of the gate spacers reduces a thickness of the interlayer dielectric layer over a first source/drain region and a second source/drain region (Liu teaches ILD thickness is determined by recess depth, i.e., Liu teaches, in ¶ [0062], that the thickness of ILD layer is determined by the extent to which an underlying conductive feature is recessed, stating that the “the thickness 238 of ILD layer 223 is generally determined by the extent to which metal 227 is recessed by etching 183”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsiung’s recessing/height reduction of the gate region (replacement gate structures 320, including the gate dielectric, and spacers 260) and subsequent ILD formation (ILD 370), to implement the ILD formation such that the ILD thickness is reduced in response to (i.e., as a consequence of) the recess depth/height reduction, consistent with the teaching of Liu that ILD thickness is determined by the extend of recessing of underlying features, in order to provide a desirable amount of insulation (Liu, ¶ [0062]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiung (US 20220102199 A1) in view of Bohr (US 20110156107 A1) further in view of Wang (US 20230093835 A1) and further in view of Hung (US 8962490 B1).
Re: Claim 25 (Previously presented), Hsiung, Bohr and Wang disclose all the limitations of claim 21 on which this claim depends.
Hsiung, Bohr and Wang are silent regarding,
wherein the forming the dielectric structure over the gate spacers, the gate dielectric, and the gate electrode includes: depositing a first dielectric layer; depositing a second dielectric layer; and removing the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer from over a top of the gate electrode and a top of the interlayer dielectric layer.
However, Hung teaches the specific dielectric-structure formation sequence of claim 25: wherein the forming the dielectric structure over the gate spacers, the gate dielectric, and the gate electrode includes: depositing a first dielectric layer; depositing a second dielectric layer; and removing the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer from over a top of the gate electrode and a top of the interlayer dielectric layer (Hung teaches, in Figs. 1-2, Column 4 and lines 6-12, also lines 49-55, providing a substrate having an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 118, with at least one metal gate 124 (claimed gate electrode), dielectric layer 122 (claimed gate dielectric) and gate spacer 108 formed in the ILD, forming a first dielectric layer 130 on the ILD layer 118 and the metal gates 120, forming a second dielectric layer 138 on the first dielectric layer (e.g., TEOS layer). Hung further teaches, in Fig. 2 and column 4 lines 55-67 to column 5 lines 1-20, removing (via etching) the second dielectric layer 138 and the first dielectric layer 130from above (over) the metal gates 120 (gate electrodes) and from above regions of the ILD (since the first dielectric layer is formed on the ILD layer), e. g., Hung teaches an etch that “partially removes the TEOS layer 138 above the metal gates 120 “and “partially removes” the underlying first dielectric components (e.g., NDC 128/cap oxide 126) above the metal gates.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Hsiung’s dielectric-structure formation over the recessed gate region using Hung’s taught two dielectric deposition + removal (etch-back/etch-open) scheme in order to achieve a well-controlled multilayer dielectric structure above/around metal gates with predictable processing benefits (e.g., improved etch selectivity/clean removal of dielectric stack portions above the gate electrode for subsequent integration steps), as evidenced by Hung explicit focus on processing dielectric layers above metal gates in an ILD environment (explained in Hung’s column 5, lines 34-50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIPANA ADHIKARI DAWADI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898